Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masterchef: The Professionals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭tinpib

Only finished the final just there. I think like most I had Alex as the outsider of the 3, but it does seem like the judges start with a clean slate each challenge. One bad challenge you are out or, like in the final, one perfect challenge and you are the winner.

Which is all fair enough. It does seem to be judged fairly on merit and not for the cameras.

Going back though the other episodes of finals week, was surprised in a good way when Jono got kicked off,though he was humble in defeat. He was very unlikable.

As mentioned elsewhere I think we could see Santosh on TV again and if it is his dream to open a Nepalese restaurant then he has a good shot at it now.

Bart looked the winner for a long way but again I hope it opens doors for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,810 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Was the second episode of the Christmas special on? It didn't record for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,478 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

siblers wrote: »
    Was the second episode of the Christmas special on? It didn't record for me

It's listed as having recorded on my Sky box, but I didn't watch it yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭twill

Masterchef judge Charles Campion has died. This is sad. I really missed him on the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Masterchef: The Professionals Festive Cook-off on BBC1 tonight and tomorrow at 8pm. Professionals from previous years return for festive themed episodes.

Anyone watching the pro series this time?

A very likeable bunch all round. I'd have been happy with most/any of them getting into the finals week.

I've just watched the first of the finals shows - jaysus that Danish place is off the scale weird! Can't say I'd be rushing to eat there (especially at about €900 a head with the basic wine pairing, according to Google 😳) but its the most enjoyable of those bonkers episodes I've seen in a long time on MC.

I'm torn between rooting for Tom and Kasae - but I think Tom is just shading it for me as the baby of the finalists - he really has been incredible all the way through.

A very enjoyable series all round!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,251 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Another BBC "probe" as Greg Wallace has stepped down as co host of Masterchef

Greg was first accused of making "inappropriate sexual comments" to a female BBC staffer on Impossible Celebrities.

Some 13 people who worked with Greg across a range of shows over a 17-year period have now accused him of making sexual comments, the BBC confirmed today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Cushie Butterfield

It's certainly all kicking off now…..

IMG_3433.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,211 ✭✭✭ebbsy

That could have been the final last night.

Is this the strongest 5 left ever ? It might be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,748 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Gregg is so unmasked, again BBC. What is it with the BBC and sexual predators .

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

I was never sure why Greg Wallace was attached to Masterchef anyway. I’ve found him to be generally a silly person when a tendency to be a bit over the top and annoying. If he was there to be a foodie but not a chef I don’t know who they’d replace him with. We were talking here about maybe John Torode’s wife, Lisa being a good replacement.

Seemingly Anna Haugh is replacing him in whatever is being filmed at the moment. She'll be a great addition to the programme if she's kept on, I loved her in the shows she did in the past. She has a lovely positive encouraging way about her.

I agree with wondering how on earth GW managed to get so intrinsic to the programme, never saw the appeal of him whatsoever.

I only managed to catch up on the last of the semis last night - wow, what a display of skills! I felt so sorry for William, it all just went so wrong for him on the day - but I suppose at least he was the obvious choice to send home and you weren't left questioning the decision!

I did raise an eyebrow at mention of the "British" hatmaker Philip Treacy, though 😡

Lol yeah William deserved to be sent home for using the B word about Philip Treacy! 😀. They are all so strong at this stage there was so little in it. I felt sorry for William too. He’s probably been one of the most consistently good competitors but just pushed too far and sadly paid for it. At this point they’re all so strong there aren’t any losers anymore. I think any of them would have won on precious seasons.

That was Gaston, wasn't it? With his (frankly slightly bizarre) Lady Gaga tribute. Still no excuse though!

Oh yes! It was. That whole concept was a bit nuts. Glad it worked for him though.

Sad to see Gaston go out like that. I’d say nerves got to him. It’s great at least they all got to cook for the assembled chefs. It’s a great stepping stone for them if they decide to move up the ladder.

At this stage I feel like Ciara might swing it. She’s my least favourite of the remaining chefs but does handle pressure well. I’d say it be between her and Dan. I’d like to see Dan get the nod. He seems like a really down to earth guy and is able for pressure also. It seems like it’d mean more to him also.

Ah Jesus, Gaston - what a way to get knocked out!!

I thought they might save him as he'd just dropped the sauce (and I bet they'd tasted some along the way), as opposed to George's chocolate moulding being less than ideal - but then his mousse was grainy as well, so fair enough I suppose.

I can't believe George actually got moulds made up of the MC trophy, and used them in a round - that's taking cockiness to a whole new level!!

Chiara has been one of my favourites through the whole series, I just love her attitude, and she's come up with some properly wacky ideas that have really worked. I wonder who's lucky enough to have her cooking for them in her day job??

Also, do i remember them saying that she's entirely self taught?

DaDan Just gives me anxiety.

Chiara FTW for me.

Baltimore next? Yes please!!!

Your man's Turkish/W Cork accent is hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Hold My Hand

Last night’s show was some advertisement for Baltimore. The Turkish chef was beyond lovely, the way he mentored the chefs and gave them encouragement. I really enjoyed watching it

Yeah he was a really nice guy. It was a great advertisement for Baltimore and the address looked fantastic. I wouldn’t mind a trip to Dede after seeing that. Mainly because the Turkish guy is so nice.

I don’t remember anything about Chiara being self taught but, if so, fair play to her. I think anyone having any of these final 3, and I’d even say the final 5 is really lucky.

I think too it was the grainy sauce that did for Gaston. He might have survived if it was just the sauce being an issue. Definitely George making those MasterChef moulds was on the nose but screwing up the implementation would have done for him ordinarily. I agree about Chisra. She’s come up with very odd ideas abd implemented them well but I get a feeling of ‘head girl’ off her. Good student but also licks up to the teachers and curry’s favour. I think she turned it on full tilt for the Turkish chef last night. Dan has really grown I think. He’s very competent and seems to be coming out of his shell more as the competition goes on. There is no cockiness or lick-ariseing from him and would love to see him win. However I’d put money on Chiara at this stage.

There was definitely one girl who was self-taught and not cooking professionally all that long, and I'm 99% sure it was Chiara.

I'm rooting for her all the way - agree that Dan has blossomed and I'm delighted for him, but Chiara is my winner all day long. I just hope she can do it on the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,538 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I doubt it is just the BBC tbh....

Also the programme is produced by Banijay so I doubt the BBC have much day to day involvement, especially with such a long running show.

A lot more things coming out since seemingly. That morning time rant about middle aged woman of a certain age isn't exactly going to help him...unless he thinks his next gig might be GB news.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,892 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Dan for the win. Chiara too obsessed with cooking "edgy" meals that include an unexpected ingredient.

Yeah, what was he thinking with that rant? Tge guy is well off and media savvy you’d think. He’s also living in London with access to world class PR agencies. You’d think one of them would have been good first port of call.

Jaysus, Dan's main is giving me indigestion (and a possible heart attack) just listening to him describe it!

Proper cooking!! It’s the one I’d have loved to try, apart from George’s main.

Ah nice one Dan!! Feckin delighted. He really needed the win I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,365 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Delighted for Dan! But very strong finalists all around, would have been happy for any of them to win. Monica is just lovely, she’s such a nice way with people.

I kinda knew Chiara wasn't going to win when Marcus commented on her tart case - but for that to be literally the only criticism of the entire final was quite something!

When it came to it, I was guessing George, but there was a hair's breadth in it - delighted for Dan as it seems like exactly the sort of affirmation he needed.

Agreat final, with three great finalists.