Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭Cork2021

Poor fûckers who want this to continue must be thinking about the detox that’s coming!!

It is. A referendum is a necessity for any party wanting to change the constitution. Not a difficult concept, Boggles. You surprise even me.

I think laws restricting the government's ability to impinge on its citizens are potentially the only constitutional laws that have merit in reality. An idea that's only strengthened during these lockdowns and in the light of various climate activist groups calling for future lockdowns for their issue du jour. YMMV.

No reason this needs to change. It's just added checks and balances along the way to restrict government overreach.

You mean rum, surely.

You have Ale drinkers and rum drinkers. Never shall both agree

Cork2021 wrote: »
    Poor fûckers who want this to continue must be thinking about the detox that’s coming!!

Who are these imaginary people?

The country is full of hypochondriacs. People can't wait to say they have Covid so they can post it up on facebook for the likes.

it's an absolute nonsense, we have burned our economy to the ground because of 'case numbers', the vast majority of whom don't have any symptoms.

This is a 21st century, social-media pandemic.

For the month of January no one who had "no symptoms" was getting tested. Given almost half of all cases occurred in January, where is this "vast majority"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

For the month of January no one who had "no symptoms" was getting tested. Given almost half of all cases occurred in January, where is this "vast majority"?

Sure its a well known fact that all those people in ICU in January were only there for the craic

They have done very well suppressing the virus. Other than that I have no time for them.

There is a lot to learn from the resoluteness and effectiveness of their response to stop transmission.

China are not merely having people stay at home. They're forcing people into central quarantines. Lots of people's pets have starved to death at home as a result.

They're still doing it, too. 22 million were placed into lockdown last month and remain in lockdown now. Which suggests that stricter and more authoritarian, military-enforced lockdowns are not quite the golden bullet you think.

Not to mention the recent news coming out that China have massively underreported their Covid numbers both now and back when the pandemic was beginning and they knew about it and did nothing.

That's the problem when the government stops being the servant of the people and becomes the sole authority. They've no accountability to their citizens and they'll make up any old ****e to save face with the outside world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,252 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

This is a 21st century, social-media pandemic.

A lot of people have had dreadful experiences with this disease gone to hospital, ICU etc

People are dying everyday.

I wonder what they and/or their family members would think of an attitude like that.

I'd imagine at best they'd find it very insulting. Let's just say I wouldn't be saying things like that in person to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭Cork2021

Who are these imaginary people?

Okay ;-)

Covid-19 is not just a cold (yet!) and it's not the black death, and it would be nice if people would stop trying to pin those opinions on people they disagree with. Nobody here wants stricter lockdowns through 2025 (with the exception of Kermit maybe) and nobody wants to let Covid rip and kill all the grannies.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Donnelly really is some piece of work.
    Making big announcements without deals being finalised.

https://www.thejournal.ie/vaccaination-centres-5356216-Feb2021/

Last night he banned some media outlets from a press briefing.

This is whats running our vaccination program and what is keeping us under these ridiculous restrictions.

The man is an absolute waste of space.
    Minister for Useless!!!

Covid-19 is not just a cold (yet!) and it's not the black death, and it would be nice if people would stop trying to pin those opinions on people they disagree with. Nobody here wants stricter lockdowns through 2025 (with the exception of Kermit maybe) and nobody wants to let Covid rip and kill all the grannies.

Only the granddads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭OwenM

A lot of people have had dreadful experiences with this disease gone to hospital, ICU etc

People are dying everyday.

I wonder what they and/or their family members would think of an attitude like that.

I'd imagine at best they'd find it very insulting. Let's just say I wouldn't be saying things like that in person to anyone.

People die everyday, covid is a contagious virus that causes illness and death in some, is it (still) a pandemic though - that is a subjective question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

OwenM wrote: »
    People die everyday, covid is a contagious virus that causes illness and death in some, is it (still) a pandemic though - that is a subjective question.

Yes.

If you have new evidence to the contrary, throw it up. I'll gladly take a peek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭fran38

So as it stands, the Gardai can fine someone 500e just for breaking the 5k limit, raising to 2000e if someone decides to go ahead and get on the plane. They could face a criminal charge on their return. Is this in force already ? Or is it in waiting once the mandatory quarantine hotels are set up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Captain Pillowcase

Just thought I wold share one of the replies I got back from the Senators I emailed last week. Stunningly insightful and comprehensive.

Thank you very much for your email.

I have noted everything that is in this email. I agree that the economy is taking a hit with the current crisis we are in. I hope that we can get through this soon.

Senator Erin McGreehan
    Fianna Fáil

I am full of hope now........:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

Just thought I wold share one of the replies I got back from the Senators I emailed last week. Stunningly insightful and comprehensive.

I have noted everything that is in this email. I agree that the economy is taking a hit with the current crisis we are in. I hope that we can get through this soon.

