Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I've just been to the Polski Sklep

1235»

• Registered Users Posts: 5,717 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I was in one of those shops recently and was queueing up at the til. The operator was pure chatty with the people he was serving, chattering away in Polish and having a laugh. Finally he gets to me and he says "hello how are you?". "Not too bad" says I. Then I thought how does he know I'm not Polish? So I asked him how he knew. He says "it is obvious you have a big Irish potato head!"
    I had a good laugh with him but it did feel weird getting the plss taken out of me by a guy I'd never met before.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,298 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

I'd love to know more about how to prepare Polish foods. I'd like to get out of the rut I'm in but when I go shopping, all I see is a heap of different foods that I know nothing about: are pieroggi a starter? Do they require a dip? Is that something else I have to go looking for?

Are there any good English-language YT videos on basic Polish dishes with ingredients you'll find in the Polish shop? (Did somebody say there's a thread over in the Food forum? I just had a look & I don't see it...)

youtube channel polish your kitchen
    https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://m.youtube.com/c/PolishYourKitchen/videos&ved=2ahUKEwixjO_rusPuAhUkpnEKHR1EC54QFjAEegQICBAB&usg=AOvVaw0nRgfTrlT-xwHGeFZmufCo

learnt a few different ways of doing my polish standards

• Registered Users, Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,177 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

I was in one of those shops recently and was queueing up at the til. The operator was pure chatty with the people he was serving, chattering away in Polish and having a laugh. Finally he gets to me and he says "hello how are you?". "Not too bad" says I. Then I thought how does he know I'm not Polish? So I asked him how he knew. He says "it is obvious you have a big Irish potato head!"
    I had a good laugh with him but it did feel weird getting the plss taken out of me by a guy I'd never met before.

Something similar happened me before. I was queueing to get into bar in Vancouver. I was on my own as I was running late and my friends were already inside. The bouncer started leaving a load of people in and just as I was about to go in he stops me and asked me if I was Irish. I asked him how he knew (he didn't hear my voice because I didn't say a word in the queue) and he said you've a big fecking Irish head up on ya! It turned out the bouncer was Irish as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

I asked for dried fenugreek in the local Asian market and the Indian looking chap told me they were out of it.

I googled it and asked for it in what I'm assuming was Urdu, Kasuri Methi. Straight over to it he was.

If one of us has to learn a new language, it's likely gonna be him.

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭JeffreyEpspeen

fatknacker wrote: »
    Sometimes I go in there and buy bread and pretend I’m Slavic by not talking. I think I get away with it until the shopkeeper speaks to me in English :mad:

When I was younger, I was in a nightclub and a group of Eastern European guys took me under their wing because I was on my own. Once they found out I was actually Irish, they completely lost interest.

Also had a girl just assume I was Polish in a nightclub once.

I think it's the resting bitch face I was saddled with.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,650 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

L1011 wrote: »
    Plenty just have mass-market Polish and/or Lithuanian lager (back when I could drink lager without acid problems I was partial to Syvturys); some have quite interesting ranges. It hugely depends. Plenty don't have drink licences at all.

My wife made me give up cans about 10 years ago, shes Lithuanian herself, I had this acid problem too so she insisted I drink only bottles, the problem completely disapeared but it took a few months, coincidence I don't know but it worked for me. Svyturys have many fine lagers I think the brewery itself is of German or prussian origin and byGod the Germans and the Belgians knew how to brew beer

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,090 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Yamanoto wrote: »
    I asked for dried fenugreek in the local Asian market and the Indian looking chap told me they were out of it.

I googled it and asked for it in what I'm assuming was Urdu, Kasuri Methi. Straight over to it he was.

If one of us has to learn a new language, it's likely gonna be him.

Well, kasuri methi is dried fenugreek leaf, maybe he thought you meant fenugreek seed. A different thing entirely. But methi is very nice.

Has anyone tried that pork fat in a jar, smalek? It's a Polish thing.

I see tesco sell it too. But it only seems to last two days in the fridge, so haven't got around to buying it yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,705 ✭✭✭seenitall

As someone from EE, another comment I can offer reading this thread, is that the Eastern Europeans living here don’t feel as foreign to the place or as different to the Irish as the Irish perceive them to be. Going by some comments in this thread, I get the feeling that some people see Eastern Europeans as exotic and segregated, when That’s not really the case at all. Sure, I have noticed that the Polish like to stick to their own when it comes to socialising etc. but I think That’s because the mentalities and the lifestyles differ from the Irish ones, much more than any cultural integration issue being in play. They are more family and long-time friends oriented at all times, and they drink in those circles rather than going out on pub crawls (not that they don’t go out but it is usually a more targeted event, rather than the spontaneous but everlasting typical Irish pub life every weekend). But mingling among Eastern Europeans here, especially Polish, they are very comfortable with living in Ireland. There is more in common than not, having grown up with the same religion being a biggie, as well. (It is a big background element that contributes to a comfortable integration.) Perhaps it is also the Language one-way barrier that skews perceptions somewhat (i.e. the ubiquituousness of the English Language Learning in most European countries these days makes the EE people more able to immerse themselves into their daily dealings with the Irish here, than would be the case the other way around, and consequently also the Irish see them as more different than they see themselves in relation to Ireland).

