Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jet Get Radio!!!! post here when you get something new!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Not a get but my cousin just dropped off a 1up street fighter cab for me to put together and keep until Christmas eve for his son.

Honestly the best thing about the 1up cabs are the stools. I have my MK2 one and it's awesome, goes so well with the cab

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,800 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I'd love the Ridge Racer cab, I'd sell the two I have to get that, but no one is importing them :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,410 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

'Just' $394 to have it fright forwarded by shipito.com ...and then taxes/duties

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,800 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Jaysus it would be cheaper to build it myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,509 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Very surprised nobody in the EU has imported these, I've had several bikes shipped from Germany for €50, latest one even came on a cardboard pallet. RRP would likely be higher but the shipping costs would probably be grand so it's not like they'd be way out on pricing to not sell. The newer 1Ups surely have a wider appeal too.

1ups seem to be a huge Christmas item since they were released.

I'd guess in 3-4 years though adverts will be flooded with them for cheapish. They are grand but hard to complete against the PS5 etc for most people who get them as presents

Think I got a pretty good pickup. Big shout-out to eddhorse for sending me the link.

Just from the pictures alone of what I can see it's a good deal.

It's currently in the care of brown hand digit so Ill collect this week. Thanks to himself too 😘

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

The CLD 2950 is a very decent player(and this one has the AC3 already done). I've got one alongside my CLD-D925.

The discs in that ad are worth the cost alone (was thinking of going for it myself just for the discs 🙂)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,509 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

I love the size of Laserdiscs. Something about the large format makes it more appealing than just a VHS or DVD case. Looks like a sweet collection too.

Do you have an idea of what else is there or is it a bit of a surprise? I'm actually jealous at the idea of flicking through a collection of 80s/90s Laserdiscs...

Holy fecking sh1tballs, that is one amazing get!

Love the classic Flash Gordon LDs!

Collecting them tonight.

After seeing more of the discs and I am very happy 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭geotrig

Very nice get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭eddhorse

savage haul, not jealous or sorry at all that i sent on that link :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,597 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Really looking forward to seeing some photos of these, instant collection for 250 euro - one of the biggest bargains we've ever had on here I reckon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,597 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Looking forward to movie night at Jack Burton's :D

Hearing the sound of a laserdisc spinning up for the first time - anticipation of wondering what the video quality will be like and then tinged with fear of the noise of a disc that big ramping up to 1800rpm (I think?)

I suppose a 29" Trini is the best, easy to find, way to watch an LD?

Or would one be seeking a 16:9 CRT by Sony instead?

Also, wish I had a time machine so I could grab the LD and movies first... bugger

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,443 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I'd have looked forward to buying them off you in the future. Pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Laserdisc on a PVM/BVM looks really nice. That's how i view them mostly. The only problem is the "newer" laserdiscs that are all widescreen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

20211209_224650.jpg 20211209_224720.jpg 21-12-11-00-12-14-345_deco.jpg 20211209_224857.jpg

I got these Persona 3 movie booklets, I thought they were flyers so was really surprised, as well as a character acrylic and armband.

I got this 80s Girly Design book that I wanted for ages too, I got another book but it didn't ship yet.

Made a little video of the laser disc haul.

There's so much to even get through. Have to build some good storage for all these now over Christmas

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,682 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I don't think I'd ever bother actually watching a laserdisc film in these 4K days, but nonetheless that's a very impressive haul of discs and a hell of an instant collection! Still plenty of value in the likes of the Star Wars trilogy since George Lucas went on to ruin almost all future home releases of those movies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,047 ✭✭✭Inviere

Last time I watched the original trilogy, I went with the full quality ~20GB de-specialised editions....wow, I can say for certain I'll never watch the official releases again. For the Prequel Trilogy I went with the HAL9000 edits, and again, wow....they're so much more focused. No amount of editing can really Save EPII, but I and III and actually very decent in this guise. It's really impressive what can be done, and how they can change the narrative at will with edits and new shots/effects....Padme gets a new ending in EPIII, one that's far more fitting and not at all eye rolling. The sequel trilogy I suppose I just don't know well enough yet to bother with fanedits, but they're out there too.

Went wild and picked up a MiSTer FPGA board setup. Found it interesting that when I kicked off an update it just started to download the arcade core ROM files (in whatever funky format the cores wanted).

Need to grab a game 'best of' for the console/computer cores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Colonel Panic

Mistercade time. Looks pretty good, although I need to align my display image and adjust the colours.

IMG_8363 Large.jpeg IMG_8356 Large.jpeg IMG_8361 Large.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,255 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Aye. Must have been the update_all script you ran. Absolute essential script for MiSTer use IMO. Just cleans up, arranges, downloads everything you need (especially on the Arcade side)....even renames the core list if you want.

Worth running every now and then (or at the very least, then standard update script) just to stay on top of the latest core revisions etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭eddhorse

Great workand also to @Colonel Panic for the Mistercade, how much did you get stung for shipping/customs?