Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Spain's Health Ministry reported no new deaths from the new coronavirus today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

jibber5000 wrote: »
    https://mobile.twitter.com/SorchaPollak/status/1267465666845724675

"MASSIVE turnout to Dublin's Black Lives Matter protest. Biggest demonstration I've seen in the capital in years."

This really must be the end of the restrictions. How can anybody take it seriously when there's thousands of people demonstrating in Dublin with no social distancing.

Zero chance of Harris condemning it due to the demographic of the protestors. It's a complete farce at this stage.

He should condemn it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,170 ✭✭✭prunudo

The thing is, and as I've said it on this and other versions of this thread, as much as I think we're opening too slowly, we still need to respect this virus. What happened in Dublin is irresponsible and disrespecting the front line workers.
    I think we should have started opening up on May 5th. But to the same standard as the supermarkets, scrap the distance restrictions, keep hand hygiene and cough etiquette and mask wearing where 2m cant be acheived like public transport or busy shops.
    We are not at the point where large gatherings, packed indoor events are a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Maybe go back to bashing everyone in the Atheism & Agnosticism forum like you usually do. Then go back to defending the Church in the Christianity forum when you get bored. You've struggled to convince anyone that your horror isn't related to your religious sensibilities.

You get the gold medal for the most attempts at trying to turn a thread about corona into a thread about the RCC. That must be 5 or 6 posts now? Is no one taking the bait? Try another few. If you try hard enough you’ll get there in the end. And have a happy and a holy Pentecost Sunday. God bless you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

ZX7R wrote: »
    The percentages that they release are totals from the start.
    Community transmission has dropped from 60%

Yeh sorry - hours ago but is playing on my mind today, especially after McConkey saying this morning it would be helpful to have figures for unexplained community transmission...;

Of total confirmed cases so far,
    40% of total healthcare workers
    32% of total clusters
    4% of total travel

That leaves 24% (some unknown etc in there), if I’m still able for maths.

So the total of 40% community transmission includes some of the above. What percent is the overlap?

It seems community transmission can be ‘explained’ or ‘unexplained’.

Another useless reported stat in that case.

If you tell the general public that 40% of all cases are a result of community transmission then no wonder so many don’t believe transmission in the general population has been eliminated.

Prime example of the stats bring used to manipulate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭champchamp

"MASSIVE turnout to Dublin's Black Lives Matter protest. Biggest demonstration I've seen in the capital in years."

This really must be the end of the restrictions. How can anybody take it seriously when there's thousands of people demonstrating in Dublin with no social distancing.

Zero chance of Harris condemning it due to the demographic of the protestors. It's a complete farce at this stage.

This is disgusting, after all of the work we have been doing since March and these people think it's ok to march in their thousands with no social distancing.
    What is wrong with people?
    I feel physically sick watching the video of the demonstration.
    I haven't seen my mother since March.
    Like others I've been locking myself away since all this began to flatten the curve.
    What's the point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

I'm waiting with bated breath for Tony Holohan to come out and condemn the lack of social distancing at the Dublin protest today....tick tock...

Ain't gonna happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

Yeh sorry - hours ago but is playing on my mind today, especially after McConkey saying this morning it would be helpful to have figures for unexplained community transmission...;

Of total confirmed cases so far,
    40% of total healthcare workers
    32% of total clusters
    4% of total travel

That leaves 24% (some unknown etc in there), if I’m still able for maths.

So the total of 40% community transmission includes some of the above. What percent is the overlap?

It seems community transmission can be ‘explained’ or ‘unexplained’.

Another useless reported stat in that case.

If you tell the general public that 40% of all cases are a result of community transmission then no wonder so many don’t believe transmission in the general population has been eliminated.

Prime example of the stats bring used to manipulate.

They Definitely use the stats to suit there narrative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

champchamp wrote: »
    This is disgusting, after all of the work we have been doing since March and these people think it's ok to march in their thousands with no social distancing.
    Like others I've been locking myself away since all this began to flatten the curve.
    What's the point?

More fool you for isolating yourself from a loved one for so long. You bought the dummy and experienced undue pain because of it. Don’t blame the protestors. Blame the insane restrictions on movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,687 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

What's the point?

The curve is well flattened at this stage. If I was in ireland I would definitely be seeing my mother if I wanted tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭greensheep777

splinter65 wrote: »
    have a happy and a holy Pentecost Sunday. God bless you.

Today is Monday....

prunudo wrote: »
    The thing is, and as I've said it on this thread, as much as I want to open up quicker but we still need to respect this virus. What happened in Dublin is irresponsible and disrespecting the front line workers.
    I think we should have started opening up on May 5th. But to the same standard as the supermarkets, scrap the distance restrictions, keep hand hygiene and cough etiquette and mask wearing where 2m cant be acheived like public transport or busy shops.
    We are not at the point where large gatherings, packed indoor events are a good idea.

Exactly. I think that opening up more with controls and common sense will be a positive.

I think the situation last week with the Taoiseach in the Park kind of said to people this is over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

There’s some very very strange people in Ireland I really have come to that conclusion through all this. Bonkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭champchamp

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    The curve is well flattened at this stage. If I was in ireland I would definitely be seeing my mother if I wanted tbh.

So what's the general consensus then, the restrictions are over and we just do what we want now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭mooseknunkle

The Guards had no problem going after the Debenhams workers last week protesting for the money they are owed..yet here we have this protest with how many people and not a Guard to be seen...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭greensheep777

Shame people wouldn't feel so strongly about things happening in their own country at the moment. The average American certainly doesn't concern themselves too much about anything happening in other countries.

So what's the general consensus then, the restrictions are over and we just do what we want now?

