Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I’ve just returned from Portlaoise.

• 18-07-2020 07:45PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭

I’m scarred.
    First time ever.
    Never again.

Please share my review.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

Cool story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭KaneToad

I’m scarred.
    First time ever.
    Never again.

You're lucky it wasn't Portarlington...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Hope you're going to self isolate for 14 years now

Have they phone reception there nowadays??

I used be there abit,in my youth and its my abiding memory of it,having no phone reception in a town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Cody montana

KiKi III wrote: »
    Cool story.

First shop(I was the only one in the shop)

Me: Hi, I’m just having a look around.
    Man in shop: Ignores me and goes into back.
    Me after a few minutes: Erm.
    Me: Leaves.

KaneToad wrote: »

Bad?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Lived in Portarlington for about 6 months . When I say “ lived ,” I mean kept my stuff there . Clocked up at least 30 thousand Km getting out of it . Went to places like Monaghan, Donegal, Kerry and Cork and still got back to work the next day .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,006 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Meet anyone famous inside?

Lots of IRA lads take residence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I’m still trying to figure out what has the OP scarred? :pac:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

So you told him that you weren’t there to buy anything, just look around? The cheek of him leaving you alone.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Bad?

In the early 90s , people really did stare at me and intone “ yer not from round here now are ye?” And my one mode of transport, a high Nellie type bike was stolen within a week there . Hence I bought my 1st ever car -literally with my last few pounds .

Second shop.

Me: *Opens door*
    Woman in store with customers: We’ve closed.
    Me: Oh!
    Woman: *Closes door in my face and locks door*

I drove 360 around a small roundabout as I was lost and the car behind me drove straight through the roundabout.
    He nearly crashed into me.

I’m from Cork and not used to this carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Welcome back.

What were you banged up for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

A cat scratched him no doubt...

And the roads are confusing.

One hour of dread I’ll never get back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Bagels4me

Can you give us more details?

I'm considering a holiday there, staycation and that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

And the roads are confusing.

One hour of dread I’ll never get back.

I sat my driving test in it.. went through approx 11 roundabouts, law of averages is that you’ll I fcuk up one, hardship....

Bagels4me wrote: »
    Can you give us more details?

I'm considering a holiday there, staycation and that

It’s up the country.

I’m not a sensitive soul.

I’ve stayed in the tenderloin in San Fran and Kings Cross in Sydney, got mugged in London and robbed in Thailand.
    I’d go back.

Portlaoise.
    Never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

He dropped the soap in the showers.

🙈🙉🙊

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Casey78

Portlaoise was grand until all the Dubs starting buying houses there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Don't blame him.

He dropped the soap in the showers.

Don’t think they have soap there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,812 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Free Willy is a different film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭kerryjack

I had a massive day on the beer there about 20 years ago we were heading to some ploughing and we stopped there for the breakfast around 10.30 and there was a few lads at the bar horsing in to a few pints and sure we said we would have 1, woke up in tullamore the following day I have been trying to fill in the blanks eversence

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,077 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

So you got dumped in Portlaoise, Cody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Could be worse, could have been Oulart the Balagh...Borris in Ossory, Carrick on Suir, Swinford and a whole host of other "twilight zone" type towns scattered around Ireland where time stands still and the people are...unusual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,880 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Could be worse, could have been Oulart the Balagh...Borris in Ossory, Carrick on Suir, Swinford and a whole host of other "twilight zone" type towns scattered around Ireland where time stands still and the people are...unusual.

Borris in Ossary sounds like a Russian spy.

Saw a sign for Borris in Ossory alright.
    Wonderful name.
    Must be something to see there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭JimmyChew

Borris is Russian, Ossary hopes he'll take his time ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,562 ✭✭✭KevRossi

So they actually left you alone while you browsed?

Where is this paradise you mentioned?

Sounds like a heaven for introverts like myself and a damn site better than the hard sell merchants in our glorious capital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,806 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Wonderful name.

Whereabouts did you see the sign for Borris In Ossary ?

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Whereabouts did you see the sign for Borris In Ossary ?

Think on the motorway.

KevRossi wrote: »
    So they actually left you alone while you browsed?

Where is this paradise you mentioned?

Sounds like a heaven for introverts like myself and a damn site better than the hard sell merchants in our glorious capital.

It was a one room antique store.
    Not ikea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,806 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Think on the motorway.

Ah ...
    At least you found your way off the roundabout .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

portlaoise aint such a bad town

Wonderful name.

There's a kiosk at the place where the bus stops and a strong-looking woman with a receding hairline will sell you a coffee for either a euro or a kiss.

Haven't stopped there in years. It doesn't look like the kind of place that changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

There's a kiosk at the place where the bus stops and a strong-looking woman with a receding hairline will sell you a coffee for either a euro or a kiss.

Haven't stopped there in years. It doesn't look like the kind of place that changes.

It’s constantly changing. It’s probably one of the fastest growing towns in Ireland. Not many towns can boast having TWO supermacs and subways

I’m from Cork and not used to this carry on.

Cork roads are the worst. Every rule is upside down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Wonderful name.
    Just checked it. Apparently nothing to be excited about, the native name comes from the diocese of Osoraí and it's derived from the first king Óengus Osraithe. No cool ossuary! :(

FillaName wrote: »
    Cork roads are the worst. Every rule is upside down.

How so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

It’s PorT-Tarling-Ton with heavy emphasis on all T’s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,508 ✭✭✭✭flazio

How long was the OPs sentence?

This too shall pass.

I’m scarred.
    First time ever.
    Never again.

Please share my review.

You should have made it into a thing that you were forced to go there for work reasons. More hits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

The roundabouts in Portlaoise are actually arranged according to Knights Templar geometry to draw bad energy away from other spots on earth.

The next time you think how awful that terrorist bombing or famine is, remember it would be ten times worse if it weren’t for the sacrifice of Portlaoise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

The town or the Prison? I'd say both were equally dull. Been through by train umpteen times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

Borris in Ossary
    O,Bama in Moneygall
    Reagan in Ballyporeen
    Kennedy in Wexford
    What is the issue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

There are worse places than Portlaoise.

They say that Naas is a terrible place
    and Moate is twice as bad
    But of all the towns in all the world
    Fuck me, Kinnegad.