Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Harry Maguire - Altercation in Mykonos & Trial Thread [See Mod Note in OP - 26 Aug]

• 25-08-2020 06:24PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭

Surely deserves a thread of its own. One of the most high profile arrests we have had in a while.

Mod Note
    This thread has effectively split out from the General Premier League thread and is to discuss the Harry Maguire case. In line with the mod note from the General Premier League Thread, comparisons with the ongoing Harry Maguire case and previous cases or incidents involving Footballers are not to be discussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I’d ask ‘who?’ in true AH fashion but he’d probably register an account to tell me who he was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

Serious charges/crimes. If he wasn't a famous footballer, he'd be facing a stint in jail. Utd may have to remove him as captain (if Pogba signs a new long term contract, he might be handed the armband), issue the right press release, and do the typical PR stuff. If they don't do anything, then it'll open them to criticism. For Maguires sake, as well as the circus that would follow, he has to be removed from the England squad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Southgate is interviewed by Elenore Olroyde on BBC 5live at 7 pm. Not sure if its live, probably not and if so largely pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

The story that they came up with is the funniest thing about this tbh. Couldn't care less if Maguire decked a knobhead who was being abusive , hitting a cop though is beyond stupid.

Hadn't really followed it, only heard this evening that he says the police kicked him to end his career. As he has been named in the England squad, did they kick him with slippers?

It's possible that it's all escalated a bit, it's not crime of the century...but sounds like Maguire himself has fuelled that by claiming he was the victim of goons who did a worse job than Tonya Harding's henchmen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Wish the courts moved that fast over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

RasTa wrote: »

The attempted bribery has to be the worse thing about the while affair. Should be stripped of the captaincy at United as a hard minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,060 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

RasTa wrote: »

Indeed I wish they moved a bit faster but any country where you can be accused of fairly serious crimes, brought to trial, convicted and sentenced in a few days leaves itself open to allegations of not following proper procedures, not giving themselves or the defence appropriate time to mount a case, and ultimately the possibilty of corruption within the system.

Simon Harris is monitoring the situation...

kowloonkev wrote: »
    Indeed I wish they moved a bit faster but any country where you can be accused of fairly serious crimes, brought to trial, convicted and sentenced in a few days leaves itself open to allegations of not following proper procedures, not giving themselves or the defence appropriate time to mount a case, and ultimately the possibilty of corruption within the system.

Steady on.

McGuire is entitled to appeal on the basis that the facts do not support the findings.

But he is not going to take down the Greek legal system and this is the first time I've seen anyone raise the word corruption. In fact the only one accused of attempting to corrupt due process is him, with the bribe offers.

Steady on.

McGuire is entitled to appeal on the basis that the facts do not support the findings.

But he is not going to take down the Greek legal system and this is the first time I've seen anyone raise the word corruption. In fact the only one accused of attempting to corrupt due process is him, with the bribe offers.

I believe the police have been accused of lying about what happened and threatening to put an end to his career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I believe the police have been accused of lying about what happened and threatening to put an end to his career.
    So conspiracy then? Prize idiot is what he is anyway.

But then your charge of corruption, which involves the payment of money, doesn't stand. You are accusing them of lying and violence.

You have to laugh when football fans decide to take on entire legal systems with their processes and jurisprudence...because their star players are in trouble...

But then your charge of corruption, which involves the payment of money, doesn't stand. You are accusing them of lying and violence.

You have to laugh when football fans decide to take on entire legal systems with their processes and jurisprudence...because their star players are in trouble...

corrupting due process doesn't have to involve payment of money does it? although falsifying facts of an alledged crime could benefit the officers here financially in the long term.

anyway I'm not accusing them of corruption and I'm not accusing them of lying or violence. but the system seems ridiculous to me. those involved haven't even had the time to let their egos deflate. it's still in the heat of the moment and in my opinion there ought to be a cooling off period and enough time given to both parties to prepare a case.

I'm not taking on an entire legal system, don't be ridiculous. I'm just giving my observation.

I'm not taking on an entire legal system, don't be ridiculous.

And yet you did exactly that when you posted about systems in countries...
    any country where you can be accused of fairly serious crimes, brought to trial, convicted and sentenced in a few days leaves itself open to allegations of not following proper procedures, not giving themselves or the defence appropriate time to mount a case, and ultimately the possibilty of corruption within the system.

If McGuire didn't like the speed of a legal system that is accepted by all member states in the EU, then he should holiday elsewhere. The whole when in Rome rule applies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭NITRO95

Conor74 his name is Harry Maguire, not McGuire. If you are going to talk about a person the least you can do is spell their name correctly

FWIW I think Utd should strip him of the captaincy since he has been found guilty and sentenced. Bruno is right there as an alternative so it really shouldn't be a big deal for the team

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

The stories coming out of both sides seem a bit mad so hard to know who to believe really. I will say the speed from arrest, to trial, to sentencing seems ridiculously fast and the defence's claim that they had little time to prepare seems valid.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Blackhorse Slim

Ah here. This is a ridiculous corruption of the known facts purely to support your own narrative.

