Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 5,396 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Solicitors are complete scum, at least the ones I've dealt with. I'm going tru absolute hell dealing with them at the moment. Over 5 years now trying to sort out someone else's mess.

Numerous times they have tried to hoodwink me, but I've held my ground. They backed down every time. Sitting across the table smirking at me. They tried to imply that I had to do certain things, which just didn't make sense to me. One guy even got angry at me when I questioned him on an issue. I even went on-line to see who I should make an official complaint to and that solicitors name was listed. You couldn't make it up.

The did the exact same thing to a close relative of mine a number of years ago. It nearly killed her. Her son told me the full story one night and he was in tears telling me.

Same happened my now deceased grand uncle. He was paying his tax to the solicitor for years, who in turn was pocketing it. All in cash too cos thats how the man rolled. Never had a cheque book and cash in the house kinda man. Anyway, after many years of this, the solicitor retired off down to Cork. Few years after that, revenue rocked up looking for over 300k. No receipts, no record of having paid the solicitor. Screwed. Granted I know the grand uncle was naïve and all, but a bitter kick in the nuts in the end. Good few elderly farmers were similarly rode.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

Same happened my now deceased grand uncle. He was paying his tax to the solicitor for years, who in turn was pocketing it. All in cash too cos thats how the man rolled. Never had a cheque book and cash in the house kinda man. Anyway, after many years of this, the solicitor retired off down to Cork. Few years after that, revenue rocked up looking for over 300k. No receipts, no record of having paid the solicitor. Screwed. Granted I know the grand uncle was naïve and all, but a bitter kick in the nuts in the end. Good few elderly farmers were similarly rode.

Every little town in Ireland has a solicitor similar to that. Good luck trying to get another solicitor to go against him.
    The government had their chance to do something when the IMF were in town but didn’t want to. Good honest hard working people being ripped off with no fear of seeing jail

• Registered Users Posts: 10,711 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

First thing I did here was buy a scanner. Every bit of paper gets scanned before handing over to the solicitor. Assume they're your worse enemy and you won't be disappointed.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 29,236 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

My dad was telling me a story of a man who was left unable to work after an accident. The solicitor looked after the case and he was awarded an amount plus costs. A few years later an insurance man called to his house selling policies. The injured man said sure look at me I can't work. He told the agent what amount of a claim he got and that he had to pay costs. The agent did some digging found the amount of the payout was 20k less than had been awarded and then the costs. The solicitor had held onto the money for himself. This was in pounds and would have been a massive amount of money at the time. He got all money plus interest

Our family had dealings with a solicitor that was looking after the wishes of a relative. The relative wanted what he had passed on while he was still alive. Needless to say that didn't occur. There was a substantial sum in the solicitors account belonging to our relative. I got sick of repetitive conversations about this guy, the older generation were slow to pull him up on anything. I took off after work and got in the solicitors door about 4.55pm. Secretary did everything she could to shift me but I'd have waited for the Gardaí to arrive tbh. After a lot of two faced **** stories, phoning the executeur, "how dare I barge into a professionals office without appointment", etc I had a cheque for that substantial amount in my pocket going out the door.

That's not the only story about the same guy, more's the pity. I've given him the benefit of the doubt that it was down to outright incompetence, but I've heard stories since that make me wonder. Either way I'll not darken his doorstep again regardless of circumstances.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,517 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Took decorations down from the attic today.

Somehow it doesn’t feel right, it’s been an oddball mixed up year.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

_Brian wrote: »
    Took decorations down from the attic today.

Somehow it doesn’t feel right, it’s been an oddball mixed up year.

Was stringing up outside lights earlier as it was nice outside & felt the same. Might take my lights down again too as don't think the hanging icicle lights suit the cottage, warm twinkly ones might be nicer, more traditional.

Our tree and decorations have been up since last weekend :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 21,192 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Find a solrs practice that has a number of solrs. One of the practice usually then specialises in conveyancing and wills. A lot of country town solrs I wouldn't go within an asses roar of.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,006 ✭✭✭emaherx

Our tree and decorations have been up since last weekend :rolleyes:

I just took down last year's lights of of a shed because we are replacing the gutters. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭148multi

emaherx wrote: »
    I just took down last year's lights of of a shed because we are replacing the gutters. :D

Killing two birds 😂😂😂

New freezer due on Saturday to house the heifer that’s at the butcher.

