Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The National Party

• Registered Users Posts: 33,188 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Probably true, but not every lefty is a socialist in the sane way not every righty is a Fascist

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

That is utter utter nonsense.

I can define myself a socialist without any reference to Engels or Marx.

Marx is dead since 1883 and Engels since 1895.

But in your world modern socialists have to inherently be interested in them.

🤣🤣🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Shoog

Never read a single word of Marx or Engels, but of course why would I been a centrist.

So is a large portion of the electorate from both sides if the political spectrum, what's your point?

The National Party is going to being back fearing God and its a good thing?

Would explain the anti-abortion policies....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,543 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

But YOU are not The Public , Beechwoodspark , no matter how much a man of the people you think you are .

Nobody here can say they speak for everyone just give our opinions, post a few links . Try to make a coherent argument for something .

Most people tend to not embarass themselves though by giving uneducated opinions , like why they support a party or politician without at least discussing what their policies are !

I don't really care who you vote for, especially as you don't seem to either .

• Registered Users Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭francois

There were of course the liberation theologians in south & central America. Archbishop Romero, murdered by the El Salvador fascist government had a great quote:

‘When I give food to the poor, they call me a saint. When I ask why the poor have no food, they call me a communist.’

• Registered Users Posts: 15,405 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Sorry … what???

I never said I am “the public” nor do I think I am!

I Havnt a bull’s notion what you are on about.

I am an undecided voter. Considering where to place my John Hancock on polling day.

That’s the whole 9 yards of it, nothing more.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,041 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Instead of clutching those pearls harder, maybe try and understand the guy(s) you're shilling for.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

We eagerly await the next right conspiracy theory or failed politician you promote in thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,503 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

Clearly you haven't.

Socialism and religion are like oil and water.

You proposed that Jesus was a socialist, which is a bit like saying dinosaurs were socialists, you're applying modern ideas to a time in the past where they didn't yet exist.

Jesus we're told, was good, so obviously he was a socialist, anyone can play that game if they like, doesn't make it any more believable.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,652 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

We both know there will be no video from Pepper about this kind of threatening behaviour. What do you see as his criteria for choosing which attacks against women he features?

• Registered Users Posts: 41,021 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I could find dozens and dozens and dozens of examples where Philip Dwyer shows himself up to be the extremist hatemongering scumbag he is. Of course people will pull you up on your shilling and pathetic attempts to sanitise an extremist hatemonger.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 12,543 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Yes I am aware you haven't a bull's notion as you have said yourself !

Anybody with an ounce of sense would look a little more closely at those they are thinking of voting for .

Unless of course you have and are just reluctant in your 'advertising' of these guys to tell all that you know, just dropping the odd untruth and hoping people take the bait ?

Which I will no more ..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Since when have you become the gatekeeper for what and who is socialist?

I mean you are wrong and and even a cursory glance at the Wikipedia page for socialism would have demonstrated that but hey ho. You gatekeep socialism in the 21st century of that's what makes you feel good.

👍🏿💪🏿

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_socialism

I just watched the first two minutes and Joe Doocey introduces himself as someone who's a victim of 24 years of corruption from the Guards, the judges, three years in prison - what is it you were saying about "no smoke without fire"…?

Had to turn it off - so much victim complex.

The other problem is that it's not about Dwyer. Dwyer is the one conducting the interview - fair enough - but you don't learn anything about him and his ideas or polcies from it.

It's also probably not a good idea to open up an inteview mentioning Jack Charlton going fishing when you're running an anti-imigration ticket.

• Registered Users Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Yakov P. Golyadkin

Acts of the Apostles 4.32-37

"32 - Now the whole group of those who believed were of one heart and soul, and no one claimed private ownership of any possessions, but everything they owned was held in common. 33 - With great power the apostles gave their testimony to the resurrection of the Lord Jesus, and great grace was upon them all. 34 - There was not a needy person among them, for as many as owned lands or houses sold them and brought the proceeds of what was sold. 35 -They laid it at the apostles’ feet, and it was distributed to each as any had need. 36 - There was a Levite, a native of Cyprus, Joseph, to whom the apostles gave the name Barnabas (which means “son of encouragement”). 37 - He sold a field that belonged to him, then brought the money, and laid it at the apostles’ feet."

