Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US billionaire calls out Ireland as "no one wants to live here"

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

saabsaab wrote: »
    There is a strong (sometimes too strong) rebellious streak in irish people. No deference to authority or those calling the shots, afraid to be seen as licking up.

thats overstated , we are very conformist and hate not being on the side of officially respectable positions

• Registered Users Posts: 24,295 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

It’s far from grand. It’s been miserable for months.

It's actually been a very nice autumn..

Are you out wesht?

saabsaab wrote: »
    I saw a pub in Killarney throw a group of Germans out for drinking too slow!

probably Dingle ?

And you, Reginald, have no doubt been miserable for years.

Autumn was fine as it happens, I've walked in Howth most weekends. One Sunday in November was miserable alright, but just one. Last year was much worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,690 ✭✭✭buried

I thought the summer was grand, April and May were probably two of the best months weather wise we had. Granted you couldn't go far but you could still sit out and enjoy the really good weather. Summer wasn't great but it wasn't a total disaster either, not out west here anyways, I got away camping most weekends once the lockdown lifted and I wasn't straddled to a thermal or rain gear for them either. Autumn wasn't that bad either. Of course winter is going to be dark and bleak but you just deal with it. Its not like we are living in huts or anything. You prepare for the winter here to be what its going to be.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

september and october were both very good , November was very wet alright

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    thats overstated , we are very conformist and hate not being on the side of officially respectable positions

We are both. My dad would bitch and moan about the catholic church when I was growing up and his family and close friends in the pub knew it.

In public though, amongst strangers, not a peep. Probably the same myself with the woke stuff. I'd keep my opinions to myself on pronouns in work.

And you, Reginald, have no doubt been miserable for years.

Novemember was fine as it happens, I've walked in Howth most weekends. One Sunday was miserable alright, but just one. Last year was much worse.

Could have won money on that reply, was all set up.

The wind and rain have barely stopped for months now. For all the things yer man said, you lot are fairly offended about the weather most of all. Very odd.

buried wrote: »
    I thought the summer was grand, April and May were probably two of the best months weather wise we had. Granted you couldn't go far but you could still sit out and enjoy the really good weather. Summer wasn't great but it wasn't a total disaster either, not out west here anyways, I got away camping most weekends once the lockdown lifted and I wasn't straddled to a thermal or rain gear for them either. Autumn wasn't that bad either. Of course winter is going to be dark and bleak but you just deal with it. Its not like we are living in huts or anything. You prepare for the winter here to be what its going to be.

it was a poor summer in the West , first week of june were good after it was bone dry from St Patricks day , august was especially poor but its nearly always poor

We are both. My dad would bitch and moan about the catholic church when I was growing up and his family and close friends in the pub knew it.

In public though, amongst strangers, not a peep. Probably the same myself with the woke stuff. I'd keep my opinions to myself on pronouns in work.

we are a people of complex contradictions , not corrupt in a big way like bulgaria or nigeria etc but not by the book like the Germans

we are anti authority in a philisophical sense alright but we are not an ideological people in the slightest so not many people go beyond " sure be grand " and revolt

it was a poor summer in the West , first week of june were good after it was bone dry from St Patricks day , august was especially poor but its nearly always poor

Ahh yeah, like I said, it wasn't great, but it sure wasn't cold I know that from camping. Spent a good few weekends camping in Clare in August, wasn't great but wasn't terrible, I got plenty of swims in the mighty Atlantic and after the initial 1 minute the sea was as warm as a heated pool. Was grand. You get used to it because you know what you are going to get and adapt to the changing scenario.

Could have won money on that reply, was all set up.

The wind and rain have barely stopped for months now. For all the things yer man said, you lot are fairly offended about the weather most of all. Very odd.

I think most people agree with the weather point in general, we are not agreeing with you thinking the Autumn was bad because it wasn't.

Ahh yeah, like I said, it wasn't great, but it sure wasn't cold I know that from camping. Spent a good few weekends camping in Clare in August, wasn't great but wasn't terrible, I got plenty of swims in the mighty Atlantic and after the initial 1 minute the sea was as warm as a heated pool. Was grand. You get used to it because you know what you are going to get and adapt to the changing scenario.

Wasn't it hot in September? A friend of mine decamped to the West for the summer, he worked from home and went there when restrictions were lessened. I was going to visit in mid September and he said it was pretty hot in Lahinch. I couldn't go that week and then the county travel restrictions came in. At the time it was cloudy in Dublin.

Wasn't it hot in September? A friend of mine decamped to the West for the summer, which still working from home when restrictions were lessened. I was going to visit in mid September and he said it was pretty hot in Lahinch. I couldn't go that week and then the country travel restrictions came in. At the time it was cloudy in Dublin.

