If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

General Premier League Thread 2020-21 - Mod Notes in 1st post. [Updated 17/12/20]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,428 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

We used to do these combined XI's with the Utd lads. It never worked out. Couldn't get them to see sense :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,954 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

gimli2112 wrote: »
    We used to do these combined XI's with the Utd lads. It never worked out. Couldn't get them to see sense :)

Ye some people find it impossible to be objective ,Sure when the team of the season rolled around last summer some United fans had AWB in ahead of Trent like that head In the sand stuff

For the record I truly believe De Gea ,Maguire, Lindelöf ,Bruno Rashford are all get into the Spurs team as they are better players than there counter parts ,

greenspurs wrote: »
    tom1ie wrote: »

the same players that were destroyed 1-6 a few weeks back ???? :confused: :rolleyes: wow ...

Wow is right such a simple childish view of football .They won because of tactics and how the teams are set up and what happened on the day,

Going by your logic Liverpool should sell there first 11 and buy Villa's after all they trashed them 7-2 so they must be far better players ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,536 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Wow is right such a simple childish view of football .They won because of tactics and how the teams are set up and what happened on the day,

Going by your logic Liverpool should sell there first 11 and buy Villa's after all they trashed them 7-2 so they must be far better players ,

So Maguire, Shaw are class defenders in your opinion ??

Childish view? :confused: Why you so up tight ? Ok hon??
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

Ye some people find it impossible to be objective ,Sure when the team of the season rolled around last summer some United fans had AWB in ahead of Trent like that head In the sand stuff

For the record I truly believe De Gea ,Maguire, Lindelöf ,Bruno Rashford are all get into the Spurs team as they are better players than there counter parts ,

Better than Dier and Toby ?? :D:D:D

Yeh right... Ha haaaaaaaa
    Lindelof is not even a regular starter in a poor Utd defence !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,945 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Ah now stop. McGuire is not a better CB than dier, that’s just messing.
    Lloris and de gea- there’s nothing in it at the moment, both capable of outstanding saves and distribution both capable of howlers.
    Rashford wouldn’t get in to the spurs team ahead of Kane or son.
    AWB is probably the only one but on aurier current form (never thought I’d be saying that by the way) aurier starts.

Sorry forgot about Fernandez, but who do you drop for him?

If I was picking a combined team it'd be

De Gea
    AWB, Toby, McGuire, Regilion
    Ndombele, Fernandez, Le Celso
    Son, Kane, Rashford

The only problem there is the team would be over run in midfield so to add a bit of balance I'd drop Le Celso out and add Hoijberg in.

Why do you think Jose has Spurs playing so deep with almost 6 at the back ?

Is it because he has super CB's or is it because he is trying to protect his CB's ?

TitianGerm wrote: »

De Gea
    Son, Kane, Rashford

The only problem there is the team would be over run in midfield so to add a bit of balance I'd drop Le Celso out and add Hoijberg in.

That's a fair team ,

I would say there is absolutely nothing between Hoijberg, Ndombele, Le Celso or Fred, McTominay , Pogba ,Matic

That's a fair team ,

I would say there is absolutely nothing between Hoijberg, Ndombele, Le Celso or Fred, McTominay , Pogba ,Matic

Pogba is the best player in either midfield but he's the worst attitude and application I've seen in a long time so I didn't include him.

Ndombele is going to be world class. McTominay or Fred shouldn't be mentioned in relation to either Ndombele or Le Celso, they are limited footballers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,854 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Lindelof has started both more PL & more European games for Utd than Alderweireld has for Spurs and Spurs have played a game extra. Alderweireld was left on the bench for 3 league games this season so far. Lindelof 1. So by that logic, Lindelof is more of a regular than Alderwireld is.

Spurs have played a game extra than Utd so there has been more opportunities for both Dier & Alderweireld to start more but yet none of them are playing more regularly than Lindelof. So to say Lindelof is not even a regular is completely false.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Ah now stop. McGuire is not a better CB than dier, that’s just messing.
    Lloris and de gea- there’s nothing in it at the moment, both capable of outstanding saves and distribution both capable of howlers.
    Rashford wouldn’t get in to the spurs team ahead of Kane or son.
    AWB is probably the only one but on aurier current form (never thought I’d be saying that by the way) aurier starts.

Sorry forgot about Fernandez, but who do you drop for him?

I would be doing the exact same thing that you are doing here but flipped for the United squad. Plonk Eric Dier into the current United defence instead of Maguire and I dont think that he performs as well as he is in the Spurs system. It's horses for courses.

I wouldnt change DDG for Lloris, Alderweireld for Lindelof, Aurier for AWB, even Hojberg or Sissokho for Fred/VDB/McTominay right now. Reguilon for Shaw, sure. But Telles has looked good and I'm not overly unhappy with United left side. Rashford and Son, I personally wouldn't want to lose Rashford as I think hes that good even though I super rate Son. It's all far closer than peiple are making out and most of the positions are just toss ups. Spurs have a clearer system and gameplan currently though, which is helping the Spurs players cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,629 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

I actually didn’t post that. Don’t know how that’s under my name.
    But yeah McGuire is a poor player.

Can people please quote properly. It's not that hard lads.

TitianGerm wrote: »

De Gea
    Son, Kane, Rashford

Ya see the mistake you made there was putting McGuire in. He’s awful.

I’ll have loris in, instead of de gea.

