Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will the Rovers ever Return? Your pub megathread, Part 2 - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭questionmark?

xl500 wrote: »
    Well only that they went down when pubs were closed again

Funnily enough they increased massively after the pubs were shut again when we hit our peak of the pandemic in Jan/Feb. It took the lockdown and vaccines to bring it under control.
    You have zero evidence to show pubs caused the Spike.

• Registered Users Posts: 863 ✭✭✭xl500

Funnily enough they increased massively after the pubs were shut again when we hit our peak of the pandemic in Jan/Feb. It took the lockdown and vaccines to bring it under control.
    You have zero evidence to show pubs caused the Spike.

No of course your right pubs packed full of people carry no risk and are not at all a venue ideal for the spread of Covid

That's probably not the reason they have been closed for 16 months

• Registered Users Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭questionmark?

No of course your right pubs packed full of people carry no risk and are not at all a venue ideal for the spread of Covid

Thanks for confirming you have zero evidence to back up your claim so you attempt to deflect.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Pubs that opened around Christmas had table service only, screens, unsocial distance, limits on numbers in the jacks, enhanced sanitisation, masks when walking in the door etc.

Close the pubs = Drinking at home, windows closed, heating on, as many people as ya like, no one going around constantly disinfecting surfaces, and drinking as much as you can fill your belly with, loud music too so you had to raise your voice or sang...
    --- Now that's how you increase the spread of the Virus..

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭crooked cockney villain

Gotta be honest. For the first time since the full opening was cancelled last August.....i think we are nearly there.

The reaction from the last cancellation was too much for the government to weather. The right noises are being made, vaccine / recovery certs apparently ready to be mailed within the week.

NPHET royally ****ed it up. They called the government's bluff, thinking they would never implement a Covid pass system and they could potentially close the pubs beyond September.

For once, the government got pragmatic.

We just might actually be there on the 19th. It will be a glorious middle finger to them if we get it. Broken but not beaten, your Europeam cafe bar culture plan is dead and it's not coming back lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,781 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Talk now of August been the reopening date for indoor because they need more time to create the covid passport

We were all here before, August will be postponed to September to protect the reopening of the schools. Then September will be something else. Rinse and repeat

• Registered Users Posts: 15,199 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Talk now of August been the reopening date for indoor because they need more time to create the covid passport

We were all here before, August will be postponed to September to protect the reopening of the schools. Then September will be something else. Rinse and repeat

The talk of August came from an Irish times headline, I've watched the interview back and at no point did Ryan reference August for indoor.

Further meetings Thursday, a plan to come from that and plan to go to cabinet next Tuesday.

The vaccine documents are being sent out before July 19th to those fully vaccinated, nothing to do with creating the passport. They said if they were to build an app for domestic use it would take months, and it probably would.

What everybody should keep in mind is this- when it comes to coherent, confident public speaking, Eamon Ryan makes Micheal Martin seem like JFK.

Absolutely nothing this man says should be treated with the slightest seriousness. It is a damning indictment of our political system that a man of his intellect could hold any job outside of a CE scheme, never mind be the third in command of the state.

https://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:y2jGkbwMVn4J:https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/indoor-dining-may-not-open-until-august-eamon-ryan-says-1.4612953+&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=ie

I can't see anything there where he actually says no opening until August for a start.

In the same article
    Mr Varadkar said he could not “say for certain” that the Government would be in a position to implement plans for the re-opening of hospitality indoors by July 19th.

Implement plans I would take to mean open up with the plan they have.

I would take that to mean Leo has said that he isn't certain that we will re open on July 19th, but it certainly sounds a bit more confident than the headline indicates.

Again, Ryan isn't quoted in the article as saying what the headline says he said. And if he did say what the headline said he said....FFS lads, it's Eamon Ryan. If he introduced himself to me he would probably call himself Edmund Ryan and I'd end up correcting him.

He is staggeringly bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,884 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Gotta be honest. For the first time since the full opening was cancelled last August.....i think we are nearly there.

The reaction from the last cancellation was too much for the government to weather. The right noises are being made, vaccine / recovery certs apparently ready to be mailed within the week.

NPHET royally ****ed it up. They called the government's bluff, thinking they would never implement a Covid pass system and they could potentially close the pubs beyond September.

For once, the government got pragmatic.

We just might actually be there on the 19th. It will be a glorious middle finger to them if we get it. Broken but not beaten, your Europeam cafe bar culture plan is dead and it's not coming back lads.

