Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Corona virus in waterford

• Registered Users Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭kuang1

Also a few cases in Dawn meats Grannagh/Granny again.
    (from same source as I heard about previous outbreak there)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Glynn was at the briefing this evening for those concerned about his safety.

Good to see Cartamundi finally be confirmed

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭OhToBeByTheSea

So rather than focusing your browsing filters on all negatives open your eyes and look at the rest of the news

You're accusing someone else of being negative?! :pac:
    That's probably the first time you've made me laugh.

You've done nothing but whinge about the contributions to this thread for months. Maybe you should stop reading it.

• Registered Users Posts: 472 ✭✭Flow Motion

Deise Vu wrote: »
    You accuse me of ranting when you have completely ignored what I posted and proceed to use words like witch-hunt and painting symbols on doors when I started by saying specifically that I wasn’t looking for identities.

If you think 43 cases in one day is explained by this being a highly infectious disease you are even dumber than the standard of your posts would indicate. If it happened a month ago, it could have been, at a massive stretch, down to one or two super spreader events but it happened after three and a half weeks of lockdown when the entire country is going in the opposite direction.

That suggests that the statistics are off or someone dropped the ball catastrophically. In my view we need to be told how and why or it will just demoralize those us who are doing the right thing. It might also serve as a huge lesson for everyone on what not to do. That doesn’t mean naming people or places, just events that obviously should be avoided in future.

I hope that isn’t too much of a rant for you.

Your latest rant is even more of a rant than your initial rant! I think you are suffering from covid fatigue. Thinking far too much about it IMO. You want someone to tell you what events to avoid in the future??? Poor diddums! Mammy might cuddle you later and tell that bold virus to go away! How about you just lock yourself away and avoid life if you are that concerned! Bloody snowflake generation! I've been through two world wars and been married 5 times FFS!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

Your latest rant is even more of a rant than your initial rant! I think you are suffering from covid fatigue. Thinking far too much about it IMO. You want someone to tell you what events to avoid in the future??? Poor diddums! Mammy might cuddle you later and tell that bold virus to go away! How about you just lock yourself away and avoid life if you are that concerned! Bloody snowflake generation! I've been through two world wars and been married 5 times FFS!

None of it seems to have helped you mature.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

The first world war was 1914 which makes you at least 106. Great grammar for an awl fellow!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,922 ✭✭✭spookwoman

The first world war was 1914 which makes you at least 106. Great grammar for an awl fellow!

The married 5 times I could understand. :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 8,021 CMod ✭✭✭✭Gaspode

@Slow motion and @Denise vu would ye ever cop on to yourselves.
    Next card will be red

• Registered Users Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭friendlyfun

I fought in the 1871 franco-prussian war and it was indeed no laughing matter. You wouldn't see young lads today able to use a bayonet.

Where is Ronan Glynn gone? Havent seen him at any press briefings or doing any interviews for weeks now.

Glynn & Holohan eh? A throwback to those 80's cop shows. Good cop/bad cop shtick. @ the press briefing :this recent spike, he said, can not be attributed to any one cause or settings and it may be that people are “getting tired of listening to the messages”. Well at least he acknowledges NPHET's constant daily barrage of stats/numbers has left an ever increasing number of the population disillusioned.

If he were to look at the period when these cases were possibly seeded than that would be probably a couple of weeks ago right? Now what large group of people were on a break from circa 23rd Oct till the 2nd Nov?? The schools; teachers and pupils. But that would not float with d'Taoiseach.

On a local level 21 cases yesterday is 22 less than Black Friday so @ least we are going in the right direction? Overall since the beginning of the pandemic Wfd City & Co has had 920 cases; so given the population is about 120k that means 0.79% of the local population has been infected by Covid-19 in the past 9 months. Cannot argue with those figures!

Glynn & Holohan eh? A throwback to those 80's cop shows. Good cop/bad cop shtick. @ the press briefing :this recent spike, he said, can not be attributed to any one cause or settings and it may be that people are “getting tired of listening to the messages”. Well at least he acknowledges NPHET's constant daily barrage of stats/numbers has left an ever increasing number of the population disillusioned.

If he were to look at the period when these cases were possibly seeded than that would be probably a couple of weeks ago right? Now what large group of people were on a break from circa 23rd Oct till the 2nd Nov?? The schools; teachers and pupils. But that would not float with d'Taoiseach.

