Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jealous? Or reason for concern?

• 11-03-2021 7:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭

So before Christmas, my partner and I returned home from abroad a month apart. When I returned home we moved in together. I noticed she had been in contact with an old f**k buddy via Snapchat for the month we were apart. As it was Christmas and she had family stuff going on, I felt it wasn't the right time to bring it up so I let it slide and haven't said anything about it as I knew she'd call me jealous and insecure as it was a touchy subject.

About a year ago I found out that this guy had arranged for them to meet up at a local car park the last time we visited home. I found this out by looking through her phone after a drunken night out. I confessed what I done and confronted her about the message I found. She said it was a message from years ago and denied it. It nearly broke us but I accepted her answer and moved on.

The move home has been especially tough for me as I'm living in her local city, hours from my friends/family and struggling to get a good job. She's been doing really well in her new job and is loving it and wants us to buy a house this year.

Recently though I've noticed she's been getting close to a male colleague at work and I've caught them exchanging flirtatious messages. She speaks highly of him to her friends and spends a lot of time with him at work. I haven't called her out on the texts yet.

More or less since we come home she has lost interest in having sex with me and knocks me back with exhaustion or not feeling well so we might just have sex once a week if even that. Admittedly I have a higher sex drive than her but my confidence takes a hit everytime and I think she may be developing feelings for this married man.

Am I just being a jealous boyfriend with trust/insecurity issues or do I have reason to be concerned? Is our relationship over and I'm just burying my head in the sand?

I know I should be opening up to her and telling her how I'm feeling. I am afraid if I do so that'll spark the end for us. I really want to make things work between us and I know we both love each other but maybe love just isn't always enough?

Any advice welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Going solely on what you're telling us here, it sounds like it has run its course to me. You shouldn't have to feel the way you are feeling all the time in a relationship, and she's either up to no good or an idiot who doesn't consider your feelings in her dealings with these men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭jarvis

‘Caught them exchanging flirtatious texts’ sounds like you regularly check her phone and you obviously don’t trust her at all. Wether or not she’s had her head turned it’s probably not a great sign for your future together. If she’s rejecting you sexually then it’s probably normal for your mind to race and when that happens you will focus on negative thoughts. Once a week isnt exactly terrible!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭TheClubMan

Going solely on what you're telling us here, it sounds like it has run its course to me. You shouldn't have to feel the way you are feeling all the time in a relationship, and she's either up to no good or an idiot who doesn't consider your feelings in her dealings with these men.

Bearing in mind I've moved my life from the other side of the world for her so she can take up this new job opportunity and support her as much as I can. I don't think she understands how hard it's been for me and overheard her during the week to her friend sayin that she feels stuck at the moment because she wants to buy a house and I can't get a stable job to save for a mortgage. She's only met my family twice but says we'll move to my homeplace in a few years but hasn't even been to my hometown!

I don't always feel like that. When things are good between us they're great. I get on really well with her family/friends and share the same interests and can see a future with her provided these issues are resolved. I love her and the thought of us not being together breaks my heart.

jarvis wrote: »
    ‘Caught them exchanging flirtatious texts’ sounds like you regularly check her phone and you obviously don’t trust her at all. Wether or not she’s had her head turned it’s probably not a great sign for your future together. If she’s rejecting you sexually then it’s probably normal for your mind to race and when that happens you will focus on negative thoughts. Once a week isnt exactly terrible!!!

I wasn't looking through her phone, she was texting him while we were lying on the couch last week and seen a few messages. Her ex cheated on her years ago and says she despises cheaters but what I'm seeing doesn't give me much encouragement. She doesn't want to engage in sex but won't say no to a massage. I feel like it's all take and no give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

TheClubMan wrote: »
    . says she despises cheaters

Look at her actions and not her words.

This woman has a cheater's mentality.

My advice: Put an end to this relationship on your terms before she does harm to you. She's welcome to the married man, she'll find out how fun it is to be a mistress, for her and everyone around her.

