Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XIX-25,802 in ROI (1,753 deaths) 5,859 in NI (556 deaths) (21/07)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,889 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I had a mother of a toothache yesterday, when does the dentists open normally again.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,559 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Doesn't that apply to everything at the moment? Public transport, confined spaces example small shops........

1000s of drunk horny people in shops?

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,559 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

I had a mother of a toothache yesterday, when does the dentists open normally again.

They are open for the likes of your ailment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Micky 32 wrote: »
    I’d say a large proportion travelling could be visiting families too not just sun , sex, sea and drugs ;-)

No doubt some are but I `d say plenty are going for the reasons you stated instead of staying in Ireland and supporting the local economy as they should be doing if they had an iota of responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

schmoo2k wrote: »
    Everyone in departures is coming from the same country - arrivals is where you would want to take extra precautions...

I have been to airports where arrivals and departure passengers come in close contact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Boggles wrote: »
    1000s of drunk horny people in shops?

No.
    You assume everyone that goes on holidays is on the lash and looking for a ride. Seriously you need to cop on to yourself.

Boggles wrote: »
    They are open for the likes of your ailment.

And have been all along for cases like this.

Don't think it prevents them from lifting their arm to do it into their elbow though. Covid or no covid. Don't be a dirty ****er.

That's true. Comes down to basic hygiene.

Dentists are already open in Dublin.

You assume everyone that goes on holidays is on the lash and looking for a ride. Seriously you need to cop on to yourself.

Are you denying that many (I`m not claiming all) of the younger brigade go on sun holidays to do precisely that? If you do deny it you are naïve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

For some reason people don’t see that. It could be because planes give you access to virus ridden countries but i’m quite sure they won’t be on the air bridge list anyway.

What the fvck is an airbridge? Can we stop that bull****. We are open.
    Loads of flights. To US , EU, UK. Nothing stopping anybody travelling apart from a form.

People want to go? It's a free world. With great power comes great responsibility. I wouldn't expect any sympathy from my family if I ended up in hospital after a two week holiday. How could you? We were told not to travel because there was a virus around. The virus is still around but the jobs. Happy to let other people prove my point for me.

Are you denying that many of the younger brigade go on sun holidays to do pecisely that? If you do deny it you are naïve.

Brigade? I'd say the younger ones worked that out of their systems in Cork in the last few weeks. Was there a big spike in cases in Cork?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

No doubt some are but I `d say plenty are going for the reasons you stated instead of staying in Ireland and supporting the local economy as they should be doing if they had an iota of responsibility.

It's like a holiday is a God given right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,626 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Renjit wrote: »
    I have been to airports where arrivals and departure passengers come in close contact.

I was in a pub for something work related yesterday ( no boozing ) ;-)

The customers were all in close contact. Practically on top of each other. Not to mention people coming in the designated exit doors. But sure lets just single out the airport.

gmisk wrote: »
    A couple of them were I think.
    Some were going home to visit family they hadn't seen in months in fairness (Singapore).

They were asked about self isolating at home for two weeks when they were back....they all said they would of course... wink wink....they will in their hole lol.

Which is why with this selfish "I don`t give a fcuk about anyone but myself" mentality the virus will in all likelihood soon be surging again here and some restrictions will be reimposed.

What the fvck is an airbridge? Can we stop that bull****. We are open.
    Loads of flights. To US , EU, UK. Nothing stopping anybody travelling apart from a form.

People want to go? It's a free world. With great power comes great responsibility. I wouldn't expect any sympathy from my family if I ended up in hospital after a two week holiday. How could you? We were told not to travel because there was a virus around. The virus is still around but the jobs. Happy to let other people prove my point for me.

So you are happy to tour around Ireland ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,452 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Which is why with this selfish "I don`t give a fcuk about anyone but myself" mentality the virus will in all likelihood soon be surging again here and some restrictions will be reimposed.

Like i said if restrictions need to be imposed it will be more likely down to 4.9 million people now able to move freely through Ireland

The customers were all in close contact. Practically on top of each other. Not to mention people coming in the designated exit doors. But sure lets just single out the airport.

I am not singling out. It's easy to see why more attention is required at airports. Your local pub may not have an international arrival daily. However, precautions should be taken as a collective responsibility.

