Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you think of Arlene?

• 31-01-2020 11:19pm

As title says what’s your opinion? I thought she was Extremely bullish in the past but the Late Late shows a different, almost human side. I can see where her staunchness has come from.....Is there a motive behind the timing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

Most impressive politician on the TV this week by a mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

I think a lot more of her than I do of Tubs after tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,219 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I look at her and get the impression she’d rather be anywhere else, doing any other job, Robinson looks like he’s had his fill too... they seem far removed from the ‘far’ right DUP hardcore which it seems do not permeate the upper echelon of the party so much maybe Sammy Wilson aside but he’s mostly bull and bluster these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

He's a lovely fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

A cracked Toby Jug that has attained limited sentience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

Whilst she came across quite well, to the point that I'd even have a pint with her, definitely wouldn't bang her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,219 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Whilst she came across quite well, to the point that I'd even have a pint with her, definitely wouldn't bang her.

No, she’d bang you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,880 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Strumms wrote: »
    I look at her and get the impression she’d rather be anywhere else, doing any other job, Robinson looks like he’s had his fill too... they seem far removed from the ‘far’ right DUP hardcore which it seems do not permeate the upper echelon of the party so much maybe Sammy Wilson aside but he’s mostly bull and bluster these days.
    Yep, apparently Ian Paisley Jr and the other holy rollers section had a bit of a falling out with Arlene.
    She has a brass neck, like a lot of DUP members, majority of politicians would have been thrown out of office after the RHI.

I think there were also probably people in the DUP that were glad London forced gay marriage and abortion legislation on NI, they knew the tide has changed and this way they get to complain about it being brought in but leave as is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

An absolute c"nt, a fossilised one at that. Sooner she and any other dinosaurs go extinct in the world, the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

she’s a pig.

Does no one see a ‘slight’ human side to her? The bus she was on? Her father a target? That would make my blood boil and harden my hatred? But she chose to be in the south when brexit was official and share her family story. I don’t like her but I’m seeing more of who she is......

The DUP relationship with Westminster is hilariously akin to a teenager and their parents. Public proclaimatons of unity. DUP expect indefinite funding and to be left alone but the minute the parents suggest a modicum of accountability, they flounce off to their bedroom while still being nominally aware of their utter dependance on the parent and hoping it won't go terminally far.

Does no one see a ‘slight’ human side to her? The bus she was on? Her father a target? That would make my blood boil and harden my hatred? But she chose to be in the south when brexit was official and share her family story. I don’t like her but I’m seeing more of who she is......

Plenty of people lost loved ones in the troubles and didn't turn into bigots.

Battle not with monsters, lest ye become one -> Arlene in a nutshell. She's of no good to anyone, and a danger for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I think she comes from a divided area where her father was shot and her friends hurt and she is a product of that.

However there is no justification for her homophobia and some of her other views.

I don't trust her. I think her core views are not in line with basic human equality.

Of course she is human.

Its not their unionist side that bothers me about the DUP its the rest of their views that have nothing to do with unionism.

I don't think she is anti Irish ....I do think she is a homophobe though.

I think someone should ask her what gay people ever did to her!

Did gay people shoot her dad? Did gay people bomb people?

All I can say is before I saw a bull, now I have some sense of empathy,( I lost my father too) from empathy grows understanding of difference. I feel a bit different towards her attitudes when I see her spouting on utv live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

I was just about to say the same thing, you take someone like Gordon Wilson who actually lost his daughter in the Enniskillen bombing, it didn't turn him. What worries me about Foster is that she's C.O.I. and they tend to be a bit more moderate in their views than members of the more fundamentalist churches.

I don't think she is anti Irish ....I do think she is a homophobe though.

I think someone should ask her what gay people ever did to her!

Did gay people shoot her dad? Did gay people bomb people?
    Just a theory: (all meant in jest ofc! :D)

Seriously though, why would anyone vote for her or even give her the time of day? She's actually a dinosaur.I mean you could say the same for Trump, a pure racist and misogynist. I just don't get it. I'd expect their kind of ideologies 100+ years back or at least in 'less evolved' parts of the world.
    theballz wrote: »
    she’s a pig.

That's offensive to pigs.

Okay I don’t trust her either but if it was you on the bus, or your daddy how would you feel.... just playing devils advocate. I can see where her views come from..... (but being a very proud Irish person)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Liamo57

She started off well and the horrible bigoted Protestant came to the surface when Ryan mentioned same sex marriage and a United Ireland. She can go back to Sammy Wilsons naturist club where she belongs. I hope she heads bacmck to Blighty when we are united - within 20 years. Up the Republic.

That would be understandable.

I would totally understand if Arlene had a hesitancy or even a hartred towards Irish people.

However she is appearing on the late late show being quite nice to Irish people.

What did Gay people ever do to her?

Why does she have certain views on climate change?

I mean the heating (ash for cash ) scandal proved she is bent. But i mean our lot are bent too so ...

��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭lemd

She did come across as sympathetic and much more of a real person than the pantomime villian she is portrayed as but then she blew it on the ssm portion of the interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

That would be understandable.

I would totally understand if Arlene had a hesitancy or even a hartred towards Irish people.

However she is appearing on the late late show being quite nice to Irish people.

What did Gay people ever do to her?

Why does she have certain views on climate change?

I mean the heating (ash for cash ) scandal proved she is bent. But i mean our lot are bent too so ...

