Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boardsies Decide - Best Noughties Song - Tournament Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭Irish Aris

Looks like the first semi will go down to the wire. . .

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,280 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Omackeral wrote: »
    Guys do yourself a favour and watch this. It's flawless and so bloody cool.

Never heard of her, that's really cool. Had a look at her Youtube channel and she's also covered another semi-finalist

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Voting Closed.

Zaph wrote: »
    Never heard of her, that's really cool. Had a look at her Youtube channel and she's also covered another semi-finalist

And this!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,381 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Collie D wrote: »
    I was only just wondering if that would happen. Looking forward to it mostly just to see if it tallies in any way with the results of individual decades.

Bohemian Rhapsody v Smells Like Teen Spirit? Cos there's no way Joy Division are winning that one :pac:.... and I say that as someone who likes their music.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Zaph wrote: »

Look up Post Modern Jukebox Zaph. She works with them. They've such good stuff.

My personal fave. His range and mannerisms.

Or another hitter in this very comp oozing sex appeal. Real life Jessica Rabbit.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Semi Final 2..... was a slight tanking as Marshall Mathers gains revenge for the earlier demise of The Real Slim Shady in stunning fashion.

Gorillaz - Clint Eastwood 3 17 Eminem - Lose Yourself

Semi Final 1..... was decided by Reberetta's late, late vote.... meaning...

Franz Ferdinand - Take Me Out 10 11 Pink - Just Like A Pill

Pink - Just Like A Pill
    Eminem - Lose Yourself

Are our two finalists!!

A great day for the parish.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,710 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Necro wrote: »
    Pink - Just Like A Pill
    Eminem - Lose Yourself

Are our two finalists!!

Damn over-35, craft beer drinking, 'gig' going hipsters :p

• Registered Users Posts: 13,359 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Semi Final 2..... was a slight tanking as Marshall Mathers gains revenge for the earlier demise of The Real Slim Shady in stunning fashion.

Gorillaz - Clint Eastwood 3 17 Eminem - Lose Yourself

tenor.gif?itemid=12950155

Gods. I don't know. I need to think

Omackeral wrote: »
    Look up Post Modern Jukebox Zaph

Seen them a couple of times in Vicar Street, always a cracking night!

Yes, I saw them once couple of years ago, great fun and great crowd!!. Actually made a bit of an effort to dress up retro style. . .with rather mixed results!!!

Thanks folks :)

The final will take place tomorrow evening - let the canvassing commence!

Just for the record - Franz Ferdinand - Take Me Out was the TOP nominated song with a massive 6 nominations.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,302 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

So are we free to vote for final now or is there an official “kickoff”?

Well if you aren't available tomorrow evening I am accepting votes via PM.

Or I can post it now and count it tomorrow evening when I'm free, whichever ye prefer.

The final will take place tomorrow evening - let the canvassing commence!
    Eminem wrote:
    Look
    If you had
    One shot
    Or one opportunity
    To seize everything you ever wanted
    In one moment
    Would you capture it
    Or just let it slip?
    Yo
    His palms are sweaty, knees weak, arms are heavy
    There's vomit on his sweater already, mom's spaghetti
    He's nervous, but on the surface he looks calm and ready
    To drop bombs, but he keeps on forgettin'
    What he wrote down, the whole crowd goes so loud
    He opens his mouth, but the words won't come out
    He's chokin', how, everybody's jokin' now
    The clocks run out, times up, over, blaow!
    Snap back to reality, oh there goes gravity
    Oh, there goes Rabbit, he choked
    He's so mad, but he won't give up that easy? No
    He won't have it, he knows his whole back city's ropes
    It don't matter, he's dope, he knows that, but he's broke
    He's so stacked that he knows, when he goes back to his mobile home, that's when its
    Back to the lab again yo, this whole rhapsody
    He better go capture this moment and hope it don't pass him
    You better lose yourself in the music, the moment
    You own it, you better never let it go
    You only get one shot, do not miss your chance to blow
    This opportunity comes once in a lifetime you better
    The souls escaping, through this hole that its gaping
    This world is mine for the taking
    Make me king, as we move toward a, new world order
    A normal life is borin', but super stardom's close to post mortar
    It only grows harder, only grows hotter
    He blows us all over these hoes is all on him
    Coast to coast shows, he's known as the globetrotter
    Lonely roads, God only knows, he's grown farther from home, he's no father
    He goes home and barely knows his own daughter
    But hold your nose 'cause here goes the cold water
    His hoes don't want him no mo, he's cold product
    They moved on to the next schmo who flows, he nose dove and sold nada
    So the soap opera is told and unfolds, I suppose it's old partna, but the beat goes on
    Da da dumb da dumb da da
    No more games, I'm a change what you call rage
    Tear this mother****in' roof off like two dogs caged
    I was playin' in the beginnin', the mood all changed
    I been chewed up and spit out and booed off stage
    But I kept rhymin' and stepwritin' the next cipher
    Best believe somebody's payin' the pied piper
    All the pain inside amplified by the
    Fact that I can't get by with my nine to
    Five and I can't provide the right type of
    Life for my family 'cause man, these God damn food stamps don't buy diapers
    And its no movie, there's no Mekhi Phifer
    This is my life and these times are so hard
    And it's getting even harder tryin' to feed and water my seed, plus
    See dishonor caught up between bein' a father and a prima-donna
    Baby mama drama screamin' on and too much
    For me to want to say in one spot, another jam or not
    Has gotten me to the point, I'm like a snail I've got
    To formulate a plot fore I end up in jail or shot
    Success is my only mother****in' option, failures not
    Mom, I love you, but this trail has got to go, I cannot grow old in Salem's lot
    So here I go is my shot
    Feet fail me not 'cause maybe the only opportunity that I got
    You can do anything you set your mind to, man

