Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Murder of Joe Deacy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 341 ✭✭sugarman20

Yes, that's right. The roads are unfortunately covered in these memorials yet they have an issue with this one, I wonder why?

SUBSCRIBE HERE TO KEEP BOARDS ONLINE

Linky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭crusd

Its only a small number of people who know what happened and who are involved in the removal of memorials etc. Most people in that area are equally disgusted. Unfortunately evidence that would lead to arrest and possible conviction is not "Johnny said that Mary saw". If Mary wont talk there is not much the locals can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭Xander10

Good to know the general feelings of the local community

But those that try to silence and block justice mustn't be left unchecked.

Has a new enquiry been commissioned?

Just watched RTE's "the case I can't forget" episode about Niall Dore. a lovely young chap, brutally kicked to death and the Guards were met with a wall of silence. The painstaking work of Detective Marry saw someone brought to trial and convicted. DNA extracted from the clothes of the perpetrator was the crucial piece of the jigsaw.

One can only hope, that the efforts of the Gardai will see the perpetrators, who are hiding in plain sight, eventually brought to justice.

Never give up.

Justice for Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

Such an awful case. I hope his killers are brought to justice soon.

Deserves to be kept in the spotlight until the those responsible are outed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭juno10353

joe.jpg

No CCTV available when Joe was left for dead.

Linky

Any further info on this memorial, location, when it was put in place/removed etc? I'm certain there is an exemption in planning law that allows such things, subject to restrictions on size/lighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭sonnyblack

Its good to see the people living in the house named in the media and the acknowledgment of the location where Joe died

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭MaccaTacca

I cant wait for the day that Peter, Conor and Ann see the inside of a court room for their crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,951 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Am I right in thinking that the parents weren’t home that night?

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Linky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,951 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Is it true they refused to help with the investigation? Utterly bizarre that someone can be killed and no one speaks up after all this time.

Reminds me of that murder of the priest in Offaly in the 80’s.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭MaccaTacca

Anyone have any updates on this investigation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,935 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Weirdly, if you google that fella a Twitter profile comes up (join date 2013, so seems legit) with a load of tweets about the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭greentea is just wrong

Do you have a link?

I just came across a tiktok about the case. Is the dad a guard?! That's what I am gathering from comments. Still no clearer on the why it happened. Crazy story and sad still no closure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭crusd

I see the sign at the end of the road was damaged yet again. Ya the auld lad is high up in Mayo County Council.

Linky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭Lecter8319

Its a terrible look for Mayo this, man murdered outside house of local county council employee, no doubt with many connections throughout the community and in law enforcement. Whatever about Joe and I havent heard anything too bad about him, its a disgrace whats happened here. Theres a lot of cowards in that community who should hang their heads in shame. You have to wonder how some people sleep at night.

Two arrests recently and new lines of enquiry apparently. Hopefully the pressure ramps up and someone cracks. Gards should have handled this much better from the start.

If this is what local GAA family stands for in Ireland, I think judges need to be giving out stiffer sentences for members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Bohola12

From the Connaught telegraph:

'Now, a new strand of the investigation has led detectives to arresting two people, a male and female, who have never previously been questioned.

The Irish Independent is reporting that detectives are searching for a car – believed to have contained four men – that was seen in the area at the time'

Knowing a bit about this case, I thought the accepted narrative was that the three people in the house were the only suspects? Are the people referenced above merely potential witnesses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,716 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Would be great if they finally caught these f*ckers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭greentea is just wrong

Strange I posted about the above update on Reddit ireland twice and it was removed.

It was just a link to the article as many posts are...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,103 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Obviously some investigation work being done behind the scenes

From that, they sound a little bit more confident in bringing those to account, a disgrace that its taken this long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,849 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

What scum those people are for trying to intimidate the people looking for justice. Fair play to that Councillor for not giving into it. I wonder will some of his fellow politicians heed his call and attend the walk for Joe Deacy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

Was thinking about this case again recently after seeing an appeal for information on RTE radio a couple of weeks ago to mark the 7th anniversary. His poor dad sounded absolutely broken the last time he was interviewed, understandably, and he said he can't face returning to Ireland again as all the good memories have been tarnished.

The whole case is just so bizarre and tragic. From what's been reported, Joe was popular and liked, and was staying with presumably lads who he was friends with that night. What on earth happened that they turned on him so viciously? I don't know too much about the case but none of it makes any sense. I really hope his killers are brought to justice and this case doesn't go cold. The Justice For Joe page is still very active on Facebook and putting the pressure on the Gardai, which is good

Man admits ‘sinister’ harassment of couple following death of Mayo fan Joe Deacy in 2017

Brendan Rowland admitted sending Peter and Anne Byrne cards signed from ‘Joe’ on several occasions

Link

Linky