?? She is Irish herself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

She's on record as saying she'd leave if there's a United Ireland, Slan abhaile Arlene.

(Being devils advocate)
    Okay so across the divide ( I’m coming from a proud Gaelige donegal border background)...
    If it was YOU on the school bus, and your daddy was a target to be killed.... would you be angry and staunch??? It would harden me... is it not time to see the human stories on both sides and move forward

?? She is Irish herself
    No she isn't she is british and northern Irish don't be silly.

TBH i would be insulted if you called her Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Not much TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭votecounts

A bigot and a homophobe, so my opinion on her has not changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭JJayoo

She's very potatoey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Her party's politics are on the whole despicable and bigoted.

On the specific topic of Gay Marriage I'd say just one thing: most of our grandparents here would have thought ill of the concept as well.
    Associating non-acceptance of that with unionism is probably unfair. Conservatives will be conservatives. Many Irish politicians opposed abortion.

She seems grand, personally - and I would agree in terms of her way of presenting herself and capability in public speaking; above anything we currently have this end of the island.

If anything was remarkable about the interview, it's that Ryan had an agenda is is completely incapable of conducting an impartial interview.

It takes a lot to make someone who posts an Irish Tricolour in their forum signature to feel sorry for a DUP member but Ryan managed it. Speaks to how much of a spectacular wánker the man is.

JJayoo wrote: »
    She's very potatoey

As in boiled, fried or mashed ..😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

She's an arsehole and I find it amazing that one very soft interview is able to change people's minds about her. She's terrible and has some awful views on a variety of issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 pineappleguru

Tubs, who typically runs a mile from asking tough or interrogative questions to guests, decided to give her a grilling on the gay marriage thing. I found it uncomfortable viewing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Tomrota

She’s in a time warp, and that’s not of her own doing.

sdanseo wrote: »

On the specific topic of Gay Marriage I'd say just one thing: most of our grandparents here would have thought ill of the concept as well.
    Associating non-acceptance of that with unionism is probably unfair. Conservatives will be conservatives. Many Irish politicians opposed abortion.

She seems grand, personally - and I would agree in terms of her way of presenting herself and capability in public speaking; above anything we currently have this end of the island.

If anything was remarkable about the interview, it's that Ryan had an agenda is is completely incapable of conducting an impartial interview.

It takes a lot to make someone who posts an Irish Tricolour in their forum signature to feel sorry for a DUP member but Ryan managed it. Speaks to how much of a spectacular wánker the man is.

The equivalent would be to say your grandparents had views of their grandparents in the age of their peers.

My grandparents had the views of people in their own age not from their grandparents age that would be weird.

PressRun wrote: »
    I find it amazing that one very soft interview is able to change people's minds about her. .

Hasn’t changed opinions......... but has given perspective on her personal views. Her policies are atrocious. Not disputing that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭Fccwontletmebe

Prefer Jolene but she took my man.

She is a politician she can play soft when she wants to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Didn't see it, but she was probably doing the old 1980's Ian and Rhonda Paisley thing of appearing on RTE chat shows and pretending they don't hate everybody in the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

Civilized people have no inclination towards bigotry... bigoted people understand very well, the need to appear civilized. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

She is entitled to irish citizenship if she so wishes, the very same deal that anyone born in NI is entitled to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

She obviously doesn't conform to your narrow version of Irishness but she is Irish all the same. She grew up 15 miles from where my father is from and a border or a difference in religion or her unionism doesn't make her any less Irish than him. Look up Irish in the dictionary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

That Late Late Show must have been biblical in nature with Johnny Logan and Arlene on the bill. Pity it wasn't topped off with a Riverdance and Crystal Swing duet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

While she has her views on things and i have mine , I thought she came across quiet well . People have different views on things , so be it . You can see where her bitterness towards the ra came from , totally understandable .
    Its actually funny to see some of the comments directed at her and the names she's called on here , while the posters themselves are actually spitting venom and appear every bit as bitter as they would accuse her of being .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

My thoughts on Arlene haven't changed much, but the interview reinforced my views on Tubs.

A shockingly poor interviewer. I think he got 2 or 3 facts wrong and had to he corrected. Then the whole it's 11pm, no it's 30sec to, right stop talking woman it's 11pm right now, right off you go again.

And of course his completely biased questioning on certain topics to make it look like he is a tough interviewer. Can't help but let his personal agenda and views come into an interview .

Amateur hour. Again.

You can say what you want about Pat the Plank but he wipes the floor with Ryan when it comes to intelligent interviews like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

While she has her views on things and i have mine , I thought she came across quiet well . People have different views on things , so be it . You can see where her bitterness towards the ra came from , totally understandable .
    Its actually funny to see some of the comments directed at her and the names she's called on here , while the posters themselves are actually spitting venom and appear every bit as bitter as they would accuse her of being .

Yes . that . is . a , very . interesting , point , you . make , there . wex . :D

But one could say, there is quite a few gaps in your argument. :pac:

However, there is also plenty of space for improvement! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

sdanseo wrote: »

But Foster is only 49 and I came across plenty people a generation older who voted in favour of SSM 5 years ago, attitudes and opinions can change but at the rate Foster and her ilk might, they will always lag behind.

She also said that she lost friends by attending Martin McGuinness' funeral, I was shocked by that (maybe I shouldn't), the man was deputy first minister! If that's the calibre of people that we want to share our country with, we have a long hard road ahead of us and a lot of concessions to make. I don't think too many people down here have thought this one out.