Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FG to still just do nothing for the next 5 years - part 2

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Nobotty wrote: »
    Couldn't Mary Lou get the 20,000 and Gerry and put it into the party
    Social media influencers include peeps with large twitter followings
    Its just out of the governments advertising campaign fund
    Its not going to have them say vote FG the anti covid party
    Not Mary Lou or Gerry anyway :D

1st one in, Sinn Féin and Mary Lou

How about getting all the advisors together between all the Govt to meet up. Surely between them all they can come up with a message easy to understand for young people.

Alot of hese influencers were all over Spain and Ibiza during the summer "working". Def good people to be advising young people to obey by the rules

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Nobotty

Alot of hese influencers were all over Spain and Ibiza during the summer "working".

Now how would you know that :D

Besides ,Mary and the likes of O'Broin are very very good on Covid (apart from that funeral)
    They'd be listened to by the youth (apart from maybe those brats in yfg)
    Gerry has an almighty witty way with words
    Big billboards,Gerry on the left and Mary on the right
    It hasn't gone away you know could be the slogan :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Besides ,Mary and the likes of O'Broin are very very good on Covid (apart from that funeral)

??????? Mary Lou was one of the ones shouting loudest to open the pubs FFS

• Registered Users Posts: 67,367 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

'Social Media Influencer' is that not a posh name for a bot?

Will they be telling people they are trying to influence them?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Truthvader wrote: »
    ??????? Mary Lou was one of the ones shouting loudest to open the pubs FFS

Really?

https://www.thejournal.ie/pubs-closed-ireland-5189550-Aug2020/

smurgen wrote: »

Yep. Big difference between hoping pubs can open and Mary Lou's desparate populist demands that pubs be opened.

The recent opinion polls and election results tell you the Youth are listening to SF alot more than FF or FG.

Why do you always bring up Sinn Féin when anyone questions the Government or anything.

I've never seen the answer, but what about Sinn Féin, actually answer the questions been asked. It's deflection at its finest.

Keep it up, worked well pre election sure why wouldn't. It work all the time

Yep. Big difference between hoping pubs can open and Mary Lou's desparate populist demands that pubs be opened.

Just to let you know, Leo signed off on pubs reopening, Mary Lou did not

He also said they should reopen despite not being able to guarantee. Giving false hope and being populist at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Was there not a great furore over the apparent misquote of MLMD?

She said (from memory) that the pubs already opened should be allowed to remain open, provided they are abiding by guidelines and regulations.

That's an entirely different scenario to a "desperate demand pubs be opened,".

Also just to note, MMLD was "captain no craic" around these parts for quite some time when she was first out of the blocks calling for pubs to close, and for the Paddy's Day parade to be cancelled etc.

The recent opinion polls and election results tell you the Youth are listening to SF alot more than FF or FG.

Why do you always bring up Sinn Féin when anyone questions the Government or anything.

I've never seen the answer, but what about Sinn Féin, actually answer the questions been asked. It's deflection at its finest.

Keep it up, worked well pre election sure why wouldn't. It work all the time

Boss,I couldn't care less what FF and FG or SF, say they're all the same when they get in the world over
    Best example is syryza, poll topping heroes untill they got in
    Absolute zeroes when they couldn't deliver
    They're all the same
    I'll deliver that reality pill to anyone,green blue or red tinted glasses
    Its the only thing I agree with on with that lunatic national party crowd that have the anti mask protests
    Oh except that those lads are very good at saying their prayers too :D
    There's great power in prayer
    I was very impressed with Mary Lou on would you believe the other night that she goes to mass every sunday

FG/DUP won't like this

Is he in the Congress in Washington or in a local pennsylvania assembly? Because we need loads of people like him in Congress fighting Brexit
    Its great to see
    Dominic Raab was over there the other day getting some lovely reality pills delivered by Congress to him
    Cosy up to Trump all ye like but Mother Ireland has powerful friends that will show the Brexiteers who's Boss

They don't care unfortunately

• Registered Users Posts: 14,054 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Ahhhh this must be a waterford whisper borrowed headline.

https://twitter.com/CourtneyMaher_x/status/1308666159135444993?s=19

That is actually not a bad idea.

