Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Part V - 34 cases in ROI, 16 in NI (as of 10 March) *Read warnings in OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

First off. What.

Second, are you saying that not testing is more effective than testing?

It can be. There's a balance to be struck between testing too soon after potential exposure, when the viral load might still be too low to be accurately detected, giving an increased risk of a false negative and delaying testing too long risking people with an established infection spreading it further before they test positive.

The self isolation helps mitigate the risk of spreading the virus in between the time of potential exposure and reliable detection.

If the number of untraced community contracted cases increases it obviously has implications for a successful containment strategy as the number of affected people who have not been to a known hot spot or in contact with a diagnosed patient will also increase and they are likely to further spread it until they are clearly symptomatic for some time and tested / diagnosed and quarantined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

There isn't a delay of days. This is a serious accusation you have made. I'm in a position if verified to bring this to the attention of senior health care officials. I more than happy to provide my credentials to beasty. If these cases in Drogheda are true, it means that the HSE are under-reporting which to my knowledge they have not been but if true, I'd happily report on behalf of somebody.

Work away, do what you want? I've told you the hospital that he is in that's all the info I have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

There isn't a delay of days. This is a serious accusation you have made. I'm in a position if verified to bring this to the attention of senior health care officials. I more than happy to provide my credentials to beasty. If these cases in Drogheda are true, it means that the HSE are under-reporting which to my knowledge they have not been but if true, I'd happily report on behalf of somebody.

Dazzler out here bodying people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,452 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

Back from my week's shop there in my local Tesco which I do every Sunday and I found that it odd the shelves were not stocked nor "tidy" like they usually are. There were empty pockets of stock on shelves on every isle of that shop that would normally be fully replenished if it went was low. There was a whole wall of fresh veg completely gone in the fruit and veg section and other parts showing lack of replenishment too. The poultry was the same, holding 1/4 of its usual capacity with not that much remaining of the rasher sausages & pudding etc box less than half full. The toilet roll was fine. We obviously have alternative arse cloth. All week it has been fine with no obvious giveaways like the above. Was this to do with a delivery or staffing issue? I was curious so I asked one of the staff who I knew, they said neither. They don't know why it been so busy today.

Also seen a woman, obviously not short of money, with a surgical mask on. She wouldn't of looked as much of a tool if she didn't actually strut around is her moleskin fur coat and kneehigh boots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

They must be working in the health service to have that advance information. Or people in the health service are passing on the information to them. At this time on a Sunday I would wait to see what comes out during the week, and try not to worry.

The amount of people here saying they know of cases over the last week is ridiculous. It's very easy to post that some one has told someone that someone has the virus. They may even believe it but mostly its not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Fleetwoodmac

Ok. But if you were on a vitamin c tablet before your infection. You would just excrete the excess. I could see the benefit of giving vitamin c during an infection (albeit small). But in reality vitamin c supplements are only needed if deficient.

https://scholar.google.com/scholar?hl=en&as_sdt=0%2C5&q=vitamin+c+supplementation+heath+benifit&btnG=#d=gs_qabs&u=%23p%3DUTdY8VO1oycJ

Several PubMed articles citing benefits of vit c iv as helping to prevent pneumonia. Liposomal vit c is acknowledged as a cheaper, albeit less effective version of iv but certainly more effective than standard vit c supplements which are usually full of fillers. Liposomal vit c can be made at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

i think the best hope to cling onto right now is in therapeutic drugs that can drastically reduce symptoms of COVID-19. the most promising candidates are already developed drugs for malaria and HIV and the like. Chloroquine has shown very promising results in patients tested in china and best of all, it's off patent and could be mass produced very easily and very cheaply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭1641

That requires a significant number of infections though. Swine flu managed to infect 20% of the world's population. The 1918 pandemic infected around 25%.

That's where that 20,000 death figure for Ireland that's floating around comes from. That supposes about 20% of the population getting infected with about a 2% death rate. Clearly this is something that should be avoided, if possible.

