Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Garda Checks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,589 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Complete bull**** from either the poster or the originator on that fountain of truth, Facebook.

It wouldn’t surprise me to hear of people arguing with the Garda though as all I hear is people demanding their rights.
    If some of them were back at the GPO in 1916 during the battle they’d be demanding their rights to get in to buy a stamp. Cretins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,031 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

lawred2 wrote: »
    You're welcome.

Come on. Seriously!? It's a Facebook post that doesn't remotely sound plausible. Yet you consider yourself good at disseminating what's a "genuine" Facebook post from what isn't.

Why is it implausible ? Or is every Garda perfect ? I am sure that a few Garda will use the opportunity to act inappropriately. History shows that, when you give exceptional powers, a few abuse them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,910 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Alun wrote: »
    There's an example I just read on FB of someone who lives in Wicklow, just over the border with Dublin, being turned back just shy of the shop she was heading for and told to go back the way she came, past her own house to a shop in the other direction in Wicklow as apparently "Wicklow people are not allowed to mix with Dublin people". She was threatened with a fine too for daring to question him.
    That sounds like probably the most made up thing i've read all week...and i've read some absolute nonsense :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭yesto24

Discodog wrote: »
    Firstly I wouldn't reduce three traffic lanes into one. I would use two lanes & have the third as the exit. So slow the traffic & direct some vehicles into the lane for checking & let the rest through. No need to check every vehicle. Families going on holiday are usually easy to spot.

Don't delay emergency workers, nurses, vets & ambulances.

That is some enormous faith you have in the driving skill of the average driver.
    Have you ever been on the M50 at any time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

Anyone else thought that maybe theres a certain element of keeping the queues long? That way non-essential people won't go out for a drive because of the queue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,910 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Anyone else thought that maybe theres a certain element of keeping the queues long? That way non-essential people won't go out for a drive because of the queue?

Think it just depends on where the queue is and traffic volume. I met a checkpoint on N7 outbound the other morning and they just waved anyone through that was in the car on their own, and filtered the multiple occupancy cars off to one side, presumably to see if they were off somewhere for the weekend. I didn't actually have to stop at any point and was through in a couple of minutes.
    At the same spot that evening there was a massive tailback because of all the commuters coming from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,640 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Yes... though it probably wouldnt have registered with me this morning if I wasnt reading this thread.

And a bizarre place for a checkpoint... Collins Avenue near Killester. Tons of cars coming from Supervalu and the three pharmacies nearby.
    Should have been up at motorway junction in middle stretch of Collins Ave.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

yesto24 wrote: »
    That is some enormous faith you have in the driving skill of the average driver.
    Have you ever been on the M50 at any time.

I have seen the UK police do it dozens of times. It's a standard procedure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Why is it implausible ? Or is every Garda perfect ? I am sure that a few Garda will use the opportunity to act inappropriately. History shows that, when you give exceptional powers, a few abuse them.

Exemplified by UK police chief constable on the news for telling the public they will search their shopping bags if it comes to it.

There are two problems. The crucial need to slow the spread, and the way the restrictions themselves can be enforced. I'm not necessarily saying the police are wrong. I think they just want to do their job in most cases and it is an extraordinary time for them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,506 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

Exemplified by UK police chief constable on the news for telling the public they will search their shopping bags if it comes to it.

There are two problems. The crucial need to slow the spread, and the way the restrictions themselves can be enforced. I'm not necessarily saying the police are wrong. I think they just want to do their job in most cases and it is an extraordinary time for them too.

Ive gone through about 4 check points to date , all staffed by affable guards , a few quick questions and on your way.

Yes & in the UK & possibly here, their attitude will be governed by their superiors.

Senior officers, in the UK, have been openly criticised, even on the front page of the Daily Mail like the idiot who ordered black die to be poured into the famous Blue Lagoon to deter visitors. There is no reason to assume that a few of our Gardai won't act in a similar way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

Mr.S wrote: »
    Where else would you be going though!?

Could be going to visit your grandmother who has cancer as the guy told the Garda when stopped at Belfield on the N11. When the Garda rang the number he gave as the grannys turns out to be yer mans mother who is in rude health. What an utter dickhead.

They rang to ask what?
    Presumably not to ask if the woman was ill?
    Bit...insensitive, no?

Some lads always only too willing to find fault even in such a serious time as this.

They rang to ask what?
    Presumably not to ask if the woman was ill?
    Bit...insensitive, no?

Well I assume the Garda didnt believe the guy. He asked him to ring his grandmother and he said that he didnt have any credit in the phone so the Garda offered to ring on his behalf and thats when he found out yer man was lying through his hole. Fair play to the Garda.

