Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PS5 thread 2.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭EoinMcLovin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭The Phantom Pain

Plague Tale is a decent game with memorable levels and characters. About 3 hours too long and the rats stop being scary due to their frequency in the second half but overall worth playing. Looking forward to the sequel.

btw I found this critique from Joseph Anderson quite interesting:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Dujiriti

Yeah Joseph Anderson does some great analysis on games. Really helps you appreciate them more when you understand them in more depth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Markitron

Plague Tale was great, some fantastic storytelling and environmental puzzling and a genuinely unique setting and premise.

It is definitely a little too long and the last encounter is mind-bogglingly ridiculous, but well worth playing for anyone that is curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭The Raging Bile Duct

That looks like a nice visual upgrade - it looked a bit ropey on the PS4. It was a great game although I'd echo the criticisms about its length and that really stupid final boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,609 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Cool use of the haptics

Returnal is, imo right now, the best game for haptic use. I genuinely can't tell which sounds are made by the haptics and which ones are coming out of the speaker. It's a stunning game for haptic use, and makes me really excited for future games. I actually want to watch films with haptics and the DualSense in my hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,228 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Quick question lads but probably not the right place so apologies.

I've found a PlayStation TV here while clearing out old presses and wondering if there's a market for them?

It was used about 5 times in total. Even had the box until herself tore up and threw out a load of boxes yesterday while I was in work. All orginal cables still here though.

TitianGerm wrote: »
    Quick question lads but probably not the right place so apologies.

I've found a PlayStation TV here while clearing out old presses and wondering if there's a market for them?

It was used about 5 times in total. Even had the box until herself tore up and threw out a load of boxes yesterday while I was in work. All orginal cables still here though.

Yea you would probably get about 50 quid for it maybe? I’d hang onto it if I was you though, have a feeling the price of those things is gonna go up as time goes by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,228 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Markitron wrote: »
    Yea you would probably get about 50 quid for it maybe? I’d hang onto it if I was you though, have a feeling the price of those things is gonna go up as time goes by.

Yea might do that actually. I think there's a Vita up in my mams house as well, must have a look for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,429 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Pretty sure the PlayStation TV are worth a few quid. They didn't sell well and people didn't really seem interested in the Vita itself but now that people realise you can put custom firmware on them to run PSP games among other things the seem to be a bit more sought after.

Almost bought one myself at the time as they were going for nearly half price but the one Vita game I had wasn't supported!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

TitianGerm wrote: »
    Yea might do that actually. I think there's a Vita up in my mams house as well, must have a look for it.

I think they are worth something to the hacker lads....

Not sure how it works but I think they want them for flashing ROMs or running emulators or something...

Could be a wee project for you if you are bothered 🙂

Edit the PSTV not the Vita but I think the Vita can be flashed also...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Wailin

Finally got a ps5 today, happy out! What game would be a good one to showcase the console? I was thinking RE8 or maybe Demon Souls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

A good game is already on it. Astro Bot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭JimBurnley

Wailin wrote: »
    Finally got a ps5 today, happy out! What game would be a good one to showcase the console? I was thinking RE8 or maybe Demon Souls?

Astrobot. Especially to get a feel of the dualsense controller and what it can do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Ratchet and Clank is also a good game that showcases it, feels like a next gen game more so that anything else.

Wailin wrote: »

Astrobot, Demons Souls, Returnal or Ratchet. 4 very different games that show off the console in very different ways. All 4 are fantastic in their own right as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭ItsHoggie

Lads when I was in GameStop doing the dualsense trade in offer they told me I’ve a 3 month warranty with Sony and if they be any problems I’ve to deal with them. Is that normal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭blaa85

ItsHoggie wrote: »
    Lads when I was in GameStop doing the dualsense trade in offer they told me I’ve a 3 month warranty with Sony and if they be any problems I’ve to deal with them. Is that normal?

I asked when picking up mine and was told 12 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,019 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

They can say it, but it's not legal. Sale of goods act says that its up to the vendor to the 3 'r's, repair, replace, or refund in that order.

With Sony it is 12 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭BlackMask93

What is the offer? Can't seem to find anything about it online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,019 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Markitron wrote: »
    With Sony it is 12 months

All items under sale of goods act, many retailers will falsely claim your warranty is with Sony, but it's the vendors who have to abide by the law, no matter what they claim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,941 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Paulcon93 wrote: »
    What is the offer? Can't seem to find anything about it online

Trade in any Dualsense controller for a black or red one and pay a fiver. It ended last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭MikeRyan87

GameStop are such snakes. I never buy from them anymore. Wouldn't be surprised if they were selling controllers that were returned and trying to get people to return them to Sony instead of them.

Had to return my Dual Sense twice to Harvey Norman earlier this year( one after a month of use and one after two months...dodgy r2 button)
    They did a quick inspection,checked the receipt and gave me a new one on the spot. Excellent customer service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

They've been getting away with saying this for years. Its pure deception.

They told me when I was buying an Xbox from them that I get an in-store warranty for 3 months then my warranty is with the manufacturer (Xbox) after the 3 months are up.

I've told them that's a load of BS. Even their own website doesn't state this. Its something they attempt to pull in-store behind the scenes. Most of the young staff just nod their head. Its a management decision.

I was in another GameStop and when browsing I heard a mother getting this line when she had brought back a faulty console. They were sending her out of the store to deal with the manufacturer and she was almost about to leave when I jumped in to assist. She left with a new console. The one she had brought in was just 5 months old.

Fair play.What a bunch of cowboys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭EoinMcLovin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Sony also tweeted out a similar image(since deleted) with the Bluepoint logo, and an image of Demons Souls in the background. So I wonder is that announcement imminent also.

Both acquisitions make perfect sense for Sony anyway.

Looks like they're acquiring Bluepoint as well.

https://www.ign.com/articles/playstation-bluepoint-games-acquisition-leak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,528 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Bluepoint are a nice get, they not got any big IP themselves but they open the possibility to a lot