Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EA UFC 4

• Registered Users Posts: 29,483 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Saw this on reddit, wow!

960x3chja8h51.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 21,341 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Bet there was a submission attempt from the bottom by the winner, that’s how I sealed the decision in my final round fight.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,885 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Takedown defense is bs aswell. I've pre denied some takedowns and still been taken down.

I dunno lads I don't think blitz battles is for me, it makes me too angry :D

Had a look at the trophy list earlier after finishing the blitz battle. It really is shocking in terms of depth that it looks like you can get the platinum within a week if you’re lucky enough to win a blitz.

It took me months of playing 3 religiously to get the platinum in that because of the Ultimate Team trophies, and it was actually a really great mode once you put some time and effort into it.

You don’t often see entire game modes patched in after launch these days, but that’s exactly what this game needs. The gameplay is great but there’s absolutely zero depth and what’s worse, EA have no excuse for it either.

stephenl15 wrote: »
    Takedown defense is bs aswell. I've pre denied some takedowns and still been taken down.

I dunno lads I don't think blitz battles is for me, it makes me too angry :D

I'm with ya man, made it to round 3 at best, not having a good time, lost some bull**** decisions. Will give it one more go and back to career. Will try again when it's ko mode.

martyos121 wrote: »
    Had a look at the trophy list earlier after finishing the blitz battle. It really is shocking in terms of depth.

I have no want to do OWC since i got the trophy for that. Blitz can be fun but nothing but frustration tonight. If i ever do manage to get the trophy for that, i won't be playing it much. That leaves me with career which I'd be lucky getting 3 careers out of it. Lack of modes is shocking alright. The UFC 252 challenges that look to replace live events are shyte as well, no desire to work my way through them.

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    I'm with ya man, made it to round 3 at best, not having a good time, lost some bull**** decisions. Will give it one more go and back to career. Will try again when it's ko mode.

It's a great concept though. It's addictive like I just go straight back in for another go.

But it's as frustrating for me as the weekend league in fifa and that's saying something :p

Also the commentators think Garbrandt is Maia

I have no want to do OWC since i got the trophy for that. Blitz can be fun but nothing but frustration tonight. If i ever do manage to get the trophy for that, i won't be playing it much. That leaves me with career which I'd be lucky getting 3 careers out of it. Lack of modes is shocking alright. The UFC 252 challenges that look to replace live events are shyte as well, no desire to work my way through them.

Might have to organise boards.ie fight cards every fourth Saturday to make up for the lack of live events. :pac:

Gonna try set something up next week, see if we can get some numbers for a tourney.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,083 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

If you're in ps4, give me an add zero-cool-ire or throw your psn up here, always good to have some friendly scraps.

Ive so many accounts think main one is nuts_about_zoo.

Serious crack playing with couple lads here. Went threw few epic fights Fury vs Cujudo in the kumite arena haha.

Getting a weird glitch today where I try to enter online modes and it leads me to a Join PS Plus menu in the store, even though I’m already subscribed. Very odd.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Had a fight in career the other day where everything just went black mid fight..fights still going but I cant see anything. If i paused it I could see everything again but the minute i unpaused it everything went black again. Had to restart the fight just to get it back to normal.

This definitely needs some updates or its gonna be short lived for me. Went into blitz earlier and saw it was 1 min rounds again, no thanks. Went to career and kept getting losty ranked offers but kept accepting them. I got to 11-0, all first or 2nd round finishes (hard is fairly handy so far anyway) and get offered a title shot. Another handy 1at round finish and an offer to UFC. I wanted to defend but really didn't want another 4-5 fight contact in wfa. Start in UFC rank 6 with 240k/240k, fairly nice. 1st opponent ranked 15, Jesus.

For my wfa title fight, i did the streaming session, decided I'd ko my boxing sparring for the trophy. No could do as he spent the whole spar backtracking and clinching, even took me down twice. Between that and my bjj partner who won't take me down and just wants to stand and bang, it's frustrating. Betty hard to level up my guillotine with him.

In practice mode, you can set the opponent to stand up only or takedown only and could easily be applied to your sparring partner.

Anyway, decided to give career a break and back to the main menu. Didn't fancy OWC so that was it for me, nothing else to do in it.

Edit: also to add about learning moves. I learned unorthodox chokes as soon as i could as they were the only type i didn't have. I have put zero stats into my kicks, I'm mostly boxing and subbing, but most of the moves to learn are kicks. The punches all need rank 15 in ufc and they start at 1 star which gives you little time to upgrade them. Since making it to the ufc, i checked and unlocked a bunch of fighter invites but I'm not even pushed learning any of them. They made a balls of this system imo.

Lastly, it looks like it will take forever to upgrade a move from 4 star to 5 star especially when some fights give zero evolution points even with a finish and sparring partners have no interest in helping you.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

My psn going forward is gonna be IrishWolverine10 (was IrishWolverine for my Irish account). Add me for a few scraps. Im 6hrs behind Irish time so might not catch ye that often but shout if ya see me online.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,083 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Haven't played this since Saturday I'll probably be on tommorrw bit hungover today haha.

I need to improve on the ground game though. It's the one area I tend to ignore.

Had my first UFC fight, i was ranked 6 and offered me ranked 15th Leonardo Santos. Fine, it's in my contract as a bonus to not decline any fights. Finished him in the first round. After the fight, I'm still 6th but my next fighter is none other than ranked 13 Leonardo Santos. FFS EA.

There should be a seperate trophy for Blitz Battles KO more. Mother of God I tried it yesterday, you'd want to be either extremely good or extremely lucky to win it out.

