Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Diego Armando Maradona 1960 - 2020

• Registered Users Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

RIP. :(

1950.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,421 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

The greatest naturally gifted player ever. An actual magician. So sorry to hear but I guess he had a good life. RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Amazing player on the pitch, possibly the greatest ever and my favourite player of all time. Absolutely bonkers off the pitch, he certainly lived a colourful life. Don't think we'll ever see a player dominate a world cup again like he did in 86. Single handedly turned Napoli from also rans to challenge and then topple a star studded AC Milan in the late 80's. As long as the game is played he will be remembered as not only one of the true greats of the game, but, also one of it's most colourful and controversial characters. He leaves behind so many iconic moments. A sad day for football.
    May he rest in peace.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,238 ✭✭✭Esse85

He used get kicked and hacked in most games, very tough player.
    Incredible how he single handedly did what he did for Napoli and Argentina. Not sure we've seen that since or will see it again, much more about a team game today.

Ought to be remembered for the supreme talent he was, an absolute icon, impacted millions in a positive way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

One of a kind, but what an artist. RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 13,103 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Laois_Man wrote: »
    Even a tennis ball...even recently

A sad sight though!

That's not him.
    That is an actor filmed in 2015.
    AMKC wrote: »
    He ran around a field and kicked a ball and got paid silly money for it. Fair play to him for making a life out of that but it's hardly a real job is it.

Anyway RIP to him.

don't care if i am banned or not but qwould ya ever feck off.

He didn't get the millions they do today and had to withstand them kicking lumps out of him every week.
    Then he had to play getting injections for the pain.

He played himself out of poverty in the Barios and captured the hearts of millions that 25 years after his glory days mourn him today.

_Brian wrote: »
    Cheats and druggies don’t do it for me.

Another fooking misery.

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Ultimanemo

RIP Diego

• Registered Users Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭boardise

Pasteur. wrote: »
    You're so wrong there it wasn't applauded ever

The Brits played it up and downplayed the genius goal

I'm sure lots of Irish fans laugh it off -so easy to do.
    Not too many laughed about Thierry Henry's little manual effort though...
    I wonder what the difference is.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭boardise

[QUOTE=The Tetrarch;115417813

]The true stamp of greatness - getting slagged off by Eamon Dunphy.[/QUOTE]

Correct
    Dunphy -the greatest attention-seeking , windbag of a busted flush of all time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Stunning player

The opposition were kicking lumps out of him at Mexico 86.

He just dusted himself off and glided past them.

While his time in Naples was a great success on the pitch, he got involved with mobsters and drug dealers. Naples was ultimately his downfall.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Das Reich

_Brian wrote: »
    Cheats and druggies don’t do it for me.

A sad day in Medellin.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    Stunning player

He just dusted himself off and glided past them.

While his time in Naples was a great success on the pitch, he got involved with mobsters and drug dealers. Naples was ultimately his downfall.

Like George Best the guy was continually the target for career ending tackles for years.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Don't mean to be insensitive but does this sad news warrant being the main headline on both the main evening news bulletins, just seems extraordinary with what is going on in the world but more importantly closer to home, Patricia Carrick"s Death, 2 homeless men found dead on the streets of our capital city (One just a few yards from the Dail)

Maybe I'm wrong but WTF is going on in the crazy world.

Possibly the greatest football player in the history of the game? Yep, it did warrant being the main headline in the news. Just because you probably aren't interested in football doesn't mean that many other people aren't.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,841 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

He did.

He once remarked that Diego Maradona wasnt a great player.

Dunphy has talked a lot of ****e over the years but that would top everything.
    AMKC wrote: »
    He ran around a field and kicked a ball and got paid silly money for it. Fair play to him for making a life out of that but it's hardly a real job is it.

Anyway RIP to him.