Personally i dont understand the derisory opposition to this concept. Now im an old fashioned pints at the counter man but i think some struggling pubs could adapt this model in order to survive. When away on holiday, i quite like the idea of being able to have a beer with a small bite to eat in a cafe environment. I can always go to the pub for a session if i want too. I think both could co exist easily and as i said might well be the saviour of many pubs

People are welcome to it, and there are plenty of bars, in Dublin in particular, where if your personal preference is 3 bottles and a bit of food under the verendah, you can have it. Craft bars are quite popular and they're not the type of place men go to lash 13 pints and watch football.

It is the deliberate attempt by NPHET to kill why most Irish men like pubs, for a full afternoon into evening on the pints, or a feed of pints before hitting a late bar/ nightclub, that is what has become clear.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,740 ✭✭✭saabsaab

True enough. Some might have the space to have both a gazebo outside and a pub section inside. Bit like the old lounge and separate bar that used to be in the old days.

Maybe vaxed and non vaxed?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,543 ✭✭✭giveitholly

The talk of August came from an Irish times headline, I've watched the interview back and at no point did Ryan reference August for indoor.

Further meetings Thursday, a plan to come from that and plan to go to cabinet next Tuesday.

The vaccine documents are being sent out before July 19th to those fully vaccinated, nothing to do with creating the passport. They said if they were to build an app for domestic use it would take months, and it probably would.

Matt Cooper having it as his headline as he opened his show this evening that it looks like indoor hospitality pushed back to August

People are welcome to it, and there are plenty of bars, in Dublin in particular, where if your personal preference is 3 bottles and a bit of food under the verendah, you can have it. Craft bars are quite popular and they're not the type of place men go to lash 13 pints and watch football.

It is the deliberate attempt by NPHET to kill why most Irish men like pubs, for a full afternoon into evening on the pints, or a feed of pints before hitting a late bar/ nightclub, that is what has become clear.

Unfortunately these kind of pubs (my kind) are the ones that have been closing in recent years, drinking habits are changing rapidly

Matt Cooper having it as his headline as he opened his show this evening that it looks like indoor hospitality pushed back to August

I listened to the whole show, absolutely nothing was said in addition to this in his opening (usually the opening line is discussed in depth with contributors), I don't think he got it from anywhere bar the IT headline.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,543 ✭✭✭giveitholly

I listened to the whole show, absolutely nothing was said in addition to this in his opening (usually the opening line is discussed in depth with contributors), I don't think he got it from anywhere bar the IT headline.

Yeah when I heard the headline I presumed he had some breaking news about it but couldn't listen to the rest of the show

Unfortunately these kind of pubs (my kind) are the ones that have been closing in recent years, drinking habits are changing rapidly

I think it's economic as much as anything. People paying mortgages, or saving for one, simply can't afford to go for pints on a weeknight with regularity like men did 20 years ago. Also, less people living in council houses than 30 years ago and therefore paying less affordable rent or mortgages. Add to that, young lads aged 18 to 24/ 25 just don't seem to go out from Thursday to Sunday like my generation did, far more into fitness or just sitting in smoking joints. When I was young I didn't know a stoner who didn't love a feed of drink, nowadays plenty of younger ones are all but teetotal.

As for the weekend afternoons, fanaticism for the premier league has fallen off a cliff in this country in the last decade, driven largely (IMO) by the relative decline of the big two clubs in popularity due to their general decline in quality since then (2020 excepted), mixed with more people getting into League of Ireland.

I was watching the Utd Liverpool derby in a boozer in Crumlin two or so years ago, I'd say there was 20 people in the place. A decade plus ago you would struggle to get standing room in most locals.

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

Pubs did not open in summer

https://www.rte.ie/news/regional/2021/0705/1233094-buncrana-covid-latest/

This is what's happening in an area where the pubs are open now as they essentially are using north to socialise and cases are going crazy and it'not shops etc as they are open in south so reason cases are high is direct result of pubs in north being visited by people around donegal

So what's your answer to that question. Its the same in all border counties and beyond. I went 40 mins up the road to Enniskillen last Saturday. Will do the same this saturday and beyond. Made a deal with another couple to do this for July, 1 of us drives each Saturday
    People will find a way, its not nice eating outside after 6 or 7

• Registered Users Posts: 9,952 ✭✭✭Degag

I think they might get away with reopening on 26th July but if it goes into August they are set for another huge backlash.

