Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kids playing outside together (in covid times)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,845 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Here in Carrigaline it's a crazy situation from the start ref kids mixing from different households, the park is packed normally, skateboard part especially, no social distancing at all, smallies and yummie mummies mixing as normal, at weekends gangs of teens all unmasked as in the park roaming around the gaff without a care in the world, parental care and responsibility is gone

Out in the fresh air is ok. There is no requirements for masks in the open either.

When sports were on, we would have 15 kids per pod, never an issue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

Here in Carrigaline it's a crazy situation from the start ref kids mixing from different households, the park is packed normally, skateboard part especially, no social distancing at all, smallies and yummie mummies mixing as normal, at weekends gangs of teens all unmasked as in the park roaming around the gaff without a care in the world, parental care and responsibility is gone

See that’s completely mental. There is a massive difference between a couple of kids interacting outside under parental supervision and what you describe. There is no excuse for that.

We have perfectly good conversations with the neighbours properly socially distanced while supervising the kids. No one needs to be on top of each other. And I’m currently masking up to go outside even just the front door anyways because I’m on oral steroids.

thomas 123 wrote: »
    Great, so your point is nothing to do with mine. Nice one.

School thread is on a different page. The poster ref school and sport but you ignored the sport part and went off down the school road. That is for a different thread

• Registered Users Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭thomas 123

School thread is on a different page. The poster ref school and sport but you ignored the sport part and went off down the school road. That is for a different thread

I addressed the school part specifically, if your on a mission to justify GAA training or the fact that you think it’s okay for your kids to go outside that’s up to you.

To entertain you I’ll address it and some of your public service announcements you’ve made this morning,

- you would not be told if a child had covid - schools are barley told what makes you think you would be informed?
    - kids can carry covid
    - kids, mostly with underlying conditions, can get sick and even die from covid(while
    rare).
    - you can still catch covid outside.
    - a child can catch covid from another child, give it to you and you can give it to your parent, it’s an infectious disease.

We have had 9 months+ of this and we still have you on here encouraging people that it’s okay for groups of kids to play together.

Think for a second about the concerned parent with the sick child or grandparent they have to care for and when they have to say “sorry love you can’t go out and play today” even though your selfish idiot neighbor thinks it’s fine because you cant catch it outside.

Any of your family in ICU from covid or dead? If they where Would you be so fast to encourage large group gatherings be it kids or not?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭bladespin

You are aware that there have been many outbreaks in schools to date right? You can browse boards if you want some specific examples.

Yes, I'm aware thanks, just pointing gout the contradiction with the guidelines everyone likes to mention.

Back on topic, I don't see any problem with mine going out, as mentioned already the aren't many other kids around and they know what to do (and not to do), at no stage has the advice been to keep children inside.

bladespin wrote: »
    Yes, I'm aware thanks, just pointing gout the contradiction with the guidelines everyone likes to mention.

Back on topic, I don't see any problem with mine going out, as mentioned already the aren't many other kids around and they know what to do (and not to do), at no stage has the advice been to keep children inside.

So your argument is you see no issue? That’s it?

Also it’s a contradiction for sure but you can thank our government and co for that one.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,090 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

If there not allowed back to school it kind of makes no sense for them to be mixing with other kids out on the street. The whole point of them not going back to schools is keeping the virus from spreading within the family's of the kids mixing.

If you want them to get out and get some exercise go for a walk with them yourself bring them on there bike or scooter or whatever. The playground around the back of mine is packed most days and the majority of kids don't have parents around either.

There was a stage when things could be done and it was grand to have a few of them mixing but its not now.

So your argument is you see no issue? That’s it?

I'm not arguing, they're fine outside, that's it, they don't mix with a bunch of other households etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,651 ✭✭✭✭beauf

We have had 9 months+ of this and we still have you on here encouraging people that it’s okay for groups of kids to play together.

....Would you be so fast to encourage large group gatherings be it kids or not?

The govt is controlling this. If the school's close then parents will restrict their kids.

Most kids and teenagers mix with a small group of friends. It's not large groups of people do don't know each other. Gaa was in Pods and largely the same people they are in school with or play with at home..

The exception to this is schools. Schools cram huge groups together who don't really otherwise associate.

Also parents are legally obligated to send kids to school.

I don't know why the govt are dithering on this. We are obviously in a out of control situation. It would be nuts to open the school's in January.

beauf wrote: »
    I don't know why the govt are dithering on this. We are obviously in a out of control situation. It would be nuts to open the school's in January.

They've pretty much staked their reputation on the schools being safe and fine for people's children and the teachers to attend (despite some obvious logic I would have thought - just my own ideas), to back down now would be seen as admitting they were wrong, that NPHET was wrong etc: can't have that.

Might have been ok before Dec. Until you let people cram together for Xmas shopping and socialising. And the new strain... While different situation now.

From Extra.ie...

"...The number of school-age children who tested positive for COVID-19 increased by 130% in the space of a month, new figures have shown..."

But...

