Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Anyone willing to admit they're already starting to relax restrictions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,353 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

If I can go to my local Centra to pick up bread and milk,but have to queue to get in and follow social isolation, then I don't know why I can't go to Woodies to get a new toilet seat to fix the broken one, or PowerCity to get a replacement steam mop for my broken one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,599 ✭✭✭Harika

Brought children to Grand parents for child minding after weeks of keeping them away. Management told me it's easy to mind children, she and her partner deal with one. Myself with two (under 5), lip service is paid to take my situation in consideration but nothing changes. Same work load. Giving up job was no solution.
    Stone me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,477 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

during which progressively fewer and fewer people will obey restrictions

And I'm sure those idiots will be dealt with. As the eejits love to bleat this cant go on. There will be a point where the eejits will have to be dealt with. Fines or docking any payments they get. Let their stupidity help the economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭Benimar

Which will extend lockdown further. Do people who are breaking the restrictions not see this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,268 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Exactly , telling the very people who are actually breaking it that they will increase the lockdown will only make them break it more .They need to deal with the breakers
    But in my opinion they also need to give those of us who are diligent a chink of light

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,268 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Benimar wrote: »
    Which will extend lockdown further. Do people who are breaking the restrictions not see this??

No they don’t . It won’t work because those already breaking it will continue breaking it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,064 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Hopefully those breaking the restrictions will choose to give up their hospital bed when things go out of control due to their selfishness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

If I can go to my local Centra to pick up bread and milk,but have to queue to get in and follow social isolation, then I don't know why I can't go to Woodies to get a new toilet seat to fix the broken one, or PowerCity to get a replacement steam mop for my broken one.

Because by doing that you would literally be killing people. You would be the next Pol Pot.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

pjohnson wrote: »
    And I'm sure those idiots will be dealt with. As the eejits love to bleat this cant go on. There will be a point where the eejits will have to be dealt with. Fines or docking any payments they get. Let their stupidity help the economy.
    Good luck with that P. The Guards don't have the resources and there's feck all political will to handle a few existing areas of crime as it is, they wouldn't have a hope of handling widespread low level flouting of the restrictions. It's a bit farcical when a group of travellers arrives from the UK on the 9th of this month, long after "lockdown" and sets up an illegal camp on the Curragh. "Agencies are liaising" apparently. You couldn't make this level of incompetence up. This demonstrates our zero border health checks, zero quarantine options, never mind testing has been a fcuking farce at times and contact tracing is minimal. IE the usual half arsed mediocre "action" from what passes for our authorities. If Ireland had the population densities of Italy or Spain we'd be in serious trouble.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

I’m sticking to it. Haven’t left the 2km, even to go shopping (which I know is allowed!). I live in a city near a big park so very lucky. I know loads of people breaking the rules though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭tuisginideach

It’s the arrogance, ignorance and selfishness of certain people that gets me down, not the fact that I have to do my walk within 2 k of my home and without friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

so its just going to be perpetual lockdown then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭sterz

silverharp wrote: »
    Each to their own , I find it boring walking or otherwise doing laps. In theory I could walk 15 times around my block to get in 11 or 12K , realistically I wouldnt do it.

Well, it's not each to their own though really, is it. This will go on a lot longer when there's people like you not giving a f*ck about the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭LadySkunk

I genuinely cannot believe how absolutely selfish and irresponsible people are being. It’s infuriating reading posts by people saying “it’s all being blown out of proportion”. No it’s not, people are dying everyday from this virus and so many more will if and when restrictions are lifted and as a direct result of all you people taking it easy and carrying on as if life is normal.

Just look at other countries who are badly effected by this with hundreds of people dying daily, whole families being wiped out and mass graves being used because there are more dead bodies than they know what to do with. It’s heartbreaking to see and no we’re not like that in the general public but that’s because of the measures our government has put in place.

When everybody just does what they want to and restrictions are lifted because the government have no other choice more people are going to get sick and more people are going to die and it’s not just going to be the elderly that are effected by this and a hell of a lot of people are going to get some smack of reality

I get that people are losing it, I’m losing my mind here but I have enough cop on to see the bigger picture and suck it up until a time when it will be safer for the majority of people on this island

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭Benimar

If people could just stick to the current restrictions some might be lifted as early as 11 days time! If not, then yes, lockdown might have to continue.

I want restrictions lifted ASAP, but fear they won’t be because of a handful of idiots.

Again it depends on the idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

I was in one of Dunnes Stores branches in Athlone earlier this week doing some grocery shopping.There were two women yapping away to each other in one of the aisles.Thankfully one of the staff told them they were not allowed to do that and to move on,as they moved up the aisle they still were chatting.Selfish bitches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

pjohnson wrote: »
    Again it depends on the idiots.

so you foresee a potential situation, if the idiots continue to disobey, in which the lockdown is permanent?

Well no they would eventually just Darwin themselves out. The organiser of one of the gun-toting freedom protests in America caught the virus himself and died. His disciples then seemed to have the epiphany that the virus is dangerous and stopped their protest (or just got infected themselves).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

I've been following the restrictions, going out to work. Only going to the shop when I have to which is about twice a week. Washing/disinfecting shopping. Showering and changing clothes after being outside to the shops. Wearing face mask in public.

