Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Lockdown: a second squirt will keep dat scrolling finger safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Pardon?

Elderly man is trying to help his dying, nursing home bound wife to locate an old friend and lots of comments nit-picking and jeering about how he makes his request. Not nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Always remember that. Also in the 1970s I used to be very nervous when I'd hear Nordie accents in Dublin, as there had been various buildings with windows shot through etc, especially with "Royal" in the name. I remember hearing a threatening sounding Nordie conversation in the back of the 14 bus and getting off, scared, and walking home.

Would have been more concerned of the British/loyalist terrorist attacks and their FG/lab helpers in Dublin at that time myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,474 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Ah he was in the Telecom Eireann aka PTT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

This lad has no intention of wrapping up at 3 pm.

Joe will have to fade him out.

14:59
    Hurry up!

Ray talking about Muppets.

Oh the irony!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,530 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Joe clearly eyeing this up for a story on the tv show version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

the 6 marker, at 3pm.

tick tock tick tock

gmisk wrote: »
    Joe clearly eyeing this up for a story on the tv show version.

Definitely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,026 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Still fack all about the PS5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,466 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

i had a call for the last 3/4 of an hour, listening to the end, I presume it was pure scutter ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

BPKS wrote: »
    A lot of Kerry people associate it a year with what happened in the football championship.

If you spoke to most Kerry people about 1982 the conversation would turn to Seamus Darby.

So if you spoke to most Kerry people about the year 1997 for example it would invariably lead to how good Maurice Fitzgerald was in the final against Mayo.

If you spoke to most Kerry people about the year 2011 they would end up giving out about the referee.

Seamus Darby owns my local pub in Toomevara. Tipperary. During the summer he gutted the place and did it up. One evening he let one of the lads in to have a look before he put everything back and asked the lad what he thought.

"Jesus, Seamus, It's lovely now that it's not a shrine to you anymore."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,530 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Elderly man is trying to help his dying, nursing home bound wife to locate an old friend and lots of comments nit-picking and jeering about how he makes his request. Not nice.
    Vast majority are not.
    A good host would have got to the point without this taking so long in a clear concise manner without all the rambling.

So short answer they met at a dance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

So short answer they met at a dance.

"You, me, jiggy jiggy?"

Would have been more concerned of the British/loyalist terrorist attacks and their FG/lab helpers in Dublin at that time myself

My own political understanding was completely primitive. Nordie voyis=Danger to this young teenager, my brain worked simplistically then.

gmisk wrote: »
    Vast majority are not.
    A good host would have got to the point without this taking so long in a clear concise manner without all the rambling.

Indeed, Joe as often as not does little to help any caller get across their story well within the time constraints of the show/other callers. He himself is liable to go off on irrelevant tangents that are of no help to caller or listener.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Indeed, Joe as often as not does little to help any caller get across their story well within the time constraints of the show/other callers. He himself is liable to go off in irrelevant tangents that are of no help to caller or listener.

He headed off on a tangent during that conversation reminiscing on his own childhood where his mother took him out of the arigna mines of all places to bring him to Dublin or some such oul plamasing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

There's a really nasty element to a lot of the recent posts here, pretty horrible attitudes.

Talk To Joe 1850 715 815, Monday to Friday from 12.30pm – 3.15pm

Indeed, Joe as often as not does little to help any caller get across their story well within the time constraints of the show/other callers. He himself is liable to go off in irrelevant tangents that are of no help to caller or listener.

Plus doesn't listen or remember key points and so asks stupid things we already know such as:

And what year was that John? John: I already told you, 1953
    John: Dory this and Dory that. Joe: And what do you call her? John: I call her Dory.

And the classic Joe from the Pet Cemetary a few weeks ago:

Joe:And what is the dog called?
    Caller: Ducky Duck
    Joe: Duggie Dug
    Caller: No, Ducky Duck
    Joe: Oh right, Doggie Dog
    Caller: No, Ducky Duck. Ducky Duck. Ducky. Duck
    Joe: oh right..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

It depends on the objective. Is it to develope and get the story across in a professional manner or run the clock down untill 3pm?

PieOhMy wrote: »
    It depends on the objective. Is it to develope and get the story across in a professional manner or run the clock down untill 3pm?

Or get miserable details.

Joe:"And how did your great grandfather die?"
    Caller:"Heart attack"
    Joe:"Wow".
    Caller:"Well he did smoke 80 Major a day"
    Joe:"At what age did he doy?"
    Caller: 106 Joe.
    Joe:"Still a young man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Did I miss anything after I had to leave?

PieOhMy wrote: »

And just as he's running the clock down another more relevant/poignant/urgent call comes through at 2 minutes to 3pm, and it never gets aired again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

There's a really nasty element to a lot of the recent posts here, pretty horrible attitudes.

Are you new here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,026 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

He should identify as a minority and he’d be sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭KevRossi

He sounds like a bit of a self absorbed bollyx on that article.
    “I’m very disappointed about being turned down the funding to make my next album by this ‘Panel of Music Experts’,” he said.

“I’m told I didn’t ‘provide enough information’.

“Any more information would’ve been personal.

“All they want is figures.

“So they’ve got my info, far too much in my view and all I got was ‘Dear Applicant’.

“It hurts to be just called ‘Dear Applicant’ when I’ve worked with some of these people and I’m no stranger in the Irish music industry.”

“And flying to Australia and America for six weeks at a time to make ends meet, leaving my wife and our very young kids for eight years running because of the lack of work here.

The following bit is pure Fr. Noel Furlong.....
    “I will remember this decision when the wind catches my sail again.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I've had a good few dealings with Mundy through the years. As a person, he's not the worst of them. He was always a worker and was on the road constantly.

That whole "industry" is shagged for the foreseeable future.