Some people are never happy and have a black void in them that they feed with people. It doesn't matter to them if there's a marriage or kids in the equation, or that you as a boyfriend are at home wondering what is going on. Don't feed the abyss. Just leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭jarvis

The one thing about this forum is that as soon as someone posts a doubt about a relationship there’s a barrage of ‘its over’, ‘end it now’ comments. Those comments will put for their doubt in your head. Maybe it’s time for a very honest conversation about your mindtalk and how certain scenarios make you feel. If she loves you she’ll listen and consider how she can help with it, if she brushes you off then a longer think might be needed but don’t take the typical boards dumping comments on board to quickly

Yurt! wrote: »
    Look at her actions and not her words.

This woman has a cheater's mentality.

My advice: Put an end to this relationship on your terms before she does harm to you. She's welcome to the married man, she'll find out how fun it is to be a mistress, for her and everyone around her.

Some people are never happy and have a black void in them that they feed with people. It doesn't matter to them if there's a marriage or kids in the equation, or that you as a boyfriend are at home wondering what is going on. Don't feed the abyss. Just leave.

I don't know whether she'd actually do anything. Maybe it's just a bit of excitement because she's bored with our relationship because we're stuck in a lockdown and there's not much else to do. Work is her only outlet at the moment.

I feel like I've sacraficed too much to not make this work and I can't go back to my old life. In saying that I'm not completely happy and neither is she. I can't picture the thought of us breaking up or her with another man...

I don't know whether she'd actually do anything. Maybe it's just a bit of excitement because she's bored with our relationship because we're stuck in a lockdown and there's not much else to do. Work is her only outlet at the moment.

I feel like I've sacraficed too much to not make this work and I can't go back to my old life. In saying that I'm not completely happy and neither is she. I can't picture the thought of us breaking up or her with another man...

If there's excitement to be had she's looking in the most explosive place possible with a married man. Your gut is telling you something is off, and people's gut is rarely wrong on this stuff. You seem like a balanced guy.

Here's my advice, take it or leave it, or even better run it by a trusted friend. Come at this from a position of strength. Calmly tell her you're considering walking away, and it's because of her odd and inappropriate interactions with the work colleague. Be prepared to walk away.

As another poster said, she's either an idiot toying with him like this, or there's something going on. Let's be honest, you and most men won't be prepared to have a partner who's flirting with burning the relationship down at any second because of some married chump in work.

Actions, not words.

She'll either snap out of it and end these interactions (you'll never be ok with them let's face it), or she'll give you the 'you're being jealous about Johnny Justafriend' spiel - at which point it's probably time to walk.

This is a tale as old as time. Don't end up on the wrong end of a Johnny Justafriend scenario like so many men before you. He's not a friend to her - she, you, and everyone knows it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

jarvis wrote: »
    The one thing about this forum is that as soon as someone posts a doubt about a relationship there’s a barrage of ‘its over’, ‘end it now’ comments

I agree with this but going on what he told us, arranging to meet dudes she used to f*ck in car parks, flirting with people at work, this one seems a bit more obvious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

There is 2 of you in here.
    You are obviously on edge already and are likely to interpret every action of hers as a validation of your fears. At the same time she continous to seeking affirmation elsewhere.

Throw in resentment because you uprooted yourself for her and have lost your base.

Overall chaos that cannot end well

Jequ0n wrote: »
    There is 2 of you in here.
    You are obviously on edge already and are likely to interpret every action of hers as a validation of your fears. At the same time she continous to seeking affirmation elsewhere.

Throw in resentment because you uprooted yourself for her and have lost your base.

Overall chaos that cannot end well

He's on edge because his boundaries have been violated, and they are not unusual boundaries.

If anyone wants to raise their hand and say they're comfortable with their partner illicitly contacting ex-f*ck buddies or charged texts with a married work colleague while sitting next to them on the couch they can do so now. But they'd be in a fairly small minority.

He's on edge because his boundaries have been violated, and they are not unusual boundaries.

If anyone wants to raise their hand and say they're comfortable with their partner illicitly contacting ex-f*ck buddies or charged texts with a married work colleague while sitting next to them on the couch they can do so now. But they'd be in a fairly small minority.