I can't imagine doing any type of lockdown a hundred years ago... What did they do without internet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Took the kids for a run around on the beach (inside the 2km) but as theyre tiny we drove there (as did about 20 other families judging by the cars parked across the road).

Got stopped at a checkpoint outside our house and got a warning from a guard. According to him, walking to the beach and all the social contact that entails is fine, but driving there and encountering no one on the journey is prohibited. Does that make sense to anyone?

I get it, everyone finds a way to justify their own behaviour but i) I didnt know I was doing something wrong at the time, and ii) what I did seems safer than what I was told to do.

No issues with the beach itself, lots of neighbours were up there and gardai are asking where they live - if within 2km they've said its fine.

If people could just stick to the current restrictions some might be lifted as early as 11 days time! If not, then yes, lockdown might have to continue.

I want restrictions lifted ASAP, but fear they won’t be because of a handful of idiots.

I would say it's more than just a handful, while we Irish can be compliant there's a lot in society who just have very little respect for others and would prefer to give the 2 fingers than the time of day. Take my neighbours for instance, they have an awful attitude towards others at the best of times, all of them right now in the neighbours house on the other side of me, from three different households. I could challenge them but it fall on deaf ears and there would be repercussions afterwards, I could report them, but they already have a track record of taking revenge.

ps, just to add, I hate these damn restrictions, there's one or two I really want them ease up on, the 2km travel rule and the adding of car servicing facilities to the essential services list if the garages themselves are safe to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭VonLuck

The argument "what difference is going insert distance here going to make compared to 2km" is just nonsensical. The reason it was specified by the government is to limit the spread between communities / areas.

The government knows that a minority of people are not going to follow the rules, or that they will push the limits a bit and that is manageable. If say 1 in 20 people go 3km for their jog, the risk is minimal. But if the government actually told the public that 3km is low risk, then everyone would be out doing it, then the risk would increase.

Just be sensible and try to follow the restrictions in so far as is possible so that we don't have to endure this any longer than necessary.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭trapp

LadySkunk wrote: »
    I genuinely cannot believe how absolutely selfish and irresponsible people are being. It’s infuriating reading posts by people saying “it’s all being blown out of proportion”. No it’s not, people are dying everyday from this virus and so many more will if and when restrictions are lifted and as a direct result of all you people taking it easy and carrying on as if life is normal.

Just look at other countries who are badly effected by this with hundreds of people dying daily, whole families being wiped out and mass graves being used because there are more dead bodies than they know what to do with. It’s heartbreaking to see and no we’re not like that in the general public but that’s because of the measures our government has put in place.

When everybody just does what they want to and restrictions are lifted because the government have no other choice more people are going to get sick and more people are going to die and it’s not just going to be the elderly that are effected by this and a hell of a lot of people are going to get some smack of reality

I get that people are losing it, I’m losing my mind here but I have enough cop on to see the bigger picture and suck it up until a time when it will be safer for the majority of people on this island

Dear oh dear my poor friend.

Suck it up but for how long?

This could last years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,774 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Is it ok if I do a 90mins loop walk, where full distance is 9.5km but the full route is within the 2km radius from my home as the crow flies??
    There wouldn’t normally be police checkpoints on this route as it’s fairly rural in most parts. But they will be out more this wknd. Can they arrest me for this??
    Today was my first day to do this, it was actually my first bit of exercise since all this started. I need to do this near every day as have gone out of shape, tho my legs are still bit sore from this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,476 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Took the kids for a run around on the beach (inside the 2km) but as theyre tiny we drove there (as did about 20 other families judging by the cars parked across the road).

Got stopped at a checkpoint outside our house and got a warning from a guard. According to him, walking to the beach and all the social contact that entails is fine, but driving there and encountering no one on the journey is prohibited. Does that make sense to anyone?

I get it, everyone finds a way to justify their own behaviour but i) I didnt know I was doing something wrong at the time, and ii) what I did seems safer than what I was told to do.

No issues with the beach itself, lots of neighbours were up there and gardai are asking where they live - if within 2km they've said its fine.

Can see it from both points of view really.
    For yourself you think its safer , from the gardai point of view it's a non essential journey that you could do by foot as its exercise.

No right or wrong answer I would think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭tuisginideach

Is it ok if I do a 90mins loop walk, where full distance is 9.5km but the full route is within the 2km radius from my home as the crow flies??
    There wouldn’t normally be police checkpoints on this route as it’s fairly rural in most parts. But they will be out more this wknd. Can they arrest me for this??
    Today was my first day to do this, it was actually my first bit of exercise since all this started. I need to do this near every day as have gone out of shape, tho my legs are still bit sore from this morning.

Of course it is! Why on earth would you be arrested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Can see it from both points of view really.
    For yourself you think its safer , from the gardai point of view it's a non essential journey that you could do by foot as its exercise.

No right or wrong answer I would think

Unfortunately he had the badge and I didnt, so it turned out he was right :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

You should buy them a packet of crisps on the way back. That way you can genuinely say that you have been shopping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Problem I have is, if this weekend is a free for all Petri dish out there, it won’t be picked up before the 5th. Things might be looking great on the 5th, they ease up a bit, then numbers jump within a few days.

It’s like turning the taps on for a bath but you can’t see how hot or cold the water is for about 2 weeks.