Of course the fridge decides this is a perfect time to pack in.

More white goods shopping.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Black Friday - as good a day as any to go shopping...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,182 ✭✭✭orm0nd

one of the collies is 'under the weather' for last few days , dropped her to vets this am and got a thorough check over including bloods and xray

all clear and the vet is as puzzled as myself , rest and painkillers for 2 weeks and we see from there

like myself the miles are clocking up, and a lifetime of knocks and bangs are taking their toll,

• Registered Users Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Would 1 freezer be big enough

In truth this is an overflow freezer, another overflow freezer as we have an upright and half size chest already. We hoard allot of food and want to have space for a pig next year.

Brother says we have a food addiction. Delivery during the week had 3 16kg bags of different flour, 5kg rice, 5kg pasta, 4 kg seeds.

He may be right.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

In truth this is an overflow freezer, another overflow freezer as we have an upright and half size chest already. We hoard allot of food and want to have space for a pig next year.

Brother says we have a food addiction. Delivery during the week had 3 16kg bags of different flour, 5kg rice, 5kg pasta, 4 kg seeds.

He may be right.

Where did you order the big bags Brian? Be interested in doing something similar...

https://www.conatycatering.com

Great company to deal with and nearly always next day delivery here.

He may be right.

There’s allot of baking done in your house
    Good to be organized

There’s allot of baking done in your house
    Good to be organized

Yea.
    I came in for cuppa teal last Saturday and the youngest, 12 had an industrial sized batch of scone mix in a basin. 2kg of flour in one go. Scones are savage, we freeze them in batches of four for ourselves.

I won’t lie, less activity over this recent lockdown is starting to show on me. 😂😂

Yea.
    I came in for cuppa teal last Saturday and the youngest, 12 had an industrial sized batch of scone mix in a basin. 2kg of flour in one go. Scones are savage, we freeze them in batches of four for ourselves.

I won’t lie, less activity over this recent lockdown is starting to show on me. 😂😂

Christmas is coming
    I’m sure you’ll work it all off in the spring

• Registered Users Posts: 11,185 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Anyone know how long fresh colostrum keeps in a fridge.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,396 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Seems the Carlow school story was a fabrication too
    https://gript.ie/journalist-who-denounced-carlow-school-deletes-tweets/

Careers and reputations are probably in tatters over this debacle

• Registered Users Posts: 2,222 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Big supply and demand problem in the real world for extremists like that so they have to fill the gap with hoaxes. It's very sad when you stop to think of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Base price wrote: »
    Anyone know how long fresh colostrum keeps in a fridge.
    It really depends on how quick after being milked from the cow that it refrigerated. Bacteria double every hour , would usually keep colostrum in the fridge for 3 days or so and it would be in the fridge within an hour of being milked . Older colostrum would be mixed in with milk for older calves

trixi2011 wrote: »
    It really depends on how quick after being milked from the cow that it refrigerated. Bacteria double every hour , would usually keep colostrum in the fridge for 3 days or so and it would be in the fridge within an hour of being milked . Older colostrum would be mixed in with milk for older calves
    Thanks. I got it Sunday night and it was still warm when I put it into the fridge. I have a cull cow that was suppose to be empty when we bought her but she is in calf. I thought that she was going to calf on Mon/Tues but hasn't yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,090 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Base price wrote: »
    Thanks. I got it Sunday night and it was still warm when I put it into the fridge. I have a cull cow that was suppose to be empty when we bought her but she is in calf. I thought that she was going to calf on Mon/Tues but hasn't yet.

should've frozen it in small containers for rapid defrosting

• Registered Users Posts: 29,236 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

wrangler wrote: »

Isn't hindsight great....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

He may be right.

All around to Brians if there's ever a nuclear holocust

Have you a bunker as well??!!

wrangler wrote: »
    I thought she was going to calve sooner although she wasn't/isn't showing much of a elder and her vulva is very loose. I got the colostrum from a dairy farmer friend just in case I needed it.

It won't go to waste cause I will heat a litre at a time and give it to the wild cat and her three kittens that I've feeding in the yard. I have homes got for two but they need a little more handling before they go.
    I will get more from our friend today/tomorrow and freeze it this time in case I need it.