Would you prefer if they did it secretly?

I don't know why your asking me, she's not my partner.

Some people are more brazen / thick than others when it comes to these matters. The texts are being exchanged, OP is uncomfortable with them -for good reason- and she has form.

I don't know why your asking me, she's not my partner.

Some people are more brazen / thick than others when it comes to these matters. The texts are being exchanged, OP is uncomfortable with them -for good reason- and she has form.

Indeed.but this is not “just” one person bending the rules, there is far more going on here in the grand scheme of things.

If it was as simple as you outlined the OP wouldn’t have posted I assume

I'd prefer if she didn't do it at all to be quite honest. We both made the decision to return home to begin our next chapter. I shouldn't use the sacrafice I made as a stick to beat her with because I wasn't forced into making that decision but I do expect a full commitment to our future together but instead arrive home to her in regular contact with an old flame and now her work colleague. I know I need to talk to her about it but it's going to be a difficult conversation to have and I'm afraid of what the outcome will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,477 ✭✭✭wonga77

Now is the time to find out. The longer you leave it then unfortunately may end up as time wasted

I'd prefer if she didn't do it at all to be quite honest. We both made the decision to return home to begin our next chapter. I shouldn't use the sacrafice I made as a stick to beat her with because I wasn't forced into making that decision but I do expect a full commitment to our future together but instead arrive home to her in regular contact with an old flame and now her work colleague. I know I need to talk to her about it but it's going to be a difficult conversation to have and I'm afraid of what the outcome will be.

I understand why you'd be fearful of the conversation BUT, your boundaries are your boundaries, and your values are your values, and you should never be afraid to walk away from a situation that impacts your self esteem like this. As I said, your boundaries are not unusual.

I once ended a relationship because of very similar circumstances to this. This was a girl who was not accustomed to being broken up with, and very accustomed to men chasing her around and her feeding it constantly (as was happening in our relationship). I had a couple of quiet words with her about it, but she refused to internalise anything and brushed it off.

When I ended it, and outlined why, it was if I threw a hand grenade in the room, she was in shock. She came back to me about a month later and admitted she was being inappropriate with certain men, leading them on, and wanted a second chance.

I said no, that she violated my trust and I don't think she's actually willing to earn it back. She called me every name under the sun and stormed off.

Still don't regret it, I ended it on my terms and my way with my head held high.

I'll qualify this with that this is merely my advice. If she doesn't want to hear out your valid concerns and seriously internalize them and change - you both are probably out of options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭ulster

<Snip> No need to quote the entire first post.

It's not going to work. You have to split up with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Dog day

OP, in healthy relationships there’s trust, balance, equal investment & open communication. But that’s ‘ideal scenario’ stuff, the complexities of life & human frailties get in the way. Actions speak louder than words & though my gut response is that it’s highly likely that this relationship has run its course, I’d advise that you have a very open ‘cards on table’ conversation with your GF. If she’s open to really hearing what you’re saying & follows that up with regaining your trust & you’re able to desist from invading her privacy, well then you could try to give it a further go, if she’s not....you know what you have to do, painful as it will be. I wish you luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

I'd prefer if they didn't do it at all.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,907 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

ulster, please do not quote full posts when replying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

I don't think she sounds trustworthy and that really is the bare minimum to make a relationship work. The married man could very easily be an innocent friendship developing but coupled with the carpark arrangement with the previous fwb... I don't think this a relationship I'd bother with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Honestly op .. screw that. So many red flags and alarm bells. Should you wait around to officially find things out?

Being in contact with her "former FwB" is serious enough on its own. Boll*cks to the whole "just friends" now garbage. She's with you and talking about getting a house.

Hey, let's be honest, if I was talking with some girl I was shagging before it's because I want to shag them again (you did see the car park text but was that really years ago?) But why is she still talking to him? He's clearly trying to work a shag. Why wasn't she insulted by him asking that knowing she is with someone else? That stuff sounds like she DID do something and keeping him around.

