Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Ah, bucket anyway!

Another neighbour gone down with TB. Back to 4 month testing, it looks like.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Ah, bucket anyway!

Lovely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

Ah, bucket anyway!

Theres alot of it around the country now. We're on 4 mth testing aswel due to a neighbour going down. Its a real pain in the hole!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Had my 1st test reading today after my clear 2 tests in the spring. All clear again phew. 2 other next door neighbours also fully clear again. As quickly as it struck the 3 of us down it left again thank god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

any recommendations of electrical supplier? current contract with Bord Gais is up so must see can I get a better discount elsewhere again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Had my 1st test reading today after my clear 2 tests in the spring. All clear again phew. 2 other next door neighbours also fully clear again. As quickly as it struck the 3 of us down it left again thank god.

Larry Goodman I bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,873 ✭✭✭straight

Signpost wrote: »
    any recommendations of electrical supplier? current contract with Bord Gais is up so must see can I get a better discount elsewhere again

Energia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

straight wrote: »
    Energia

Was looking at them but would you ever come near their biannual allowance during the winter? was trying to work out how much power would be used when scrapers and parlour was on the go for 2 months, the price of the out of bundle rate scared me into not signing up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,197 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Energia

No just left the shower and went back to board gais. No contract with board gais. With energia they hammer you as soon as your out of contract. Board were also the cheapest. Just ring them and tell them your thinking of leaving and they'll do a deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,932 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Avoid energia, they come up cheapest but have a quota on what you can use at the reduced rate. I switched from airtricity the other day to glow power..

Have a look as bonkers.ie, they're good for getting quotes but it can be hard to compare different companies at times with bundles and such.

https://www.bonkers.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Have a look as bonkers.ie, they're good for getting quotes but it can be hard to compare different companies at times with bundles and such.

https://www.bonkers.ie/

Don’t bother with bonkers or going on line to get deals this guy will better the lot of them
    Cormac Kilken 086 1754545
    He has his own company I’m sure some here are using him I know loads on twitter are and yet to hear a bad report

Was looking at them but would you ever come near their biannual allowance during the winter? was trying to work out how much power would be used when scrapers and parlour was on the go for 2 months, the price of the out of bundle rate scared me into not signing up

Don't know anything about biannual. I'm with them 3 years now. 15.62 cent including vat. When I ran out of 12 month contract I just rang them and got 29% discount off it if I stayed another 12 months. I've it saved in my calendar now for 12 months time to shop around before then end of contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

How are ye all looking at managing grass for the next period? This week is looking wet enough again, had hoped to bale ground this week but with the wet weather I'll have other ground difficult to graze so considering grazing it but covers will be too strong then on the heavy ground. If a bit of an Indian summer comes I'd get away with it but if not it'll end up an awkward situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭older by the day

Grass very wet here near skibb, upped th 4kg of 14%summer dairy 275 Euro. I know we might get 7-10 Euro back next year. What are guys feeding, what's good value nowadays

On 4kgs as well. DM low, what you would normally count as 3 grazing paddock they'll have gone in 2. My earlier plans on reducing meal per cow by 100 to 300 kg are rapidly disintegrating....

morclc wrote: »
    We have been using Circodine P containing chlorine to wash the milking machine. This morning was the first time we used a chlorine free detergent. We used Jetster on the milking machine. When we rinsed the machine with water after washing there was slight foam and bubbles and it took a lot of water before this went away. I was just wondering is this normal with all chlorine free detergents?

Would anyone have an answer for the above?

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058106162

Am on 2kg here still. Am tempted to increase it but it's very early and I fed alot this year already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Community Power, all money goes back into rural communities throughout Ireland and will also be leading the way in on farm power/ reverse metering.

