Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Schools closed until March/April? (part 4) **Mod warning in OP 22/01**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Murple

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Yeah seems mad

"
    Out of just five teachers contacted this morning, two agreed to go provide in-home tuition.

One teacher said, in doing so, they wear a mask and ask the pupils to do the same.

Meanwhile another was willing to travel beyond their 5km limit to tutor.

The station has also learned that a third teacher spent two hours in a family home yesterday to tutor children while the schools are closed."

https://www.newstalk.com/news/union-issues-warning-to-teachers-after-some-found-offering-in-person-grinds-1141404

They may well be teachers who were subbing and with schools closed have no work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭billy_beckham

lulublue22 wrote: »
    That level of stupidity is mind boggling - selective following of the rules and or feeling the rules don’t apply to us is what has us in this position in the first place. Who wants random people coming in and out of their house ��
    KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Yes that's the heavy hint alright

TBF very very small minority of teachers

2 out of 5????

Murple wrote: »
    They may well be teachers who were subbing and with schools closed have no work.

Ahh well that's ok so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

They could well be

Not a major story but shouldn't be happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Still does not make it in anyway okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

2 out of 5????

What i meant was small minority of teachers overall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭History Queen

Agreed. It isn't good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,621 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

The pattern in these threads is quite repetitive. Someone joins the thread makes lots of noise and many suggestions. It is politely explained why these suggestions are not practical. Normally, supported by another relatively new poster, it then descends into teachers are lazy , don't want to work and have no interest in the children in their care. Then an old favourite like Marko will pop in to stir the pot. A number of warnings and at least one banning will ensue.
    Rinse and repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

The pattern in these threads is quite repetitive. Someone joins the thread makes lots of noise and many suggestions. It is politely explained why these suggestions are not practical. Normally, supported by another relatively new poster, it then descends into teachers are lazy , don't want to work and have no interest in the children in their care. Then an old favourite like Marko will pop in to stir the pot. A number of warnings and at least one banning will ensue.
    Rinse and repeat.

Always with the same suggestions as they pat themselves on the back for their "originality":rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

I’m referring to my own school whereby most special needs students have 1 on 1 dedicated SNA. So I’m suggesting that SNA drives from their home to student and then drives home again. No insurance issues and not visiting 15+ homes like another poster suggested.

So you want SNAs driving to a students home..... Are you for real :pac: ridiculous suggestion from a public health standpoint never mind the fact all SNAs i know are currently working remotely.

I am an SNA btw, i work with 7 different students in the week, which would be the norm. 1 to 1 is a huge no no as it fosters unhealthy attachment and undermines independence. Medical care needs would be the exception to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Murple

No but it’s quite different to it being teachers who have a class and are already being paid to teach remotely versus an out of work teacher.
    If it’s a case of someone helping a child with additional needs where parents are really struggling and this is making life more bearable, I wouldn’t be condemning them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

Rinse and repeat.

You forgot about all the other repetitive posting patterns and the hysteria when there's an inkling of schools reopening. It seems to work both ways.

Locotastic wrote: »
    You forgot about all the other repetitive posting patterns and the hysteria when there's an inkling of schools reopening. It seems to work both ways.

Is that "hysteria" the response to silly suggestions from those who actually know how a school is run and have had 4 threads full of inane suggestions? Asking for a friend.

khalessi wrote: »
    Is that "hysteria" the response to silly suggestions from those who actually know how a school is run and have had 4 threads full of inane suggestions? Asking for a friend.

No its just very predictable behaviour at this point. If someone wants to point out patterns then I would counter that it works both ways.

Any stumbling block possible (some of them are quite a reach) will be found if there's even a hint of schools reopening.

As for the vitriol towards government ministers and certain Union representatives and anyone with an opposing opinion. Any talk of some positive progress is ultimately disregarded.

With all of this its understandable that new posters might get the impression that teachers are workshy.

Rinse and repeat.

See one of the 'newbies' actually isn't all that new. Look at their posting history. They were very active in here a while back but not under their current name.

No its just very predictable behaviour at this point. If someone wants to point out patterns then I would counter that it works both ways.

Any stumbling block possible (some of them are quite a reach) will be found if there's even a hint of schools reopening.

As for the vitriol towards government ministers and certain Union representatives and anyone with an opposing opinion. Any talk of some positive progress is ultimately disregarded.

With all of this its understandable that new posters might get the impression that teachers are workshy.

There have been plenty of suggestions by teachers on here for reopeing but generally are ignored because the majority of new posters dont come here to discuss reopening, they would rather find a way to blame teachers. Meanwhile teachers working asses off but why let fact ruin a good thing

No but it’s quite different to it being teachers who have a class and are already being paid to teach remotely versus an out of work teacher.
    If it’s a case of someone helping a child with additional needs where parents are really struggling and this is making life more bearable, I wouldn’t be condemning them.

