If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

General Premier League Thread 2020-21 - Mod Notes in 1st post. [Updated 17/12/20]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Player of colour , lol.

Just write black player ffs.

Player of colour , lol.

Just write black player ffs.

Why?

They're not the same, "of colour" is a broader group, like BAME...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭radiata

:D:D
    Lots of posters on here trying to make as much as they can out of this... work away lads. Try to look at the facts and wait for the official outcome before you call for the lynch mob.
    I'm sure the official story will come out during the court appearance on Tuesday, where he will be represented while he returns to the UK.
    Can't be that serious if hes allowed to leave the country.
    Lets just hope its nothing too serious... like hopefully no evidence of biting or racial abuse...... because it would be very hard to defend that sort of behaviour.

Great, another Liverpool vs Man Utd thread. You might as well bring up Heysel while you're at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Why?

They're not the same, "of colour" is a broader group, like BAME...

It's obvious he's regurgitating crap seen on Twitter regards how Raheem Sterling was mistreated by the press. It's also obvious he's talking about black players. I don't think he's saying imagine if that was an Asian or Hispanic how the press would treat them, do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,404 ✭✭✭mosstin

I doubt it but not mentioned in the article.
    Not sure where you are going with it that. If it the alleged shouting abuse at the police maybe they weren't arresting the person who stabbed or or weren't getting her help.
    Very hard to blame him for protecting his sister ..... but I'm sure some will find a way! :rolleyes:

Amusing that you're perfectly happy to accept the Daily Star as your source. The unimpeachable Daily Star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,844 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

I wonder is Mr PR Neil Ashton at play again?

He used to write for the Daily Mail and another very questionable 'paper'.

He was hired to put good PR stories in the media that favour Man Utd.

It's obvious he's regurgitating crap seen on Twitter regards how Raheem Sterling was mistreated by the press. It's also obvious he's talking about black players. I don't think he's saying imagine if that was an Asian or Hispanic how the press would treat them, do you?

What are you on about?

It's obvious he meant "player of colour" because he wrote "player of colour".

No idea why you're insisting he meant black, and moreover one specific player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

PoC is an awful Americanism that we can all do without. We are all literally people of colour, and we are all black as well in the end!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

It's the same as saying that coloured fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Former Premier League boss Richard Scudamore has been appointed to the board of a US company set up by a Premier League club also involved in the company is Moneyball man himself Billy Beane.

They are also looking at buying clubs around Europe.

The same company teamed with The Rock to buy the XFL last week.

https://theathletic.co.uk/2013314/2020/08/22/scudamore-beane-buy-premier-league-club-moneyball-redball/

Changes behind the scenes at Arsenal continue as Freddie Ljungberg quits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,844 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Bit strange that the 2019/2020 Team of the Year has not been announced yet.

Former Premier League boss Richard Scudamore has been appointed to the board of a US company set up by a Premier League club also involved in the company is Moneyball man himself Billy Beane.

They are also looking at buying clubs around Europe.

The same company teamed with The Rock to buy the XFL last week.

https://theathletic.co.uk/2013314/2020/08/22/scudamore-beane-buy-premier-league-club-moneyball-redball/

The NewYork Post reporting today that it looks like they will buy a 20% share of Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,965 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

How're ye lads, a quick shill, a short film I made a while back - Bless Me Father - airs on RTE2 tonight at 11:45pm if anyone's having a late one! Figured this was neutral ground to put it out there :o

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,877 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Standings are final...so does that mean points per game basis or if you are a point behind with a game in hand and over 2PPG, do you miss out because it's as it stands?

Makes sense for them to insert a resolution anyway so all clubs know the situation for next time

More on the Harry Maguire story.

Police allegedly kicked Maguire and told him his career was over.
    Harry Maguire was kicked in the leg by police officers who told him "your career is over", the Manchester United captain's lawyer has told a Greek court.