The Govt needs to bring people with them. And I think they lost people in recent weeks.

The plan is not very logical - opening business and focusing on social distancing, good hygiene practices and wearing of masks/coverings on public transport is far more effective than a free for all with house parties, unregulated businesses etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭no.8

Jayesdiem wrote:
    More fool you for isolating yourself from a loved one for so long. You bought the dummy and experienced undue pain because of it. Don’t blame the protestors. Blame the insane restrictions on movement.

Oh look...a plandemic-head. Back into your cave and sleep until your buddies next conspiracy theory pops up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,887 ✭✭✭✭road_high

no.8 wrote: »
    Oh look...a plandemic-head. Back into your cave and sleep until your buddies next conspiracy theory pops up

Surely it’s the ones mad for lockdown that should be cocooned in their caves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Sen Lynne Ruane showed up in Lidl today looking for bread dressed in a swimsuit twinned with a thigh high split sarong.
    A member of staff discreetly asked her to dress more appropriately the next time she comes.
    Totally affronted she left and got straight on the Twitter machine to complain to all her followers in an effort to get her revenge.
    Of course Lidl were on like a **** looking for the details of who where and when.
    She could have sorted it in store but no, has to be a **** about it. I hate what this country has become.
    https://twitter.com/senlynnruane/status/1267439424444477442?s=21

Fair play to her. Shíte like that should be called out. How do you know she didn't try to resolve it in the shop?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Blaze420

Penfailed wrote: »
    Fair play to her. Shíte like that should be called out. How do you know she didn't try to resolve it in the shop?

Because if she had the balls to complain in the shop it would have been resolved, she might even have got a voucher from them. Easier though to get up on the twitter soapbox and let your imbecile followers foam at the mouth about the injustice of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,887 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Nice tats. Does she suffer from the palsey?

Is that same person in the post as on her profile?!

Nice tats. Does she suffer from the palsey?

Whatever about her behaviour but you are taking the piss with a comment like that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

What an idiotic response?!? What is wrong with you Karen?In the current corona crisis when it’s prudent to expose as little flesh as possible when mixing in public, can you not see that an elected representative should
    A. Have at least tried to deal with her issue in store before she left
    B. Try to give a good example by throwing on a pair of pants and a t shirt?

How very misogynistic of you.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    Everything you say about the virus is true. The only bit you left out was the absolutely tiny chances of getting it and the even tinnier chances of dying from it, for both you and anyone you might pass it on to. That makes the behaviour of you and a surprisingly large number of people utterly irrational, particularly given our capacity to shield the vulnerable. Instead, we’ve all had to do that as the country slits it’s own wrists. Before this fabricated crisis I always thought of myself as an agoraphobic hypochondriac. Relative to the general population, I am neither of those things.

The case numbers in Ireland have stayed below a certain unmanageable level because of severe restrictions that kept the rate of transmission between people relatively low. Without them put in place your chances of contracting the virus wouldn't be so low.

The fact of 1600+ plus deaths would suggest to me that the chances of people dying from it are a bit higher than you think.

And how bad do you think the rate could be without restrictions in place? I'm sure all the relatives of all of the dead can take some solace in the fact that the odds of their family members deaths were miniscule.

If I get it and give it to two people and each of them gives it to two people and each of them... Then pretty quickly - it won't take long - you have over a hundred people infected and statistically probably one of those infected will die. And bare in mind that the R0 rate in mid March was estimated to be around 4. I may not die, but it's very easy to unwittingly infect others and for a lot of people to all become infected off that initial infection and sooner or later someone dies as a direct result. I don't think it's a very big sacrifice for me to be careful and restrictive in my movements if it helps to save someone's life down the line.

People talk a lot about "shielding the vulnerable" as if it's a piece of cake: you just click your fingers and this easily defined uniform group stays inside for an indefinite period of time: or at least until you know the virus isn't circulating around in the wider community. And if there's no restrictions on anyone else - which you appear to be arguing for - then we can assume the virus will be circulating for a not insignificant period of time.

And define vulnerable. Who are these vulnerable people who will be under indefinite house arrest. The old? The over 65's? The obese? People needing treatment for serious disease? People awaiting surgery? Asmathics? People with developmenal issues - all of these groups are statistically vulnerable - and there's a lot of them. And what about the people they live with, or their carers or their nurses or doctors. You're going to have to shield them too if there's no controls placed on the spread of the virus in the community.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

If it was a white person no one give a fcuk

mean gene wrote: »
    If it was a white person no one give a fcuk

Love this quote from Paul Murphy
    In case any of my twitter followers don't know this (and you could be forgiven because of how the media talks about it), ANTIFA is not an "organization". It means Anti-Fascism. If you're against fascism, you're ANTIFA.

No Paul, it just means you are a C.U.N.T

Today is Monday....

Not where I am.

We’re never coming out of lockdown until it’s a financial necessity, as we are absolute cowards. The numbers go up a small bit and everybody is panicking, despite the fact that we have literally 1 to 2 deaths this weekend . Curtain twitchers are outraged due to a protest in Dublin today for a great cause.

I worked for AIB up until fairly recently. The company was already struggling a bit before Covid. I’m hearing from old colleagues that they are getting instructed to stop handing out pay holidays on mortgages and loans. It’s just unsustainable for the bank. I assume the same applies to extending.

Hopefully things like this will start to force people to focus their fears on other issues, such as losing your home or going bankrupt.

Eventually people will be forced to choose which is worse.... potentially catching a bout of an illness that is mild for a huge majority or not been able to afford your mortgage payments / risk of losing home.

Penfailed wrote: »
    How very misogynistic of you.

Can my husband go into Lidl in his Speedos so ?