"...while the number of cases among school-aged children is growing, the incidence rate remains relatively low compared to the general population.

The CMO admitted, however, that the high number of COVID-19 cases in the community could impact schools..."

They've pretty much staked their reputation on the schools being safe and fine for people's children and the teachers to attend (despite some obvious logic I would have thought - just my own ideas), to back down now would be seen as admitting they were wrong, that NPHET was wrong etc: can't have that.

I think NPHET has mostly been right. They've been slagged unmercifully on boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭corks finest

Out in the fresh air is ok. There is no requirements for masks in the open either.

When sports were on, we would have 15 kids per pod, never an issue

I'm not exaggerating when I say mixing

There's a massive group of people and their kids ignoring the pandemic.

However there a massive difference between that and having kids socializing with a small limited group. Within the rules.

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭Captcha

Totally irresponsible parenting to have children outside roaring and screaming, running wild unsupervised in green areas in the first place. With covid its an absolute disgrace.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 285 ✭✭TexasTornado

As a responsible parents I've kept mine in for the greater cause and they understand why. What I find worrying is my kids have more awareness about how important it is than a lot of adults I know.

• Registered Users Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Str8outtaWuhan

If its safe for a 30 man squad of culchies to train together during a level 5 lockdown then its safe for a few kids to play outside.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭Lashes28

beauf wrote: »
    There's a massive group of people and their kids ignoring the pandemic.

However there a massive difference between that and having kids socializing with a small limited group. Within the rules.

"You can meet with one other household outside your home for exercise."

That's the rules but groups of kids ain't usually from one other household. That's the problem there are people who adhering to the restrictions and then there's ones that are bending them when it suits for an easy life.

As a responsible parents I've kept mine in for the greater cause and they understand why. What I find worrying is my kids have more awareness about how important it is than a lot of adults I know.

Very much this, my 9yo was disgusted when he heard a friend was at their nana's with all the uncles, anuties etc etc for a new years party - I trust them more than most grown ups!

I understand kids need to be out with their friends but some parents don’t give a ****e.
    The same ones are going insane because they cannot be in the pub.

I understand kids need to be out with their friends but some parents don’t give a ****e.
    The same ones are going insane because they cannot be in the pub.

At least they're consistent, it's the hypocrites that get me lol, one local pulled her kids out of school in November after a suspected case there (different classes etc proved false alarm), lots of SM posts about how wreckless it was for parents to send their kids to school, yet all over Christmas every day have a new FB posts with pics form parties in different households, new years party etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭jarvis

I have two girls. 9 and 14.
    The 14yo is basically a hermit and has to be dragged out for a walk daily. She claims she can’t go out because of covid but it suits her down to the ground. She’s usually playing online with her friends.
    The 9yo is another story. She lives for being outside. She has a group of friends and the 5 of them play together on the green. I’ll continue to let her out because it’s metal torture on her to try keep her in. She’s only doing about 2 stints of 20 minutes at the moment because it’s freezing out and it’s dark early so she’s not looking to get outside as much. I genuinely believe though she’s doing no harm to others or to vulnerable people who may be out for a walk.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,524 ✭✭✭Hoboo

LAZYIRISH wrote: »
    Here I'll help you , scaremongering at its finest.

https://twitter.com/CheungRonny/status/1345307828119089152?s=20

That's one consultant in one hospital saying his ward is empty. Not the same hospital as the one featured. So no comparison.

Am I missing something?

Lashes28 wrote: »
    "You can meet with one other household outside your home for exercise."

That's the rules but groups of kids ain't usually from one other household. That's the problem there are people who adhering to the restrictions and then there's ones that are bending them when it suits for an easy life.

The OP that started this thread was taking about about the entire pandemic not just the new level 5 lock down. During the entire life of the pandemic there have been times when kids have been allowed out.
    Household visits will be reduced to one other household from December 27 and then none from January 1

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭mea_k

I have kids calling to my house, to call for my son. And numerous times I just have said he is busy/ having dinner/ watching telly.. I obviously won't explain bunch of 5 year olds about corona virus. However I think parents just cannot deal, with their kids and chuck them out. Quite sad really all these kids running riot late morning till 18.30 at night.... I just don't understand why parents haven't told not to call to houses. And if someone is left out that's grand. Because one of these days my fellow is going to crack up.

Maybe the parents did tell the kids and they are just are ignoring them...

Captcha wrote: »
    Totally irresponsible parenting to have children outside roaring and screaming, running wild unsupervised in green areas in the first place. With covid its an absolute disgrace.

Hate to see your childhood.

Kids got to learn about life, playing in a green area and socializing is an important part of life.

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭Captcha

Hate to see your childhood.

Kids got to learn about life, playing in a green area and socializing is an important part of life.

We are in a new reality now, how is going out risking infections and coming back to kill your vulnerable family and friends worth whatever lessons you are on about? The pandemic is the overarching lesson here.

I almost lost a dear friend in December who got infected from his children, he is still not back to normal. I did lose a good work colleague and friend at the weekend.