Did you point that out to the bar manager or staff? And if you did what was the response from them?

God doesn't give rights. The right to travel is in the constitution , it hasn't been amended so people are free to ignore Dr Holohan if they wish. However they should isolate if that is required when they arrive back here.

Renjit wrote: »
    I am not singling out. It's easy to see why more attention is required at airports. Your local pub may not have an international arrival daily. However, precautions should be taken as a collective responsibility.

All it would have taken is one person in there to have it and there would have been an outbreak. An international traveller would have made no difference, irrelevent.

God doesn't give rights. The right to travel is in the constitution , it hasn't been amended so people are free to ignore Dr Holohan if they wish. However they should isolate if that is required when they arrive back here.

Exactly. And if they refuse to do so then they should have to face the consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,766 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Believe it or not we live in a free democracy.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,766 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

I don’t see any issue with European travel. People on here make it out like Europe’s being demolished atm, completely ridiculous stuff. Get on with your lives, this is the new normal, deal with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

So you are happy to tour around Ireland ?

I'll take a step back from your question and have a look at the overall situation and the vested interests involved. They all have business models which depend on travel and close contact. They all form alliances or attach each other based on the news of the day so as to draw attention to something or away from something.
    • vitners
    • bord faite
    • airlines really Ryanair though

They all want international tourism to resume.
    If travel cases imported though bord faite and vintners will round on Ryanair and say "look over there". Staycations are grand.

If international travel restrictions in place. Ryanair will come out and say "sure how could you go on a holiday in Ireland. It's so expensive! Spain is. lovely and cheap.

If any international restrictions muted there is a story put out immediately saying there'll be mass layoffs if we don't get our way.

None of this changes the science of the pandemic. Incidentally I'd be happy getting to zero so we can resume normal life here in Ireland for this year. That's not happening now. So no I won't be going anywhere. thanks. I'm lucky though that I've travelled in my life so have no real need to go anywhere this year. Other people can make their own decisions. I can't say I'll have any sympathy though if they bring back to their families and elderly relatives pass. I'm sure people won't self report either even if they do contract it. We can all go "it must be a second wave, nothing we could do about it."

Brigade? I'd say the younger ones worked that out of their systems in Cork in the last few weeks. Was there a big spike in cases in Cork?

Are you going to answer the question I asked you previously instead of engaging in whataboutery tactics?

I'll take a step back from your question and have a look at the overall situation and the vested interests involved. They all have business models which depend on travel and close contact. They all form alliances or attach each other based on the news of the day so as to draw attention to something or away from something.
    • vitners
    • bord faite
    • airlines really Ryanair though

They all want international tourism to resume.
    If travel cases imported though bord faite and vintners will round on Ryanair and say "look over there". Staycations are grand.

If international travel restrictions in place. Ryanair will come out and say "sure how could you go on a holiday in Ireland. It's so expensive! Spain is. lovely and cheap.

If any international restrictions muted there is a story put out immediately saying there'll be mass layoffs if we don't get our way.

None of this changes the science of the pandemic. Incidentally I'd be happy getting to zero so we can resume normal life here in Ireland for this year. That's not happening now. So no I won't be going anywhere. thanks. I'm lucky though that I've travelled in my life so have no real need to go anywhere this year. Other people can make their own decisions. I can't say I'll have any sympathy though if they bring back to their families and elderly relatives pass. I'm sure people won't self report either even if they do contract it. We can all go "it must be a second wave, nothing we could do about it."

I won’t be going on a plane this year. When i do next year it’s to see family and not for the sun, even though better weather helps.

It’s good to see that you won’t travel around Ireland if you’re also going to condemn european travel. It’s Less hypocritical because as you said we ain’t getting a zero.

Exactly. And if they refuse to do so then they should have to face the consequences.

What consequences? The only consequence that exists is a fine for not filling in a form. Self isolation is not enforced and tbh at this stage as Europe opens it won't be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭alwald

I will be visiting friends in August regardless of what the advice is. As far as I'm concerned it fits the essential criteria for me.

This is by far the most stupid comment I read in a week. Such a selfish behaviour. A second wave is inevitable because of your likes and this attitude.