Am on 2kg here still. Am tempted to increase it but it's very early and I fed alot this year already

2 kg is nothing ,feed the cows grass dm on the floor even give them a bales of good dry silage on wet days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭C4d78

mahoney_j wrote: »
    2 kg is nothing ,feed the cows grass dm on the floor even give them a bales of good dry silage on wet days

Pity Teagasc couldn’t give some simple advice like that.
    DM of grass must be as low as 10-11% I’m guessing.
    How can you expect a cow to give anything close to 1.7 or 1.8 kg MS/day when all they have is water and 2 Kgs of meal.
    Foolish to believe the Teagasc line of they don’t need meal.

Moorpark had DM down at 11%. In fairness I don't think any of em have said not to feed in these conditions. Just if you are do it in a way not to have em walking or lying grass into the ground. Gave bigger allocations here, put meal back to 4 but no silage. May only get away with it for so long tho as drier ground running out

Mooooo wrote: »
    Moorpark had DM down at 11%. In fairness I don't think any of em have said not to feed in these conditions. Just if you are do it in a way not to have em walking or lying grass into the ground. Gave bigger allocations here, put meal back to 4 but no silage. May only get away with it for so long tho as drier ground running out

At the end of the year thou when PM’s are being analysed. Meal will probably be the first figure focused on thou as a way of reducing costs.
    Cut kgs of meal fed in the year.
    Will certainly reduce costs but will also reduce kg/ms and profit inevitably especially if a farmer has the type of cow to respond.
    There has to be a happy medium & sometimes one needs to look at the bigger picture.

C4d78 wrote: »
    At the end of the year thou when PM’s are being analysed. Meal will probably be the first figure focused on thou as a way of reducing costs.
    Will certainly reduce costs but will also reduce kg/ms and profit inevitably especially if a farmer has the type of cow to respond.
    There has to be a happy medium & sometimes one needs to look at the bigger picture.

Fair point, in my own case there are people feeding less meal and producing more kg/ms so I feel it's an area I need to target. Feeding and getting the output is fine, feeding and not getting it is a different story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Fair point, in my own case there are people feeding less meal and producing more kg/ms so I feel it's an area I need to target. Feeding and getting the output is fine, feeding and not getting it is a different story!

If a lad was to believe half of what sh**te is spouted by lads re heard performance relative to meal feeding/ incalf rates in 6 weeks/low empty rates you"d be in a state of depression alot of the time, when if you really examine it, the same lads could have maize/beet going in that isn't accounted for, along with the planned culls not been included in breeding figures etc

I’d be careful of chasing after reduction in meal thou just in comparison with other farmers.
    It’s very farm specific.
    They could have a drier farm and more days at grass in comparison to you.
    Meal reduction shouldn’t always be the one to chase after to reduce costs.
    At the same time I’d have no problem reducing to 1 - 1.5 kgs when DM up in 20’s but when nerds must feed and feed hard and the cow will more than cover the cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,932 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

jaymla627 wrote: »
    If a lad was to believe half of what sh**te is spouted by lads re heard performance relative to meal feeding/ incalf rates in 6 weeks/low empty rates you"d be in a state of depression alot of the time, when if you really examine it, the same lads could have maize/beet going in that isn't accounted for, along with the planned culls not been included in breeding figures etc

You know the lads that are bull****ting though. They normally slip up .

jaymla627 wrote: »

Plenty out there but I trust my group, very honest within the group. Average is still around a tonne fed within the group and I know the differences that apply to each. I've a young herd and heavier ground than some but still can see where improvements can be made by seeing what the lads are doing.

C4d78 wrote: »

Don’t do pm don’t see the point missing too much relevant info lads that do them (not all)use it to blow smoke out there arse then u have others who believe it all and wonder what there doing wrong .its all about the grass and little mention of the cow lads fretting about feeding more than 2 kg meal atm and wondering if they should throw out silage .....jaysus sometimes your better plough you’re own furrow and take what ever small relevant nuggets of info from all the hype u can that might be relevant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

I’ve been feeding 5 the very wet days or 4 if it’s not to bad. It’s keeping the lts up and cows are happy considering the weather down here.