Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 3) Mod Notes and Threadbanned List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭bricksNDmortar

They could of formed a government if other parties put people first and out their egos aside.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,194 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Sure they could, if the other parties could live with their dingbat policies.

The magic money tree doesn’t grow in governments gardens, a chara

• Registered Users Posts: 7,700 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Sf (for years): FF and FG are two sides of the same coin, they are the same party, no difference

Also Sf: I am shocked and outraged these two parties went into coalition

• Registered Users Posts: 18,411 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Every stereotype has grains of truth otherwise they would not exist. Look at the majority of Green Party candidates background and where they get their votes. Look at the background of the majority of SF candidates and where they get their votes.

You said compromise does not work. Without compromise SF would not have got this far in the first place. The difference is they do it slowly piece by piece after watching researching and looking at which way the wind blows.

If a TD was as dogmatic as you they might get elected on a one ticket issue but that would be it. In order to lead in the Dail consistently there must be compromise. Otherwise the floating voters go elsewhere.

Historically what is successful in Irish politics is middle of the road politics. SF will have to make real compromise to get there. And stay there for an extended period.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

It deosnt work,liberials only use it to destroy progress and hurt the poorest

Hence how green have almost zero of their platform.in programme for government

This weird cultlike lust for middle of the road politics has country in state it is,where nothing ever changes and any miniscule social progress takes decades and decades to happen....hence how its been almost a concious decision of generations of governments here to force out the young with repeated recessions...(sf are only polling now,where they should been 10 years ago,an entire generation forced out to save banks)

If as acknowledged by most,that the next government not be formed without shinners...what then is the advantage/reason for them in compromising?

Centrism has utterly failed,its been forced out in germany,le pen (as questionable as she is) is looking strong in france...decades and decades of stalling and social decay to save failed banks (and a failed idology) might at last be coming to an end

It is up to SF to become as palatable for other parties to go into government with. If you remember Labour, FF and FG all ran on the premise that they would not go in government with SF so there is still the greater mandate there. Plus if you view FF and FG two sides of the same coin why are you shocked they went into government together? (Hobson’s choice the lesser of two evils)

I predict FF and FG will eventually merge as they have more in common than they don’t these days. It will be to become a stronger counter balance to SF.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

I disagree it is centrist politics that has served this country very well and is the main reason it has survived a century. It has seen Ireland as a peaceful prosperous country. Member of the EU. Asylum seekers seek out Ireland for this reason. Your radical ‘studenty’ type ideals only lead to less compromise. Dogmatism. Intransigence and political upheaval.

It is the reason why SF have to change despite themselves. To suit ROI politics.

And ironically to use your word be less ‘cult like’. They are getting there slowly. SF will be a ‘normal’ left of centre party yet!

The state the country is in,and all social issues lie here,at feet of centrism

The reason people are shovelling money out to forgien landlords is centrism,the reason our healthcare is constanstly on brink of collaspe lies,why our classsizes are too big,why we have no state provided childcare lie at feet of centrism

Centrism will broadly tell yous,that increased competition will cause lower prices...never have we had as much competion in electricty and prices never been higher....its same as communism,it fails in real world practice

You havent answered qs,as to what advantages lie in compromises,for a party which a government cant be formed without??

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭bricksNDmortar

The obsession on this thread is worrying. More FF an FG voters here then SF shame they don’t come out in force at election.

Complete rubbish in that post.

Most of our problems are outside our control, think back a chara , are we better off now than back in the fifties sixties and such, despite our difficulties the answer has to be yes!

Difficult decisions have to be made, those who make them will always be somewhat unpopular in certain circles.

Thats a given.

In any big company you will have the wasters and time servers who criticise all management decisions.

As in the State you will find that they are lazy stults who work the ‘system’ and expect everything to be handed to them.

SF have huge support in that coterie given their ‘money for everyone ‘ type of policies and anyone with a lick of sense can see that that would be a complete disaster for any country.

Its about time folk realised this.

And yet,each and every issue facing state lies at feet of centrism......i mean,who else is to be politically accountable?

By logical infersion,if they are responsible for all you preceive to be good,then it also falls they are to be responsible for any failings too.....just we have reached the tipping point,where the failures are too great to ignore any longer and are outnumbering the positives over last decade

Who is responsible for the situation in Ukraine?

A bunch of ‘centerists’.

Who is responsible for Covid, the Government?

cullinane was on radio today all po-faced and sanctimonious….. this is the “Up the Ra” and the guy who celebrated ‘we broke the bastard State’.

So please don’t give us that auld bull about centerism being at the feet of every issue.

It might be for you in your innocence but for those who get up early it’s pure bull.

Funny enough,centrists in nato refusing to enforce a no-fly zone are prolonging the war in ukraine

Centrists continualy pushed for reopening during an airborne pandemic,our government going as far as to introduce tax breaks/rebates to encourage socialising

Would it be true,this government bought up all ppe at start of pandemic,and wouldnt distribute it to nursing homes causing diasters there....prefering to tell them buy it emselves as they were private,despite none available on private market??

