Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Schools closed until March/April? (part 4) **Mod warning in OP 22/01**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,568 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

I think teachers should be move up the list in a classroom with up to 30 other pupils it would make sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    I think teachers should be move up the list in a classroom with up to 30 other pupils it would make sense.

Ahead of which group though ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

That's understandable but why aren't we as
    school staff 11th on the list for the vaccine? Why is that being allowed to happen. I know a woman who works in a care home that got her shot this week.
    I'm months away from getting it.

The unions have tried to put this forward but have gotten nowhere with this government.

She works in a care home with people who are most likely to suffer ill effects if they contract covid, therefore putting a strain on hospital services.

She got her vaccine to protect the people she cares for as well as herself.

Do you really need an explainer on why doctors, nurses and Healthcare staff are being prioritised for vaccines?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 514 ✭✭✭thomasdylan

That's understandable but why aren't we as
    school staff 11th on the list for the vaccine? Why is that being allowed to happen. I know a woman who works in a care home that got her shot this week.
    I'm months away from getting it.

The unions have tried to put this forward but have gotten nowhere with this government.

I think the teaching unions and the very organised Twitter push by teachers to get pushed up the vaccine queue is disgracefully selfish.

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Ahead of which group though ?

I was in group 5 . Now moved to group 6 with 400 k ahead of me . I have no issue with high risk vulnerable people moving up . But the more that move up the more are moved down

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

School staff have actually been pushed down to 12th on the list .
    I’m high risk but have also been pushers down the list to at least 7, due to my age .

I think the teaching unions and the very organised Twitter push by teachers to get pushed up the vaccine queue is disgracefully selfish.

Absolutely, I don't know anyone else who is lobbying to get moved up or have other groups pushed down the list.

I think the priority list is as well thought out as it can be. Nobody wants the difficult decision on who gets its first but we all have to be patient and wait our turn (and be glad if we're young and healthy enough to be considered less of a priority).

Must really have tunnel vision to not see the bigger picture, some here with a what about me attitude. Complaining about health care workers getting them yet they aren't getting theirs, unbelievable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Funny coming in here and reading some people getting annoyed about posts made regarding education and teachers by posters who actually aren't teachers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Warbeastrior

Can I ask Thomas Dylan and Locotastic what your jobs are?

Are ye being asked to sit in a cramped room for 5 hours a day with upwards of 30 children that aren't wearing masks.

Doctors and nurses are more vulnerable yes but they are getting the vaccine. Would you call them selfish if they were 11th on the list and calling for them to get them sooner.

No other workforce in society is exposed to maskless individuals in small spaces.

If ye cant make room for us up the list, fair enough but we shouldn't be returning to school until we get it or community transmission drops significantly.

Children are proven now to catch the virus and spread it as easily as adults.

Would you be comfortable working in those conditions?

Edit: I see Thomas you are a in hospitals from a previous post which means that you are entitled to the vaccine sooner than later which is only fair. However, the fact we are 11th means we as school staff are incredibly exposed for a number of months before we even get near one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

Don't be so melodramatic.....we are in a level 5 lockdown still.......listen to nphet and what they are advising ....maybe read the letter ronan glynn sent out...and where are the studies done on special needs children regressing? why it's only two months....
    I dont need a feckin study im living with a 13 year old who has been severely affected by these lockdowns and has massively regressed!!

Eoinbmw wrote:
    I dont need a feckin study im living with a 13 year old who has been severely affected by these lockdowns and has massively regressed!!

I'm sorry to hear that and your point would be valid if school staff were protesting for weeks on end about pay etc for example.

But people seem to lose sight of the fact that we are in a pandemic with a virus that can affect everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

I think we should all just accept that all kids are affected to varying degrees by schools closures. Some kids are affected massively both academically and socially and at the other end of the scale, some prefer to be at home full-time and are doing fine academically with lots of kids somewhere between the two.

Personally, both of our kids are not suffering academically and have adapted very well to remote learning but they miss their friends and their sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

Why? They absoloutely should be vaccinated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭combat14

dont know why there were protests in dublin today the lock down is effectively over starting on monday!

