Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Cornerstonelad

Congratulations to the Gunners!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Huge congrats to Ballygunner, I’m absolutely delighted for them! I was nearly about to turn it off two minutes into injury time as I had somewhere to be, thought “another brave fight but ultimately hard luck story yet again for BG”. Couldn’t believe it when Harry Ruddle hit the net.

Hopefully that gives Waterford hurling a big shot in the arm. When BG won their Munster club in 2001 I’ve no doubt it had some contribution towards us winning Munster intercounty a year later so please god the same trend follows with Waterford landing an AI.

Hard luck to Ballyhale, in particular Joxer O’Connor. He’s done a great job up there and desperately unlucky not to have done a three in a row. I said it here before and I’ll say it again - could he be an option after Cahill? Not really the time to ponder it but maybe something to consider down the line.

Here’s to a good Waterford win over Laois today with some good performances to cap off a great weekend for Waterford hurling.

Well done again to BG, hope the enjoy the celebrations. There won’t be a cow milked out in Knockboy for the week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭PeggyShippen

Again Congratulations to Ballygunner and Waterford. I dont listen to speeches after matches anymore. They are gringe worthy and need to be stopped. Did Coughlan really use bad language in the speech? That would be tremendously embarrassing to watch. It's not on. Go up and get the cup and enjoy it. There's no need to thank everyone. Its understood in accepting the cup.

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,054 ✭✭✭deisedude

With all the talk of Coughlans gaffe in the speech his performance on the pitch has been completely overlooked. I thought he was outstanding

The All Ireland club is a gas competition really. The moment Waterford club championship is back on I'll be vociferously shouting for whoever Ballygunner are playing against and my favourite club day as a fan was seeing them get beaten but I was shouting for the Gunners as I always do when they represent Waterford on the Munster and national stage.

Delighted for all the Ballygunner players and especially the lads that soldiered for Waterford for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

Couldn’t agree more. What a moment for Shane O’Sullivan aswell. The man was an emotional wreck at the final whistle and who could blame him. He’s been soldiering for club and county for a long time, when you think he made his intercounty debut in the AI semi final against KK in 04. He was also a link to the AI final defeat in 08, hes had his fair share of heartbreak in Croke Park. What a story and his father Pat will have been watching down with a huge smile on his face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Winning the All Ireland club championship and being the first Waterford team to do it is a fantastic achievement. I knew Ballygunnar were a good team the way they put away Killmallock in the Munster Final. What a way to win an All Ireland final to score a winner in the closing stages. I'm so delighted for them. Ballyhale are a good team also and have won it few times so they aren't losing out on much this time. Ballygunnars win can only be good thing for Waterford hurling and the feel good factor that this will bring to Waterford hurling. I always believe you must be good enough to win but you also need a bit of the rub of the green along the way. Well done Ballygunnar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

I'd have been disappointed if no-one in Kilkenny displayed a sour puss (see what I did there? Oh, never mind) and Ballyhale Shamrocks did themselves and their county great credit with their response, which was all the more impressive for coming mere minutes after the final whistle:

So fair play to ya, Eddie! Glad to see it hurt so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,590 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Very nice first half for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭thesultan

Brennans was on about cougjlans arrogance..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,701 ✭✭✭decies

Not at match . Will we declare soon !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,054 ✭✭✭deisedude

Brennan should shut up and look in the mirror it was obvious Coughlan didn't mean it as he quickly tried to correct himself

Lost the Laois job for saying something he shouldn't have. People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones

7-31-0-19 what a score and great to see. Laois not at the races and we could only play what's in front of us

Going to be tough for Cahill and Co to cut the squad when the Ballygunner players return

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭spideyman92

Wasn't an overly exciting game with it being so one sided but it's nice to see them not letting up for a change. Suspect there was an element of playing for places about it after the Ballygunner win yesterday.

As for the Barry Coughlan thing; he went off-script to acknowledge the Ballyhale team considering how the game was won and just kinda stumbled his words. Nothing in it. Storm in a teacup stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭thesultan

Best club team in the country and total dominance in the county.. When will they be stopped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

You would have to think that Mount Sion, who ran them close, will have a pep in their step when they are training this year. Get that extra 2% from everyone and go for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭Motivator

The only side I can see being spurred on is Ballygunner. The young lads coming through will be absolutely raring to go. I saw 3 young lads in Ballygunner training tops in the gym this morning, so that will give you an idea of what the mentality is up there. They’ll all want to be a part of this even more than they did before, I can only see them getting stronger and like the Limerick county team, they want to just keep winning.

