Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway COVID-19, local news and discussion

• Registered Users Posts: 8,170 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I live near one of the student accomodation/holiday apartment places. Cars turned up as soon as the county wide travel was allowed. Had been empty since paddy's weekend. So defintley some tourists about

Seeing a lot of Brits, Dutch and Germans. Seems backwards to keep resitrctions in place only to import it from elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,887 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Where do they be going? Nowhere is open.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

flazio wrote: »
    Where do they be going? Nowhere is open.

Try outside. Our country is beautiful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Whereisgalway

I see the Universal are reopening on 1 July and the Bierhaus on 3 July, with prebooking of tables etc. Bierhaus is my Galway local so I'm happy!

Used the bierhaus do food pre covid?

• Registered Users Posts: 460 ✭✭Smegging hell

Used the bierhaus do food pre covid?

Yeah they used to do BLTs and hot dogs. They're offering a new menu when they reopen according to their Facebook page.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Whereisgalway

Yeah they used to do BLTs and hot dogs. They're offering a new menu when they reopen according to their Facebook page.

Be interesting to see what pubs who didn’t do food before march decide to do. Go to the effort of food prep or wait 3 weeks, reopen as a pub and keep its dignity

• Registered Users Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Seeing a lot of Brits, Dutch and Germans. Seems backwards to keep resitrctions in place only to import it from elsewhere.

I've been seeing some Spanish or French.

Some may have already be living n the country though, and just decided to explore more while they can.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,955 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Food has to be 9 euro or over and be substantial to count in the new regulations if they want to open next week.
    90 mins in the max time you can spend on the premises as a customer too.

Can't believe there are tourists already.
    My blood boils just a little at the thought. It's like the whole country including the government has just decided to throw in the towel.
    Even these new 1m distancing in pubs & restaurants. Really it will mean we will socially sideline a whole sector of society by making things less safe. Anyone with any vulnerability will just have to avoid these places, whether you have diabetes, are overweight, are old ,have asthma, you're just going to have to accept staying home now. I feel like we could've done better for everyone.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Funny how length of time and proximity are relevant but vary between 15 mins, 90 mins or 2 hours depending on who you are...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Pen Rua

Hang on -- who says there's tourists in the city? Galway is probably one of the most multi-cultural places in Ireland. 99% chance that the "tourists" referred to in this thread are just people who live here... lousy carry on here.

New Home wrote: »
    Funny how length of time and proximity are relevant but vary between 15 mins, 90 mins or 2 hours depending on who you are...

Who you are, and how much you're spending. If you're spending, you're fine! :/

Pen Rua wrote: »
    Hang on -- who says there's tourists in the city? Galway is probably one of the most multi-cultural places in Ireland. 99% chance that the "tourists" referred to in this thread are just people who live here... lousy carry on here.

I refer you to this post.
    Galway residents unlikely to be suddenly staying in holiday accom.
    I live near one of the student accomodation/holiday apartment places. Cars turned up as soon as the county wide travel was allowed. Had been empty since paddy's weekend. So defintley some tourists about

To me moving to 1m is just going back to normal. constantly eyeballing 2m when around people is difficult but 1m is too close to try to systematically maintain so it will just be a free for all.

It's just going to become a case of socialising being a thing for people who are confident they'll fully recover if they do get sick.

Everyone else will have to stay home and avoid social venues but also limit contact with people who are out living fully normal lives as they will constitute a much larger risk to health of anyone vulnerable too.

We could have an least tried to stem the flow and not make the place a virus free for all. I think how annoyed this makes me, then I think medical staff must be ready to pull their own hair out.

The plans looks to be that we are just going to sacrifice vulnerable people and those working closely with ill people so others can have pints and chips in slightly more social comfort.
    I realise there's an economy to consider, and it's health affects us all, but I believe that thinking more outside the box would have allowed us recover a better economy. Let's hope the price of the extra PPE for hospitals and institutions won't eat up the gains made selling pints!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Jesus only 90 mins to get food,pints and a shift.

Can't believe there are tourists already.
    My blood boils just a little at the thought. It's like the whole country including the government has just decided to throw in the towel.
    Even these new 1m distancing in pubs & restaurants. Really it will mean we will socially sideline a whole sector of society by making things less safe. Anyone with any vulnerability will just have to avoid these places, whether you have diabetes, are overweight, are old ,have asthma, you're just going to have to accept staying home now. I feel like we could've done better for everyone.

The tourists are likely to be people originally from other countries who are currently living in Ireland. They are at no more risk of passing on diseases than any other current residents. As we don't have "no non-essential travel" rules any more, they are free to travel in certain areas for leisure - and so far, they don't appear to be increasing the Covid-19 case-numbers.

As for saying anyone with any vulnerability will have to stay home - yeah, right they will. Many people will simply say "feck it, I'm taking the risk, no point being alive and miserable". And quarter of the country is obese, no way are they all going to stay home.

We could hold off opening for a few more weeks (or months or years even) - but that won't make the virus go away. It just delays it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭serfboard

The tourists are likely to be people originally from other countries who are currently living in Ireland.
    Unless they're currently living in County Galway, then they are not supposed to be in County Galway.