Then the other guy and flirtatious texts? Then she has stopped having sex with you? I'm sorry man. I really mean that. But these are the actions of a person who's cheating.

If you confront her with this she won't admit - cheaters rarely do.
    Time to break up because you'll just kick yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Magicmatilda

I think the biggest thing that jumps out is that you seem very scared of a life without her. I think that is what is driving you to stay in a relationship that does not sound healthy or happy. You need to sit down with yourself and have a good think about why you are so scared to be without her? Do you think there will never be another? Do you think she is the best you can do? Maybe have a chat with a counsellor or a good friend about that, to understand that fear.

I don't text male work colleagues, especially married ones, because I think its inappropriate, whatever about if there was some specific reason, offering congratulations or commiserations or something, a once off. But chit chat and flirty chit chat, no.

Also I highly doubt she intends to move to your home place. Why is she saying she will, are you asking her to? and she is saying yeah sure in a few years, or does she come up with that herself.

Anyway once you are clear about why you are so scared to be without her, then you can address that fear and have a chat with her outlining your boundaries. But until you face that fear you will continue to act from it and you will continue to let her do whatever she wants because if you say anything she might leave.

I agree with this but going on what he told us, arranging to meet dudes she used to f*ck in car parks, flirting with people at work, this one seems a bit more obvious

The date was a few days before we flew back. It was a text telling her to pull in behind his car at the car park. I don't know whether they had sex or talked or if she even went at all. I called her out on it but she made a bigger issue out of the trust I had broken in looking through her phone than the actual text from this guy, completely denying it and saying it was from years ago. Looking back I think I was naive to have believed her and knew deep down she was lying but put it behind us as life was good at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

<Snip> No need to quote the previous post in full. It's just there ^

I'm amazed you were able to get past this, I just couldn't. It's very likely she went if there are no cancellation messages and if she went - you think they just talked? Come on, I wasn't there so cannot say for absolute sure but why would anyone meet their ex Fwb in a carpark to talk? And instead of apologising she turned it around on you.

You deserve so much better than this.

Katgurl wrote: »
    I'm amazed you were able to get past this, I just couldn't.

I'm not sure I have got past it as it's still bothering me, even more so now as she's been in frequent contact with him since we came home.

She has on a couple of occasions confronted me when she seen I had received a message from genuine female friends of mine who might only be checking in or something and taken a huff and asked me 100 questions but it's ok for her to be in contact with other guys and I'm just being jealous and have to cop on when I call her out on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,477 ✭✭✭wonga77

She's taking you for granted and no offence but making a fool of you at the same time.
    You can very easily find someone so much better without the drama

I think the biggest thing that jumps out is that you seem very scared of a life without her

I think that is an issue I seem to have. My life abroad became better when I met her and we started seeing each other. I had my own small group of friends and did ok with meeting girls as I'm not a bad looking lad but I'm a bit shy and not overly confident until I get to know someone or I've a few drinks in me.

My relationship with her has been my first serious relationship in years. I started meeting more people outside my circle, going to more parties, travelling and having someone by side who I could share things with and be comfortable around. She really is a great girl, with strong family values, career driven and outgoing.

We've grown very close together over the last few years and care about each other very much but issues I've raised and our return home has driven a wedge between us I think. I want to picture a future with her. I know I've to express my concerns and she has to be honest about how she's feeling or else we're just going to lead a fake life where neither of us are completely happy. If we can't sort it out, there's going to be hurt on both sides even if it's for the best.

I don't think right now is a time to have that conversation as she is stressed with family problems at home and needs my support. I don't want to cause her more problems but know at the same time the longer I leave it the harder it's going to be.

Sorry OP but your description of her and her behavior and attitude towards you contradict each other...are you sure that you are not idolising her?

If you have confidence issues this relationship will make them worse

ulster wrote: »
    It's not going to work. You have to split up with her.