Harry Maguire is not, and never will be, a star player.

NITRO95 wrote: »
    Conor74 his name is Harry Maguire, not McGuire. If you are going to talk about a person the least you can do is spell their name correctly

Greek police on one side. Spelling police on the other.

You'd have to find a microscope to detect how little I care about the issue you raise. Perhaps if McGwire did something of more merit than assaulting policemen and trying to bribe them, then he'd earn a little more respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭This is it

Would this not be the ideal opportunity for United to switch from Maguire to Fernandes? Has looked fantastic any time I've seen him play and seems to have a Captains mentality. Calling players out when needs be, driving the team on, playing by example, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,908 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Very odd case.
    Surely there is plenty of video footage?
    He said something about 3 men carrying a syringe to drug his sister? Is he still sticking to that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,943 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

GLaDOS wrote: »
    The stories coming out of both sides seem a bit mad so hard to know who to believe really. I will say the speed from arrest, to trial, to sentencing seems ridiculously fast and the defence's claim that they had little time to prepare seems valid.

It's not dissimilar to the superfast English system of justice that Maguire (as a citizen of that country) lives under e.g., the guy who racially abused Sterling on a Saturday was sentenced to 16 weeks jail at the Magistrates Court three days later.
    It is quite alien to us in Ireland though, where cases seem to meander through the system.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

It's not dissimilar to the superfast English system of justice that Maguire (as a citizen of that country) lives under e.g., the guy who racially abused Sterling on a Saturday was sentenced to 16 weeks jail at the Magistrates Court three days later.
    It is quite alien to us in Ireland though, where cases seem to meander through the system.
    Receiving the charges and evidence right before the trial seems unfair though?

From The Athletic:

Surprisingly, the charge sheet only arrived at 5pm on Monday, before the evidence, 50 pages long, was made available at 8am on Tuesday morning. This left Maguire’s legal team with only a couple of working hours to prepare the defence before a 10am start.

2 hours to review the evidence seems a bit rubbish.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

This is it wrote: »
    Would this not be the ideal opportunity for United to switch from Maguire to Fernandes? Has looked fantastic any time I've seen him play and seems to have a Captains mentality. Calling players out when needs be, driving the team on, playing by example, etc.

I think it would be burning your bridge with Maguire if they did that, considering the story he is telling.

If what happened was more along the lines of Maguires story, I would be sharply telling United to eff off, transfer list please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,943 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

GLaDOS wrote: »
    Receiving the charges and evidence right before the trial seems unfair though?

From The Athletic:

2 hours to review the evidence seems a bit rubbish.

I 100% agree with you on this - but I'm just saying it's not dissimilar to the UK system so shouldn't necessarily cause surprise for Maguire. I think it's a ridiculously short time frame myself.

I do get the feeling (and I could be completely wrong) that the 'appeal process' in the Greek system actually corresponds to what we would call the trial. And that yesterday is kinda the equivalent of a US grand jury or our DPP deciding that there's a case to answer.

He pleaded guilty the very first time he was before the Courts. Where there is an early guilty plea it can go through any system fairly quickly. I'm not aware of any bar to that happening here where someone is charged following an incident and brought before the next available District Court and who waives their right to disclosure etc.

One thing that has to be kept in mind is that the Greek system is likely to be very different to what we are used to because the common law/adversarial system is only used here, the UK, US, Canada, Pakistan, India and Australia. But that doesn't mean Greece has a worse system at all, in fact as another EU country it's entitled to a presumption that its legal system is recognised and accepted.

I 100% agree with you on this - but I'm just saying it's not dissimilar to the UK system so shouldn't necessarily cause surprise for Maguire. I think it's a ridiculously short time frame myself.

I do get the feeling (and I could be completely wrong) that the 'appeal process' in the Greek system actually corresponds to what we would call the trial. And that yesterday is kinda the equivalent of a US grand jury or our DPP deciding that there's a case to answer.

If that's the case I really hope United do not strip him of the captaincy until there is a proper trial and if he is found guilty in that then fair enough.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Let's hope he is not defending himself. I'm here all week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,778 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Is it true he said to the cops 'do you know who I am, Im the captain of Man United and can pay you a lot of money'? Saw that reported somewhere but it might have been clickbait

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Is it true he said to the cops 'do you know who I am, Im the captain of Man United and can pay you a lot of money'? Saw that reported somewhere but it might have been clickbait

https://twitter.com/SkyNews/status/1298226075437281280?s=20

https://twitter.com/footballdaily/status/1298212060967440385?s=20