Done

Pink because of the memories.

Actually I would like to revoke that vote

• Registered Users Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭Clarabel

Or I can post it now and count it tomorrow evening when I'm free, whichever ye prefer.

oh postal vote pls

Can you accept a vote for PINK in case I am not around.

for reasons: girl power and more craic and emotions.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,302 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

You’re the boss. I’ll wait. I see the two posters who voted have taken them back so I won’t be awkward.

Condolences on the funeral by the way.

Can't believe I missed the semis!!
    Bloody work........
    I feel I could miss the final......

Ara fook it, let's leave this one open for the day.

Voting will close at 9pm tomorrow night

The Noughties GRAND FINAL

Pink - Just Like A Pill

VS

Eminem - Lose Yourself

The Story So Far....

Pink - Just Like A Pill

Qualifier Round: 5 - 3 VS Afroman "Because I Got High"
    Round 1: 6 - 1 VS Within Temptation - What Have You Done?
    Round 2: 6 - 2 VS Oasis - The Importance of Being Idle
    Round 3: 6 - 3 VS Johnny Cash - Hurt
    Round 4: 8 - 7 VS Linkin Park - In The End

Quarter Finals: 11 - 7 VS Kylie Minogue - Can't Get You Out Of My Head

Semi Finals: 11 - 10 VS Franz Ferdinand - Take Me Out

Eminem - Lose Yourself

Round 1: 6 - 0 VS Shaggy - It Wasn't Me
    Round 2: 6 - 0 VS James Blunt - You're Beautiful
    Round 3: 7 - 1 VS Lady GaGa - Pokerface
    Round 4: 8 - 6 VS Wheatus - Teenage Dirtbag

Quarter Final: 11 - 6 VS The Strokes - Last Night

Semi Final: 17 - 3 VS Gorillaz - Clint Eastwood

There can only be one

Please give a reason for your vote or I will not count it

Damn over-35, craft beer drinking, 'gig' going hipsters :p

There was no craft beer at Slane, it was flagons of cider and nagons, all the way youd be thrown out if you were caught with a craft beer,

Ara fook it, let's leave this one open for the day

Eminem because this opportunity comes once in a lifetime

Actually because I could have copied almost any section above and it would have stood up. Lyrically it is astounding. And damn it has a good beat

Eminem - Lose Yourself.

This should have been an all Eminem final. Objectively speaking 'Stan' was the best song in the tournament but Lose Yourself is only a hair's breadth behind. Lyrics, hook/chorus, instrumentals - two masterpieces.

I love P!nk, and 'Like a Pill' is a very fine song but has probably gone a couple of rounds too far. Given the final four, easily the second best song that was left.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Eminem - Lose Yourself. Not even the best Eminem song in the tournament, but far superior to its opponent

• Registered Users Posts: 15,381 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Pink because I like the song and don't think a final with two Eminem songs would have been a fair representation of the decade. :D

No contest between these two.

Eminem

Much better song, the Pink one is just ok, not even her best & just sing along pop stuff.
    Not even in the same category as Eminem.
    Even though I wouldn't have thought either is a winner of single of the decade!

Eminem. The lyrics posted reminded me of how epic it is. Also I rapped along to them in my head :D