I'm sorry to hear that and your point would be valid if school staff were protesting for weeks on end about pay etc for example.

But people seem to lose sight of the fact that we are in a pandemic with a virus that can affect everyone.

My point is Valid!
    School closures no matter what reason are directly responsible for my sons current developmental and emotional state!
    And the blanket closure is a disgrace!
    My sons school have huge rooms with on average 4 students per class with individual entrances and a lovely big outdoor space!
    And thankfully the large majority of staff are mad to get back to full school !
    And since your asking other posters ill be working happily in my primary school!

That posters point is very valid . Her / his child has regressed because schools are closed . He / she didn’t say they should or shouldn’t be or blame anyone but simply made a statement that the child has regressed . That point is very valid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Hopontop

Eoinbmw wrote: »
    My point is Valid!
    School closures no matter what reason are directly responsible for my sons current developmental and emotional state!
    And the blanket closure is a disgrace!
    My sons school have huge rooms with on average 4 students per class with individual entrances and a lovely big outdoor space!
    And thankfully the large majority of staff are mad to get back to full school !
    And since your asking other posters ill be working happily in my primary school!

Your child’s school has 4 students per room?? Obviously that would not be the norm and teachers would have no problem going back if that was the norm for all of them.
    The problem is that most have near 30 in a room.
    Teachers want to go back but they are being told that the current strain is more transmissible, parents can’t meet at gate but students can stay in rooms together unmasked for hours, infection numbers still around 700 and no new safety measures in place.
    The government (especially the Dept of Education) have played a blinder in pitting parents against teachers when we actually all want the same thing, namely students back in classrooms safely!

Eoinbmw wrote:
    My point is Valid! School closures no matter what reason are directly responsible for my sons current developmental and emotional state! And the blanket closure is a disgrace! My sons school have huge rooms with on average 4 students per class with individual entrances and a lovely big outdoor space! And thankfully the large majority of staff are mad to get back to full school ! And since your asking other posters ill be working happily in my primary school!

That is very much not the norm in most schools.
    You're very lucky to have a school with that ratio.
    iamwhoiam wrote:
    That posters point is very valid . Her / his child has regressed because schools are closed . He / she didn’t say they should or shouldn’t be or blame anyone but simply made a statement that the child has regressed . That point is very valid

That's not the point I was talking about.

Hopontop wrote: »
    Your child’s school has 4 students per room?? Obviously that would not be the norm and teachers would have no problem going back if that was the norm for all of them.
    The problem is that most have near 30 in a room.
    Teachers want to go back but they are being told that the current strain is more transmissible, parents can’t meet at gate but students can stay in rooms together unmasked for hours, infection numbers still around 700 and no new safety measures in place.
    The government (especially the Dept of Education) have played a blinder in pitting parents against teachers when we actually all want the same thing, namely students back in classrooms safely!
    But they still closed it!

Eoinbmw wrote:
    But they still closed it!

You could look at a school by school basis but I wouldn't trust the department in organising that.

If your numbers are as you say then you could most likely open it in a safe manner.

But it really is not the reality in majority of schools.

It amazes me that there are so many people on here who object to teachers getting moved up the list for the vaccine, it is done in other countries and the reason teachers are asking for it is so they can teach in person.

As it stands, we have no new safety measures for schools, we are going back we cases average about 4000 a week at the moment and we are dealing with new virulant strains. The numbers will go up and the parents will be blamed the Dept are already laying groundwork for that, with the do not gather at the gates talk. The usual suspects will say oh it is not the schools but more and more international studies have shown children transmit the virus as easily as parents and are bringing it home fron school and into school and into community

You could look at a school by school basis but I wouldn't trust the department in organising that.

If your numbers are as you say then you could most likely open it in a safe manner.

Listen I might have a small idea how schools are run!
    And I might know a few teachers too!
    Thankfully this forum does not represent all school staff that's all I will say!

I personally would like to see everyone moved up the vaccine chain but who then would be dropped down ? That is the issue in my opinion . The 60-65 age group are now moved back and would be moved back again if another group moved up
    If only we had enough for everyone it would be wonderful

There are counties that have had very small numbers of cases throughout.

