Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most annoying politician at the minute

• Registered Users Posts: 39,443 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Norma Foley for me. She is totally incompetent. She has zero experience in politics and was put in charge of a ministry to satisfy gender quota bullshiit. It makes no difference that she has proven herself to be without a doubt the most useless farcical minister ever, she remains in the position because Meehole and his band of **** actually think she's doing a great job and even more ridiculous see her as potential future leader material.

And that’s saying something. I’ll add Stephen Donnelly as I’m sure he’s nice guy and anything I say about politicians isn’t personal as I don’t know them personally but as minister for health he’s been an out and out disaster, which is saying something when previous health ministers have been Brian cowen, Michael Martin, Mary harney.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,529 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    The party leaders are all awful also with Alan Kelly the worst of a poor enough lot. When Alan Kelly is the best the Labour Party can get a leader then there’s huge issue in that party.

alankelly-1.jpg

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

Paahtrick O’Donovan Minister for the 1950’s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

And that’s saying something. I’ll add Stephen Donnelly as I’m sure he’s nice guy and anything I say about politicians isn’t personal as I don’t know them personally but as minister for health he’s been an out and out disaster, which is saying something when previous health ministers have been Brian cowen, Michael Martin, Mary harney.

He's not.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭hawley

Ruth Coppinger, I know she isn't currently an elected official. Looked at her Twitter and she got carried off by the Gardai last night at a protest.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,664 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Simon Harris or varadkar.

Can’t choose between them.

Both a bunch of smug, private school posh boys, insufferable.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

hawley wrote: »
    Ruth Coppinger, I know she isn't currently an elected official. Looked at her Twitter and she got carried off by the Gardai last night at a protest.

Ah yes Ruth “the whole world is ending” coppinger.

They are but at least on this(you have me defending them now) they aren’t pretending they’re something their not unlike Paul Murphy.

Simon Harris went to a public school and his father is a taxi driver. Ya, really posh.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,529 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

They are but at least on this(you have me defending them now) they aren’t pretending they’re something their not unlike Paul Murphy.

Yeah, how dare he betray his own class and look out for those beneath him?!

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭griffin100

Alan Kelly, the man who couldn’t organise the installation of a few water meters but seems to be able to understand the unprecedented roll out of hundreds of thousands of vaccines. Maybe his buddy John Delaney could lend his organisational expertise to the roll out.

David Cullinane, who seems to think if we send Dessie Ellis over to the Astra Zeneca factory with an aul armalite we’d be grand for the vaccines.

Any of the privately educated champagne socialists in the Dail, lead ably by Eoin O’Broin and Paul Murphy.

Mattie McGrath. Suffering jaysus, the man is incomprehensible.

Gino Kenny, purely because I went to school with the gob****e and I know how thick he is.

Stephen Donnelly, need I say more.

Roisin Shorthall, who ran away from health when she was a minister because it was too hard but still seems to think she knows how to solve all of the HSE’s problems

Leo, despite being someone who was ambivalent about him previously, he know seems to be purely fixated on shafting MM, despite there being no need to. Worst example of an Instagram politician.

I’ll stop now before I upset myself!!!

Hamachi wrote: »
    What’s she like in person? She presents herself as the sort of woman who could pick a fight in an empty room. That trait, combined with the barely suppressed sense of superiority she projects, creates an entirely disagreeable image.
    I don't know her at all (Bacik) but met her a couple of times canvassing during the pro-choice referendum campaign, when she was head of the campaign in our area. Would say she is a great organiser, very focused, and has a common-sense approach that you might not expect. Not idealistic or idealogical at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

I don't know her at all (Bacik) but met her a couple of times canvassing during the pro-choice referendum campaign, when she was head of the campaign in our area. Would say she is a great organiser, very focused, and has a common-sense approach that you might not expect. Not idealistic or idealogical at all.

Of all people in the Oireachtas, Bacik is one of the ones with the most fixed view of the world. I'm not talking about conviction, but adherence to dogma.