Galatians 3:28

"28 There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither bond nor free, there is neither male nor female: for ye are all one in Christ Jesus."

Of course socialism as a term hadn't been coined in those times but if you really think there is no comparison between the behaviour and teachings of Jesus, the disciples, the apostles, the broader early Christian community, and socialism you should educate yourself, my friend

https://www.amazon.co.uk/All-Things-Common-Practices-Christians/dp/1532607911

• Registered Users Posts: 16,390 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Coppiner is living in la la land if she thinks she will be elected.

Hard lefters are not popular anymore in working class areas since immigration became a hot topic.

I despise left leaning parties but any sort of threatening behaviour no matter who is doing it is unacceptable and should be condemned.

To be fair, Ireland generally doesn't like far-anything. Look at any election in the past and the far left and right are really just fringe parties (assuming you put the center-marker in a reasonably balanced position, of course)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Coppiner is living in la la land if she thinks she will be elected.

To Fingal County Council? I'm not a close student of Dublin local politics but I can't believe as a former TD she's that long a shot…

• Registered Users Posts: 16,390 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

PBP are getting serious heat lately.

I just can't see her getting in.

Time will tell.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Shoog

Clearly you know nothing of jesus's life then.

• Registered Users Posts: 755 ✭✭✭concerned_tenant

All religions do.

It's funny how Christians are the only ones who get targeted (by some).

And I say that as an atheist myself.

The National Party may rally behind the Christian flag, so to speak, for all the non-good that will serve them, but what's surprising is that Christianity will be attacked in ways that no other religion is, when we can all recognize that all religions have the same core anti-liberal slant that animates their action.

Those who are deep will strive for clarity, while those who wish to appear deep strive for obscurity and seek to muddy their waters, for everything seems deep to ‘the many’ if only they can’t see the bottom - and they hate going into the water themselves.

— Friedrich Nietzsche

• Registered Users Posts: 16,583 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I aM an UnDeCidEd voTeR.

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭Hungry Burger

I have no doubt at this stage a handful of “Far Right” councillors will be elected in parts of the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 41,021 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Generally speaking they do, because liberals are more likely to believe in a more spiritual and personal connection than a higher power (should you believe one to exist) than a religious one.

The problem I have with with the national party (and the similarly minded parties) - and more so than an immigration stance - is their so-called "moral" codes. They believe in law and order, but a lot of their candidates (and an ex-leader) have criminal records, frequently for violence; Dwyer's got criminal charges for violence, animal abuse and thinks it's ok for unknown men to go into creches.

They want to bring back a ban on abortion (on what grounds can someone support them if they're an athiest?) and I can only imagine what they'll do the gay and trans community if their leader remembers Mussolini with fondness. Are they doing to abandon secularism and bring back the "special place of the catholic church"?

And that's before we get to the fabricated child kidnapping events, organised riots and threatening politicians.

Yet THESE are the guys you think can be trusted with to be upstanding moral politicians…?

Why?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,503 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

You have proof that Jesus was a socialist? Actual proof now, not just your interpretation of the Bible.

Sorry to jump in, but how do you proove anything about Jesus without the Bible? It's not like there were cameras or eyewitnesses.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,041 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

TBH, you can't even prove or disprove anything about Jesus even with the Bible.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,207 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Well, an example of Liberals using religious language/ideas is the claim in US Declaration of Independence that it is "self-evident that all men are created equal" and "that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights".

And favouring the separation of Church and State is entirely consistent with appealing to religious ideas. Remember, the orignal justification for the separation of church and state was not that it was good for the state, but that it was good for the church; separation of church and state was the cornerstone of the free exercise of religion. You can support the separation of church and state out of purely religious motivations, and lots of people do.

Obviously, there are democrats and liberals who eschew religious language and imagery but, equally, there are authoritarians and tyrants who do too — Mao, for instance, or Stalin, or the Mexican dictatorship in the 1920s and 30s.