Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Shocking

Shockingly bad editing you mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭jrosen

I was expecting and hoping to have some restrictions lifted, maybe some return to work for some services. (for selfish reasons). Maybe the over 70's to be allowed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

More and more people realising that we are being manipulated and the numbers managed .
    Now suddenly the criteria for testing has changed so more will be tested and more will be positive . The HSE wont have tracing in place and once again we will be told we didn’t do well enough . I smell
    Bull****

It was a pun on that poster's name.....

yeah I got that (golf) .... it wasn't that post I was talking about... ....it was a later one suggesting poster "suck it up, grow a pair" or something along those lines(it might not have been yours and if not I apologize).
    Its becoming a tired and lazy cliche at this stage and hugely disrespectful to many decent and genuine posters who have as much a right as anyone else to say how they feel about whats going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭fawlty682

The virus will not disappear in a month or months. We must learn to control it and live with it. That’s why decisions must be made like other countries, but we will be lucky to be free again by September with NPHET. Good point on more testing. It will result in more cases, justifying restrictions. I’m not 70 plus but they must be released somewhat.

polesheep wrote: »
    Shockingly bad editing you mean.

Oh i see the editiors made the chairs look side by side and elbows rub off each other !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,015 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

More and more people realising that we are being manipulated and the numbers managed .
    Now suddenly the criteria for testing has changed so more will be tested and more will be positive . The HSE wont have tracing in place and once again we will be told we didn’t do well enough . I smell
    Bull****

Ah dont get this thread banished to CT completely.

There used to be some grasp on reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,679 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Sean 18 wrote: »
    The lockdown will probably go on till they find a vaccine we don't even know if infected people make antibodies and now children getting sick with some inflammatory disease and the people in power think all this was caused by somebody eating a bat no way that lab in Wuhan should be searched from top to bottom

*facepalm*

Conspiracy thread thataway >>>

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

GazzaL wrote: »

They've all already had the vacine so they're fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,385 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

thebaz wrote: »
    Holohan seams to be running the country now - as the majority of us face up to economic devasation, those of us NOT lucky eneogh to be public servants - everywhere else is loosening ther lockdowns, but Ireland will just hunker down for a few more months - Nanny state becoming an economic banana republic.
    Everywhere? Not true is the UK loosening theirs?
    Plenty of others are putting plans in place to loosen but they had much stricter lockdowns and have had a much tougher time e.g. spain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

The poster I responded too set the tone with his rant.

'He started it'..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    How many of those 76 arrests were cyclists then?

According to the CSO, cyclists made up 75 of those arrests. Other arrest was a unicyclist and was not counted as a cyclist due to cyclist protestations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,027 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

pjohnson wrote: »
    So its never been in Ireland then this is just a cover up?

Jaysus you fell hard into conspiracy drunkmonkey.

We could all be in the Truman show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Oh i see the editiors made the chairs look side by side and elbows rub off each other !!

Look at the scene where Harris is supposedly beside Holohan. Note the size and angle differences. Then note that as Harris sits back, part of him momentarily disappears to accommodate Holohan. Somebody has been fooling around on the edit suite.

SusieBlue wrote: »
    Lockdown was never supposed to make the virus die off. If I genuinely thought another month of lockdown would get rid of the thing I would gladly do it & support the cause for the greater good of everyone.
    The reality is that the virus is here to stay until we build up antibodies, and find a cure or a vaccine. No amount of staying at home will make it go away.

The purpose of the lockdown was to buy time to prepare the health system for the influx of cases, organise additional beds and implement social distancing protocol to the general public. That was it. That was the end goal and we have done what we set out to do.

A startling number of people seem to believe the purpose of it was to ‘kill off’ the virus and won’t be happy easing the lockdown until cases go down to zero and that’s never going to happen.

Didn't say zero. That might never be possible (or a long time away as no vaccine can be found).

Lockdown strategy is multi pronged. Yes part of that is preparing the health service and acting as a gate to slow things down and stop the system becoming overwhelmed. Part of that also involves ensuring it doesn't thrive and will make sure there isn't as many active cases, meaning it dies down a bit. As this happens, presumably we can start to ease off some of the restrictions, but being mindful that it can flare up at any point (until there is a vaccine). Some restrictions won't be able to be lifted at all until this happens.

I don't believe we are at that stage yet and expect some more of the same into May and possibly the start of June. But it's an ongoing situation and developing all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Spencer Brown

So its never been in Ireland then this is just a cover up?

Jaysus you fell hard into conspiracy drunkmonkey.

Do you have anything to add or is your only move to put down other posters?

Feel free to report my post again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,027 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

It's ok I get his humour, not half as dark as mine.

Do you have anything to add or is your only move to put down other posters?

Feel free to report my post again.

I didnt dunno how to on touch. But sure it a nice new conspiracy for ya!

Archeron wrote: »
    I'm sharing a household with two family members, one of whom is a manic depressive and the other a violent chronic alcoholic. I've done everything ive been asked to do for the past seven weeks and have been so much looking forward to this Friday to see some light at the end of the tunnel. My only escape generally is to f*ck off to the mountains on my own every couple of weeks to get some respite. In recent weeks my job has fired 90% of my team and moved the workload to those remaining, meaning I now am expected to work a 16 hour day and I am questioned if I take a lunch break. I receive emails at 9pm with a warning that I have a two hour deadline to respond. And in addition I'm being threatened every day that my job is on the line if I don't do exactly what I'm told to do, and I should be grateful to still have a job, if I lose it, I'm the only earner in the house and will not be able to pay my mortgage. I have foregone some food shopping to try and squirrel away some money to an extra months mortgage. I have lost 15% of my body weight (I wasn't overweight to start so that's not a good thing)

Despite everything I've stayed as happy as can be and been positive to any friends ive spoken to, in the hope, the ever living hope that this week would see some semblance of a plan and conscious that we all need to support each other through this.