"Do you know who I am?", and bribary claims.
    The prosecution alleged that once Maguire, who has been named in Gareth Southgate's latest England squad despite the ongoing court case, arrived at a police station, he said: "Do you know who I am? I am the captain of Manchester United, I am very rich, I can give you money, I can pay you, please let us go."

Verbals.
    Plain clothes police officers intervened to try calm the situation, but the "English men" did not, and one of the defendants said "f***, f*** the police" and one punched an officer, it was claimed.

This bit is bizarre
    The court had been asked to postpone proceedings over Maguire's alleged involvement in a brawl on the island of Mykonos in Greece - with his legal team claiming they did not have enough time to prepare.

But the trial went ahead against his defence team's wishes, with his lawyer Alexis Anagnostakis telling the court in Syros that two Albanian men had approached Maguire's sister Daisy - who fainted immediately after being injected with an unknown substance.

They called for transport and asked to be driven to hospital, but were instead taken to a police department.

Still think he'll probably get maybe a fine and warning. The bribary thing will go down as a misunderstanding. Maguires sister being injected with a substance is the weirdest bit of the story for me.

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11667/12056121/harry-maguire-said-to-police-officers-do-you-know-who-i-am-during-greece-altercation-court-hears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,934 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

6 wrote: »
    More on the Harry Maguire story.

Police allegedly kicked Maguire and told him his career was over.

"Do you know who I am?", and bribary claims.

Verbals.

This bit is bizarre

Still think he'll probably get maybe a fine and warning. The bribary thing will go down as a misunderstanding. Maguires sister being injected with a substance is the weirdest bit of the story for me.

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11667/12056121/harry-maguire-said-to-police-officers-do-you-know-who-i-am-during-greece-altercation-court-hears

If she was injected with something I'd assume there would be a puncture wound and she can be tested to see what shows up in her bloodstream.

Who called for transport? The Albanian guys or Maguires group? Why would they be brought to the police instead of the hospital?

The whole thing is madder than a box of frogs.

Were the two Albanian men arrested?

If not how do they know they were Albanian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Wuff Wuff

dont see how "Do you know who I am? I am the captain of Manchester United, I am very rich, I can give you money, I can pay you, please let us go." can be construed as a misunderstanding he is literally offering money to be let go

bribe - "dishonestly persuade (someone) to act in one's favour by a gift of money or other inducement"

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,220 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Wuff Wuff wrote: »
    dont see how "Do you know who I am? I am the captain of Manchester United, I am very rich, I can give you money, I can pay you, please let us go." can be construed as a misunderstanding he is literally offering money to be let go

bribe - "dishonestly persuade (someone) to act in one's favour by a gift of money or other inducement"

Well he denies saying any of that. His version says that they knew exactly who he was. So you know, it can't be misconstrued as a misunderstanding if it didn't actually happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,954 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Did Maguire watch Taken on the flight over??

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Now Victor Lindelof, there's a centre back you can set your watch to.

https://twitter.com/BBCSport/status/1298199386980319232

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

GLaDOS wrote: »
    Now Victor Lindelof, there's a centre back you can set your watch to.

https://twitter.com/BBCSport/status/1298199386980319232

One CB commits crimes the other stops them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Rock77

One wins headers, the other one doesn’t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,934 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

The footballing equivalent of Batman and Joker. One is always the villain, one the hero, but neither can survive without the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,623 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

The police officers version of events sound far more plausible and believable than Harry McGuire's story. Harry's team probably wanted more time to come up with a more convincing defense.

Edit: His lawyers probably wanted more time too.

sligeach wrote: »
    The police officers version of events sound far more plausible and believable than Harry McGuire's story. Harry's team probably wanted more time to come up with a more convincing defense.

Edit: His lawyers probably wanted more time too.

Believing that Maguire is some sort of smooth talker based on the police's story and him speaking so eloquently while trying to "bribe" them would be quite naive.