I’ve just returned from Portlaoise.

• 18-07-2020 08:45PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭

I’m scarred.
    First time ever.
    Never again.

Please share my review.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

Cool story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭KaneToad

I’m scarred.
    First time ever.
    Never again.

You're lucky it wasn't Portarlington...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Hope you're going to self isolate for 14 years now

Have they phone reception there nowadays??

I used be there abit,in my youth and its my abiding memory of it,having no phone reception in a town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭Cody montana

KiKi III wrote: »
    Cool story.

First shop(I was the only one in the shop)

Me: Hi, I’m just having a look around.
    Man in shop: Ignores me and goes into back.
    Me after a few minutes: Erm.
    Me: Leaves.

KaneToad wrote: »

Bad?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

KaneToad wrote: »

Lived in Portarlington for about 6 months . When I say “ lived ,” I mean kept my stuff there . Clocked up at least 30 thousand Km getting out of it . Went to places like Monaghan, Donegal, Kerry and Cork and still got back to work the next day .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,151 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Meet anyone famous inside?

Lots of IRA lads take residence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I’m still trying to figure out what has the OP scarred? :pac:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

So you told him that you weren’t there to buy anything, just look around? The cheek of him leaving you alone.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Bad?

In the early 90s , people really did stare at me and intone “ yer not from round here now are ye?” And my one mode of transport, a high Nellie type bike was stolen within a week there . Hence I bought my 1st ever car -literally with my last few pounds .

Second shop.

Me: *Opens door*
    Woman in store with customers: We’ve closed.
    Me: Oh!
    Woman: *Closes door in my face and locks door*

I drove 360 around a small roundabout as I was lost and the car behind me drove straight through the roundabout.
    He nearly crashed into me.

I’m from Cork and not used to this carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Welcome back.

What were you banged up for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

A cat scratched him no doubt...

And the roads are confusing.

One hour of dread I’ll never get back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Bagels4me

Can you give us more details?

I'm considering a holiday there, staycation and that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

And the roads are confusing.

One hour of dread I’ll never get back.

I sat my driving test in it.. went through approx 11 roundabouts, law of averages is that you’ll I fcuk up one, hardship....

Bagels4me wrote: »
    Can you give us more details?

I'm considering a holiday there, staycation and that

It’s up the country.

I’m not a sensitive soul.

I’ve stayed in the tenderloin in San Fran and Kings Cross in Sydney, got mugged in London and robbed in Thailand.
    I’d go back.

Portlaoise.
    Never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

He dropped the soap in the showers.

🙈🙉🙊

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Casey78

Portlaoise was grand until all the Dubs starting buying houses there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Don't blame him.

He dropped the soap in the showers.

Don’t think they have soap there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,997 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Free Willy is a different film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,682 ✭✭✭kerryjack

I had a massive day on the beer there about 20 years ago we were heading to some ploughing and we stopped there for the breakfast around 10.30 and there was a few lads at the bar horsing in to a few pints and sure we said we would have 1, woke up in tullamore the following day I have been trying to fill in the blanks eversence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,665 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

So you got dumped in Portlaoise, Cody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Could be worse, could have been Oulart the Balagh...Borris in Ossory, Carrick on Suir, Swinford and a whole host of other "twilight zone" type towns scattered around Ireland where time stands still and the people are...unusual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Could be worse, could have been Oulart the Balagh...Borris in Ossory, Carrick on Suir, Swinford and a whole host of other "twilight zone" type towns scattered around Ireland where time stands still and the people are...unusual.

Borris in Ossary sounds like a Russian spy.