Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things Cat Trialvilly Annoy You (part whatever) *MOD WARNING IN OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 13,384 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

American food blogs. You go and search for a recipe, and click on a link to visit a site. There you get their life story; how they discovered the recipe, and what they want their kids to do in college. Finally you scroll down through 20000 words to get to the recipe, and discover they are using the preposterous imperial and cup system.

Grinds my gears.
    Yotube vids are similar.
    Went looking for saffron rice instructions and got a 20 min talk on how her friend makes this for X holiday and it tastes divine. She's a good cook as mine was rubbish :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭Ryath

American food blogs. You go and search for a recipe, and click on a link to visit a site. There you get their life story; how they discovered the recipe, and what they want their kids to do in college. Finally you scroll down through 20000 words to get to the recipe, and discover they are using the preposterous imperial and cup system.

Grinds my gears.

I can just about tolerate the imperial and cup and spoon system. But when you read through the ingredients and one of them is something ready made like cake mix, jar sauce or a tin of soup. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Media reporting of firearms. Machine gun/sub machine gun, these are not interchangeable terms. Also, high powered rifle. High powered compared to what?

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭I Am Nobody

Feisar wrote: »
    Media reporting of firearms. Machine gun/sub machine gun, these are not interchangeable terms. Also, high powered rifle. High powered compared to what?

Usually anything above a .22

• Registered Users Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

mikemac2 wrote: »
    The office bragger

Hours in the office are long for me the past few months, 10-11 hour days with 30 minute lunch breaks but I get overtime so all ok. I am glad to be working of course and every minute I work is logged.

A senior manager was hired in a temporary contract for a few weeks to help write procedures. He is leaving next week to take up a new job. He was to be with us 3-4 weeks at most on a temporary contract.

My TA is the bragging
    - Travelled the world, telling me about 5 star hotels and business class flights
    - Buddies with Sheiks and Arab royal families.
    - Has the ability to get Formula One drivers into Bahrain nightclubs
    - Met Diego Maradona, chatted up Beyonce and other celebrities
    - Drove the Sheiks personal cars like a Buggati at close to 400km per hour
    - Billionaires begging him to spend weekends on yachts
    - Earning 300k a year in a PAYE job last year he tells me but you are a temp contract in our lowly office :confused:

Now the guy is senior like head of department level and no doubt is on good money. I also believe he did indeed do a lot of travelling but this level of bragging is ridiculous and only intends to big himself up and make the listener feel like a loser

If I said NASA was sending me to the moon I think he would tell me he would be the 1st man on Mars

I've a family of cousins who are always trying to one-up the rest of the family.
    Latest is one of them saying he is buying a racehorse. He is 34, in a low paid job and lives with his parents in a council house.

Made myself a nice late night sandwich.Went to put things back in the refrigerator and turned to see one of my dogs helping himself too it.Hope it was as tasty as I hoped it would be for the fecker.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,821 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

The farking humidity! It's 2.30am in rural Ireland, and it's allegedly (according to Google) 14C and 95% humidity... I'm ginger for fecks sake! This is far worse than the baking hot and humid conditions of Orlando circa September 2009! It's making me itchy all over, and there are midgets apparently portaling into the room I'm working in and every itch I think it's one of them little bastards landing on me. I have what can only be considered a ginger afro on my face instead of a lovely, low hanging beard, I feel like Eminems description of himself at the start of Lose Yourself, and I want to peel my skin off.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,821 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

TA 2:

Goodfellas have these new Pizza Pockets. Handy little things, 2 minutes in the microwave and a grand handy pizza like slice. They're great for me as I find I can't finish a whole pizza these days. So, 2 min in the microwave (and 15-20 in the oven?! WTF?), but it says 'For 1 pizza pocket' on the back. Nowhere does it say what to do if you want 2. I'd imagine it needs more time, but I ain't got time to be testing that!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,384 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

TA 2:

Goodfellas have these new Pizza Pockets. Handy little things, 2 minutes in the microwave and a grand handy pizza like slice. They're great for me as I find I can't finish a whole pizza these days. So, 2 min in the microwave (and 15-20 in the oven?! WTF?), but it says 'For 1 pizza pocket' on the back. Nowhere does it say what to do if you want 2. I'd imagine it needs more time, but I ain't got time to be testing that!

Use a toaster and a toaster bag/pocket thingy. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭Munstergirl854

Back for my weekly Social Media rant...

Ta at people with a large following on Instagram/Facebook who regulary post "Everyone is watching your posts but never liking them."
    Inferring people who dont like you are constantly watching your page(well d'uh your page is public) and running back to their friends to gossip about what you post.

Why can't functioning adults understand that keeping your life private and controlling and limiting what you post is the only solution to this as opposed to giving them ammunition and becoming a slave to a social media platform??

And don't get me started on the "a private life is a happy life" posters.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,398 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I have a dull toothache that kicks in proper whenever I try to sleep, driving me nuts, two back molars at top of mouth. Just phoned my local dentist today and realised its Saturday so will probably not get a returned call till Monday. I don't even know if dentists are back to normal hours or is that contained in the Phase 4 pandemic period.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Bredabe

jaysis i hope you weren't standing there topless

Lol, Not topless, but my hoody and unbranded backpack seemed to make me invisible.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Bredabe

What are “trinity shoes”?