But enough of my waffle. The upshot is that Polish shops are no more mystifying, or less desirous of Irish customers, than any other shops at all at all. Go in and spend your money, they’ll be very happy with ye! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Must say I have taken to dill crisps, Kofola, sauerkraut and pickled herrings. Yum!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I was in the polski shop today and the girl at the till started speaking Polish, not a clue what she was saying.
    Lovely deli meat in them shops

• Registered Users Posts: 24,399 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Something similar happened me before. I was queueing to get into bar in Vancouver. I was on my own as I was running late and my friends were already inside. The bouncer started leaving a load of people in and just as I was about to go in he stops me and asked me if I was Irish. I asked him how he knew (he didn't hear my voice because I didn't say a word in the queue) and he said you've a big fecking Irish head up on ya! It turned out the bouncer was Irish as well.

Even in London could usually spot us a mile way. The heads and quite often the fashion give it away.

Could anyone recommend something similar to Toulouse sausage from a Polish shop?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

Just got some Slaska sausage. Hadn't a clue what it would be like. It was lovely.

It was this stuff, although not that brand exactly as it was from the deli.

Make no mistake:

tenor.gif?itemid=6058017

To order more.

Went to the Polski Sklep today on Paul Street.

I bought fresh sauerkraut. As in, active, fermented. Not pasteurised. For €3.50. Far cheaper than other offerings.

Also some pickled red pepper and a solid looking protein bread.

Took a photo of the jarred offerings on the way out.

y70sTmv.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Often in those Polish shops they sell random lumps of mysterious meat at the counter - offcuts or left over ends - you’ll often get something delicious and exotic but never be able to replicate buying it again! They same some great smoked cheeses too - but a lot of creamy and mild ones which I’m not as fond of - you can’t fault them for their range! And wierd tasty carb in boxes alternatives!

There was a lithuanian shop near me at one stage in Blanchardstown and OMG you would die for the range of freshly made cakes every day, insanely delicious different cheese (I think) cakes, pick and mix shortcake biscuits and an incredible always fresh salad bar. (lots of pickled things!) No-one spoke a word of english but they were always incredibly welcoming and friendly.

And the freshly made breads - every morning I’d buy (& eat) a loaf!!

I used love for very different reasons that crazy asian shop at the back of Georges Mall - literally ANYTHiNG you wanted could be got there - one eyes fish, fossilised octopuii, eel swimming in white tubs, algae/seaweed of every shape & colour - once you could figure out how to use it & had google translate to identify it! Insanely busy & always a slightly mad vibe like anything could happen once you were in fhere.

Great afternoons out! What was that place in Moore St that seemed to have its own farmyard of de-hooved and beheaded things in buckets under tables. Sometimes you’d be afraId to look. Certainly not for the vegan left.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,770 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Went to the Polski Sklep today on Paul Street.

I bought fresh sauerkraut. As in, active, fermented. Not pasteurised. For €3.50. Far cheaper than other offerings.

How do you identify fresh from pasteurised?

It says it on the packaging. There's a vent to allow air to come out. It's in a paper / plastic package, not a jar.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,770 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    It says it on the packaging. There's a vent to allow air to come out. It's in a paper / plastic package, not a jar.

Ah, yeah. I know the ones. Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Esho

Polish sorrel soup is delicious.
    When I can't get it fresh, I get it in the sklep.

It is pureed and labelled "Szczaw" .

The Kompot - compote - of sour cherries and other berries is also a real treat.
    Cherries are "Wisniowy" and raspberry is "Malinowy".

Beetroot soup concentate is Barszcz - if you like beetroot, this is really good.
    I fry a rasher, onions and garlic, and grate in a carrot or two before adding the stock & concentrate.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Patsy167

These are a real treat for those that like mallows - https://www.tesco.com/groceries/en-GB/products/286187202

• Registered Users, Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,177 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

Often in those Polish shops they sell random lumps of mysterious meat at the counter - offcuts or left over ends - you’ll often get something delicious and exotic but never be able to replicate buying it again!

I was standing at the meat counter in my local Polish shop recently looking at a tray of something trying to guess what it was. The girl behind the counter asked me if I wanted some of the chicken hearts. A bit too exotic for me!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,603 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Esho wrote: »
    Polish sorrel soup is delicious.
    When I can't get it fresh, I get it in the sklep.

It is pureed and labelled "Szczaw" .

So, How do I ask for that?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,457 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I used love for very different reasons that crazy asian shop at the back of Georges Mall - literally ANYTHiNG you wanted could be got there - one eyes fish, fossilised octopuii, eel swimming in white tubs, algae/seaweed of every shape & colour - once you could figure out how to use it & had google translate to identify it! Insanely busy & always a slightly mad vibe like anything could happen once you were in fhere.
    Your idea of "anything you want" is very different to mine! :D (Notice I didn't include the algae and seaweed. I have some of the 'homegrown' variety myself at the moment.)