Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone fancy a trip to Pontins ??

• Registered Users Posts: 8,995 ✭✭✭pgj2015

fryup wrote: »
    c'mon now let's be honest if you were running a hotel, guesthouse, b&b etc....and you had a rough sounding fella on the phone with one of those surnames trying to make a booking..what would you do??

in short > i don't blame them

although silly of them to make it public

sometimes people seem rough on the phone but are ok but a rough accent is a bit of a red flag. also if someone rings me and has no manners then I never do business with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭Normal One

I mean i can't stand them but they're ours, so up the ra.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭py2006

Bobblehats wrote: »
    Are you finished pontificating?

Almost

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

sabat wrote: »
    Boylan, Boyle, Carney, Carr, Cash, Connors, Corcoran, Delaney, Doherty, Dorran, Gallagher, Horan, Keefe, Kell, Leahy, Lee, MacLaughlin, McAlwick, McCully, McDonagh, McGinley, McGinn, McGuiness, McHarg, McLaughan, McMahon, Millighan, Mongans, Murphy, Nolan, O’Brien, O’Connell, O’Donnell, O’Donoghue, O’Mahoney, O’Reilly, Sheriadan, Stokes, Walch, Ward.

They missed a few obvious travellers names. Half the Leinster and Munster rugby teams would be turned down.

Lookit, Pontins is the alternate offering for the Mole family, as in Adrian Mole. Just drive into Pontins in the equivalent of a 1970's model Ford Escort Mk1 Station Wagon.... the equivalent of that today would be a Huyundai Estate, or Subara Impreza estate, etc. Just make the car not look filthy on the outside, but not sparkling after turtlewax etc. The Pontins staff should accept you fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,278 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/travel/british-holiday-park-identified-people-with-irish-accents-as-undesirable-guests-1.4499133
    "There’s also a policy that banned holidaymakers from arriving in commercial vehicles and that was potentially or specifically to exclude gypsy/traveller communities to arrive at holiday parks."

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,349 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I remember back sometime in the mid 2000's some places use put barriers up on the car park. To stop such vehicles entering.

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭65535

Most of ye here have the West Brit attitude - Murphy is the most common name in Ireland yet ye do not see the racism here.
    It is as it was - No Dogs, No Blacks, No Irish.
    If they were to put West Indian Names or Nigerian names on their lists I'm sure there would be a 'BLM' outrage.
    It is further common place in England especially to say things like - 'Oh that's a bit Irish' or 'taking the Mick'
    If ye condone it then ye condone all racism.

We had it in Cork City as well when the British ruled the place - there was the 'English Market' and 'Paddys Market'
    The British mentality is to look down their noses at the Irish

• Registered Users Posts: 73,414 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Quote:
    "There’s also a policy that banned holidaymakers from arriving in commercial vehicles and that was potentially or specifically to exclude gypsy/traveller communities to arrive at holiday parks."
    A lot of Irish caravan parks have this policy too.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,575 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

My Mam's family are fecked so... :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,617 ✭✭✭Feisar

65535 wrote: »

Not just us, it's what a colonizing nation does to the people of the colonies. In the backs of their minds they know what they are doing is wrong but if one demonizes/belittles/etc the people it makes it a little more OK in the nations psyche.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

biko wrote: »
    "It's a private company. They can do what they like."
    :D:D !! nice one!!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,564 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Registered Users Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

There will be no end of our mobile brethren on the phone as we speak trying to book a holiday
    with them. They dont want to actually go, but a refusal is a nice little earner for discrimination

• Registered Users Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Boylan, Boyle, Carney, Carr, Cash, Connors, Corcoran, Delaney, Doherty, Dorran, Gallagher, Horan, Keefe, Kell, Leahy, Lee, MacLaughlin, McAlwick, McCully, McDonagh, McGinley, McGinn, McGuiness, McHarg, McLaughan, McMahon, Millighan, Mongans, Murphy, Nolan, O’Brien, O’Connell, O’Donnell, O’Donoghue, O’Mahoney, O’Reilly, Sheriadan, Stokes, Walch, Ward.

Half of Donegal wouldn't get in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Can't believe they missed Joyce.

I'm grand though, lucky that my surname is Walsh and not Walch! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,661 ✭✭✭Corvo

Pubs and hotels have been doing it here for years.

You just tend not to print it off and circulate to staff :)

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭Random Account

They just tried to bar travellers but couldn’t specifically so named as many traveller names as possible lol. I don’t blame them. I work in a hotel/bar and we get so many traveller birthdays and funerals , always sends up in violence and the place smashed up and the locals don’t show up. They are a disaster, haven’t had a celebration uniting their families without drama. Fully understand this companies idea but went about it wrong

• Registered Users Posts: 23,879 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Whoever in the first place decides to book a "holiday" in Pontins, frankly deserves a holiday in Pontins.

But, crap and all as Britannia group properties are (and they're all shocking), I can't blame them for wanting to protect their assets, their insurance and their other customers. They've just gone about it stupid as.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

65535 wrote: »
    Most of ye here have the West Brit attitude - Murphy is the most common name in Ireland yet ye do not see the racism here.
    It is as it was - No Dogs, No Blacks, No Irish.
    If they were to put West Indian Names or Nigerian names on their lists I'm sure there would be a 'BLM' outrage.
    It is further common place in England especially to say things like - 'Oh that's a bit Irish' or 'taking the Mick'
    If ye condone it then ye condone all racism.

We had it in Cork City as well when the British ruled the place - there was the 'English Market' and 'Paddys Market'

The 1974 version of boards.ie is looking for its post back... :D

Those B@st@rd McHargs. Never has anything but trouble when they're around.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

I'd go, but on condition that the list is adhered to. :D

The London based journo with iNews explained it on the radio at teatime.

If you rang up and booked with one of these surnames, or others like them, it would raise a red flag with the booking. Pontins would check it out and if for example, Pat Delaney from Dublin or Kerry or whatever booked, they would see if he had a residential address in Ireland and if that checked out, the booking would clear.

If however, Jamsie Mongan booked and gave an address as adjacent to an industrial estate in Lewisham, the red flag wouldn't clear and they'd have standby bullsh1t ready to not confirm it.

Likewise if you booked a saloon car or a family SUV with your Irish surname, it'd probably clear. But if your vehicle was a heavy 4x4 or a commercial van or wagon, chances are it wouldn't.

Very pragmatic really!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

My name isn't on the list, but I'll gladly sacrifice my opportunity to go to Pontin's as a show of solidarity.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Those B@st@rd McHargs. Never has anything but trouble when they're around.

If I see just one more of those McHarg ****'s around here I'm going to lose it completely.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Corvo wrote: »
    Pubs and hotels have been doing it here for years.

You just tend not to print it off and circulate to staff :)

what were they thinking of? i mean in this day & age

• Registered Users Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Don't think people with surnames like Rothschild and Goldstein stay at crappy little holiday camps!

I think they like to steer clear of all varieties of camps, just in case.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Don't think people with surnames like Rothschild and Goldstein stay at crappy little holiday camps!

Don't think people with any self respect stay at crappy little holiday camps!

The-Slobs1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

I paid to see the reaction if John Connors rocked up there with the family and they refused him ...

• Registered Users Posts: 2 almighty101

I would pay to see the reaction if Patrick Ward and Nidge Delaney rocked up there with the families and Pontins refused them ...