There's something else apropos the 1918 pandemic. There was a second wave of infections the following November, which was perhaps more deadly than the first. It is not entirely clear why that was the case.

There was a also a third wave in spring 1919. But the second wave was most severe nationally. The third was severest in some western areas that escaped the worst of the first two waves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

Neither 2wks (laughable), nor 5/6 wks.

The likely peak is 12wks (3 mths). That's figure isn't based on 'optimistic hope' or a hunch, but the view from the Dr chap that helped discover ye olde Ebola.

The peak will follow a typical bell curve, so wk 13 won't be all grand, it'll be same as wk 11 and so on. There is also a chance of re-emergence in November for the N.Hemisphere.

We would be well into summer at that point. At a conservative doubling rate of 4, a 12 week peak would have us at 41 million cases, so that can't be right. A 50% population infection would take 9 weeks. A 20% population infection would take 8 weeks. That is uncontrolled spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Fakediamond

Saw a woman in Aldi today openly coughing on the fruit with no attempt to cover her mouth or direct her head away from food. She really didn't look well at all and cough was very strong. Not saying it was covid-19 but it just hit home how screwed we all are with people like this out there spreading germs and who simply dont give a ****.

I totally agree with you, it’s this behaviour that’s going to escalate the spread. I don’t know how this mindset can be tackled. The Chinese put society before the individual whereas we prize individualism in the West. God it’s depressing :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

A consistent 10% of all cases in Italy requiring ICU for the last 3 weeks is pretty horrific. No wonder the heath system can't cope.

Yeah and what a way to die without relatives to try and give some comfort. Folks need to stop the ****ed up ‘im alright jack’ type comments because they know they aren’t in the most vulnerable group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

The amount of people here saying they know of cases over the last week is ridiculous. It's very easy to post that some one has told someone that someone has the virus. They may even believe it but mostly its not true.

Dúirt bean liom go dúirt bean le go dúirt bean le

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

It can be. There's a balance to be struck between testing too soon after potential exposure, when the viral load might still be too low to be accurately detected, giving an increased risk of a false negative and delaying testing too long risking people with an established infection spreading it further before they test positive.

The self isolation helps mitigate the risk of spreading the virus in between the time of potential exposure and reliable detection.

If the number of untraced community contracted cases increases it obviously has implications for a successful containment strategy as the number of affected people who have not been to a known hot spot or in contact with a diagnosed patient will also increase and they are likely to further spread it until they are clearly symptomatic for some time and tested / diagnosed and quarantined.

I've always advocated for two tests. An initial test as people are getting off the plane, and a test a week later. All people coming from northern Italy (or a badly affected province of China) should have been in self isolation for a week after coming into the country at a minimum. They should only have been allowed into the community after getting the all clear.

The only testing that was done was conducted of people with active symptoms, and there was no isolation of a cohort who would clearly have a couple of disease carriers. This cohort was encouraged to go to work or school. This is why I call the HSE complete morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,391 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Dúirt bean liom go dúirt bean le go dúirt bean le

This guy has been infected with the virus!!!

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

But I wouldn't because realistically, you were lying, spreading misinformation.

Did you call the person who posted about the case in the private hospital in Cork 48 hours ago a liar too?
    A lot of the cases people are posting about are true,
    Not everyone's a troll.
    I don't know why the HSE are behind in the reporting, but they are behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

I am just going outside to Tesco's in Merrion Shopping Centre and may be some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,011 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

I notice Washington Post has altered their article headed: "Why you can't 'boost' your immune system to protect from coronavirus" to "No, you probably can't boost your immune system to protect from coronavirus", targeting such items as vitamin c and garlic.

It's pretty ironic that people who write articles like this supposedly to banish ignorance and set people straight usually haven't the slightest ****ing clue about what will help the immune system. Taking vitamin c and garlic will absolutely improve the average person's immune system and put them in a better position to fight it if they get it. It's no bullet proof of course, but for an unknown pathogen there's a high likelihood it will be an incremental improvement. Vitamin C helped with SARS and many others. Whether it's worth the bother is another thing, but it certainly will help.