A nationwide closure of schools was not warranted. Most EU school closures have and are being done regionally but you're right, our lads could never arrange something that functional.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

GazzaL wrote: »
    Some kids are getting max. 1 hour per week contact time with their teacher. Kids aren't learning and interacting with their peer group. Remote learning for kids is not an adequate subsitute for the classroom.

Children with special needs are regressing at an alarming rate which puts massive pressure on their parents who don't have the specialist skills needed.

Like I said, I have no problem if you want to keep your kids at home. You seem to have a problem with anyone that wants their kids to go to school and play with their friends and peers, all of which is critical to their academic and personal development.

What gives you the right to tell people their children can't receive a proper education and interact with their peer group for proper personal development?

Eh... a global pandemic in which our health/science experts say cases are still too high and no new safety measures in place? That affects everyone, especially if the reopen were to relight a fire. If they're going to reopen schools now, there should be increased safety measures, full stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

khalessi wrote: »
    It amazes me that there are so many people on here who object to teachers getting moved up the list for the vaccine, it is done in other countries and the reason teachers are asking for it is so they can teach in person.

As it stands, we have no new safety measures for schools, we are going back we cases average about 4000 a week at the moment and we are dealing with new virulant strains. The numbers will go up and the parents will be blamed the Dept are already laying groundwork for that, with the do not gather at the gates talk. The usual suspects will say oh it is not the schools but more and more international studies have shown children transmit the virus as easily as parents and are bringing it home fron school and into school and into community

I’m not concerned about numbers going up once hospital/ICU numbers stay low. With everything else closed at least we know for sure even if cases increase schools will remain open until the summer so I’m thrilled. Increased transmissibility of new variant could be offset by better weather and vaccination.

Though i completely agree it’s a disgrace teachers have not yet been vaccinated yet - that’s the unions failing their members again IMO

Primary school was my safe harbour. I used to be the 1st person in the doors and the last to leave for a period of 2 years until my home life (thankfully) improved
    It deeply hurts me to think there are children who are in the same situation I was in and in a lot worse situations and have not been able to go to school
    Schools are not just about education- they are a safe space where children are treated with dignity, kindness and respect

There's truth to this, but I also have to pull you up there. I have a very good friend that has spoken to me about his traumatic childhood. He had a shít childhood and then went to school and got bullied mercilessly and treated badly by kids and teachers alike. There's obviously a lot more to his story but for this purpose, I'll say he was badly let down by all adults in his life.

I also didn't have the best home life, and can't remember any nice teacher in particular either tbh. The best part of my childhood was my friends (and adulthood really).

Let's not pretend that your post is the blanket truth of every neglected kids experience. It's only been 2 months at home, neglected kids would be known to their school / social worker by now.

Though i completely agree it’s a disgrace teachers have not yet been vaccinated yet - that’s the unions failing their members again IMO

Why should they be vaccinated before others?

Unless they otherwise fall into a priority group making them more at risk from serious illness from Covid then they should wait their turn like everyone else.

Vaccinating teachers as an entire sector means that others who might need it more (and let's face it, it's of benefit to us all that the vulnerable people get theirs as fast as possible) have to wait longer.

It is more beneficial for the country as a whole that we get the people in our health services, the elderly and those with underlying conditions done first.

It's shortsighted of the unions to expect teachers to skip the queue. Can't see beyond the end of their nose.

Locotastic wrote: »
    Why should they be vaccinated before others?

Unless they otherwise fall into a priority group making them more at risk from serious illness from Covid then they should wait their turn like everyone else.

Vaccinating teachers as an entire sector means that others who might need it more (and let's face it, it's of benefit to us all that the vulnerable people get theirs as fast as possible) have to wait longer.

It is more beneficial for the country as a whole that we get the people in our health services, the elderly and those with underlying conditions done first.

It's shortsighted of the unions to expect teachers to skip the queue. Can't see beyond the end of their nose.

Interesting but shortsighted viewpoint

Why can't we get more vaccines here, is it a supply issue/tied up with the EU or money issue? I haven't been playing too close attention since I know I'm a long way off...