Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PS5 thread 2.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,550 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Jaysus I love the DualSense. Best controller ever made, the haptics are amazing when used right, it just feels right and is "softer" compared to the Xbox one, which does give me pains in my hands/fingers after extended play, but I can do full days with the DualSense('s, you need 2 for a full day).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭MikeRyan87

If you love the haptics you can turn them on when using the PS5 menus.

Only realized yesterday when had a look in accessibility. Also turned on "High Contrast" in menus. Makes it look better/darker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,797 ✭✭✭✭Penn

PSN currently down. Thought it was an issue with my PS+ sub as it was renewed just a day or two ago and thought maybe something glitched out with it, but seems to be the whole PSN.

Horrible timing. I had one more full evening of Tekken 8 before Dragons Dogma 2 and Rise of the Ronin release and I have to force myself onto a different game and PSN goes down...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,501 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Yeah to be honest I'm not mad on them. Definitely better than the Xbox triggers but there's only so much immersion in them. The vibration is much better than the DualShock 4, but have mine turned off also and don't miss it. Saves the battery life too.

I do think the haptics are a cool feature but then it's just...is that it? Solid controller though.

I honestly believe when the haptics are used right, it adds so much more to the game. Some devs are lazy and don't implement it properly, that's usually noticeable with too heavy use of the trigger resistance. But feeling the rain in Returnal is something that will stay with me forever. The intro to Returnal has fantastic haptics during it. I even deleted a save so I could experience it again.

Same with Ratchet and Clank and of course Astros Playroom, two perfect examples of proper implementation. But I'm someone who loves getting fully immersed and the haptics add to that. We just need more proper use of it. Imagine a horror game that uses a heartbeat in the controller. Always there, barely in the background, bump bump, bump bump, even with the in valve on the left and out on the right side of the DualSense. It gets louder, faster, stronger during exciting moments... I don't play horror games bit if I did and a controller did that, I would probably actually soil my pants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,467 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

5 hour free trial of Cyberpunk this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Main story doesn't get going for 2 hours so make sure you allow for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭bot43

Not sure where else to ask this.

Since twitter and PlayStation are no longer friends how can I access my screenshots on a different device?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭sniper_samurai

If you install the Playstation app on your phone you can save them from the cloud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭bot43

thanks. Have it now 👍

Dave The Diver and Tales of Kenzara Zau in PS Plus Extra/Premium Day 1.

Was definitely going to buy DTD so great news.

I finally caved with Synth Riders. Will be redundant soon so will have plenty to keep me going!

Untitled Image

Enjoyed it but the trophy list is terrible. Needs to learn from Drums Rock.

What an unfortunate lineup of games that's leaving PS Plus next month.

Lots I had been planning to get to eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,785 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

My four Dualsense controllers:

20240425_145829.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,789 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭Damien360

I was wondering what was the cause. What I saw today in Motors is laughable with the stretched pics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,789 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

It's reminding me of visiting web sites in the 90s. Is kind of endearing. 🤣

I posted a pic of one of my Jordan F1 tees in the motorsport forum. It looks ridiculous 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,467 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

That blue one is very nice. I have the GOW one, the cosmic red Dualsense and the Spider-Man Dualsense.

Used to have a purple and white one but traded them in.

Yes, the Cobalt Blue Dualsense is my favourite now. I had the Starlight Blue Dualsense but it didn't last long in my lineup. It was a very pale blue which I didn't like.

Picked up the Pulse Elite yesterday. Only have a few hours on them and they seem grand. I cam only compare sound quality against the Arctis 7P+, the difference isn't much that I've noticed yet. I'll need to play the same game part twice in a row with each to know, so will try that in the coming week.

The headset itself feels flimsy. The shape is odd, but I do like the headband setup. The cups feel very loose, and I could already tell they would be a weak point as the cups are attached by a single swivel behind each ear. It doesn't give you a feeling they're strong...

Buttons on right side, easy enough to use. Seemingly can pair with a second device as well as the PS5. Will try it with the C2 at some point. Having EQ options out of the box is great. Something the Arctis was missing, and the Arctis app is broken by all accounts. Comes with Standard, Bass Boost, Shooter and 3 customisable profiles, so the same as the original Pulse. Will Google a good setup at some point. Won't be using them as much as I used to due to a job change so will take a while longer to really get the feel of them. No comment on the mic as I'll never use it. Some reviews range from grand to terrible for the mic.

And it may sound bad for the headset, but the box impressed me the most tbh! Lovely origami type job,and I do like a good box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Appreciate the review, but the number one gripe I had with the original pulse headset was the mic and it was the only thing I was waiting for your opinion on! :D

Yeah, I'm not a mic user so wouldn't be able to help you there. It's supposed to be grand. Just a warning if you wear glasses, the led lights at the tips of the earpieces may reflect off them. I've the smaller square glasses so don't notice it, but bigger ones apparently reflect it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,515 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Lads what are we going to do when they launch the pro later this year. GameStop were the job for pre ordering these things, they'd even do a list before it was officially announced. Now they're gone will it be a **** show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭jones

Smyths probably be the best option now. Or Amazon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭JimBurnley

And cex only place that will take your old one for cash/credit, unless you sell privately. That's biggest pain with GS, no trade in deals now for used games/consoles…

Just gonna have to straight up buy it and hope CEX give enough for the base model to not want to go to the bother of selling privately. I would sell it on to a family member discounted, but I have literal thousands of hours on it. They'd be better off buying new. Just hope Smyths get a good stock. Harvey Norman may get a few, and with the demand that was around for the PS5 when it initially launched there may be other legit stores getting some in, Tesco, Currys, etc. I'm quietly confident it'll be minimum €600, if not €650 so hopefully the price will allow stock for a while! I've budgeted for it either way, didn't get my PS5 till day 2 and that annoyed me no end so I want the Pro day 1!

Do Smyths do preorders anymore? Or just first come first served these days? Was so much easier to bring the old console into Gamestop, get a meh trade in price but upped by my Level 3 card to somewhat decent discount off the new one. I used my PS4 Pro and God of War 2018 (PS5) against the SX and got it for less than €100. No such deals this time. Just relying on CEX's history of decent prices and greed increasing it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,501 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

You can pre-order in Smyths, I've done it for the odd game. Not sure if they did one for the PS5 but they've also done midnight launches for games in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭sniper_samurai

Smyths did preorders for PS5, I booked my one there. Then I traded in my PS4 Pro and One S against the Series X in GameStop, cost me €600 for both.