I went back working in September fvp4, so I don't know what it was like in Clare, but my work is predominantly outside and I got loads done in September and October too. Wasn't great but it wasn't the pits some want to make out either.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

US food is sh1t.
    No wonder many Yanks waddling around are the size that they are.

I went back working in September fvp4, so I don't know what it was like in Clare, but my work is predominantly outside and I got loads done in September and October too. Wasn't great but it wasn't the pits some want to make out either.

both months were good , especially october

US food is sh1t.
    No wonder many Yanks waddling around are the size that they are.

**** coffee too

correct me if im wrong but is there less prevalence of independently owned cafes in america ?

i asked my sisters fiancee about it who is from New York and he said through much of the country its " Starbucks or nothing " ?

who would buy starbucks if they had the choice not to ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

monseiur wrote: »
    Sadly most of us here in Ireland have a stereotypical image of Americans - that they're loud, live on burgers / fast food, are overweight etc. etc.
    Most here have no concept of how big America really is - a flight from Florida to Alaska takes over 9 hours, travelling by air to Hawaii from say New York would take roughly 10 to 12 hours without leaving American air space.
    There are almost as many types of Americans as there are different races on the planet - after all the place was built by emigrants.
    Every state is almost like an independent country under one federal flag.
    California for example has a bigger population than the whole of Canada.
    The reality is that Ireland is a tiny rain sodden rock jutting out of the north Atlantic and if a tsunami wiped us off the face off the earth in the morning it would not make an iota of difference to world's economy, climate, demography etc. etc.
    In global terms, we don't really matter as much as we seem to imagine at times.
    Since the great famine we have been exporting our best and brightest and it's effects are obvious and sometimes it takes an outsider to give us a wake up kick in the posterior.

So effing what? Tokyo is just a city and it has about the same population as California. What does that mean or prove?

And does US airspace extend all the way from the West Coast all the way to the mid-Pacific? Maybe it does...I don't know...but again so what?

Every state is different? Really? I can't tell the difference between Ohio and Pennsylvania, Missouri and Kansas, Michigan and Illinois, North/South Dakota, Montana and Wyoming, except for the colour of the taxis, police cars and license plates.

Now there's obviously a big difference between Vermont and Nebraska......but when the weather is the same...they both look the same and they're 2000 miles apart.

America is so diverse that they don't need to travel the world because they have everything there. What bollocks.

Do they have lions that roam free like in the Serengeti or camels or penguins? Do they have the turtles of The Galapagos? Or the Great Barrier Reef or the villainous monkeys of Gibraltar? Of the high-speed trains of Osaka and Beijing?

"Yeah but we can see killer whales at SeaWorld"

I can see The Grand Canyon on TV...whoopee!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I would say yes MM, but IMHO it's more about our attitude to authority. On the one hand we bloody love it and seek it out, on the other we like to thumb our noses to it when we think it's not looking and think oursleves the "rebel Irish" when we're anything but. At least on home soil. The list of Irish men and women who go full on atomic rebel overseas is a long one. And not just politically, artistically too. I've long considered Ireland to be a great womb, but a lousy mother.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

It's a UK and Irish challenge, many artists and writers go to America, if you can succeed there even on a small scale it's a big deal. Every state is different, there's blue states, red states, city's, small towns,
    Living in Texas is very different from living in New York
    or washington or Idaho.
    It depends on the economy, when the economy is booming I don't think every bright young person just go's to America
    Trumps America is not a particularly friendly
    place
    Hopefully things will get better with Biden becoming
    president
    Many business people may not like Ireland because
    taxs are higher than an average US city and unions
    are more powerful here
    Every state has different tax rates laws on gun control etc
    Eg new York is Liberal Texas is conservative
    The reason trump was elected was he got alot of support from rural flyover states that have industrys
    like coal in decline

Wibbs wrote: »
    I would say yes MM, but IMHO it's more about our attitude to authority. On the one hand we bloody love it and seek it out, on the other we like to thumb our noses to it when we think it's not looking and think oursleves the "rebel Irish" when we're anything but. At least on home soil. The list of Irish men and women who go full on atomic rebel overseas is a long one. And not just politically, artistically too. I've long considered Ireland to be a great womb, but a lousy mother.

I'd say its more our attitude to actual real 'responsibility' IMO Wibb's. I think this is probably the best place in the world to live, as long as you control a real semblance of actual responsibility for your actions, in every facet of life. Every opportunity is there for anyone to advance themselves in any way that they want. The state itself, and I give out about it a lot, but our state does provide every single person in this country the opportunity to do this. No matter who you are or where you come from. You just have to take it yourself. Be responsible for yourself. This includes vapid stuff like 'food' and the 'weather'. Prepare your own gaff for any of these things here and you can advance and get by. This Prince Cloudfare lad talks like he expects everything to be delivered to him on a plate. But sure maybe that's how he lived his life from the get go, everything handed to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Ideal weather for a data center doesn’t make it ideal weather for living in.

