Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster vs Toulouse, Sat 3rd April 3:00pm; BT Sport 3

• Registered Users Posts: 6,034 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

How is that not a penalty try?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,710 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Game doesn't really feel like a 14 point loss. Munster were better than that today.

Big issue is that in the final 15 minutes Toulouse just monopolised possession and Munster never got a sniff. Didn't even realise Casey had been subbed on.

Edit: This was posted just before the Munster try.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,947 ✭✭✭fitz

Clearly is a bit of a stretch. Tough call but right call for me with the evidence that was available.

The ball clearly changes direction in the air, with nothing but the Toulouse players hand to cause it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

Clegg wrote: »
    Hanrahan on is probably the right decision.

Carbery was targeted a lot in defence.

That didnt age well.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,034 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Pity

Good performance but just Toulouse the bit better

• Registered Users Posts: 5,822 ✭✭✭KH25

Initially thought knock on but think it was back off the arm and then forward off the head.

Same here. It did hit the hand but it looked like it went back onto his head. Really tight call.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭blackcard

Toulouse won every 50 50 catching duel and kicked much better than Munster

• Registered Users Posts: 13,021 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

Hard luck Munster. Gave it a real go.

Beirne still holding his side, hope it isn't going to impact his Lions chances.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,605 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Ah gwan Barnes would you not throw an extra 10 seconds on the clock for the neutrals.

Have to say Coombes looked very impressive today.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,824 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Fair play Munster, did themselves justice on the day, but Toulouse are absolutely top class and easily joint favourites for the title.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Munster rode their luck in the first half. Just not enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,238 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

How often can you score 4 tries in a HCup knockout game and still lose

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,947 ✭✭✭fitz

Munsters discipline and reaction to Toulouse going ahead cost them dearly.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,225 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

That was a cracker of a game, would’ve loved to have been there today, and who knows what difference the crowd might have made.

Toulouse’s power game meant we had to soak so many tackles, which gave them the platform for some of the moments of class from the backs, and that proved the difference. It’ll take a quality team to beat Toulouse this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,973 ✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Barnes letting guys come in from the side at rucks constantly. Frustrating to see go uncalled, given how on top of the offsides line he chose to be.

Carberry has not been impressive at all. Hopefully a decent preseason can see him come back to form. Great game from Murray. His passing was excellent, really brought runners on well.

Beirne going off really cost Munster. Carbery for the second week in a row a serious weak link in defence and successfully targeted.

DeAllede brilliant today after going missing last week. Earls on top form too and Haley good in attack and defensively.

Toulouse getting the first try after the break was a big momentum shift.

Very entertaining game, much better from Munster this weekend but ran out of gas last 20 minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭ElisaAtWar

Couple of poor decisions by Haley in quick succession made a difference. First the kick thru when having an overlap and then not delaying the pass to Conway until the defense had committed. Simple errors that potentially could/should have lead to tries

• Registered Users Posts: 11,145 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭The Inbetween is mine

Last week we were beaten out the gate...this week we lost to a forward try....these things happen... but still hard to take....good performance, Earls, Coombes DeAllende and Kleyn were fantastic ....
    best of luck to Toulouse against Clermont.. that's going to be a cracker!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,149 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Any chance of getting rid of JVG now?

Overall, Munster faded badly in the second half. Hopefully the addition of Snyman and Jenkins into that pack can help us compete in the collisions.

Last week we were beaten out the gate...this week we lost to a forward try....these things happen... but still hard to take....good performance, Earls, Coombes DeAllende and Kleyn were fantastic ....
    best of luck to Toulouse against Clermont.. that's going to be a cracker!

I’m going for La Rochelle as my sub Munster
    Should make the Semis with the draw they got

twinytwo wrote: »

Feck off

• Registered Users Posts: 3,520 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

Why was the tactic to kick away possession on turnover ball?

Why didn't they send it wide earlier on advantage in the toulouse 22?

Why are they slowing down the ball after winning 4/5 collisions in a row?

Munster look an under coached side.

Serious questions i think need to be asked of Johan

• Registered Users Posts: 16,710 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Akrasia wrote: »
    Feck off

There's been little progress since he took over. It's a fair question to ask.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

That was a fantastic game from both sides. Frantic stuff with lots of skill and a bag of tries.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,336 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

Tough lines, Munster. Same issue Ulster had when we played them at home - their bench is extraordinary. Only Leinster of all the provinces could potentially live with them in the last quarter.

Some self-respect restored with that performance, surely.

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭JimmyCorkhill

twinytwo wrote: »

The sooner Munster fans accept their players are not good enough the better.

Not saying you cannot upgrade on JVG but the players as a squad are not good enough to win trophies, especially in some of the forward positions.

I didn't realise until the BT analysis how many opportunities Munster blew to score tries. That game was there for us.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,520 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

The sooner Munster fans accept their players are not good enough the better.

Not saying you cannot upgrade on JVG but the players as a squad are not good enough to win trophies, especially in some of the forward positions.

I don't think that's true.

Issue at Hooker and Tighthead. But they've decent players there who provide solid set piece platforms.

Outside of that Munster have excellent players who under a different coaching structure would thrive