Do you think young people are watching RTE, reading the Irish Times or interacting on boards.ie like much older folk?

Nope!
    They consume their media through Instagram, TikTok, Facebook stories or whatever is in vouge.
    Getting some social media influencers on board would be one way to reach these young people when it comes to Covid-19 safety measures. Even I heard MLMD state something similar in a podcast the other day.

Other countries do the same mind you.

markodaly wrote: »

Do you think young people are watching RTE, reading the Irish Times or interacting on boards.ie like much older folk?

Nope!
    They consume their media through Instagram, TikTok, Facebook stories or whatever is in vouge.
    Getting some social media influencers on board would be one way to reach these young people when it comes to Covid-19 safety measures. Even I heard MLMD state something similar in a podcast the other day.

I think the fact the €20,000 figure is getting thrown about,L annoys people, the magic money tree which only gets brought up when SF want to spend cash is well and truely available.

Surely 1 of the endless advisors can come up with messages to let the kids know to follow the rules.

markodaly wrote: »

N kiope!

They robbed another thing the shinners were talking about and tried to pass off as "their idea" :eek:

Journos have been asking Glynn for weeks to involve the influencers
    Its a sad state of affairs when you have to rely on the likes of Rob lip sync and others to get under 30s to behave
    One of my friends put a post on Instagram last night of a very lively and packed out party
    No talking to him
    He'll say I'll get the pandemic
    And he doesn't mean the disease,he means the payment if there's another lock down
    The party was in dublin

McMurphy wrote: »
    Was there not a great furore over the apparent misquote of MLMD?

She said (from memory) that the pubs already opened should be allowed to remain open, provided they are abiding by guidelines and regulations.

That's an entirely different scenario to a "desperate demand pubs be opened,".

Also just to note, MMLD was "captain no craic" around these parts for quite some time when she was first out of the blocks calling for pubs to close, and for the Paddy's Day parade to be cancelled etc.

Will someone else re-post the front page of whatever red top Mary Lou chose to promote herself with the picture of her big head on the front page accompanied by her demand that the pubs be opened. Can't be arsed going back over various threads to find it

You can't be arsed to back up a claim you made :confused:

Meanwhile ..... Early September........

‘Wet pubs’ should be given a chance to reopen, Varadkar says

And 13th of September.

Mary Lou McDonald calls for Dublin pubs to remain open
    Sinn Fein leader McDonald said she does not underestimate Covid-19 but disagreed with a move to close pubs and restaurants that are already open.

Nothing to say about Leo getting his disgraced mate Breege O'Donoghue a new public job, after she was forced to resign from a previous role for going abroad not once but twice.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,323 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

When I clicked on your link, the first tweet replying was this:

"It doesn’t. It was made by the son of an IRA godfather and relied heavily on the testimony of an IRA volunteer and a disgraced policeman. It is propaganda. Nothing more and nothing less."

Thanks for posting. SF won't like that.

Not that any of it matters - it's Twitter.

blanch152 wrote: »

"It doesn’t. It was made by the son of an IRA godfather and relied heavily on the testimony of an IRA volunteer and a disgraced policeman. It is propaganda. Nothing more and nothing less."

blanch depending on some 'random person on Twitter' after all his protestations and rants about others posting Tweets :):)

Man, you couldn't write this kind of hypocrisy. :D:D:D

blanch depending on some 'random person on Twitter' after all his protestations and rants about others posting Tweets :):)

Beat me to it Francie. :pac:

"The SF/DUP government is putting the whole island at risk. They can't seem to make any decisions. When they do, they are a week behind the rest of the island. Incompetent fools."

hahahaha Your best yet

In your haste to respond, probably spilling your cup of tea, you don't seem to have got to the last line of my post. No hypocrisy here.

Why post it at all then blanch.
    You wanted to contest the findings of the research and documentary and you used a random tweeter. :)

You ain't fooling anybody with your last sentence.

What is your issue with this?

Are you questioning her competence or ability?

Why post it at all then blanch.
    You wanted to contest the findings of the research and documentary and you used a random tweeter. :)

You ain't fooling anybody with your last sentence.

Nope, I was pointing out the hilariousness and ridiculousness of the poster relying on a tweet which was immediately contradicted by the first reply.

That obviously passed over your head.