Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Part III - 9 cases across the Island - 503 errors abound!! *read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

DellyBelly wrote: »
    Problem with the Italian restaurant I normally go to is the staff travel to and from Italy quite a lot. I have been avoiding it since the outbreak to be honest. From what I gather it's actually been hit very badly since the outbreak in Italy..

Depends where in Italy they go to. Rome is probably ok. Venice, Milan - not so much.

We were in an Italian place the other evening and the owner was chatting to us, saying he'd just come back from Rome. Said the airport was deserted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's the economy. Everyone has to be working all the time or they're not a productive member of society. If you have to take the day off work to look after your sick child, how do you make up the lost money? If they're able to stand, you might think sure chance it, it'll be grand.

And given the highly individualistic nature of capitalist, so called liberal democracies, why should you care about anyone other than yourself and your family? I'm not saying it's right but this is the type of society we've created. Thankfully we're not in the advanced American phase yet but we're heading there.
    LeeroyJ. wrote: »
    Honestly it's no different in the corporate world. People show up at work with 40c Fevers coughing and sniffing away, nobody sends them home. It's our working culture here in Ireland where being sick is seen as taking time off from work to relax. Contractors in my office come to work no matter what as they can't afford to be sick due to not getting sick days paid. Once it hits us properly it will hit hard. I have 3 people that are very sick around me right now.
    I do think the Irish to a certain have brought this on ourselves.

We have the stereotype about how Irish people love taking the piss, our mates ring in sick and we slag them about pulling a sickie, anyone who cries off going on the beer is faking it, anyone who says they're too sick to do something is a wimp.

So when we actually are sick, we try to push through it because we don't want our employer to think we're taking the piss or hungover, we don't want our mates to slag us.

In my experience, employers usually don't give a ****. Irish people go into work to avoid the gossip, not because their employer wants them in. Granted some employers are assholes about it, but my experience is that we're self-flagellating on this front.

As a result our kids go into school when they're sick because we don't want our employer to think we're taking the piss by staying at home with the kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Slight recovery in the Markets this morning

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/markets-hub/

That's to do with a stimulus China announced on Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 733 ✭✭✭synesthesia

Kivaro wrote: »
    Would like to see them, and the others who are trying to profit during this situation, prosecuted for these actions.

I agree - it's bonkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,422 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Antares35 wrote: »
    I think people have long lost the art of hand washing :(

I presume most people are using it when on the move\shopping\transport and soap & water hard to come by...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

sideswipe wrote: »
    It's an article about a rumour. can people stop posting ****ing rumours!:mad:

Why? Boards isnt where you should be going for your info.

Cdc, who, and hse.
    Wash your hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Slight recovery in the Markets this morning

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/markets-hub/

That's cos China sorted itself out...

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭Steve F

The general ignorance of how virus' are spread was highlighted the other day by the reactions I have heard from people after RTE "reported" that "it" can be caught by touching a surface then you touching your eyes or nose,like this is something new(??)
    Are there still people in this world that think you contract cold and flu but "getting cold"?
    The "don't get within 1m of anyone" also raised a few "Jaysus,Mary and Josephs" too like this is the bubonic Plague
    The transmission of this virus is the same as any other,right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,385 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Work managed to buy and extra hand sanitizer at the week end - a colleague did the round of all shops and pharmacy .
    Lloyd Pharmacy the 1.20 euros bottle is now sold for 8 euros. Limited to 6 bottles per person.
    I'd be contacting them, posting on their social media etc. That is disgusting they need to be shamed.
    Take pictures if you can.

Depends where in Italy they go to. Rome is probably ok. Venice, Milan - not so much.

We were in an Italian place the other evening and the owner was chatting to us, saying he'd just come back from Rome. Said the airport was deserted.
    I have flights to Verona, staying in lake Garda mid April...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

gmisk wrote: »
    I have flights to Verona, staying in lake Garda mid April...

Should be fine.

The worst of this, if policies are followed, should pass by April

Even some serie A games are back this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,438 ✭✭✭circadian

seamus wrote: »
    I do think the Irish to a certain have brought this on ourselves.

We have the stereotype about how Irish people love taking the piss, our mates ring in sick and we slag them about pulling a sickie, anyone who cries off going on the beer is faking it, anyone who says they're too sick to do something is a wimp.