This piece of paper Covid Cert is a fairly ridiculous idea IMO and i'd hope it wouldn't be delayed for that. I'd be fairly sure that my local publican won't be asking to see it and in my extended area I couldn't see too many ask for it.

I think publicans reopened indoors very responsibly last year and can't see any reason why they shouldn't be allowed do the same on the 19th.

Asking for a vaccination cert would be what's responsible.

Maybe, i just don't really get it. I can go into a barber unvaccinated and the barber will be up close to me for 15-20 mins. I could be sitting for 5 mins with a mix of other people while waiting. In every other place of business i can mix with other people. I can even do so in a hotel bar for hours on end.

But i potentially can't go into my local bar, sit on a table on my own, have 2 pints and leave after 30 minutes:confused:

Degag wrote: »
    Maybe, i just don't really get it. I can go into a barber unvaccinated and the barber will be up close to me for 15-20 mins. I could be sitting for 5 mins with a mix of other people while waiting. In every other place of business i can mix with other people. I can even do so in a hotel bar for hours on end.

But i potentially can't go into my local bar, sit on a table on my own, have 2 pints and leave after 30 minutes:confused:

Ah now come on, if thats all everybody was doing in pubs, there wouldn't be an issue

Asking for a vaccination cert would be what's responsible.

With paper certs would people not just be able to take a photo of one of their family/friends certs and use that to go into a pub ?

Jesus this system could be a farse, Why can't we have nice things in Ireland

Ah now come on, if thats all everybody was doing in pubs, there wouldn't be an issue

Funny, the prostitution trade has stayed open through the entire pandemic. How many cases you think would come from one infected brass seeing three- five days worth of clients up close before she realises she has it?

Where was Tony saying "the virus loves brothels". Nowhere. Wouldn't touch it.

Never a single word on any sort of clamp down on it, it would be political suicide targeting a business conducted mainly by a- women b- migrants.

Reason number 78 to recognise this has had nothing to do with public health and everything to do with a war on the traditional pub.

With paper certs would people not just be able to take a photo of one of their family/friends certs and use that to go into a pub ?

Jesus this system could be a farse, Why can't we have nice things in Ireland

Name would be on it, possibly age, show ID that corresponds with same I'd say.

Though unless it has a gold seal or watermark on it you would think anybody handy with photoshop would be able to knock one up either.

Of course, i'm simply pointing out the fallacy of it.

But, last summer it worked pretty well without these certs. You sat on the same table as the people you came with apart from when visiting the facilities. Every pub i went to abided by this pretty much. I don't see why it needs to differ this time around.

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

Funny, the prostitution trade has stayed open through the entire pandemic. How many cases you think would come from one infected brass seeing three- five days worth of clients up close before she realises she has it?

Where was Tony saying "the virus loves brothels". Nowhere. Wouldn't touch it.

Never a single word on any sort of clamp down on it, it would be political suicide targeting a business conducted mainly by a- women b- migrants.

Reason number 78 to recognise this has had nothing to do with public health and everything to do with a war on the traditional pub.

The boozers are open so you can get your gargle on, CCV.

Name would be on it, possibly age, show ID that corresponds with same I'd say.

Though unless it has a gold seal or watermark on it you would think anybody handy with photoshop would be able to knock one up either.

What would be ideal would be it been all in one

Picture
    Name
    DOB
    PPS number
    Vaccination details

Quite easy to upload a passport style photo from a phone/laptop etc

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

1. Picture
    2. Name
    3. DOB
    4. PPS number
    5. Vaccination details

Having to present all your personal data just to go for a pint? No thanks!

And i'd say many will be the same, after all for the past 16 months pubs have been closed and people have adapted by having their own little bar at home with beer taps etc... Especially going into the Autumn and winter people will just stay home and have house parties as they have been doing...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,692 ✭✭✭hynesie08

What would be ideal would be it been all in one

Picture
    Name
    DOB
    PPS number
    Vaccination details

Quite easy to upload a passport style photo from a phone/laptop etc

Getting locked with a document in your pocket with your date of birth and pps number on it could go wrong very very quickly.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,740 ✭✭✭saabsaab

hynesie08 wrote: »

Getting locked with a document in your pocket with your date of birth and pps number on it could go wrong very very quickly.

I'm sure most local barmen in the country at least, will know you well and all about you too. No ID needed even know if you have the vax or not. Only outside need show ID.