Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gemma O'Doherty - Part 2 - Read OP for mod warning (06/01)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,750 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Who cares, hes a lunatic bigotted conspiracy theorist in his own right that deserves to have zero public platform even if he wasn't hanging out with gemma, good riddance.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,982 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Why is there such a huge increase in extremist anti semitism lately though? One of Gemmas groupies was calling for Jews to be wiped out only a few weeks ago.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 12,571 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

A real life Godwin's Law.

Godwin's law, short for Godwin's law (or ruleof Nazi analogies,[1][2] is an Internet adage asserting that as an online discussion grows longer (regardless of topic or scope), the probability of a comparison involving Nazis or Adolf Hitler becomes more likely.

So 5Gems has tried evrything else and it clearly hasnt worked. Still walking around on her own live streaming herself shouting at traffic lights. Why not go full anti Jew holocaust denial? Its the logical next step.

Post edited by The Nal on

Its not just Gemma though. And extremist anti semitism calling for murder and genocide of jews is being ramped up suddenly here in Ireland. I dont think Godwins law answers why at all. I mean Godwins law is about throwaway comments that are comparing people to Nazis etc. This is different. Its WAY more extremist. Yer man said we "we need to wipe out the jews" plus Gemmas extremist anti semitic content.

I dont think Godwins law is relevant at all in the context of extremist calls for genocude and supporting Hitler.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 12,571 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

When scared people get angry the Jews are usually the first people to go after. A lot of people now realising that theyve wasted the last 18 months with Covid conspiracies etc that havent come to pass, theyve less/no friends and have created family rifts. A lot of people have fucked up their lives. Incels. Black pill etc. Now theyre scrambling about in a panic. So yeah, Jews.

Been that way for thousands of years. Plymouth shooting very interesting in that regard. We may see more of it. People wasting their years in internet rabbit holes and then snapping.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 35,941 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Jesus I hadn't even heard of Plymouth til reading that post. Not sure how I missed the headlines; that's incredibly tragic. This is why this maelstrom of internet fuelled, right wing white victim complex is so dangerous. I see police wouldn't classify it as a terror attack but a "domestic incident", that's telling IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,586 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Anti-semitism is fairly prevelant in Left wing politics too, just have to look at the Labour Party (the hard Left wing side of the party) over in GB.

Odd that Gemma has gone the route of holocaust denial and anti semitism as a lot of the evangelical Right in the USA that she has previously courted are fairly protective of Jews and are very strong supporters of Zionism, the expansion of Israel and its devine right to exist.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

But literally only so that Armageddon can happen as apparently prophesised in the bible, ushering in the end of the world and the establishment of god's kingdom on Earth. Zealots be crazy...

I am talking about extremist anti semitism though such as "we need to wipe out the jews" as espoused recently by an Irish far right "personality" I think there is a very different context between criticism of Israel and extremist calls for Jewish Genocide.

Terry Pratchet

Yep. I am convinced that Irelands far right have radicalised a large enough cabal and that it is inevitable that a Batley and Spen type incident will happen.

Terry Pratchet

Yeah, well that'd be US Evangelists mostly, maybe South American too. But in the UK there's a tendency for the Right to support Israel. This could be seen on Twitter by vociferously anti EU Brixiteers during their referendum. You can see a lot of Bio pics with the Union Flag, USA flag and Israeli flag. I notice this on Dutch and French Right Winger bios too (Sans UK and US flags).

Maybe it's a case of the enemy of my enemy (that being Muslims) being my friend, at least for now.

As for the anti semitism from the British and sometimes European hard Left... I dunno where that comes from.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,102 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

As for the anti semitism from the British and sometimes European hard Left... I dunno where that comes from.

"The socialism of fools" is what one mordant observer called it...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Id say Germ will want to burn all Aldi stores down if she sees the new advert with the SSC

• Registered Users Posts: 8,033 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Has anybody a link to these anti-semetic outbursts?

Terry Pratchet

Since aciquestion's account has been suspended it's been a, matter of having to go to gemmaodoherty.com.

But it's very tough on the ears.

Gemma and John did a broadcast on friday night giving their manifesto on what they will do if they are in power if the current regime is removed, they will expell all the multinationals from Ireland, repatriate all the immigrants, ban under 18s having mobile phones and bring back a Catholic school curriculum. They admit with their economic policy that people will have to make do with 15yo cars and no forgin holidays.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,851 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I'd say they're watching the collapse of Afghanistan with envy.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 35,941 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Look I'll be honest, taking phones from teenagers had me curious. I'm only human.

As to "repatriate the immigrants", I'm going to take a big swing and suspect in their mind, certain immigrants will be exempt. Certain complexions for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,586 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

John was out walking at Sandycove this morning. I resisted the temptation to roar "I hear you're a racist now John" at him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭fisgon

Some quotes from a Tiktok vid that is doing the rounds (I saw it on whatsapp) - contains Gemma and John's plans for a fascist state in Ireland. Finding it difficult to share here, but it really is a most extraordinary slice of homegrown fascism. With a straight face they advocate for the criminalization of all political parties in the country, and generously offer themselves to be our very own Irish autocrats to save us from the evils of democracy. All that's missing is a "Sieg Heil!" (These are all actual quotes from GOD and JW, though they may appear exaggerated.)

"John and I believe that politics has failed".

"If this moment is achieved where the people in Leinster House have no choice but to stand down.....because sufficient numbers will surround the Dail until such time as they leave, and leave permanently".

"And then there is a vaccum, and it is at that point that John and I would be presenting ourselves to be those who remove the architecture of globalism in this country within one year."

"We would begin by making Fianna Fail, Fine Gael, Sinn Fein, An Garda Siochana and the HSE, all of the NGOs that have been promoting the filth and degeneracy all around us, illegal organisations. This has to happen, this has to happen."

"We would be launching a repatriation programme (of immigrants) - because we know that the immigration to our country has been artificially forced upon us by the globalists."

"They (immigrants) are coming in on these vast trucks you see on our roads".

• Registered Users Posts: 39,644 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Good Christ those quotes would make your head hurt. I’m still convinced this is a piss take by the two lads because this is loopy shite.

Same sh1te as from Barrett, Tanboy etc mixed into one, they seem to share the same script writers, and repeated by various tools online.

I was thinking that, that it is just one big practical joke. But then you remember that Trump is dead serious, and so are the tens of millions who believe that he really won the election and that the Dems are child eating satan worshippers.

What I find fascinating about them is that they sit there with a straight face and put themselves forward as the saviours of our country. Two people who are largely despised and laughed at believe that the Irish people will sweep them to power and support them in their fascist project.

The levels of delusion and narcissism needed for such a belief are staggering.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,503 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Don't go to her website. Don't link her website. Don't watch her videos. Especially, don't repost edited highlights of her videos!

Grifters can't grift without likes, clicks, shares, follows and pageviews. It really is that simple.

Finding it difficult to share here, but it really is a most extraordinary slice of homegrown fascism.

You're trying to re-share fascist propaganda. Think about that for a second.

Its not "loopy shite" - it is literal authoritarian fascism coming from them.

Terry Pratchet