Handmade,Italian leather shoes that look like Dubarry's.
    I believe its how they know each other outside of their bubble.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,733 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Significant misspellings in thread titles.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

Texting oh on fb to ask something i dont want the kids to hear.

And then he comes in and says it in front of them.Aagh

• Registered Users Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

People with creeper accounts who request to follow you on social media.
    Show me yours and I'll show ya mine, beatches.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 10,532 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Bredabe wrote: »
    Handmade,Italian leather shoes that look like Dubarry's.
    I believe its how they know each other outside of their bubble.

Only the Protestants, surely?

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

Sitting in A+E now. I'm sure time is standing still or even going backwards. Either way, it feels like a parallel universe.

madmaggie wrote: »
    Sitting in A+E now. I'm sure time is standing still or even going backwards. Either way, it feels like a parallel universe.

Hope its not anything too serious.But yeah my experience with A+E here is dismal. Unless your drunk and aggressive then your seen straight away.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

Brown Thomas update folks.
    Went in and asked to speak with the floor manager of the linen department. The other bitch wasn't working. She comes over with a face like a slapped arse clearly annoyed by my bothering her. I explain what happened yesterday and she stood there arms folded looking bored.
    She then 'explained' that the other lady was merely highlighting the fact that the high thread count sheets are notably higher in price than average sheets and it's the cashiers job to advise customers of this.
    Ask me bollix!! **** right off with that nonsense.
    I am well aware what they cost and I'm more than willing to pay extra because I feel that they're worth it but that's none of your business. Show me the damn sheets and I'll discover fairly lively how ****ing expensive they are. As an adult I will then decide if I'd like to purchase them or not you absolute ****.

Phew. Rant over ..for now. I have a feeling it may creep back up. What an absolute bitch. I'm never shopping in BT again and I told her as much.

Porklife wrote: »
    Went in and asked to speak with the floor manager of the linen department. The other bitch wasn't working. She comes over with a face like a slapped arse clearly annoyed by my bothering her. I explain what happened yesterday and she stood there arms folded looking bored.
    She then 'explained' that the other lady was merely highlighting the fact that the high thread count sheets are notably higher in price than average sheets and it's the cashiers job to advise customers of this.
    I am well aware what they cost and I'm more than willing to pay extra because I feel that they're worth it but that's none of your business. Show me the damn sheets and I'll discover fairly lively how ****ing expensive they are. As an adult I will then decide if I'd like to purchase them or not you absolute ****.

Phew. Rant over ..for now. I have a feeling it may creep back up. What an absolute bitch. I'm never shopping in BT again and I told her as much.

**** BT and **** those bitches!Myself I'm used to it.I show up in leather and tats and they look at me like I already stole something.It's sad but can also be a great form of entertainment.Smetimes when their following me,I sporadically start hurrying my pace just to watch them catching up.Great craic but I'm easily amused.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,052 ✭✭✭Be right back

Porklife wrote: »

Most people shopping in Brown Thomas would know their goods are expensive. Staff shouldn't say that as an excuse for being rude.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,210 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Funnily enough, one of the most annoying things I find about working in retail/sales is.
    A customer will come in and ask for X item. Then you get the item and tell them the price and then they’ll have a go at you at how expensive it is and that you should have warned them about the cost.

Funnily enough, one of the most annoying things I find about working in retail/sales is.
    A customer will come in and ask for X item. Then you get the item and tell them the price and then they’ll have a go at you at how expensive it is and that you should have warned them about the cost.

I do get alot of retail/sales staff get abuse.But you also have certain ones who judge your financial status just by how you look or dressed.And then proceed to treat you as someone beneath them.

Porklife, if I were you, I'd email their customer service management and tell them of your experiences over both days and how it made you feel.
    I actually have a 25e voucher for BT since Xmas but everything there is well in excess of that, Im grateful for the voucher I received as a gift but maybe somewhere less 'posh' would have been better for me :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

**** BT and **** those bitches!Myself I'm used to it.I show up in leather and tats and they look at me like I already stole something.It's sad but can also be a great form of entertainment.Smetimes when their following me,I sporadically start hurrying my pace just to watch them catching up.Great craic but I'm easily amused.

Thanks for this...I'm also covered in tattoos and you'd swear I have lepracy. It's a bit of ink, get over it! The amount of make up shoveled onto her face is more offensive than any tattoo!

• Registered Users Posts: 30,210 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Porklife, if I were you, I'd email their customer service management and tell them of your experiences over both days and how it made you feel.
    I actually have a 25e voucher for BT since Xmas but everything there is well in excess of that, Im grateful for the voucher I received as a gift but maybe somewhere less 'posh' would have been better for me :D

They generally have a few bits of chocolate you can buy for that and a few Christmas baubles!

Thanks! I need both make up and jewellery at the moment so I was go ogling the options but from what's online anyway, I'll be adding another 25e to the voucher probably!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

I would email,its BT of course its expensive.Thats quite obvious.They have a doomnan ffs.:rolleyes::D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Ah now, you know walking through the porter held door of brown Thomas that you are not going to get change out of a €100 bill.

Sales advisors don't need to specify that something is expensive. At a very basic level they are failing their job description of making a sale. If she thought that the 800 thread count was too expensive, she could have still shown them, and shown the cheaper 400 thread count ones as an alternative.

There is no need to belittle someone.