Would a teacher subbing, who's out of work now, be getting the PUP?

See one of the 'newbies' actually isn't all that new. Look at their posting history. They were very active in here a while back but not under their current name.

Rinse and repeat

khalessi wrote: »
    There have been plenty of suggestions by teachers on here for reopeing but generally are ignored because the majority of new posters dont come here to discuss reopening, they would rather find a way to blame teachers. Meanwhile teachers working asses off but why let fact ruin a good thing

Yeah finally cleared all open assignments at 8:07pm. Laptop was first turned on at 7:09am. Now it was switched while I went for some exercise and had dinner. Damn useless and lazy teachers need to have a life. I pity some of what is posted in here. People really have little to be doing if trolling a schools thread is the height of their excitement in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

It just appears to me that unions and some teachers just don’t want to go back to work, whilst they can sit at home on full pay. Yes some work lots, others do not.

That’s just my opinion.

I think we've got that point by now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Rinse and repeat

Mod

If this is the case, report it & let the mods deal with it. Don't stir things up on thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭am_zarathustra

Not necessarily, it depends what their contract was before and, anecdotally, which welfare office you go to. Some schools will do the decent thing and try and keep the subs on to provide extra support for the kids but not all principals are that reasonable or would have the hours.

Still shouldn't be at this though but given its 12 grand to do the masters now and then you almost certainly won't have secure or full time work at the end I'd say people are struggling. I'm not excusing the behaviour but might explain it. But I also don't know anyone doing this and I'd be quick to tell then stop if I did.

I don't think so but not sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

mosii wrote: »
    I wont ,I just cant believe it.:confused:

Believe it. https://www.jct.ie/home/home.php
    Your car insurance does not cover accidents if you are using your car to move between workplaces.....this is a completely common clause in insurance. Teachers who superintend for the LC have to get extra insurance to bring exams too and from post offices or garda stations etc. Many get their insurance through cornmarket as all these policies have this clause in already

Whaaaaaaaat?? I never knew this about the state exams!!! :eek:
    So its the parents to blame??

If this is for payment, as Newstalk seem to suggest, then yes the parents are to blame. If not as much as the teachers, more so!! There'd be no teachers turning up to houses to do grinds out of the blue for free like ......:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Yeah finally cleared all open assignments at 8:07pm. Laptop was first turned on at 7:09am. Now it was switched while I went for some exercise and had dinner. Damn useless and lazy teachers need to have a life. I pity some of what is posted in here. People really have little to be doing if trolling a schools thread is the height of their excitement in life.

Fair play to you. Your one of the decent ones. I wish you were teaching my kids. It's such a shame that one teacher can be as dedicated as you are and another can fire up a video on see saw on how to make an animal out of a cardboard box and you both get same renumeration and the teacher who couldn't be bothered won't lose their job. Typical of the public sector in this country. You wouldn't get away with that crap in a private company. Anyways, I'm off to figure out what I actually need to be teaching my kids tomorrow evening when we get home from work.

Just want to put it on the record that I will not return to school until such time as the hairdresser/barber shops are reopened!!

deisedevil wrote: »
    Fair play to you. Your one of the decent ones. I wish you were teaching my kids. It's such a shame that one teacher can be as dedicated as you are and another can fire up a video on see saw on how to make an animal out of a cardboard box and you both get same renumeration and the teacher who couldn't be bothered won't lose their job. Typical of the public sector in this country. You wouldn't get away with that crap in a private company. Anyways, I'm off to figure out what I actually need to be teaching my kids tomorrow evening when we get home from work.

I have similar up as well 😂

Bananaleaf wrote: »

If this is for payment, as Newstalk seem to suggest, then yes the parents are to blame. If not as much as the teachers, more so!! There'd be no teachers turning up to houses to do grinds out of the blue for free like ......:rolleyes:

Knew it had to be the no good parents, tempting the teachers..

Mad that teachers will leave the safety of their house to go into private homes for cash, in the middle of a pandemic, but go back to the classroom??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

Knew it had to be the no good parents, tempting the teachers..

Mad that teachers will leave the safety of their house to go into private homes for cash, in the middle of a pandemic, but go back to the classroom??

Yeah it is mad, you're right. And it is stupid of them to do it. They are idiots. The parents who invited them in are idiots too though.

Cases have already begun against the government decision not to reopen schools and probably more to come.

Good to see people are challenging them on it.

Each of the actions have been brought on behalf of five school-going children with special needs, who are suing through their parents.

In their separate actions, the applicants seek an order compelling the Minister and the State to provide the children with adequate and appropriate education, on the basis that the respondents have an obligation under the 1988 Education Act, and Article 42 of the Constitution.

They also seek a declaration that the respondents have failed in their duty to provide for an adequate education for the children.

They also seek injunctions aimed at compelling the state to provide the children with an appropriate and adequate education.