It would be easier to walk away if she just admitted she cheated on me or doesn't feel the same way about me anymore. The fact I know what she's doing behind my back but yet says she loves me everyday makes it more difficult. I know I should have more respect for myself and find the courage to just end it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Tork

It's very easy to say "I love you". They're just words that hold more weight for some people than for others. To her, it might be little more meaningful than "I'll buy a litre of milk on the way home". The thing about cheaters is that they admit to as little as they possibly can. In this woman's case, she knows she's pushing an open door. If it is as obvious to her as it is to us that you really don't want to be single again, she doesn't need to say much to keep you onside. It's up to you what you do from here but I think this is going to eat you up if you stay with her. Certainly, don't go down the road of having kids or buying houses until this gets sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

It’s well known that when people go away on their own or as part of a group for a long or short period of time, should it be a weekend hen/stag party, for work purposes etc, the chances are that they will meet someone and have a fling with them. There’s always a “what happens on the mile stays on the mile” type of understanding. So I would say to you, don’t be worrying about it. Maybe if you were away for a month also, you might get up to something you wouldn’t want your partner to know about. If she does admit that something’s going on, listen to what she has to say and don’t be too harsh on her. She’s only human like the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭TheadoreT

If she's meeting someone at a local car park in the past to hook up i wouldn't say her sex drive is low. Whatever about whether or not she's cheated on you it sounds like there isn't a great deal of passion in your relationship now and it leaves you frustrated more often than not. From all accounts this never returns and only gets worse so you really have to consider if this is what you want for your future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

<Snip> No need to quote the entire post. Just what you want to reply to.</Snip>

I don't think right now is a time to have that conversation as she is stressed with family problems at home and needs my support. I don't want to cause her more problems but know at the same time the longer I leave it the harder it's going to be.

I can only be frank on this one... F**k her and f**k her support.
    Stop being the nice guy ClubMan. It won't get you anywhere with a cheater.
    Start thinking about yourself. She is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭Augme

She really is a great girl, with strong family values, career driven and outgoing.

She really isn't a great girl. At all.

Did you ever really challenge her about that car park text from "years ago"? I mean obviously these things work in chronological order and if it was years ago it would have been buried very deep given as you said she's very social so would assume plenty of contacts. The fact you easily saw it would suggest it was more recent and higher up the pile? Does your not wanting to believe this stop you from thinking logically about it?

She may like you for certain aspects of your personality but isn't sexually satisfied in the relationship, she's seeking that elsewhere.

You say your life is better than it ever was before her but giving how the current dynamic is waring down on your self respect I find that difficult to believe at this point. You're so in love with her you're stopping yourself asking the difficult questions and seem a little blind to the realities.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 158 ✭✭Zebrag

Hi OP

I read a previous posters comment and I echo when they say that many times on these types of thread, the majority of the comments are "leave now", "walk away" and so on.

Usually I would follow this advice as I firmly believe that holding onto something with a constant urge to fight and question in a relationship isn't healthy at all. That being said, I've read your post and responses and I find it hard to sit and tell you to walk away but I find it hard to believe that this relationship is as steady as it seems too. You've stated that she is in a new job and is happy. I presume you're not working yourself? Would it be the boredum creeping on that's making things seem worst?

Throwing the boredum to the side and the physicallities that are there with her texting exs and glowing about a friend, lack of sex and communication I would assume, I think it's more so the case that, your girlfriend is forming an outside life for herself which is absolutely fine and sees you at home and unfortunately that's not your own fault and I'm sure you're trying your hardest to give her the future that she wants. I'm not saying either behaviour is bad and nasty and I'm not saying either should give up and walk away. There's a collision there and I think the two of you need to sit down and say exactly how you're feeling. Not what you want in the future but how you're feeling in this presence moment.

You might learn something from your girlfriend and she could learn something from you and bring you together or you could find that her opinion and feelings and your opinions and feelings are not mixing together. The going through her phone might not be in a huge favour and she could potentially hold a grudge for this along with you holding a grudge against texting an ex and glowing about friends.....