Edit: should read separate trophy not desperate :pac:

stephenl15 wrote: »
    There should be a desperate trophy for Blitz Battles KO more. Mother of God I tried it yesterday, you'd want to be either extremely good or extremely lucky to win it out.

It’s the kind of mode that you’ll be relieved you never have to play again once you get the trophy. Awful stuff.

Sorry I meant to say seperate not desperate haha.

if they could fix the judging it might make me less likely to put my controller through the screen haha like it's grand to pick up and play.

But KO mode I'm not a fan of at all.

Also, career mode is starting to get repetitive and boring. As mentioned before it takes ages to level up some moves it seems, and most of my fights don't give me any evolution points unless I level a move mid fight it seems.

I'll stay going to become the goat and might try bjj specialist on legendary next

Haven’t even touched career yet bar the few amateur fights in the introduction. Must give it a look later on but reviews on it seem to be mixed.

Bjj specialist is a lot of fun, unlocking unreal moves but the camps each week are definitely getting tedious. Might do a easy career mode next with conor as you can unlock done great kicks, make full on kickboxer.

So, who would be up for a league / tourney on ps4? Everyone fights each other (best of 3) and depending on how many people we get, we could have the top 4 in a tournament bracket. Or we would just start off in a tournament bracket. Or if anyone has suggestions?

I was thinking the best of 3 would be each person pick a division and if it goes to a 3rd, it's caf only. That way it's level playing ground whatever the division chosen.

Yeah I’m game for that.

Actually might wait for this patch to go live first! Turns out we weren't going mad thinking we were too late on takedown defense, the game was just thinking we were hitting more button inputs and therefore ignoring the defend takedown move.

https://twitter.com/ZyafYT/status/1296152626287923201?s=19

The more I play this game the more annoyed I get with it and how buggy and garbage a lot of it really is. I called it a few pages back and said after the shiny object syndrome wears off it will be back to complaining about stuff not working, career being broken and the game being buggy and I kind of wish in knowing this was gonna be case I hadnt jumped in and preordered it and waited a bit after the early access.

Playing career last night, my last fight in WFA before I went on to join the UFC. During the fight camp I had scoped the guy out completely, kickboxer with no ground game, they even told me latch on an anaconda choke and he wont be able to defend it. Start the fight and the guy is taking me down like Khabib on steroids, mauling me on the ground and slapping subs on me for fun. Had to restart it twice and in the end I resorted to just spamming him with leg kicks and then ground and pound for the win. Absolute nonsense telling me his style and weaknesses if its all a complete lie.

Ground game is broken as hell, feels unresponsive, laggy and just a matter of time before you get smashed from full mount because the fighter on top has advantage regardless of condition and your fighter forgets the ability to transition or defend.

Blitz battle judging is a joke, so hit and miss. Theres a huge lack of variety in it too. Its always the same type of fights..literally a weight class and a minute round or fight to KO.

Once I finish career ill be surprised if i play it much going forward at all unless this patch is massive, and fixes a ridiculous amount of things which is clearly never gonna happen.

Stick me down for the tourney but with time difference between you guys and myself im not sure how that will work out trying to catch each other online so if you get an even number excluding me feel free to go ahead at that.

I feel the exact same man. A game changer said it before release that this won't be a good game but will be geared towards getting good reviews. A reviewer (mma casual or noob) will turn it on, see the fun start of career mode and all the flashy stuff on the surface. So much half baked stuff in this, not sure if due to covid or not but recent remarks from devs even answering questions and there's such a whiff of "we don't give a **** about your whining".

I'll wait for this first patch and then get the tourney going but that's about it then for me unless they add to it or add more fixes.

Game feels the exact same after the patch, still can’t deny a takedown unless I predeny. This game will sadly never be great with Harrower no longer involved I fear.

EA: "have you tried not being so **** at denying takedowns?"

Patch notes. It's not listed below but a dev said jabs, straights and hooks now cause more damage, cost more stamina and suck more stamina out of your opponent. That would be big if true.

xuznhndlc7i51.jpg

Was just gonna post the same - played a few blitz battles last night and if anything the game feels worse. Felt like the game was a few moves behind when I was throwing punches or wasn't detecting each punch in a combo I would throw. Did an online fight and no difference to the takedowns as far as I could see.

Wouldn't necessarily say Harrower leaving has as big an impact as that, I am sure it had some part to play in t but the majority is more down to EA just being pure lazy and churning out what is very much the same game again when you strip back the fluff and sparkle of a few intro screens and some minor tweaks. In trying to add in something cool or new they inevitably break stuff that was working which is a common theme in Fifa which I play year after year and now seems to be the case here with UFC. Whats even worse in this case is they really seem to have removed more than they put in, between taking out UT and also silly changes to the interface and menus being removed for no reason at all. With the amount of time its take theres very little to show for it and it feels more like a large patch for UFC3 than a new and better game.

The big issue is that unfortunately with the monopoly UFC have on MMA it means we only have one MMA game on the market so there is nothing to force EA to up their game a bit and change it up. The same is happening with the WWE games, contracted to the same developers for a number of years and they dont have anyone to compete with so they just rehash the same broken game every year. With AEW in competition now with WWE fans of wrestling games are hoping that it will improve whats on offer having a choice of wrestling games and the WWE games having to up their game a bit. We are unlikely to see that with the UFC or MMA games and EA having the monopoly on sports games and a much bigger distribution than any other developer can offer means we are probably stuck with this for a good while as I cant see them signing a contract with 2K or Yukes.