Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Garda Checks

any disease which is novel (no immunity so anyone exposed WILL GET IT and there is currently no vaccine, unlike say the flu), has an R0 substantially above 1 (currently 2.5) and a fatality rate 10 to 20 times that of the flu (1% to 2% although not definitive) and with hospitalisation rates of maybe 15% is very dangerous.

the idea is to bring the R0 down below 1 to mean that the spread stops and the number of infected cases goes eventually to 0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

Oh quieten down Mr argument.

The gloves are vacuum packed and have been sterilised. The name is not misleading. These are the gloves used by medical professionals to examine and treat very ill people in infectious and possible contaminated areas. Most labs as well.

No they are not. i use sterile gloves at work

From a purely 'most contagious' point, the common cold is worse as is the common flu.

The reason this is so bad is because we could all get it at the same time inundating the system with cases and it is more fatal.

that's not correct.

the R0 for the Coronavirus is 2.2 to 2.5 currently.

for the common flu it's 1.3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,009 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Shirley could put licence against window without needing to hand it over and end up getting germs of Covid 19 virus all over it from a Guard who has handled thousands of different things from different people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

You have to give your license if driving so take the producer, I'm going to the shop if asking were you're going, it's a request at the moment.

I didn't understand a word of what you just wrote.

They're standing back when speaking to you you stick your hand out and they stick theirs BAM 2 metres, just take a producer.

What the hell do you mean "take a producer"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Cork_Langer1

What the hell do you mean "take a producer"?

For your sheltered self.

If you don't have your license on you, you've 10 days to PRODUCE your license, insurance to a garda station of your choice, they could also arrest you if they are fcuking cnut.

Is that sufficient for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Your papers, please

Just tell them you're going to the shop or heading to check on an elderly relative. Saying anything else just complicates things unnecessarily.

Keep in mind they still have no extra powers or legislation. Everything, even the govt. restrictions, are just 'advice' at the moment. They really shouldn't be putting the Gardai out there without some legislation to help them along. Stacking the deck against them, as usual. :rolleyes:

I don't think saying you are going to check on an elderly relative is a good idea. The guards would probably discourage it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭JoChervil

Discodog wrote: »
    "There’s going to be an increased presence of park rangers and gardaí in parks and public places to ensure the physical distancing is being observed. In Ireland since independence, we’ve always had policing by consent, rather than by coercion. I don’t intend for that to change. "

https://www.thejournal.ie/leo-varadkar-gardai-5056341-Mar2020/

My neighbour suggesting keeping a shopping bag, with a few tins of beans & hold that up if you are stopped .

Bribery is forbidden

I thought that the advice was to behave as if YOU had covid 19!

Well, if you trust that all other will comply...

thomas 123 wrote: »
    I now this was at the start of the thread but there is no scientific basis to this.

The myth that it takes 15 mins to get infected is based on contact tracing criteria.

Ie if you have covid they would contact trace anyone who you spent 15 mins with as apparently it’s more likely you can catch it.

I mean could spit in your mouth and you may get it or you can breath in my air for an hour you may get it? Who knows? Nobody really.

China wasn’t dousing the streets with bleach for no reason.

This 15 minutes myth is like counting to three when your food fell on a ground... Good luck with it.

Not if you're really cool and have them tinted

Or if you are a gangster. Or both...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

For your sheltered self.

If you don't have your license on you, you've 10 days to PRODUCE your license, insurance to a garda station of your choice, they could also arrest you if they are fcuking cnut.

Is that sufficient for you?

sheltered self?
    i didnt know what the hell it meant either,must be some cork langer thing because ive never heard that saying before.i doubt many people have.

Don't think they are sterile gloves.

They are not sterile anyway after one checking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,483 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

On the subject of terms we don’t understand what’s R0 in really stupid layman’s terms?

From a purely 'most contagious' point, the common cold is worse as is the common flu.

The reason this is so bad is because we could all get it at the same time inundating the system with cases and it is more fatal.

It's not. Common cold is 1.4 contagious, while this one 3. Meaning if not restricted one person can infect 58,000 people eventually, while in common cold case only 27 people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Blondie919

sheltered self?
    i didnt know what the hell it meant either,must be some cork langer thing because ive never heard that saying before.i doubt many people have.

Same here, never heard of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Cork_Langer1

Collie D wrote: »
    On the subject of terms we don’t understand what’s R0 in really stupid layman’s terms?

