Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HELP (I’m locked in my bedroom... no joke)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Lads. He was up til 1am, it’s not even 8am on a Sunday morning now!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Keep trying with the key, there's a sweet spot you need to hit, also might need to pull door to you, jiggle handle at same time.
    Have another good search for the key in the room, it might be in there.
    If you can try taking the pins off the hinges.
    If safe to do so, try to come out the window
    If all else fails call someone you know to come round to help you out they can get a ladder to help you out the window, ye can take it from there then.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Heard he was so hungry he cooked himself gnocchi.

RIP OP :-(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Hunger will be setting in
    Desperation is nigh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

Only one thing for it. Squeeze the mattress out the window to make a soft landing and then make a rope with the sheets.

• Registered Users Posts: 459 ✭✭CSU

• Registered Users Posts: 23,268 ✭✭✭✭ted1

If it locked , then it’ll open. Keep jiggling the key , lean against the door and try pulling the door while doing it. The hole in the frame and the lock mightn’t be aligned and the part that sticks out might be stuck against the frame

• Registered Users Posts: 733 ✭✭✭milehip

Little Captain Hindsight like advice here folks, if you're ever testing the lock in an unfamiliar door, do it when the door is in the open position, rather than the closed.

Did you try the key that locked the bedroom door in the en suite door, just to confirm your theory from the 1st post.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,922 ✭✭✭dodzy

I’m assuming nobody downstairs and front/back door locked? If so do you have house keys on you? If so, call a friend/neighbour, drop them the keys out the window and get them to kick door in from outside. A lot easier than from inside as the only point of resistance is the lock which will give under not much pressure whereas from inside, you’ve the door stops to contend with also.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

Seeing as it's the bedroom, some lube on the key and a bit of jiggling may give you release

• Registered Users Posts: 3,549 ✭✭✭dubrov

Darc19 wrote: »
    Seeing as it's the bedroom, some lube on the key and a bit of jiggling may give you release

After which the OP can get back to working on opening the door :D

He was given a pack of cards. Now he’s in solitaire confinement.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

The op ate the other half, that's way too long to do without food.....

Jumping out the window is an option....

Listen stick with learning how to pick a lock. It’s a skill that could really open doors for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Clearly never watched The A-Team, which in itself warrants self incarceration.

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Orderofchaos

Are you still there????

Sing the Song ‘Country Roads’. There is a Key Change in the Middle.

joeguevara wrote: »
    Sing the Song ‘Country Roads’. There is a Key Change in the Middle.

When the first weren't funny you should have stopped there.

Th day I take humour advice from someone who drinks a beer called rust bucket is the day, craft beers make you interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭Technophobe

Are you still there????

Have you managed to open the safe yet?😉

joeguevara wrote: »
    Th day I take humour advice from someone who drinks a beer called rust bucket is the day, craft beers make you interesting.

Not sure how what someone drinks can make them interesting or not. Or was that "joke" number 4?

Do you know what you are. You’re a cheeky monKey.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 coppergrass

Maybe I missed the post, but I'm surprised that oil hasn't been mentioned. Put some oil on the key and try and work it into the lock - it can really make a difference. As for what you might have in the bedroom, maybe an oil based beauty cream, lube or something similar - whatever you can find. Use the least viscous one you can find.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Girly Gal wrote: »
    Keep trying with the key, there's a sweet spot you need to hit, also might need to pull door to you, jiggle handle at same time.
    Have another good search for the key in the room, it might be in there.
    If you can try taking the pins off the hinges.
    If safe to do so, try to come out the window
    If all else fails call someone you know to come round to help you out they can get a ladder to help you out the window, ye can take it from there then.
    Are we still talking about the door?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,469 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

I can't go about my day until I know the OP is released! :D

Seriously, OP, hope you can get the key to work this morning. Best of luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Wesser

Maybe his phone has run out of battery....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Wesser wrote: »

Or maybe they forgot about the door and got into love-lock-down mode....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,483 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Reminds me a bit of the guy that was stuck in the attic.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Wesser wrote: »
    Probably still riding. He was locked in the bedroom so maybe nursing a hangover aswell.