Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chips?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,692 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

s1ippy wrote: »

Home cut oven chips are the business, the fried yokes are absolute heart attacks.

Oven chips can feck off with themselves

• Registered Users Posts: 2,697 ✭✭✭thomas 123

We also love spuds. 🥔

And chips are made from spuds.

Spuds.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭stevek93

The family had chippers all over the place up until the late 90s so I know how to make a good chip ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

PsychoPete wrote: »
    Oven chips can feck off with themselves

disgusting things

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

disgusting things

Aldi sells these. They are by far the best oven chips I’ve tried. They come almost fully cooked in beef dripping, and you just throw them into a very hot oven to crisp up.

97-FF6-ACF-ADF6-4705-AE80-1-D368588-C7-BC.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Feisar

Aldi sells these. They are by far the best oven chips I’ve tried. They come almost fully cooked in beef dripping, and you just throw them into a very hot oven to crisp up.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,747 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

You're missing a smoked cod and a litre of chilled milk to wash it down!

And real butter, none of that marg crap

• Registered Users Posts: 13,331 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I think I'll have some chunky maris piper frozen oven chips for lunch today and douse them in either salt & vinegar or some Frank's :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭ablelocks

We used to spend probably 200 quid a week on fast food or restaurants.

da ****! that's €10k a year.

you didn't really, did you?

[/url]

was only looking at these last night, but got their frozen, potato skin still one ones to try instead. they were very nice, as oven chips go.

but will try these tomorrow with our bbq

• Registered Users Posts: 13,331 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Hot salty vinegary chips = gorgeous

You know you have the right amount of vinegar when it starts leaking out of the bottom of the brown bag

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Chipper chips are disgusting. Soggy, undercooked and tasteless. That was not always the way, but slowly the art of the chipper was lost.

The nicest I had was in Belgium where they fry them twice making them extra crispy.

We also find it hard to get proper brown & crispy chips here, and even when we ask, it seems to be a major effort to get them the way we like em (not white wet & soggy).

We holiday in Wales quite a lot and they have it sussed, always brown and crispy instead of white & soggy, might be something to do with our chip shops soaking the chips in bucket of water before cooking?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Chipper chips are disgusting. Soggy, undercooked and tasteless. That was not always the way, but slowly the art of the chipper was lost.

The nicest I had was in Belgium where they fry them twice making them extra crispy.

Can any of the culinary wizards explain what makes some chips go super soggy?

There's a chipper near me that does the frying them three times thing and they're lovely and crispy.

... I've just answered your soggy question above^

RWCNT wrote: »
    Can any of the culinary wizards explain what makes some chips go super soggy?

There's a chipper near me that does the frying them three times thing and they're lovely and crispy.

The oil isn’t hot enough and firing them into a foil lined brown paper bag causes the steam to make them go soggy almost instantly.

Most of those Macari type places just aren’t that nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I honestly don't miss takeaways and restaurants any more. Even if the dinner is middling, we're eating whatever dessert we want foookin FRESH

First one is Apple and rhubarb crumble pie from today. My nana used to make it the same and it's her 96th birthday.

511513.jpg

Second one is homemade ice cream sandwich. The biscuits are calamondin orange and the ice cream is banana and chocolate.

Two more things I'm never again going to be interested in purchasing instead of making. We used to spend probably 200 quid a week on fast food or restaurants.

Home cut oven chips are the business, the fried yokes are absolute heart attacks.

Seriously? :eek:

I like my takeaways because they are an infrequent enough treat for us. Probably averages out at 1-2 per month. We go through bursts but that would be the average. I think takeaways generally don't represent good value for money. Restaurants are different. You are paying for extras like not having to wash up plates and getting out and about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

• Registered Users Posts: 10,298 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Classic!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

We also find it hard to get proper brown & crispy chips here, and even when we ask, it seems to be a major effort to get them the way we like em (not white wet & soggy).

We holiday in Wales quite a lot and they have it sussed, always brown and crispy instead of white & soggy, might be something to do with our chip shops soaking the chips in bucket of water before cooking?

The reason they soak them in water is to remove some of the starch, which causes them to stick together when cooking, it also stops fresh cut chips from discoloration.
    Will be chipping here later as its FRIDAY, always cooked twice, until the ends start to turn light brown, with beans eggs and a few bottles of beer.

might be something to do with our chip shops soaking the chips in bucket of water before cooking?

this - potatoes shouldn't be kept in water for any length of time, once peeled and cut, they should be rinsed to remove excess starch and then dried and cooked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I've never actually met someone who doesn't like chips :eek:

Chips are the absolute best food. No contest. Just about to have some home made ones now.

I love chipper chips but only have them about once a year, usually at the seaside. I think it's the first thing I'll do when it's safe to go about again, regardless of the weather.

ablelocks wrote: »
    this - potatoes shouldn't be kept in water for any length of time, once peeled and cut, they should be rinsed to remove excess starch and then dried and cooked

Ah ha, so maybe there is some merit in my observation, whereby our local chip shop keeps buckets of chips in water for God knows how long?
    They seem to be pre cut during the day, the water is then drained as an when they pour the chips into the fat...
    I don't know the system in Wales (holidays) but their chips are always much browner & crispier, than our white-waterlogged mushy chips :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Just having crispy oven chips now with southern fried chicken done in oven too.
    Perfect.

Do love chipper chips just can't justify price at the best if times so very happy with SuperValu oven ibes.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,370 ✭✭✭Homelander

Can't believe someone in this thread said Burger King have the best chips in Ireland.

I don't eat proper chips from the chipper very often, but they're unbelievable with a bit of vinegar.

Oven chips are nice enough too if you make them yourself. Frozen ones are grand, but wouldn't eat them too often. Must try those Aldi ones someone mentioned.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,692 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Just having crispy oven chips now with southern fried chicken done in oven too.
    Perfect.

Do love chipper chips just can't justify price at the best if times so very happy with SuperValu oven ibes.:)

How much are you paying for chips ? They are €2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Exactly. Chips are great value I think, especially compared to other takeaway food. It's the calories I can't justify, not the price!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,470 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

cj maxx wrote: »
    I do mine in the air fryer.
    Brush with oil, 160% then up it to 180/200. Grand.

I tired ths once, but they came out very dry.
    Maybe I did not brush enough oil on them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Feisar

Apparently there is something intrinsically nyom nyom nyom about a fat and carb combo.

First they came for the socialists...

I wouldn't be a huge fans of chipper chips, so I order 2 battered sausages, a cheese burger, and a can of coke after the pub. They tend to fire in a shovel of chips into the top of the bag anyways.

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭Borgo

McCain Triple Cooked Gastro Chips. That is all.