Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham, Friday March 13th, Gold Cup Day

• Registered Users Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Be careful it doesn't have an expiry

Its 7 days. I'll have it well used by then :D

• Registered Users Posts: 35,816 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Bristol De Mai 22-1 4 places is value

I'm going with this

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭FiftyP

Can't see Monalee getting around with how flighty they are. Maybe the run down to the start will chill them out a little. I'd love to see them do well at as I have them each way at 25/1, but the horse does not look happy.

• Site Banned Posts: 221 ✭✭SAM SO NITE

Because they don't mean strictly financially
    they should say "most coveted " then if not talking about monetary prize.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Mon Santini! Here we go!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Paddy to get Kemboy jumping hopefully. Come down the hill with a decent round of jumping I think his class will see him in with a shout.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,192 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

cmon clan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Townsend owed a big apology on this thread

presenting percy is a rag of a thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭PillarToPost

Awww love him

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Backing AL BOUM PHOTO in the Gold Cup. 7/2 is an excellent price for the horse. Fear Bristol though.

Get in!!

I'm not a fan of what Santini and Nico de Boinville did to Monalee after the last. They drifted out to the right, didn't stay their course (which might have even helped the horse) and forced Monalee to trail behind them.

Ah bollox

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Wouldn't have been the horse I was going for, even if I'd had five bets to be honest, but that was a great race.

Really good contest, classy winner.
    Fair play to Paul Townend, the rest is all worth it when you've a day like today.

I'd love McCoy on Santini lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Monalee got bit blocked coming round bend, just lacked for tactical speed at that point. Great run nonetheless.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

FiftyP wrote: »
    I'm not a fan of what Santini and Nico de Boinville did to Monalee after the last. They drifted out to the right, didn't stay their course (which might have even helped the horse) and forced Monalee to trail behind them.
    Nonsense do you want them running in lanes? He cost himself the race going right,hadn't much choice to get around lostintranslation.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

What a day some fantastic finishes today

• Registered Users Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

Slattsy wrote: »
    I'd love McCoy on Santini lads.
    The horse was willing but the jockey was weak.:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭akelly02

lostintranslation and santini both ran screamers

clan des obeoux clearly doesnt act at chelt

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Willie Mullins lads. The GOAT

• Registered Users Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭iebamm2580

presenting percy jesus.

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭Mac-Chops

images?q=tbn%3AANd9GcTzx0fKhF4kF4b3G9znkpHVbYQKesbYAS3lsHn7uHsoZ6aOtxNs

akelly02 wrote: »
    lostintranslation and santini both ran screamers

clan des obeoux clearly doesnt act at chelt

doesn't see it out at all. Flat track merchant . Silviniaco Conti mkII

• Registered Users Posts: 17,963 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Great race, great day. First day it's looking like no profit for me :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Even his own trainer said he was "under pressure" before changing it to "well people were saying he was under pressure" I don't see what the big issue is! He gave a few horses not his best rides. Doesn't turn him into a bad jockey overnight! PT even said he didn't ride Al Boum Photo the way he wanted. Some people do get very defensive about the odd negative remark.

UrbanFret wrote: »
    The horse was willing but the jockey was weak.:mad:

Good posy all the way just couldn't hold position on the inside and then weak as piss in the finish. He'll win it next year!

UrbanFret wrote: »
    Nonsense do you want them running in lanes? He cost himself the race going right,hadn't much choice to get around lostintranslation.

That's what I'm saying, he cost himself the race. You'll never know if the touch to correct the horse onto the straight would slow him or whether he'd have picked up on the last few strides running on straight. If that happened there'd be no question for anything behind, but doing what he did asks a question and also throws the trailing horse into question (although I don't think Monalee would have had enough even with a clear run in.)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Percy was getting into it, think he'd have been placed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭akelly02

at least all the CMON THE PERCY cowboys will piss off now