Basic reproduction number.
    sheltered self?
    Blondie919 wrote: »
    Same here, never heard of it.

Consider yourselfs educated, also Im not from cork, so keep your generalisations to yourself mrcameltoe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

The OP makes a reasonable point, someone talking at volume and leaning/breathing into your car window (car is an atmosphere enclosed environment) may have some risks.
    Unless they're wearing a face mask, and gloves. Ideally also only glancing at your held out driving licence to prevent multi-touch contamination.

The easiest soloution would be to photocopy your DL up to A4/A3 size (folded for pocket), and the standard large LiDL/ALDI/Dunness branded shopping bag, held up to singal intentions.
    Or if some other reason for driving about, a standard A3 size whiteboard with a message lashed onto it (whiteboard marker only) to save a load of time and less chatty chatty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

My wife was stopped yesterday.

Guard stood back from the window, asked a couple of questions, didn't ask for license and let her on her way.

The car in front of her the guard put on a glove, checked the license and then handed it back.

Hardly an issue.

The same people on here giving out about checkpoints are probably the very same giving out the govt aren't doing enough.

Lose lose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

Just stay at home and you won’t have to to worry about any checkpoints

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Blondie919

Just stay at home and you won’t have to to worry about any checkpoints

Some of us have to work though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

rizzodun wrote: »
    My wife was stopped yesterday.

Guard stood back from the window, asked a couple of questions, didn't ask for license and let her on her way.

The car in front of her the guard put on a glove, checked the license and then handed it back.

Hardly an issue.

The same people on here giving out about checkpoints are probably the very same giving out the govt aren't doing enough.

Lose lose.

Rizzodun. Totally agree with you. I feel I've stumbled into the cycling Gestapo thread.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Collie D wrote: »
    Basically C R0 is the number for the average number of people that one infected person goes on to infect. So an R0 of one would mean if you caught it you'd likely only infect one other person and it would be unlikely to spread to far or fast. An R0 of less than one and the virus would likely die out soon enough as it would run out of people it could infect. The higher the R0 number the more infectious a virus or bacteria is.

At this stage the R0 of Covid-19 is still a bit up in the air, but looks to be anything from 1.5 to 3. For comparison ebola has an R0 of around 2, SARS and HIV would be 4 and measles would have an R0 closer to 20.

A lot of things can affect this number in the real world. Take HIV with an R0 of 4. Sounds like it could spread like crazy, but avoiding certain risk factors knocks the risk right down and those factors are a lot easier to avoid for a general population. EG you can't catch HIV from shared surfaces, coughs and sneezes, living with someone who is infected. That makes it a lot harder to catch compared to SARS that has the same R0 value but all of the above ways of transmission are significantly harder to avoid with SARS.

With Covid-19 things like social distancing, hand hygiene, personal protection equipment, quarantining of the sick and finally herd immunity and vaccination will massively affect the R0 value in the wider community.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

some people are quoting the common cold (rhinovirus) having an R0 of 1.3.

that's incorrect. it's about 6.

wrt R0 you need to realise that "a disease’s R0 value only applies when everyone in a population is completely vulnerable to the disease. This means:

no one has been vaccinated
    no one has had the disease before (no immunity)
    there’s no way to control the spread of the disease"

Most people don't know this so confusion reigns.

https://www.healthline.com/health/r-nought-reproduction-number#rsubsubvalues

here are many R0 values in a graphic

https://www.theguardian.com/news/datablog/ng-interactive/2014/oct/15/visualised-how-ebola-compares-to-other-infectious-diseases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,247 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

carry your licence, tax your car, be polite

stupidly simple stuff no sensible human being could fail to understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,042 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Mortelaro wrote: »
    Unless you are close contact with the guard for 15 minutes + you have nothing to worry about,unless the guard sneezes or coughs on you which is unlikely
    How could you not know what close contact means at this stage?
    Have they coined a Dunning-Kruger equivalent term yet for coronavirus-related stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

carry your licence, tax your car, be polite

stupidly simple stuff no sensible human being could fail to understand.

If the country was full of sensible people we wouldn't even need the checkpoints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

rizzodun wrote: »
    If the country was full of sensible people we wouldn't even need the checkpoints.

This thread is pretty good evidence for why we've required tighter and tighter restrictions. People will do mental cartwheels to try and justify why the rules only apply to everyone else, but not them.