In another case from yesterday they stopped a guy from Templeogue who was and I quote "just going out to Howth to buy a bit of fish".

Could be going to visit your grandmother who has cancer as the guy told the Garda when stopped at Belfield on the N11. When the Garda rang the number he gave as the grannys turns out to be yer mans mother who is in rude health. What an utter dickhead.

So where was he going ? Where's the source ?

Well I assume the Garda didnt believe the guy. He asked him to ring his grandmother and he said that he didnt have any credit in the phone so the Garda offered to ring on his behalf and thats when he found out yer man was lying through his hole. Fair play to the Garda.

In another case from yesterday they stopped a guy from Templeogue who was and I quote "just going out to Howth to buy a bit of fish".

It seems like going beyond his remit to me. Or it should be, even now. Just my view...

Why would it be, should they just believe him and let him through?
    That would be a great way to spread a virus. Just allow everyone to drive anywhere.

Oh the huge manatee!

Fair enough. I see the dilemma. I don't have any answer and I dont have to man a checkpount so its easy for me to talk.i stilldont like that side of this.

So where was he going ? Where's the source ?

Well only the lying toad knows where he was actually trying to get to. As to the source it was reported in today's Irish Independent. If you mean by "source" where did his journey begin I wouldnt have that information. I am simply quoting the article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭howiya

From reading the regulations this sort of journey isn't against the wording of the SI.

However that interpretation would go against what they are trying to do which is stop the spread from one area to another.

I assume it's the same man that was referred to in virgin media news coverage yesterday. Apparently he was in his 70s so should have been cocooning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Covid19

Checkpoints seem mostly in urban areas or Dublin?
    Is there much between Sligo and Clare and Tipp and Clare?
    Not asking for locations, or trying to avoid them, just wondering as Im expecting people from both (legally valid reasons to travel, as well as seeing me)

Check point in Ballaghaderreen today. On the Castlerea road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,354 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

howiya wrote: »
    From reading the regulations this sort of journey isn't against the wording of the SI.

However that interpretation would go against what they are trying to do which is stop the spread from one area to another.
    There is nothing in the regs about limiting geographic travel for shopping. There is a 2km limit for exercise, which seems fairly pointless tbh and possibly counter-productive overall to public health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,897 ✭✭✭✭road_high

BoatMad wrote: »
    Ive gone through about 4 check points to date , all staffed by affable guards , a few quick questions and on your way.

Same. A few friendly polite questions. Show them a work letter I have every time and it’s fine. But I wouldn’t fancy the grief of non essential journeys. Not worth it in my opinion.
    M9 motorway is very heavily policed. Large Diversion off at J5 for checkpoint. Wonder what would happen if you were off down to the holiday home in Wexford or Waterford with the car packed up??? Will they force you to turn around??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭mdudy

Senior officers, in the UK, have been openly criticised, even on the front page of the Daily Mail like the idiot who ordered black die to be poured into the famous Blue Lagoon to deter visitors.

Fake news. They do this every year.

There is nothing in the regs about limiting geographic travel for shopping. There is a 2km limit for exercise, which seems fairly pointless tbh and possibly counter-productive overall to public health.

Agreed. The fish shop in Howth or anywhere else meets the definition of an essential retail outlet.

One other problem with the SI is that it specifically states the regulations shall remain in place until the 12th day of April. Presumably there'll be another SI on Tuesday with the new date but it puts the enforcement of the restrictions in the intervening period on shaky ground which is again counter productive from a public health point of view.

howiya wrote: »
    Agreed. The fish shop in Howth or anywhere else meets the definition of an essential retail outlet.

One other problem with the SI is that it specifically states the regulations shall remain in place until the 12th day of April. Presumably there'll be another SI on Tuesday with the new date but it puts the enforcement of the restrictions in the intervening period on shaky ground which is again counter productive from a public health point of view.

Hardly essential retail if you travel from Templeogue to Howth to buy fish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,897 ✭✭✭✭road_high

These essential journey detectives are getting rather tiresome. I can’t wait to get back to a free liberal society without these people sticking their noses in.
    Imagine. The horror of someone going from one part of a city to another to buy food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

road_high wrote: »
    These essential journey detectives are getting rather tiresome. I can’t wait to get back to a free liberal society without these people sticking their noses in.
    Imagine. The horror of someone going from one part of a city to another to buy food

I'm starting to get used to it. The current hiatus could be a beneficial presage for policing problem areas. We have a pandemic of crime in this country - it is not being fully acknowledged nor dealt with. So saturation measures of the type we're seeing in problem areas could really put to boot into the bollocks of the scum in this country.

Which part of the regulations does it breach?