Are you aware of some post 2015 research that shows Vitamin C boosts the immune system? Because if not, then it's pretty clear that it doesn't have that claimed effect: http://www.yalescientific.org/2015/03/mythbusters-does-vitamin-c-really-help/
    Mythbusters: Does Vitamin C Really Help?

But these findings do not support vitamin C as an effective cold treatment. In fact, at least 15 other studies can corroborate the results published by University of Toronto researchers, debunking the vitamin C myth by uncovering evidence against it.

I sometimes joke that when claiming vitamin C boosts the immune system they were one letter off, because vitamin D does.

US2 wrote: »
    Work away, do what you want? I've told you the hospital that he is in that's all the info I have.

So you are happy to allow three three active cases of COVID-19 to go unreported in Louth because why? I'm been genuine. I can report these active cases to a HSE management level. By not reporting, this could lead to a lot of unnecessary deaths.

Or you could admit you are lying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Yes. They should have just added 10 for teh craic.

Silly post.

Accurate reporting is all that I would like to see. Not adding 10 for the sake of it. Just adding in the actual cases that were left out.

Several PubMed articles citing benefits of vit c iv as helping to prevent pneumonia. Liposomal vit c is acknowledged as a cheaper, albeit less effective version of iv but certainly more effective than standard vit c supplements which are usually full of fillers. Liposomal vit c can be made at home.
    If you are not vitamin c deficient. It doesn't make sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

froog wrote: »
    i think the best hope to cling onto right now is in therapeutic drugs that can drastically reduce symptoms of COVID-19. the most promising candidates are already developed drugs for malaria and HIV and the like. Chloroquine has shown very promising results in patients tested in china and best of all, it's off patent and could be mass produced very easily and very cheaply.

There are a number of drugs on trial at the moment, but I reckon this will burn itself out before that point. Problem is, a lot of older and vulnerable people are going to die.

I reckon after this though, there are going to major societetal changes. Less travel, more insular. Harder to go into different countries. Might actually save the planet in a roundabout way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

froog wrote: »

Was reading about that as I am on the hydroxylated version of it which is what the Koreans use as they cant get chloroquine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭woohoo!!!

The home testing RTE story gives 36 hours for the patient to be informed of a result. Or a 2 day delay. On this basis, stories about such and such a place definitely has several cases, well that has to be treated with scepticism.

The community spread ones are obviously the biggest concern and such locations must be treated as a priority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

Ellsbells1 wrote:
    What is worrying or maybe not, is the amount of cases people are talking about on here but aren’t being confirmed in the national figures. I don’t know what to think anymore.
    Rumour and speculation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

Can anyone else hear the coronavirus on ITV4 right now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭Pseudonym121

If you are not vitamin c deficient. It doesn't make sense.

Oh I don't know, on a Darwinian level it could solve many problems. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭jarvis

So what’s the deal with tomorrow. Was it said in Friday evenings update that there’ll be more than one update a day from Monday and the evening update would be pre 6pm. I’m nearly certain I heard that.

Also is it ironic that the department of health is abbreviated to a Homer Simpson booboo phrase?? I hope we’re all not screaming DOH in the coming weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,427 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

kenmc wrote: »
    Poxy coronavirus can't live with our mouldy weather. Ha! Great little country this. Another soft landing :)

Yeah, the sun was shining today for an hour whilst also heavily raining.

The virus has thrown it's hands up in the air and left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭saabsaab

This guy has been infected with the virus!!!
    [SIZE=-1]Ni ceapaim[/SIZE]
    Ni Ceapaim

[SIZE=-1]Ni ceapaim[/SIZE]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Prob old news but the guy from CUH is in the mater now.
    Supposedly it’s very, very unlikely to be a positive ending