Yurt! wrote: »
    Of all people in the Oireachtas, Bacik is one of the ones with the most fixed view of the world. I'm not talking about conviction, but adherence to dogma.

Yeah, I would have thought so too. Who knows what a politician really believes, but her campaigning stance was very pragmatic on the doorsteps. Shows some political nous, I'd say.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭boardise

How did Louise O'Reilly escape mention ?
    She annoys me with her moany whiny tone -always trailing hard case stories of her constituents. Little to offer except trite emotionalism. Council material at best -(like too many in there)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,907 ✭✭✭trashcan

I’ve never understood the hatred for Paul Murphy. As you say, how dare heespouse socialism when he’s not from a working class rough estate. The nerve ! How do people know he isn’t genuine in his beliefs ? He could easily be in FG or FF angling for a Ministry for himself if that’s what he was interested in.

Stephen Donnelly left any credibility behind when he went into FF ( that and his very silly beard !)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭KevRossi

trashcan wrote: »
    I’ve never understood the hatred for Paul Murphy. As you say, how dare heespouse socialism when he’s not from a working class rough estate. The nerve ! How do people know he isn’t genuine in his beliefs ? He could easily be in FG or FF angling for a Ministry for himself if that’s what he was interested in.

Stephen Donnelly left any credibility behind when he went into FF ( that and his very silly beard !)

Paul Murphy was an MEP for 3.5 years. Not once in that time did he open his mouth to say how disgraceful it was that the working classes of Europe have to pay for their water.

He was kicked out of Brussels by the voters and for several months he didn't open his mouth in this country on water. Then we had the by-election and all of a sudden he discovers water and how paying for it is a terrible toll on the working classes.

He's a professional whinger and moaner, and a professional bandwagon jumper. I knew plenty like him in college and in my 20's. All talk, they know everything that's wrong with the world, but have no fixed realistic solutions on how to fix it.

He's genuinely one of the worst in there. I can listen to RBB, but not Murphy.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

I do think that Stephen Donnelly actually has something between the ears, unfortunately, though he let his McKinsey* smelling your own farts culture get the better of him.

* Donnelly spent some time working for this crowd, who if people aren't familiar with them, are a global 'elite' consultancy firm employed by governments and large businesses to 'manage change' and generally make a hames of things while charging huge fees.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,745 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

boardise wrote: »
    How did Louise O'Reilly escape mention ?
    She annoys me with her moany whiny tone -always trailing hard case stories of her constituents. Little to offer except trite emotionalism. Council material at best -(like too many in there)

Not really in the public eye enough. My local SF TD is undoubtedly the worst TD the constituency has ever had, even though FF have offered some doozies of those; but I wouldn't consider her the most annoying because I very rarely have to hear from her (as she does nothing).

Donnelly with his occasional gibbering (trampolines!), general poor grasp of his ministry and his general, well, everything would be my nomination.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

George Lee, ex politician but no doubt he will run again.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Chu is fairly harmless but seems to attract irrational ire in some quarters. I'm assuming it's because she has the temerity to mention racism she's encountered and is thus seen as somewhat "uppity".

Yeah that's exactly it. You've cracked the case, Columbo.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,208 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Why would Paul join a party where he might have do things when he can do what he's best at. Sit on the sideline and moan and complain.

Except that’s my point at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Dara Murphy. Fat,useless, entitled oaf.

Richard Boyd Barrett and his ilk have to be the absolute worst out of all of them. Never dressed properly, no respect for the Dail roaring and shouting but no interest in policy or actually entering government. Nutcases.

Eoin O Broin, Pearse and Mary Lou are next. A bunch of absolute psychopaths.

How people like this get elected beggars belief.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,409 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

has to be Norma "head in the sand" Foley

• Registered Users Posts: 23,821 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Who?

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭chrisd2019

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Who?

Ask Vincent Brown about him :)

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭chrisd2019

• Registered Users Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭boardise

I think he's fortunately an ex-politician now. A cowboy in a pinstripe .