Where on planet has ideal weather?

We all complain but we don't have ice storms like parts of Canada, stupidly hot weather and drought/wild fires like most of western US/Australia. We don't have hurricanes or tornadoes, no monsoon season.

Irish weather is far from perfect but there is nowhere off top my my head with utopian weather. Norway and New Zealand it rains more than here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Austria!

It's hard to judge this man's comments without knowing the wider context i.e. does he have any access to my internet browsing history? If he does, then I agree with every word and only wish I was half as handsome as he is.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Where on planet has ideal weather?

We all complain but we don't have ice storms like parts of Canada, stupidly hot weather and drought/wild fires like most of western US/Australia. We don't have hurricanes or tornadoes, no monsoon season.

Irish weather is far from perfect but there is nowhere off top my my head with utopian weather. Norway and New Zealand it rains more than here.

I live in Sydney and on average it rains 1300mm per year which is nearly same as Co. Kerry 1400mm, Dublin only gets 760mm.

In saying Sydney gets 2592 hours of yearly sunshine where Dublin 1453 hours.

mandrake04 wrote: »
    I live in Sydney and on average it rains 1300mm per year which is nearly same as Co. Kerry 1400mm, Dublin only gets 760mm.

In saying Sydney gets 2592 hours of yearly sunshine where Dublin 1453 hours.

Casement Aerodrome gets a mere 711mm a year.

But lack of sunlight is the real reason Ireland seems to have worse weather than it does, it is gloomy. But much of coastal Northern Europe is similarly gloomy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Kaybaykwah

Wibbs wrote: »

It was yer man Jimmie Jyce used ta call it "the sow that eats her farrrow".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 105 ✭✭Elite Genetics

Casement Aerodrome gets a mere 711mm a year.

But lack of sunlight is the real reason Ireland seems to have worse weather than it does, it is gloomy. But much of coastal Northern Europe is similarly gloomy.

It's not. The only place with worse weather than Ireland is Iceland. Every other country in eu gets significantly more sunshine. You don't realise that until you actually go there for summer and you feel like you are in a different world when you get constant sunshine for 3 months and can actually make plans for the weekends.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Kaybaykwah

So effing what? Tokyo is just a city and it has about the same population as California. What does that mean or prove?

And does US airspace extend all the way from the West Coast all the way to the mid-Pacific? Maybe it does...I don't know...but again so what?

Every state is different? Really? I can't tell the difference between Ohio and Pennsylvania, Missouri and Kansas, Michigan and Illinois, North/South Dakota, Montana and Wyoming, except for the colour of the taxis, police cars and license plates.

Now there's obviously a big difference between Vermont and Nebraska......but when the weather is the same...they both look the same and they're 2000 miles apart.

America is so diverse that they don't need to travel the world because they have everything there. What bollocks.

Do they have lions that roam free like in the Serengeti or camels or penguins? Do they have the turtles of The Galapagos? Or the Great Barrier Reef or the villainous monkeys of Gibraltar? Of the high-speed trains of Osaka and Beijing?

"Yeah but we can see killer whales at SeaWorld"

I can see The Grand Canyon on TV...whoopee!

Well, even when the weather is the same, or similar, Vermont and Nebraska as per your example, are very different. Vermont is very green and mostly hilly, and Nebraska is mostly flat and drier. These make for very different mentalities in the long run. Vermonters have a very nordic outlook on life, have more socialist values than most other rural states in the US. Their neighboring states of Maine, New York and New Hampshire are very different in a lot of ways, too.

I live next door to these states, and there are immediately noticeable differences when entering the US, but the same can be said of Quebec and Ontario, and the other provinces...

It's not. The only place with worse weather than Ireland is Iceland. Every other country in eu gets significantly more sunshine. You don't realise that until you actually go there for summer and you feel like you are in a different world when you get constant sunshine for 3 months and can actually make plans for the weekends.

Scotland is also a lot gloomier than Ireland. And the UK as a whole is pretty much the same, although London and the south east is better.

When I say coastal Northern Europe I specifically said that, rather than name countries for a reason. Coastal north Germany is different from even central Germany. A few hundred miles makes a big difference.

I'll post an image on this tomorrow. All of Europe is pretty bad though, compared to the US, even Spain and Italy dont come near the sunniness of the best parts of the US.

That said cloud cover doesnt stop you doing anything. And the East of Ireland isnt all that wet.