Rashford stays in until bale hits form :D

I would be doing the exact same thing that you are doing here but flipped for the United squad. Plonk Eric Dier into the current United defence instead of Maguire and I dont think that he performs as well as he is in the Spurs system. It's horses for courses.

I wouldnt change DDG for Lloris, Alderweireld for Lindelof, Aurier for AWB, even Hojberg or Sissokho for Fred/VDB/McTominay right now. Reguilon for Shaw, sure. But Telles has looked good and I'm not overly unhappy with United left side. Rashford and Son, I personally wouldn't want to lose Rashford as I think hes that good even though I super rate Son. It's all far closer than peiple are making out and most of the positions are just toss ups. Spurs have a clearer system and gameplan currently though, which is helping the Spurs players cause.

So only reggie gets into the united team for you yeah? :eek:

That's a fair team ,

Aww come on now ! :eek:

Hojbjerg and NDombele are better than all of those 3 !
    And i wouldnt pick either Pogba or Lo Celso...

So its all down to Mourinho ?

Even though 90% of that team got to a Champs Lge final with Poch ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,673 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Would that be the same 90% that were utterly septic and got Poch sacked?

And then looked like ****e under Poch. And came 7th last year, got punped in the round of 16 by Leipzig and had lost 5 games out of 6 before lockdown when their best player was injured. Basically, to go back to my original point, all of this is based on Spurs performing well right now. Mourinho has Spurs performing well at this very moment, and yet United are only 5 points behind them with a game in hand. They came above Spurs last year. There is not a million miles between these squads or first XIs.

That's a fair team ,

Ah here. I got a yellow card for less trolling than this! :D

Aww come on now ! :eek:

Hojbjerg and NDombele are better than all of those 3 !
    And i wouldnt pick either Pogba or Lo Celso...

Hojberg possibly the best of them again hard to tell if he's good or suits the system but ye he could be the best of the bunch , to be fair don't see much difference between him and McTominay ,Hojberg just more experienced but McTom has more legs

NDombele was an absolute disgrace last season , so 10 decent games ( nothing special) isn't going to make me think he's great all of a sudden he has along way to go , Sure you wouldn't have eve noticed he didn't play the weekend ,

Jose comments on NDombele the weekend where interesting , he said it was NDombele decision not to play , that is not something Jose said by mistake he is using them words for a reason ,

pjohnson wrote: »
    Would that be the same 90% that were utterly septic and got Poch sacked?

So they are rubbish , and Jose is a genius ?

And then looked like ****e under Poch. And came 7th last year, got punped in the round of 16 by Leipzig and had lost 5 games out of 6 before lockdown when their best player was injured. Basically, to go back to my original point, all of this is based on Spurs performing well right now. Mourinho has Spurs performing well at this very moment, and yet United are only 5 points behind them with a game in hand. They came above Spurs last year. There is not a million miles between these squads or first XIs.

So its all down to Jose ?

The team is "Sh1te" ?? :confused:

Loris ,Toby, Sissoko ,Son , Kane the only players who started the champions league final and last weekend ,

Rose , Vertonghem , Tripper , Erikson all have left , The you have Winks and Ali don't get much of a look in

So only reggie gets into the united team for you yeah? :eek:

No, because it isnt that simple. I think that Son and Rashford are close to interchangeable but I love Rashford so I'm sticking with him. What I'm saying is that plonking individual Spurs player into this United side across the board doesnt make sense. And that United also have a heap of quality players who are being reduced to cloggers in here

Loris ,Toby, Sissoko ,Son , Kane the only players who started the champions league final and last weekend ,

Rose , Vertonghem , Tripper , Erikson all have left , The you have Winks and Ali don't get much of a look in

Not sure what your getting at here?
    Who cares if it’s down to Jose or the players, they are a team!
    It’s both working together!
    It’s clear enough that the current Spurs team is in fact better than the current united team.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

:pac: :O

My combined Spurs-United XI;

Lloris
    Aurier
    Anderweireld
    Dier
    Reguilon
    Sissoko
    Hojbjerg
    Ndombele
    Bergwijn
    Son
    Kane

On any given day you could have Lo Celso, Bale, Rodon, Tanganga, etc... in there too.

I'm going to give a notable mention to Bruno Fernandes as I don't want to come across as biased towards Spurs.

So its all down to Jose ?

The team is "Sh1te" ?? :confused:

if this is your level of discussion and wilfully misunderstanding clearly laid out points, then we should really leave it there right?

No, because it isnt that simple. I think that Son and Rashford are close to interchangeable but I love Rashford so I'm sticking with him. What I'm saying is that plonking individual Spurs player into this United side across the board doesnt make sense. And that United also have a heap of quality players who are being reduced to cloggers in here

You mean plonking united players into the Spurs team ;)
    Of which it’s really only two at a push. AWB and Fernandez.
    Arguing that rashford is anywhere near the quality of son is just plain nuts tbh.

DVDM93 wrote: »
    :pac: :O

My combined Spurs-United XI;

Lloris
    Aurier
    Anderweireld
    Dier
    Reguilon
    Sissoko
    Hojbjerg
    Ndombele
    Bergwijn
    Son
    Kane

On any given day you could have Lo Celso, Bale, Rodon, Tanganga, etc... in there too.

I'm going to give a notable mention to Bruno Fernandes as I don't want to come across as biased towards Spurs.

Lol!
    I’ll go with that!