Communication goes a lot further than you think and to sit down and talk. I've said this to another poster before, no screaming or shouting. Open that bottle of wine, make a meal and just talk. Say how you both feel and discuss all you both need and want from the relationship. Your answer will be there whether you want to continue or whether you want to end it. All sacrifices have been made for this relationship and I understand that you've moved with your girlfriend so she could work in an area she loves but she needs to understand as well that although she's happy, you're not. You both need to understand that a relationship can only develop further if two people are willing to communicate and help along the way.

It's hard and I'm sure the boredum of sitting around doesn't exactly help either. I'm not working myself and waiting to go back to work and my partner is working and glowing about his job and friends and its tough on the best of days but talking and listening to each other and even trying different things each day or week can bring you closer.

Good luck OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

OP never make someone your world then you have to fight to keep them as if they leave your world falls apart.

I would say there is reason for concern. You seem overly forgiving yet not TRULY forgiving its eating at you. Its not like you said ok she did this ..im going to forgive her. You are letting it eat at you and leaving it in a grey area because i think if you knew the truth in your heart you know you couldn't forgive her.

Listen talk to her about it. Its not a real relationship unless you face reality.

See what happens. Tell her you are not ok with this.

Then if she tells the truth you can decide whether to forgive her and try again ..or forgive her and move on. But this in between thing ..it sounds like hell and only you can open the door to get out. Its also a way of prolonging the delusion of her and the relationship that you have. That is NOT healthy ...

If you were to LEAVE her ..then you could truly forgive her. And move on. But this ...in between stage ...its not letting you do anything positive its not even letting you grow in other ways and issues you have expressed you need help with etc.

. I know I need to talk to her about it but it's going to be a difficult conversation to have and I'm afraid of what the outcome will be.

I don't envy you but you need to find out whats what now.

If you think you are in a bind now, wait till you marry the wrong woman, buy a house and have kids AND then find out it was a mistake as she was cheating and end up divorced and broke.

TheadoreT wrote: »
    Did you ever really challenge her about that car park text from "years ago"?

No I didn't tbh. As soon as I brought it up back then, we argued for a while, she turned it back on me looking at her phone and I just rolled over as she shut down my questioning.

Last night I brought him up in conversation. She just got defensive and said I could look through her phone if I want and that if I don't trust her there's no point in us being together! She said they are just friends and haven't been together in years!

I just dropped it as we are staying at her parents house this weekend to help them with a few jobs so it wasn't the place to talk/argue about it.

Before bed she said off the cuff that I was annoying her and suffocate her even though she asked me to come down this weekend and help. She quickly apologised saying it was a joke and didn't mean it because she's tired and on her period.

Everything's hunky dory this morning. We had breakfast with her parent's and we're going out to do the groceries shortly...

During the week I overheard her chatting to her friend about work etc. and when mentioning me she said that she felt 'stuck' as she wants to buy a house this year but she's the only one that can save atm because my current wage in the job I'm working doesn't allow me to do that. She feels I'm not really the same since I came home. She said she feels she does most of the cleaning and cooking which definitely isn't true! Just because last week's big clean is still fresh in her mind because her workmates were coming over and it's all she did last weekend because I was home!

Last weekend I went home to visit my parents. She ignored my call last Friday night claiming she had a long day at work and was going to bed. We sent a texts back and fourth and said Goodnight. She was still online for another two hours. My suspicion is she was texting the married man in work that night as well as perhaps her friends. Obviously I don't know for certain but that's the way I'm going to feel after I seen them sending flirty texts before. She did the same on Saturday night but called me during the day. I'd say she was glad to have the house to herself last weekend as she has remarked on occasion.

Last Friday this married colleague was in our house for lunch, as well as another male colleague and her female colleague who's birthday it was. They had a training day last week and had two hours interval between training and their shift so she decided to invite them to our house for lunch/cake as it was her female colleagues birthday. She they had great craic playing a board game I had gotten us to play valentine's night (but wouldn't actually play the game with me that night which sounds very childish but I was annoyed by that because she thought it was great after she played it with them). It was only supposed to be the two girls but apparently the guys overheard in work and she couldn't not invite them after overhearing. I think he/they were invited all along. Earlier in the week she mentioned that the house needed tidying because it was a mess. Then mentions the following day that her female friend was calling over on Friday and then let me know the day before that the guys were joining now too.

