Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Normal People, is it realistic?

• 12-05-2020 10:56am
    Registered Users Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭

This is not about normal people as such more about the themes of it.

I have watched bits of it a bit moody for me. I am ancient so maybe I do not get it, so what I am wondering is, is it a realistic portrait of a teenage/ twenties relationship in Irish society?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

mariaalice wrote: »

I have watched bits of it a bit moody for me. I am ancient so maybe I do not get it, so what I am wondering is, is it a realistic portrait of a teenage/ twenties relationship in Irish society?
    Honestly its the most boring thing i have seen on Irish telly in a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,588 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Honestly its the most boring thing i have seen on Irish telly in a while.

What?

cj maxx wrote: »
    What?

Normal/Boring people. My god it was a yawn fest.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

It seems pretty accurate for me. A lot of Conal rang through.
    I wouldn't have been as smart as him but as a young lad I and I'm sure many other lads were big ****es when it came to telling a woman how we feel or even admitting to our friends if we found someone attractive unless they were universally accepted as being attractive.
    Not sure how far the Rte version is on but there's more things he goes through later in the series doubting himself that was basically me for the first half of my 20's.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

You might want to get a better thread title and capitalize “Normal People” and state it’s a tv show that you’re talking about. It’s a very confusing opening post tbh if you’ve never heard of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I'm not sure if the relationship is typical, but the characters definitely are.

I absolutely cannot stand the male character, he reminds me so much of all of the wooden personality voids that I went to school with. Dead eyes, emotionless monotone conversation. Which is probably to the actor's credit.

She definitely reminds me strongly of many people I went to college with, who used the new found freedom as an excuse to be overly pretentious and intellectual.

There's not much groundbreaking in the relationship tbh. Most peoples' first sexual experiences are between 16 and 21, and they're often ill-advised, awkward affairs.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,501 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Thread title has been edited to something slightly less like clickbaity waffle :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,976 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

I think it is, probably too realistic for TV, given the conversations can be awkward and stunted, but that's what people talk like in awkward situations.
    I think it's very slow and plodding, but life for most is slow and plodding.

Honestly I see a lot of my own teenage experiences there.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Thread title has been edited to something slightly less like clickbaity waffle :mad:

I am inclined to have a bit of a waffley style of communication makes life interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,460 ✭✭✭vandriver

Still at school and driving his own car on a full license.That strained credibility just too far.

Padre_Pio wrote: »
    I think it is, probably too realistic for TV, given the conversations can be awkward and stunted, but that's what people talk like in awkward situations.
    I think it's very slow and plodding, but life for most is slow and plodding.

Honestly I see a lot of my own teenage experiences there.

It dose capture that aspect very well.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭highdef

I've no idea what you're on about. I'm a fairly normal person, I think, if that helps.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,564 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Mary: "It was like porn Joe"

Joe: "Sure what would yeh see in a porno Mary?"

vandriver wrote: »
    Still at school and driving his own car on a full license.That strained credibility just too far.

Not a N plate either, so he must be a bit slow? At least 19 and in school!

Maybe its our Americanised saturated media where its all shiny glossy people that make Normal people such a contrast and seem plodding.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,788 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I'd a car in school and I wasn't what you'd call affluent.

Few people had them back then too. This was a community mixed school.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,976 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Not a N plate either, so he must be a bit slow? At least 19 and in school!

He's from Sligo, different rules hai!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

Give him a break, he's 30 :D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,725 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Every character in it is a lazy stereotype, just a slightly different lazy stereotype to other shows, and some of the storytelling is just insulting, but it nails a few things, and shure there's the debs like, remember the debs...... But overall style over substance.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

Eh? It's pretty common for people to have their own cars and drive to school in Ireland, both north and south. You can drive at 17, so what's weird about a final year secondary student driving on a full licence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭unhappys10

I had my full licence in the Feb of the year I did the leaving, I turned 18 the following May.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭megaten

Friend of mine managed it around the same time the book is set. Did every single thing the minute he was eligible for it and passed his driving test when he was 18 or a bit after.

It is in NO way representative of my teen years.

Popular Guys didn't go for 'unpopular' but intelligent girls. They went for popular girls.

If any guy DID get off with a girl no matter WHO the **** that girl was he was telling everyone he got off with someone.

There was way way less money.

There was way way more drugs.

There was way more stealing things.

There was also way more craic and being daft in my teen years.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

The secondary school episodes are set in 2011/2012, had they already brought out the N plates by then?

It is in NO way representative of my teen years.

Popular Guys didn't go for 'unpopular' but intelligent girls. They went for popular girls.

If any guy DID get off with a girl no matter WHO the **** that girl was he was telling everyone he got off with someone.

There was way way less money.

There was way way more drugs.

There was way more stealing things.

Weirdly, it's not about you.

Fairly realistic I'd imagine ........... from outside looking in, boring as fnck.
    From an entertainment viewpoint, not great. Maybe it appeals to folk in their teens?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭MoonUnit75

Maybe its our Americanised saturated media where its all shiny glossy people that make Normal people such a contrast and seem plodding.

Well it's a soap opera with more sex, mood music and all of the light hearted stuff taken out. If you explained the storyline to someone who never saw it there's nothing really in there that you wouldn't expect in Home and Away or Neighbours. I guess the glacial pacing makes the impact on the main characters more real. But they are all stereotypes and no one really develops in any meaningful way.

I guess it ticks a lot of nostalgia boxes and
    the lack of any conclusion
    means it lingers on afterwards. Everyone can relate to
    'the one who got away'

The secondary school episodes are set in 2011/2012, had they already brought out the N plates by then?

Nope. They came in in 2014.

Weirdly, it's not about you.
    No but i would say my teens are fairly universal.

Augeo wrote: »
    Fairly realistic I'd imagine ........... from outside looking in, boring as fnck.
    From an entertainment viewpoint, not great. Maybe it appeals to folk in their teens?

Ya ...like TWILIGHT!