On a local level 21 cases yesterday is 22 less than Black Friday so @ least we are going in the right direction? Overall since the beginning of the pandemic Wfd City & Co has had 920 cases; so given the population is about 120k that means 0.79% of the local population has been infected by Covid-19 in the past 9 months. Cannot argue with those figures!

You seem to know whats going on so how come our numbers even during the first wave were so low? How come it's only since the kildare lockdown lifted and and the schools went back that numbers start to spike. It takes about 1 to 2 weeks to show symptoms, so that would make it about Laois and Offaly came out of lockdown that infections went up. Schools are not the only ones to blame.

spookwoman wrote: »
    You seem to know whats going on so how come our numbers even during the first wave were so low? How come it's only since the kildare lockdown lifted and and the schools went back that numbers start to spike. It takes about 1 to 2 weeks to show symptoms, so that would make it about Laois and Offaly came out of lockdown that infections went up. Schools are not the only ones to blame.

According to the Dept of Education there are 1,091,632 pupils in full time education with about 65'815 teachers, so the bones of 1.1 million in the sector, roughly a quarter of the population of Ireland.
    Since the schools returned the numbers have spiked and even with Level 5 lite restrictions we have reached this current plateau and slight upturn. Mid term or Halloween was only a few weeks ago. So you have 1.1m people circulating, mixing, interacting, from different areas/families etc. Those 1.1m bodies that were not mixing in such a way from mid March till the end of August.

I pass a lot of schools on my way to work each morning. Due to the traffic I am usually stuck in a traffic jam each morning on the Dunmore Road. If you happen to be @ the traffic lights by the Park than you will witness only a conservative 2 of 10 pupils wearing masks despite being in close quarters. Piling out of cars and buses. Congregating outside the schools or the shop in the garage. These are not kids by any means. These are adults who carry the same viral load as you or I so I think its pertinent to question the schools.

Sure the classroom environments maybe sterile and observe the rules with regards to Covid but surely the commute to and from school and the pre and post school socialising with friends that is the problem. Each student goes home at the end of each day having mixed with perhaps 50 people? Was not one of the tenets of NPHET's message to reduce your close contacts?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Gardner

The twitter machine tells me I'm getting a calendar for Xmas :D:D

Looking forward to it even though Halloween has passed. Please send to 28 North Great George’s Street Dublin 1

According to the Dept of Education there are 1,091,632 pupils in full time education with about 65'815 teachers, so the bones of 1.1 million in the sector, roughly a quarter of the population of Ireland.
    Since the schools returned the numbers have spiked and even with Level 5 lite restrictions we have reached this current plateau and slight upturn. Mid term or Halloween was only a few weeks ago. So you have 1.1m people circulating, mixing, interacting, from different areas/families etc. Those 1.1m bodies that were not mixing in such a way from mid March till the end of August.

I pass a lot of schools on my way to work each morning. Due to the traffic I am usually stuck in a traffic jam each morning on the Dunmore Road. If you happen to be @ the traffic lights by the Park than you will witness only a conservative 2 of 10 pupils wearing masks despite being in close quarters. Piling out of cars and buses. Congregating outside the schools or the shop in the garage. These are not kids by any means. These are adults who carry the same viral load as you or I so I think its pertinent to question the schools.

Sure the classroom environments maybe sterile and observe the rules with regards to Covid but surely the commute to and from school and the pre and post school socialising with friends that is the problem. Each student goes home at the end of each day having mixed with perhaps 50 people? Was not one of the tenets of NPHET's message to reduce your close contacts?

Don't think you read my post right or I didn't word it right. The day the kids went back the numbers went up. It takes about 14 days to show symptoms so something was happening before the schools opened and it brought the virus back into the community.

17-11-2020.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭friendlyfun

Damien Tiernan seems to say every time the numbers go up there's complacency setting in. Do people agree with him? Just curious what people think

Possibly so. Think everyone is just fatigued @ this stage nine months in. Some one neglects to wear their mask just the once whilst running into the shops; someone else doesnt use a sanitiser; another visits a friends house.... it all adds up unfortunately. There is a huge disconnect in peoples behaviour : we want to act or live our lives the way they way prior to Covid *but* the moment we step off the gas with the Covid rules things seem to spike. The GP are definitely not as compliant during Lockdown#1. The reasons for this are many and varied: mixed messaging from Govt since the Summer, Golfgate, cabin fever, stress etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 694 ✭✭✭Oscar Madison

We need 10's of thousands of people to die before some people take this seriously, bring it on I say!

Half hearted C19 policies by the government aren't doing a whole lot either!

