Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So who has actually saved money during the lockdown?

Options
123457»

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 19,398 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I'm terrified of the budget in October.

It'll be sooner than that and yes, me too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭pinkyeye

rahmalec wrote: »
    Lads, what kind of jobs do ye have, apart from those in essential jobs, that allows ye working from home, and is pretty secure in all of this?

I'm an accountant for a Nursing Home.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭uli84

I’m saving but I’d rather have normal life and NOT save

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

I have saved about 600euro which I have paid down against my credit card and loan,
    I hope to clear the rest of the loan by the time I go back to work on a client site, currently working from home (software based role)

Big savings for me are not spending on cinema,nights out,eating out,

• Registered Users Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

I'm terrified of the budget in October.

With oil prices low, the room to whack us for carbon tax will be a super low-hanging fruit for them, especially if Eamon Ryan is anywhere near the levers of power. Expect to see a 8c hike.

While it doesn't seem much now, if oil rebounds later in the year or early 2021 to around €60 per barrel then €1.45 diesel and €1.61 petrol will be the norm with those extra taxes.

• Advertisement

I simply can't understand all of these people saying that they're saving more on creche bills than going to work.

For gods sake don't go to work if it only pays a creche!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,697 ✭✭✭antimatterx