I came back on Monday evening. We were glad to see each other. I had dinner ready and we had a nice evening and watched a movie. I thought we'd have sex after not seeing each other all weekend but she played the tired card.

Reading back on what I just wrote, I don't really feel anything. I'm not annoyed or angry or upset. She's having a laugh with her friends on face time in the other room. I'm getting ready to get on with the day's jobs.

I think I'm done lying to myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Tork

Does Covid not exist in your world OP? It sounds very odd to me that there are training days and household visits going on to beat the band here.

Tork wrote: »
    Does Covid not exist in your world OP? It sounds very odd to me that there are training days and household visits going on to beat the band here.

She had an in house training day at her workplace. We're both essential workers and both our parents are in their late 60'/70's and need support. I made the point that her work colleagues shouldn't be coming to our house regardless of whether they're in her 'bubble' or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,228 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

She had an in house training day at her workplace. We're both essential workers and both our parents are in their late 60'/70's and need support. I made the point that her work colleagues shouldn't be coming to our house regardless of whether they're in her 'bubble' or not.

A bubble is supposed to be with one other household that's not bubbling with anyone else. Not with both sets of parents and whoever else you feel like.

Tbh the fact that she couldn't give sh*t one about any of the restrictions just confirms that she's a selfish git who doesn't care about anyone but herself. Why you would want to be with such a person is utterly beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭lalababa

Rewrite out your opening post on paper and try to get a good disscription of your feelings especially the way SHE makes you feel , good and bad. (Especially the lack of sex!)
    COMMUINICATE this TO her!!!!
    See where the chips fall.
    Take it from there.
    Good luck.

<Snip> Please do not quote full, lengthy posts. It is unnecessary.

You are describing a stale marriage after 30 years together there, not the early stages of a new life together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭Augme

Get out of there asap. Rent a room straight away and move out. Even if it's just to have somewhere to stay before flying home on a one way ticket.

The relationship is toast and the sooner you leave the happier you'll be. I think you'll be amazed at the sense of relief you'll feel when you finally pull the trigger on ending it properly. The only regret you'll have us not doing it earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭tea and coffee

From what you're describing what she is saying doesnt ring true. She's "showing" you the married man texts as if to say look nothing going on, no big deal.

The no sex etc - presumably going from a healthy enough sex life before?

She seems to be getting on with her life (great new job, moving home etc) and I'm not sure you feature in it.

She may be trying to provoke a reaction with the married texts and no sex so that the inevitable row and you breaking up rather than her means she doesn't have to be the bad guy if the conversation turns to break up.

Then if she tells the truth you can decide whether to forgive her and try again ..or forgive her and move on. But this in between thing ..it sounds like hell and only you can open the door to get out. Its also a way of prolonging the delusion of her and the relationship that you have. That is NOT healthy ...

It's called monkey branching. She's teeing up her new life, her new partner, all in full view of her boyfriend and is telling him not happening and gaslighting him about it - while still keeping around for whatever conveniences he provides for the moment. When the stage is set and she feels her new situation is ready to go, he'll get the bullet and have to watch as she immediately swaps him out for another man.

It's cruel. It's from the cheater's playbook who don't want to admit they're cheaters.

He should salvage some pride and do the dumping before she gets there. Every day spent on this relationship is a day wasted, and she's stealing from the OP at this stage. Stealing his commitment, his love, his potential to evolve, his self-esteem.

OP you sound absolutely miserable. You're so suspicious of her you're monitoring her every online behaviour, its not normal or healthy. Whether your suspicions are justified or not(id guess they are) its really irrelevant at this point. You've zero trust for her and you're spiraling into an anxious mess when she isn't around. She isn't fulfilling any of your needs, be it reassuring your worries, being respectful with other men or having sex with you.

Just pack and leave, don't tell her why, try to restore a tiny bit of pride.