Could be some edge in the Kilkenny vs Waterford league match on the 20th March, id expect both teams will have the club tied players back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭deise man

Thought there should have been some acknowledgement of ballygunners win over the PA in Walsh Park today. Maybe some team members could have been there with the cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭newhouse87

What do ye expect from the kilkenny crowd, when paudie maher retired, brian hogans brother tweeted colm parkinson to ask him about ending Michael rices career as if that's exactly what paudie thought would happen, we all know it was a wild pull but to say he meant to do that only a Kilkenny idiot would say that. Brennan always has digs ,was on luas after tipp match one day with him, if he wasn't a guard he would have got a belt of somebody. Some them ex Kilkenny players are nasty, brennan/larkin tyrell etc. Likes of shefflin and tommy Walsh very decent blokes to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,195 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

Great way to win, two quality goals swung it for Ballygunner.

Watching it live I didn't think the defender for Dessie's goal or number 7 for winning goal did much wrong.

I think a top class goalie would have got to winner but the bounce caught him and it was into corner.

As an aside the fitness levels for club players was hard to believe, really manly stuff

Classy tweet from Ballyhale immediately after the game.

Pleasure to watch TJ again, hurling fans will miss him when he's gone.

Hopefully it gives us the boost needed to finally win the Liam McCarthy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭larrya

Not from either club but I was at the match.Coughlans behaviour after they got the goal, pulled the helmet of Colin Fennelly at the other end of the field and then realised the ref blew the whistle went to shake hands.

And a terrible speech.

The referee was removed from the panel of referees after his display that day, the same player was only booked in the second half for another pull on TJ Ried you have to wonder where you are coming from. John Mullane got sent of in a challenge match was suspended for dirty play.

Maher THE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭blueflame

Just a couple of points from the weekend.

• Ballygunner v Shamrocks - tightly fought game which went down to the wire and on the day Gunners got the final break. Over all i think had they lost that game i think the Gunners would have been really annoyed for some very uncharacteristic sloppy passing and shooting. Two excellent sides who went to the wire and had great respect for each other - that aside suggest everyone ignore the horseshIte from idiots like Brennan and some of the posters on here and just acknowledge two collossal sides who served up a "knife edge of a game" .
    • Waterford V Laois -huge scoreline yesterday for Waterford - despite some really lethargic periods during the game. Some really good displays with special note for Patrick Curran who is really starting to deliver on his underage promise, with the faith being shown in him by Cahill - think is was a mistake not to start him against Limerick last year in the S/F and really hopeful for him this year. Needless to say, biggest thing for me was to see TDB return Really sad to for Cheddar Plunkett to have to watch that, it must be really difficult for this man to keep going to the well - hope for him and for all Laois supporters that it was just one of those days. Did not have a good view of the sending off incident, but certainly do not feel the foul on Stephen Bennett in any way deserved a "black card" . I know neither event contributed in any significant way to the result, but certainly did not help morale
    • Waterford County Board - i do not know if they made an effort and were refused, but I thought the fact that there was no representation from Ballygunner or indeed no real acknowledgement of their achievement in Walsh Park yesterday, very poor form to say the least. I will reserve comment until more is revealed, but if it is a case that they did not at least approach the BG Club about something yesterday, "shame on them"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,425 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

On the black card yesterday, agree it was harsh. If anything the second pen was more deserving of a black card than the first.

A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

What did I expect from 'the kilkenny crowd'? I expected what I got. Some people being jerks about it, others being classy above and beyond the call of duty, and most people somewhere inbetween with the bell curve tending towards the classy end of the number line. The mischievous part of me enjoyed the pain of the jerks a bit too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭Motivator

Hogan’s brother is a clown, a regular mouthpiece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭JD. 60

Can’t wait for when Liam McCarthy is walked over the bridge.

Ballygunner might end the year going into another All Ireland final, With the new calendar the 2022/23 All Ireland Senior Hurling Club semi finals will be played on the weekend of 3rd/4th Dec 2022 and will be Munster Champions vs Leinster Champions and Galway Champions vs Ulster Champions, final will be played 15th Jan 2023.

18785F54-08EA-49A4-AD02-E8C83E66139C.jpeg

Bit of reading in there