I am not sure you actually believe that claptrap yourself it seems like 'Pubtalk' or stuff you would hear in a SU bar. You say the 'state of this country' this country is one of the exemplars for the rest of Europe. You seem desperate to create a bogeyman to rant and rave about. You go on about electricity and petrol as if is the government's fault. That is a worldwide issue nothing to do with Ireland. You go on about Childcare. Fair enough. But again, that is a personal choice of both parents whether they want to work or not.

You mention healthcare constantly been on the brink of collapse. It never has. In fact it has over achieved given the size of the country and the resources available to it.

I have already answer the question of compromise on numerous occasions. It is necessary on many levels cross party committees, forming a government leading, getting the middle ground to stick with a party. SF have already made compromises in their own way to get this far.

The fact is SF have gradually went more centrist bit by bit over time. At the moment they are basically FF 1930's IMO. And will gradually move towards the centre as they enter the realm of 'senior hurling' in the ROI. They might even end up getting a grasp on economic issues and the reality of leading a government in the ROI. It is how stable governments last. Practical governance not based on ideology..

To equate centrism to communist politics is really laughable. I am not sure whether you are being faciousious or not!

But if you look at any stable governance it is invariably centrist. OK it might not please everyone. But it pleases the majority of people. It allows for practical decisions which are not ideologically based.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Funnily enough it might be to avoid starting WW3.

Hmmm I distinctly heard a Ms MCDonald of SF go viral in support of pub reopening?

Didnt realise she was a centerist.

Haha. I honestly think SF is heading towards the centre. And whisper it will become part of ‘the establishment’. Naturally they will have to find a way of spinning it so it seems radical and ‘new’. But they have to still manage to appear ‘left’ in the face of PBP or the independents on the left.

If any party will find some way of doing so without ‘losing face’ it is SF. I am sure they had it planned decades ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,587 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Looks like SF were correct to object to the planning permissions given what has now happened with the O'Deavney gardens developments. Chickens coming home to roost for the government and their housing policy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭piplip87

I'd say Finucane is busy tonight

• Registered Users Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

In fairness, it is serious barrel scraping stuff to try and fob that one off as real. 'Prove this clearly fake tweet that doesn't actually exist outside this easily editable screenshot isn't fake' isn't a very good standard for debate.

There has been a spate of these clearly fake tweets targeting multiple parties over the last while, all following the same Snapchat screenshot, 'before it was taken down' and bad grammar combo that leads me to suspect they're all coming from the same place.

I'll be interested to see if the usual posters on this thread show a bit of cop on and integrity, or if the bar is set at, 'anything that can be slung at SF will do'.

I've said it before, this sort of nonsense absolutely undermines real criticism of SF. It isn't like there's a shortage of material.....yet here you are discussing a clearly fake tweet, with a poster crying for evidence that it is fake rather than providing evidence that it isn't.

I didn't cry for evidence

Hyperbole much

I just asked the person who said it was a photoshop how they knew this

The point I made that posts favourable to despotic regimes like Russia,China or Cuba weren't unusual on SF socials untill recently,what's wrong with that?

That the change is typical of SF noticing a trend against something they support and then dumping their support is a valid point

• Registered Users Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

Careful you don't break a nail, you've almost got through the bottom of that barrel, Marine Layer.

It's clearly a fake tweet, you know it's a fake tweet, everyone on the fecking thread knows its a fake tweet that follows the same formula as other similarly targeted fake tweets.

If you genuinely didn't realise it was a fake tweet, then I'd suggest you engage in a bit more fact checking in general rather than running off with a semi to throw any old nonsense that supports your pre-existing position up to see if your buddies will give you a pat on the back. If you did realise it was fake, then you were just going for old faithful, 'throw enough sh*t and see if it'll stick'.

If you want to make a point about SF trend-hopping and dropping support like a hot potato when it is politically expedient for them, that's fair enough.....you'd have my agreement on it too! Using a clearly fake tweet to support that point? Well that just makes it incredibly easy to dismiss the whole thing; your legitimate point is the baby going out with the bathwater. It's a very cheap tactic which like I said, totally undermines legitimate critique.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭piplip87

Jaysus even more links between SF and the cartel. Add to a SF TD & Her spouse attending a boxing event as guests of the Monk shortly before the regency attack it seems the links run deep on both sides .

Oh I doubt SF's connections or hypocritical love of Empires other than Britain's will ever be un noticed

• Registered Users Posts: 27,347 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Twitter is a cesspool, as I keep saying, and usually it is supporters of Sinn Fein who criticise me for that. Now it seems the tide is turning.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,718 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Black cat, black kitten.

Always a whiff of sulphur off the Finnucanes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

Are threadbans actually enforced?

Why do you ask?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

Multiple posts from a threadbanned poster this morning that haven’t been removed.

Same last week from another threadbanned user. However he had the good grace to apologise and not post again when it was pointed out. His posts were subsequently removed.