It's only when the larger countries begin to control or eradicate it, then we'll

see some improvement but the Irish mentality leaves a lot to be desired at times!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Hijpo

Possibly so. Think everyone is just fatigued @ this stage nine months in. Some one neglects to wear their mask just the once whilst running into the shops; someone else doesnt use a sanitiser; another visits a friends house.... it all adds up unfortunately. There is a huge disconnect in peoples behaviour : we want to act or live our lives the way they way prior to Covid *but* the moment we step off the gas with the Covid rules things seem to spike. The GP are definitely not as compliant during Lockdown#1. The reasons for this are many and varied: mixed messaging from Govt since the Summer, Golfgate, cabin fever, stress etc.

I'm don't know what fatigued is being applied to when we hear this on main stream media. Tired of covid? Tired of lockdown?

Personally they only thing I am doing is wearing the mask, washing my hands and aking extra precautions in work. Other than that I'm still meeting family and regularly going outside the 5km restrictions. Simply because of the reasons outlined at the end of the post above. I was reluctant to adhere to the "guidelines" when they said go to the pub as long as you buy food but went along with it. Now, when intercounty team contact sports are fine but golf is not, among other things, it is clear they are putting very little critical thinking into this stuff. It is so disorganised it makes me angry, so I'll take care of myself while going about my regular business.

Hijpo wrote: »
    I'm don't know what fatigued is being applied to when we hear this on main stream media. Tired of covid? Tired of lockdown?

Personally they only thing I am doing is wearing the mask, washing my hands and aking extra precautions in work. Other than that I'm still meeting family and regularly going outside the 5km restrictions. Simply because of the reasons outlined at the end of the post above. I was reluctant to adhere to the "guidelines" when they said go to the pub as long as you buy food but went along with it. Now, when intercounty team contact sports are fine but golf is not, among other things, it is clear they are putting very little critical thinking into this stuff. It is so disorganised it makes me angry, so I'll take care of myself while going about my regular business.

And if more and more people behave like this then no wonder it is spreading. Sorry but you say you are being careful and not following the restrictions, how do you know you have not been asymptomatic and spread it at some stage?

That attitude of well they are doing it do why don't I is a kick in the face to everyone who is following restrictions and also to those that are working their ar*es off in hospitals dealing with covid patients and the extra work of cleaning etc.

So by your own logic, as you're not observing the restrictions, you should be refused hospital admission if you get Covid?

Sounds very altrustic but can't really do that in a humane civilised society. Where would you stop if you began refusing or restricting people's access to healthcare etc? Historically, were all the hundreds of thousands of people who smoked refused care when they got lung cancer? Similarly the heavy drinkers who developed serious health issues? Even the people who primarily eat junk food and become overweight or obese leading to multiple issues such as diabetes, cancer and heart problems; do you refuse these people care down the line? Do you restrict their access to McDonalds?

I read an interesting article from a Professor Simon Wessely on the psychological effects of the Covid which may explain the polarising viewpoints in the general population at the moment and even within this thread:
    "As an aside it is worth noting that people who are anxious or worried about the ongoing Covid pandemic become even more adherent to the restrictions & believe we should go further and for longer. Now in there lies two perils. One peril is that when these restrictions are lifted even if they were lifted tomorrow, which, at the moment, is not going to happen but even if it were, it is very clear that far, far more people than we ever expected will not want to go and resume their way of life. The idea of going to a restaurant, a bar, let alone a sporting event, for many, fills them with dread. Now, how long that will last, well, we don't know. In previous epidemics this has not persisted for more than a month or so. However, such is the scale and intensity of the fear that this pandemic has generated, I'm afraid, I'm more on the pessimistic side and I think some of these behaviours will indeed represent that awful cliche that is the new norm and will change the way in which we behave"

Sounds very altrustic but can't really do that in a humane civilised society. Where would you stop if you began refusing or restricting people's access to healthcare etc? Historically, were all the hundreds of thousands of people who smoked refused care when they got lung cancer? Similarly the heavy drinkers who developed serious health issues? Even the people who primarily eat junk food and become overweight or obese leading to multiple issues such as diabetes, cancer and heart problems; do you refuse these people care down the line? Do you restrict their access to McDonalds?[/I]

It's not my contention. The poster I quoted took this attitude to those who attended a house party:
    If any if them test positive they should be exempt from hospital admission.
    Wanderer78 wrote: »
    no they fcuking shouldnt, ffs!
    F^^^ em

Meanwhile, out in the real world... Pfizer ends its Covid-19 trial with 95% efficacy!!!

