Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What item would you horde if the supermarkets were closing?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,000 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Bonina black pudding and white bread with brown sauce and butter and litres of milk

All of which would go off and you’d starve.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,000 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Interest, but many items left out, like pet food.....

I’ve lived in Switzerland for over 30 years and I used to think ther disaster planning was way OTT until now.

Page 5 of their household emergency plan has a good suggestion for food stuff.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,223 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

TP?

• Registered Users Posts: 30,192 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Popcorn!

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Living in very remote places for decades means I am always well stocked. ie a couple of months .The one thing I am most careful of is cat food as I have 6 rescues. We can eat a variety but they cannot.

ALWAYS make sure you have eg chocolate ie treats as they matter.

A sack pf potatoes is always good to have.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,553 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

gogo wrote: »
    You grew up in a world where Beavis and Butthead weren’t a thing I take it?

Well, that's solved a 'mystery'.

Makes more sense than a 'teepee' did.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Gruffalux wrote: »
    I have worked through this scenario a fair few times in my head and if there is only one thing you can stock up on the answer is always guns.

Would it not be more useful to hoard ammunition?

Which is more useful in such an apocalyptic scenario long term: a load of guns and one box of ammo, or one gun and a load of boxes of ammo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

Would it not be more useful to hoard ammunition?

Which is more useful in such an apocalyptic scenario long term: a load of guns and one box of ammo, or one gun and a load of boxes of ammo?

Lads, ye are all so literal. The bullets are IMPLIED. If ye go back I said '' a well stocked arsenal''...

me earlier being sensible and clear..
    if the sh1t really ever hits the fan and the shops are properly closing what you need is a well stocked arsenal.

I would like to stock cannons, bazookas, rifles, blunderbusses, rifles, AK47s, anything that is going plus of course their ammunition! I have watched The Walking Dead. I know how this game goes.

I would probably retreat to a cave and live off sheep and sorrel leaves. Don't worry, I am not coming to get anyone. If the SHTF there will be hordes of hungry gangs coming out of the cities and my polytunnels full of vegetables will be fcuk all use to me then, won't they. But my guns will do the trick.

Lads, ye are all so literal. The bullets are IMPLIED. If ye go back I said '' a well stocked arsenal''...

Arsenal have been all guns and no bullets for a long time.

WHAT!!!??!!! My life has been a lie!!! :eek:

You big enormous fibster, trying to ruin a girl's dreams :mad:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arsenal

You big enormous fibster, trying to ruin a girl's dreams :mad:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arsenal

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arsenal_F.C.

Hahah Oh sorry, it was a football joke :P In my world football does not exist.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 480 ✭✭ewc78

Condoms.

Hahah Oh sorry, it was a football joke :P In my world football does not exist.

Cos you shot all the players

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Guns.
    No matter what kind of peacenik homesteading vegetarian idealist you are if the sh1t really ever hits the fan and the shops are properly closing what you need is a well stocked arsenal. I have worked through this scenario a fair few times in my head and if there is only one thing you can stock up on the answer is always guns.

and here i was coming to say soya yogurts

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Paul_Mc1988

What is TP?

It's for my bunghole....... because I am the great Cornholio

• Registered Users Posts: 13,376 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Toilet roll, I’m down to the last 229, I need to stick up !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Recently, someone created a thread asking g where to put a safe. He wanted to have a stash of money , in case "the sh1t ever hit the fan". I remember saying to my son, after reading that thread, that if one REALLY thought some sort of armageddon was likely, then guns and ammunition would be the best thing to hide under the stairs. To protect the food and money youd stockpiled.
    Even now though, I'd be concerned about criminals targeting homes where guns are kept. Not sure if that's a thing or just in my head.

Oh, by the way, chickpeas and rice. :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

Jelly Babies and squirt porn clips

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

Recently, someone created a thread asking g where to put a safe. He wanted to have a stash of money , in case "the sh1t ever hit the fan". I remember saying to my son, after reading that thread, that if one REALLY thought some sort of armageddon was likely, then guns and ammunition would be the best thing to hide under the stairs. To protect the food and money youd stockpiled.
    Even now though, I'd be concerned about criminals targeting homes where guns are kept. Not sure if that's a thing or just in my head.

Oh, by the way, chickpeas and rice. :-)

Guns make sense. At least I can understand the point of having a gun in a crisis.

How likely would it be that money will lose it's value in an Armageddon type situation?

I imagine food, water and the gun itself would probably be far more valuable than the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭DilD

Chicken, eggs, rice, oats.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,026 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

This reminds me of what I witnessed in Tesco earlier.

There was a fella in a blind rush filling his trolley with tequila, Old El Paso buritto kits and a sombrero.

I thought to myself, "Hispanic buying".

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Gluten free food for my daughter. The rest of us will manage somehow, she won’t.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,279 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Toothpaste. The impending collapse of civilisation is no excuse to neglect oral hygiene.

Alcohol....mainly jamesons,

This.

Eggs I can beg borrow or steal. Jameson I can't. Denny sausages and Jameson. I'd clear the shelves of both and then by a second freezer.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,464 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Zaph wrote: »
    Toothpaste. The impending collapse of civilisation is no excuse to neglect oral hygiene.

You, sir, need to reassess your priorities.

Maybe a thread on " What you have in your food cupboards.." ???

Graces7 wrote: »
    Maybe a thread on " What you have in your food cupboards.." ???

For most people that will be some out of date cereals, half a bag of pasta and a lot of empty space. There’s an awful lot of eejits who would be licking the fridge drawer within a week for a taste of onion if the shops were closed. No excuse for it for most. Sky TV subscriptions and a takeaway on speed-dial is how they plan to feed themselves. I keep about 3 months worth of meals ‘on hand’, with or without a pandemic. Carbohydrates in pasta, rice, noodles, dehydrated potato, peas, fruit and so on, canned beans/peas/soups/fruit, chickpeas, lentils, oats and muesli, flour, powdered eggs and milk, sugar, 6L sunflower oil, honey, 2kg coffee, kilos of seasoning, bovril/gravy mix, marmalades and jams and that’s before I think about things like spuds, onions in cool stores and the contents of the freezer. Same goes for toiletries and personal hygiene supplies. Two burner gas stove and two cylinders, batteries and the like. First aid stuff including medicines, water filter cartridges and purification tablets, milton and bleach, nitrile gloves, duct and foil tape. All there, used and cycled so never any waste. 60 days handy. Plus 30 with minor adjustment.

JayZeus wrote: »
    For most people that will be some out of date cereals, half a bag of pasta and a lot of empty space. There’s an awful lot of eejits who would be licking the fridge drawer within a week for a taste of onion if the shops were closed. No excuse for it for most. Sky TV subscriptions and a takeaway on speed-dial is how they plan to feed themselves. I keep about 3 months worth of meals ‘on hand’, with or without a pandemic. Carbohydrates in pasta, rice, noodles, dehydrated potato, peas, fruit and so on, canned beans/peas/soups/fruit, chickpeas, lentils, oats and muesli, flour, powdered eggs and milk, sugar, 6L sunflower oil, honey, 2kg coffee, kilos of seasoning, bovril/gravy mix, marmalades and jams and that’s before I think about things like spuds, onions in cool stores and the contents of the freezer. Same goes for toiletries and personal hygiene supplies. Two burner gas stove and two cylinders, batteries and the like. First aid stuff including medicines, water filter cartridges and purification tablets, milton and bleach, nitrile gloves, duct and foil tape. All there, used and cycled so never any waste. 60 days handy. Plus 30 with minor adjustment.

Great post and my cupboards etc are well stocked as you describe. PLUS many crates and bags of catfood..