No apparent view of the future, no plan, no vision. I hate to say this on a public thread but on my solo inside 2km exercise today, I stopped at the river and gazed so deeply into its depths. As I walked awayfrom it, conscious of my family responsibilities, a passing jogger ran past me and coughed in my face. (Not intentially)

I don't want the pubs to open, I don't care that I'm hairier than cousin it from the addams family, I don't care about most things but I want to know that our government have some idea what is going to happen. I need to see a plan to get through this and not a never ending, sure two more weeks and we'll see what happens. For me, every day in work is constant fear and every day off work means nothing more than additional sleep during which I have horrible, terrifying nightmares.

I appreciate this is new to us all and we have to learn from others experiences, and i appreciate this is here to stay. But to all of those who say that were nothing but a bunch of pub missing hairdresser attending snowflakes, I assure you the reality for some is awful. As I saw on a recent meme, as I lie me down to sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to keep, and if I die before I wake, good.

I will continue to do as advised and continue to follow the rules but please stop being so dismissive of other peoples circumstances and the reasons why some are beginning to creak at the edges.

Have you anyone outside those mentioned here to talk to. These are dark days with potentially more to come, by to we will get through it. Might not seem it now, but soon we will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

GolfNut33 wrote: »
    I struggle mentally sometimes and I spend most of my free time outdoors, either playing golf, walking the dogs or out with the kids. I don't do well at home for extended periods of time. Christmas can be a nightmare for me.

Golf is a huge part of my life, so yes, I would love a round. I'm also a father and business owner. My kids are doing reasonably well but the frustration is building. I've built up the business for the past 15 years and I'm currently looking at it slipping away as each week passes.

I`m with you here, could be a replica of my current situation. I figured I could cope with the business standing still for a month or maybe 2 but now its all starting to slip away. I`m staring at the situation that if I am still at this level in another month then things will really start to crumble.

What a lot of these sanctimonious posters on here don`t realise is that normal business is not going to start again like turning on a tap. They seem to think that being allowed back to work is getting an e-mail to say start work on Monday at 9 and off we go again.

Business will have to change, I`m going to have to change, I don`t know what the landscape will be, I will have to adapt and find a way but it will take time. Life is not going to be the same.

Best wishes to all fellow self employed and keep the faith

760 offences uncovered at the garda checkpoints.

No suprise that some were so annoyed by the gardai doing their jobs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

gmisk wrote: »
    Everywhere? Not true is the UK loosening theirs?
    Plenty of others are putting plans in place to loosen but they had much stricter lockdowns and have had a much tougher time e.g. spain

But look at Spain’s plan. Yes it’s optimistic, and it’s weeks away from even starting, but there is lots of hope in it, with doses of reality. It starts slow but works until June when restaurants will be open, even mentions hotels. Dates and all. Italy’s plan even includes small groups being allowed to visit family.

Even if we just had some hope, and some heavy reality... like phase 1 is X, phase 2 is Y. The reality is those that can work from home, etc, will probably be at home til September, myself included. Yet I’ve people in work talking about being in the office when the restrictions are lifted, thinking it will be soon.

Radio silence from Leo for this long is a joke, with the odd dig to the public that we’re not doing enough.

I’ve been at home since the start of March and count myself lucky I’m still employed and can work from home, and even still I find this infuriating even tho it will make very little difference to me and I’m here for the foreseeable. Can’t imagine the toll on others, even if an announcement doesn’t help everyone immediately, it will at least buy them a bit more patience. I hope. At this stage even if they levelled with everyone and just said we need testing in place before we can make a move. That Irish times article today was spot on, making the nation stay home and then blaming them is bull****.

If there is no restrictions lifting on Tuesday and no plan or road I can almost guarantee that people will make their own minds up and go meet family . It won’t work unless they bring people back on board and onside
    They are loosing the support now because of their diddering

kenmm wrote: »
    Have you anyone outside those mentioned here to talk to. These are dark days with potentially more to come, by to we will get through it. Might not seem it now, but soon we will.

You see this is the bit I'm struggling with...........what is "soon" and who says it will be "soon"? Three weeks from now (for me) is not soon, it feels like forever after the previous 7 weeks (I was self isolating in early March) :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    How many of those 76 arrests were cyclists then?

No idea.
    But if the guards want evidence of indiscretion, Strava is a treasure trove of evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

760 offences uncovered at the garda checkpoints.

No suprise that some were so annoyed by the gardai doing their jobs!

You just added a zero to the true figure there.

76 out of hundreds of thousands interactions with the public is proof that the vast majority are adhering to the restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Rodin wrote: »
    No idea.
    But if the guards want evidence of indiscretion, Strava is a treasure trove of evidence.

Ah ok, so your assertion was completely without fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,328 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

cajonlardo wrote: »

76 out of hundreds of thousands interactions with the public is proof that the vast majority are adhering to the restrictions

There were 76 arrests under the new legislation.

760 other offences were detected at checkpoints etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,030 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Rodin wrote: »
    No idea.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

cajonlardo wrote: »

The figure was accurate:
    When asked whether his members were frustrated they could not enforce the 2km rule against people from the North, Mr Harris suggested people who were not complying with the 2km rule were also making other “poor choices” and this had resulted in the 760 breaches of the law being detected.