Time to book the 2021 Summer Holidays I guess!! Woo-hoo! There is gonna be one hell of a party when this sh1tstorm has passed!

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭aziz

Meanwhile, out in the real world... Pfizer ends its Covid-19 trial with 95% efficacy!!!

Time to book the 2021 Summer Holidays I guess!! Woo-hoo! There is gonna be one hell of a party when this sh1tstorm has passed!

Don’t get your hopes up,Tony will still be saying “next two weeks are crucial “
    this time next year 😷

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

17 cases here

Edit - dopes put out wrong figures, its 6.

400 tests at Cartamundi today according to local media. How many work there? Given the 22 cases were notified on the 14th I hope this is an additional batch.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Hijpo

spookwoman wrote: »
    And if more and more people behave like this then no wonder it is spreading. Sorry but you say you are being careful and not following the restrictions, how do you know you have not been asymptomatic and spread it at some stage?

That attitude of well they are doing it do why don't I is a kick in the face to everyone who is following restrictions and also to those that are working their ar*es off in hospitals dealing with covid patients and the extra work of cleaning etc.

I am not asymptomatic because i do not have covid, i know i do not and did not have covid because i am taking the necessary precautions to protect myself which is mask and hand washing, social distancing and more importantly no gatherings. I believe there is a huge difference between what i am doing and blatantly getting on a luas to sing and shout without a mask to antagonize others for example. From my own perspective, its not a case of "they are doing it why dont i", the government simply has not encouraged me to change my behavior. So, i will not "double down" this time around, i will continue to do what i have done for the last nine months, which has been 100% successful so far.

So, do you understand that was not the logic that was used when deducing 50 teenagers getting smashed at a house party without ANY regard for protecting themselves should be refused hospital admission, i said that the comparison to people in prison was stupid. Refusing hospital admission people who act like this would help with what Spookwoman said above ie "working their ar*es off in hospitals dealing with covid patients and the extra work" and im all for it.
    Sounds very altrustic but can't really do that in a humane civilised society. Where would you stop if you began refusing or restricting people's access to healthcare etc? Historically, were all the hundreds of thousands of people who smoked refused care when they got lung cancer? Similarly the heavy drinkers who developed serious health issues? Even the people who primarily eat junk food and become overweight or obese leading to multiple issues such as diabetes, cancer and heart problems; do you refuse these people care down the line? Do you restrict their access to McDonalds?

I read an interesting article from a Professor Simon Wessely on the psychological effects of the Covid which may explain the polarising viewpoints in the general population at the moment and even within this thread:
    "As an aside it is worth noting that people who are anxious or worried about the ongoing Covid pandemic become even more adherent to the restrictions & believe we should go further and for longer. Now in there lies two perils. One peril is that when these restrictions are lifted even if they were lifted tomorrow, which, at the moment, is not going to happen but even if it were, it is very clear that far, far more people than we ever expected will not want to go and resume their way of life. The idea of going to a restaurant, a bar, let alone a sporting event, for many, fills them with dread. Now, how long that will last, well, we don't know. In previous epidemics this has not persisted for more than a month or so. However, such is the scale and intensity of the fear that this pandemic has generated, I'm afraid, I'm more on the pessimistic side and I think some of these behaviours will indeed represent that awful cliche that is the new norm and will change the way in which we behave"

Don't get suckered in by people plucking what they want out of posts. Someone eating burgers isn't going to infect their neighbor with fat and heart disease. I don't think they need to restrict McDonalds however they did restrict smoking because of the effects of second hand smoke for example. The point i was making was that if people are asked to social distance then 50 of them cram into a house then there needs to be consequences for that. This is the second time it has happened and now we are seeing more cases being reported in schools.
    It's not my contention. The poster I quoted took this attitude to those who attended a house party:
    Yes i did, and i stand by those comments.

You are being extremely disingenuous to the situation. This was not 8 close friends out the back, it was 50 people (being a teenager means nothing) in house and they are not big houses. 50 people....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

aziz wrote: »
    Don’t get your hopes up,Tony will still be saying “next two weeks are crucial “
    this time next year 😷

The HSE will probably fcuk up ordering the vaccines, order the wrong one(a Chinese knock off that causes super CoVid instead) then we'll get a tiny amount by next November and roll out will be delayed due to "additional training requirements" to administer said vaccine that of course comes with a pay rise for admin staff for their efforts in procurement.

18-11-2020.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭OhToBeByTheSea

I am not asymptomatic because i do not have covid, i know i do not and did not have covid.

How do you know this?