And if they are living in County Galway, it's unlikely that they are going to be staying overnight in Galway City, particularly when the restaurants and pubs are not open.

As for saying anyone with any vulnerability will have to stay home - yeah, right they will. Many people will simply say "feck it, I'm taking the risk, no point being alive and miserable". And quarter of the country is obese, no way are they all going to stay home.

We could hold off opening for a few more weeks (or months or years even) - but that won't make the virus go away. It just delays it.

Delay has been useful. Delay has led to more knowledge about the mechanisms involved in the illness, the understanding that this is more of an endothelial disease and not a respiratory illness. That'll change the course of treatment options as we progress. There's already one new drug that will save 1 in 8 lives in ICU care settings. More time would mean more options, and the greater freedoms that go with having a treatable disease on the loose v's the current situation.

As for people saying oh feck it, I'll go out anyway and risk it, let's hope they don't. If they do and end up plugging up our hospital and ICU care we'll be kissing goodbye to out semi functional health service. There'll be ramifications there for all of us should we or loved ones get any illness requiring hospital treatment or a hospital appointment.

Realistically though people have kids to care for and can't just die, people live with older parents they can't give it to, people live with an immunocompromised person they're not going to wave into the grave because they fancy chips and a pint.
    It very much will mean those people will have to segregate themselves and a social life outside the house will be off the cards if regulations are loose.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭inisboffin

serfboard wrote: »
    Unless they're currently living in County Galway, then they are not supposed to be in County Galway.

And if they are living in County Galway, it's unlikely that they are going to be staying overnight in Galway City, particularly when the restaurants and pubs are not open.

It's now advised but not illegal to travel outside your county (they took away those powers from Gardaí, I think it was last week).

I know personally of two people who have Air BnB property, one a 'tiny house' and one a cottage beside their house, both in Galway County. They have had people staying and had various reasons from a sick relative to now tourists. Those tourist did indeed include people from UK and US.

A friend in Austria last night told me of her neighbour, whose partner was in a different country (not sure which) and they couldn't meet, looked up what country they could both travel to and stay. The answers were Ireland and Mexico she said! The didn't act on it apparently, but that's just one story!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

Is anyone still wiping down their groceries?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

So you want numerous people working in the sector to remain unemployed, the economy to remain in tatters, and people to postpone a return to normal life? All so a portion of people who medically shouldn't be going next or near pubs mid pandemic aren't missing out? And all while we have single digit case numbers daily in a population of over 4 million?

Thats an utterly bizarre point of view and selfish tbh in a city that's so highly dependant on the sector.

Has anyone a list of pubs opening from the 29th in any case? Some of us want to try and get back to normal

• Registered Users Posts: 12,008 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Was anyone doing that?

Some were leaving them quarrentined in the garage for three days before taking them into the kitchen.

Not me, but some.

And in fairness, if it was more contagious, we would have had to be doing it.

We were doing it religiously on everything (or else leaving certain things aside for 3 - 4 days) up until last week but we stopped now as the effort of doing it on very large shops for us and parents (we do two shops in one) was just getting too much so we have chanced not bothering.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,417 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Wiping your groceries?

I’d suggest getting some fresh air and new hobbies.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,417 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    So you want numerous people working in the sector to remain unemployed, the economy to remain in tatters, and people to postpone a return to normal life? All so a portion of people who medically shouldn't be going next or near pubs mid pandemic aren't missing out? And all while we have single digit case numbers daily in a population of over 4 million?

Thats an utterly bizarre point of view and selfish tbh in a city that's so highly dependant on the sector.

Has anyone a list of pubs opening from the 29th in any case? Some of us want to try and get back to normal

Not sure if there’s a list anywhere but I’ve seen several say that they are. Tbh with all the silly mostly unenforceable arbitrary rules they’re putting in place I’m not sure it’s worth the aggravation for a few more weeks - until things inevitably settle down.

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Wiping your groceries?

I’d suggest getting some fresh air and new hobbies.

It was advised and most I know were doing it, certainly the 4 or 5 households in my family that I’d be in close contact with day to say where doing it and it was regularly discussed on the radio etc as loads of people were doing it.

The virus can survive for days on packaging, people handling it, coughing on it, the picker handling it, the delivery driver handling it etc etc.

Still handling all post with caution, outer box/envelope opened by one person and taken contents removed by a other person and box/envelope straight to outside bin followed by washing hands.

Yeah I heard the same thing on radio/podcasts from experts but that is older news now. Hopefully it's been studied a bit more. HSE doesn't officially recommend it: https://www2.hse.ie/wellbeing/shopping-safely-coronavirus/

If even Fernando Muscular Sibilant isn't doing it, I'm having the row with my missus. She hasn't helped the last 2 times and I'd rather shoot myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,008 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

If even Fernando Muscular Sibilant isn't doing it, I'm having the row with my missus. She hasn't helped the last 2 times and I'd rather shoot myself.

Has to be better things ye can be wasting time on!

Before anyone calls her stupid she just got over cancer and i'm at risk. We all approach this from a different place. No harm keeping that in mind.