Senator Erin McGreehan
    Fianna Fáil

there's more substance in a stale rich tea biscuit than in that response. did a ty student on work experience type it up ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Senator Erin McGreehan
    Fianna Fáil

Ah god love us isn’t that a lovely message

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Was anyone listening to Matt Cooper? I only caught the tail end of a conversation but there was some correspondent on who said that Government weren’t ruling out delaying the reopening of construction until April. Absolute madness! Then that will push non essential retail into May/June. There is absolutely no reason construction can’t open next Monday never mind April

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Was anyone listening to Matt Cooper? I only caught the tail end of a conversation but there was some correspondent on who said that Government weren’t ruling out delaying the reopening of construction until April. Absolute madness! Then that will push non essential retail into May/June. There is absolutely no reason construction can’t open next Monday never mind April

You forgetting it's not the government running the country, it's Tony and nphet.....
    Economy will be in tatters, unemployment will soar but they won't care one jot....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

You're right, they couldn't care less; they're already well set up and looked after. So, in turn, maybe you should stop caring about their "restrictions", and start looking after yourself as well.

I’m trying to but what can u do , I can’t socialize like normal and go that far from my house, ya I go beyond the 5km but that’s cause I know how to avoid certain checkpoints but the most I’ve gone is about 8/9km.

And that will put more pressure on people trying to live on covid payments plus damage to construction firms. Kerry Group letting 150 people go as well saw that today.. This is all such a shame what will be left of our once beautiful functioning country? Are other economies going to be in as bad a state as ours or am I being too negative

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Captain Pillowcase

TheDoctor wrote: »
    Ah god love us isn’t that a lovely message

I bet you will sleep all the more soundly tonight for the heart felt sentiment and reassurance this message contained. This has filled my poor peasant heart and I no longer miss my family and friends nor freedom. It has also filled my bank account. Its a Fianna Fáil miracle........:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Irish Times Breaking: New Covid-19 variants may delay schools reopening, Cabinet told

There are suggestions emerging from Government that the timetable for the wider reopening of schools might be delayed a little following the latest public health advice on new variants of Covid-19.

While schools in themselves are safe, the Government has said there needs to be a “note of caution around mass mobility”.

That suggests that the Government will move at a slower pace than originally planned with the phased reopening of schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

RobitTV wrote: »
    Irish Times Breaking: New Covid-19 variants may delay schools reopening, Cabinet told

There are suggestions emerging from Government that the timetable for the wider reopening of schools might be delayed a little following the latest public health advice on new variants of Covid-19.

While schools in themselves are safe, the Government has said there needs to be a “note of caution around mass mobility”.

That suggests that the Government will move at a slower pace than originally planned with the phased reopening of schools.

Why am I not surprised..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,537 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Variants is the new buzz word in town and will **** everything up for us

So we stay locked down and when/if those variants arise we will be seen as the good boys of Europe

this whole narrative about new variants is a sneak peak to government policy for the next 12-18 months. sorry lads we can't reopen yet new variants. The vaccine seems to be an afterthought to dragging out restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

So we are ruling out or completely ignoring the seasonality factor in this virus, this is the most unscientific bat s##t crazy destructive Government policy we will ever witness.

We are going to go for Zero Covid...we are stupid enough to!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,688 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

There's always been variants. Remember the Italian one? Chinese one? Spanish one? There was one in the US over the summer which was thought to be more contagious.

https://www.usnews.com/news/health-news/articles/2020-05-06/new-coronavirus-strain-more-contagious-scientists-say

Aside from the odd article there wasn't constant mention made of them in the media. Were they the made the basis for new lockdowns? No.

But cases and hospitalisations are falling dramatically all over the place. Millions of people around the world have been vaccinated. We need some other bogeyman to be scared of. Its normal for a virus to have various strains. Its not some new thing. But seems like all prior knowledge and facts go out the window when it comes to coronavirus. Seasonality? Not a thing. Herd immunity through a combination of infections and vaccinations? Impossible! Just keep being scared

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    There's always been variants. Remember the Italian one? Chinese one? Spanish one? There was one in the US over the summer which was thought to be more contagious.

https://www.usnews.com/news/health-news/articles/2020-05-06/new-coronavirus-strain-more-contagious-scientists-say

Aside from the odd article there wasn't mention made of them in the media. Were they the made the basis for new lockdowns? No.

But cases and hospitalisations are falling dramatically all over the place. Millions of people around the world have been vaccinated. We need some other bogeyman to be scared of. Its normal for a virus to have various strains. Its not some new thing. But seems like all prior knowledge and facts go out the window when it comes to coronavirus.

remember the whole hullabaloo over the mink farms a few months ago? pepper ridge farm remembers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I was listening to someone earlier who said variants of this virus have been occurring since it started and it’s only now we are getting obsessed with every single one and using them as a reason to stall any progress. It’s been mutating since day dot, as virus’ do. The whole thing is such a joke at this stage