And shouting, a load of men going around shouting!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

1950.jpg

G'wan. There's only 6 of them. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭ooter

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    Stunning player

82 was worse, they kicked the ****e out of him and he ended up getting a red card when he acted out in frustration.
    But he learned from it.
    Best there's ever been for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,356 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

2814.jpg?fit=700%2C468

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Pasteur.

ooter wrote: »
    82 was worse, they kicked the ****e out of him and he ended up getting a red card when he acted out in frustration.
    But he learned from it.

Did he play much in 82

That was the famous WC with the great Brazilian team and Paulo Rossi for the Italians

• Registered Users Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭ooter

Yeah he played in all 5 of their games.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

RIP. :(

1950.jpg

As iconic and amazing as that image is, it is also totally misleading.

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭Me_Grapes

Scoundrel wrote: »
    R.I.P Diego the greatest of all time and good socialist as well fitting he passed on Fidel's anniversary.

Even more fitting is that it's the 15th anniversary of George Best's passing

R.I.P the greatest of all time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Pasteur.

Really in 82?.

He was too young in 78 when they won

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

I don't want to rewrite history but I was sure that match was at the end of May 1979 (that 2018 article says May 1980) when Maradona was 18.

The Oracle that is "Ireland on the Ball", a compendium of every match played by the Republic of Ireland national team until June 1993 (A world cup qualifier against Lithuania in Vilnius, if you must know. 1-0 win for Ireland courtesy of an OG by somebody called Baltusnikas) says it was Friday May 16th 1980. Argentina won 1-0 thanks to a goal by Valencia.

Their team comprised many of the players who had won the World Cup in 1978. Fillol, Olquin, Passarella, Tarantini, Simon, Barbas, Gallego, Maradona, Santamaria, Diaz, Valencia.

By my calculation, Maradona would have been 19 at that time.

Got the shít kicked out of him in most of them too. Especially by Gentile v Italy. Finally cracked up against Brazil and got sent off himself for some very belated retaliation.

BTW, that picture of him facing the entire Belgian defence (actually a disintegrating free kick wall, if I recall) is taken from Argentina's opening match in World Cup 82

• Registered Users Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭dasdog

• Registered Users Posts: 13,103 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

But he learned from it.
    Did he play much in 82

That was the famous WC with the great Brazilian team and Paulo Rossi for the Italians

He kicked Zico in the guts.
    First round was Argentina, Belgium, El Salvador and Hungary.
    El Salvador lost 10-1 against Hungary because they just wanted to score a goal at world cup.
    It was also the world cup where West Germany and Austria played out a 0-0 farce which was the most rigged match in history as suited both of them to go to next round.

Belgium marked Maradona with 2/3 guys and kicked him.
    Italy marked him with Cluadio Gentile, one of the greatest s***bags to have every played.
    He was a great defender, but he was as dirty as hell.

Gentile later said he should have been sent off at least 3 times in that match and that was when you got away with tackles from behind and loads of stuff the primadonas of today would shyte their pants over.

Argentina played Italy and Brazil in the second round in a group of 3.
    Italy beat Brazil simply through soaking up their pressure and exposing them totally on the break.

Really in 82?.

He was too young in 78 when they won

Some people wanted him to be played in 78 as he was already playing top flight football in Argentina.

dasdog wrote: »

I was right about the photographers :)

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭mehico

So sad to hear the news this evening.

As a player in his peak he was unstoppable and though mainly known as an attacking player and playmaker he could defend brilliantly also.

If you seen him play in the World Cup semi-final against Belgium in 1986 he was literally turning up in every part of the pitch, unstoppable.

His vision was amazing and how many times he carved out openings for his team mates out of nowhere when surrounded by opposition players trying to take him out of it. I don't think we will ever see a complete footballer like that again.

RIP Diego

• Registered Users Posts: 9,681 ✭✭✭buried

A mighty magician.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 13,790 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Sam Hain wrote: »
    As iconic and amazing as that image is, it is also totally misleading.

That Belgian kit though, drool