So when we actually are sick, we try to push through it because we don't want our employer to think we're taking the piss or hungover, we don't want our mates to slag us.

In my experience, employers usually don't give a ****. Irish people go into work to avoid the gossip, not because their employer wants them in. Granted some employers are assholes about it, but my experience is that we're self-flagellating on this front.

As a result our kids go into school when they're sick because we don't want our employer to think we're taking the piss by staying at home with the kids.

Yeah I think this is the general behaviour. I remind my team pretty often that if they're unwell or the kids are unwell then to take the time off. I don't need to be dealing with a domino effect in the rest of my team with someone different off every few days because someone had to come to work because the bug/flu/cold they had wasn't that bad, only for them to call in sick on day 2 of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭Lashes28

Antares35 wrote: »
    I think people have long lost the art of hand washing :(

I work in retail dealing with people from everywhere and money that's been god knows where. We have no toilet in our store. What would you suggest?

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Should be fine.

I will be keeping an eye on it....hope you are right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,438 ✭✭✭circadian

Should be fine.

There's absolutely no way to know this for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

Should be fine.

I wouldn't count on that at all

That seems hugely optimistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Should be fine.

Honestly, what I think will happen is that once this hits about 10 cases, people will self isolate even if they are not unwell.

In a roundabout way, peoples panic will help to contain it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,422 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Lashes28 wrote: »
    I work in retail dealing with people from everywhere and money that's been god knows where. We have no toilet in our store. What would you suggest?

Get disposable gloves.
    Be very disciplined about not touching your face.
    Bring in large bottle of water from home, handwash and a towel and nip outside to wash hands when on break?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

Should be fine.

What are you basing this on?

Ninthlife wrote: »

Reality.

Due to the short of masks, I have decided not to cook my final 4 frozen turkeys once they defrost

giphy.gif?cid=4d1e4f291ff4376964f893fd18b08982a52e9235959bb476&rid=giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,817 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

gmisk wrote: »
    I agree....but what I am saying is cancel the flights so people have zero incentive to travel..

Absolutely. Fergus O'Dowd was pressed about this on one of the political discussion programmes last week, and he kept repeating like an automaton that WHO advice was not to cancel flights.

But irrespective of thar if people were responsible they would be cancelling ski trips etc. on their own initiative...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Go old school
    vintage-handmade-pitcher-and-wash-basin-rose-bush-floral-pattern-4-700.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,027 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Tipperary TD calls for 'full disclosure' of coronavirus cases across Ireland

A Tipperary TD is calling on the HSE and other responsible Government agencies to “tell people the full truth” about the coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak in Ireland.

Sinn Féin’s Martin Browne says there have been rumours circulating locally about employees being sent home from work in Tipperary, and that the lack of information from the Department of Health is doing “nothing to ease the fears of the people” about the potential spread of the coronavirus.

Deputy Browne wants the Department of Health to “come clean and stop hiding behind excuses like confidentiality.”

https://www.tipperarylive.ie/news/cashel/521837/tipperary-staff-sent-home-from-work-after-coronavirus-outbreak.html

I agree 100%. Not naming the school yesterday was not a breach of confidentiality, it was a failure to inform the public.

There should be no secrecy, it’s not about confidentiality, it’s about public safety.

Is he suggesting it's in Tipperary? He should know the difference between fact and rumour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,390 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Speak to your employer and tell them to install a handbasin or provide sanitisers.

Perhaps these events will ensure that handbasins are in all such premises in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Peatys wrote: »
    Reality.

They're all hoping for a few weeks off man, don't wreck the buzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,817 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Ninthlife wrote: »

Being the

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

I think perhaps you misunderstood my post so apologies if it wasn't clear. I was not criticising the use of hand sanitiser in place of soap and water. My point was just (imminent pandemic notwithstanding) people seem to have lost the art of hand washing. I don't know how often I witness grown adults not washing their hands in public bathrooms, the workplace etc. You're standing waiting for the kettle to boil and someone in the bathroom next door just flushes and leaves! I'm all for the use of sanitisers - I use them all the time when I am out and about :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Is he suggesting it's in Tipperary? He should know the difference between fact and rumour.

He's suggesting people are becoming paranoid and suspicious about everything because the HSE have been vague and unspecific with details as if they're hiding information from the public.

They're all hoping for a few weeks off man, don't wreck the buzz

A bit of economic collapse for good measure.